Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Underage test purchasing

• 08-07-2016 12:54am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭

What kind of right minded youth would get involved in one of these scheme can the guard come up to a minor and force them to buy alcohol or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

A right minded right minded one, and no, a Guard can't 'force' them to purchase. Not sure how they would, TBH.

Not to worry. You'll get it when you've added a few more years to the 15. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭ads20101

The scum selling alcohol to kids deserve to be caught.

The child's safety isn't first in their thoughts, just profit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

It is completely the right thing to do.

*Thanks God it was not in place when I was a kid of 15 buying booze in Dunnes.*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The kids of today are so obese they need 4 or 5 naggins to catch a buzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

Stephen15 wrote: »
    What kind of right minded youth would get involved in one of these scheme can the guard come up to a minor and force them to buy alcohol or something?

Do you mean where a kid goes in to try and buy to see if the shop is asking for id? That's run by mystery shopping companies in behalf of whoever is requesting the info (Gardai /Dept of Justice? ??) , and is voluntary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,086 ✭✭✭duffman13

Do you mean where a kid goes in to try and buy to see if the shop is asking for id? That's run by mystery shopping companies in behalf of whoever is requesting the info (Gardai /Dept of Justice? ??) , and is voluntary.

This is partly right, although a lot of the time I have seen them advertised you need to be over 18, I think they are more ones where business are self checking themselves. Not sure how they work if they are being run by the guards, a different method employed by them im sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Get branded a rat from a young age.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

ads20101 wrote: »
    The scum selling alcohol to kids deserve to be caught.

The child's safety isn't first in their thoughts, just profit.

It's not like they are all doing it deliberately. They are just not checking for ID.

This happened in one of my local supermarkets. The underage individual was 6ft+ and had a beard. The lady on the checkout thought he was in his mid-20s. The guard was standing right behind him and immediately produced ID and told her she had just sold alcohol to someone underage. The shop got off with a warning from the superintendent but had they effected a closure/fine the woman in question would have surely faced serious disciplinary procedures from the company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Psst!
    Hey kids, wanna buy some alcohol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

What's the point in having kids, if you can't send then to shop to pick you up a few beers and cigarettes when you've a hangover?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

But what incentive is there for teenagers to get involved in one of these schemes it's not paid from what I hear and you'd get branded a rat for doing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

But what incentive is there for teenagers to get involved in one of these schemes it's not paid from what I hear and you'd get branded a rat for doing it

But we do get paid, how else do you think we can afford our drugs...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Adrian Kennedy used his son to do it before. Wouldnt be surprised if many of the testers were kids/niblings of AGS members.

ED E wrote: »
    Adrian Kennedy used his son to do it before. Wouldnt be surprised if many of the testers were kids/niblings of AGS members.

Where you hear that did he say on one his shows

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

They do get paid. I've seen them advertise for it online before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭dennyire

My Daughter worked on one of these schemes. It was run in Ireland by a UK company.She was 18, as were other people working with them. The company was commissioned by various off licences, supermarkets, bookmaker etc and she was given a list of premises to purchase alcohol /place a bet and had to report back whther or not she was asked for I.D. It was the stores/companies way of ensuring they were complying with the law and to tighten up if necessary

yes they get paid and have to be over 18

dennyire wrote: »

Whats wrong with selling alcohol to someone who is 18?

RustyNut wrote: »
    Whats wrong with selling alcohol to someone who is 18?

They go in to the premises trying to look under 18 i.e. girls no make up/ boys no facial hair. A red flag should kick in with the sales person and they should ask for I.D. Nothing illegal being done and nobody being ratted on.
    Stores get feed back and if necessary will retrain staff in procedures

It's not like they are all doing it deliberately. They are just not checking for ID.

This happened in one of my local supermarkets. The underage individual was 6ft+ and had a beard. The lady on the checkout thought he was in his mid-20s. The guard was standing right behind him and immediately produced ID and told her she had just sold alcohol to someone underage. The shop got off with a warning from the superintendent but had they effected a closure/fine the woman in question would have surely faced serious disciplinary procedures from the company.

That's just taking the piss in fairness.Like they trying to catch out people.

They go in to the premises trying to look under 18 i.e. girls no make up/ boys no facial hair. A red flag should kick in with the sales person and they should ask for I.D. Nothing illegal being done and nobody being ratted on.
    Stores get feed back and if necessary will retrain staff in procedures

If that's just stores checking up on their own policies then fair enough.

RustyNut wrote: »
    If that's just stores checking up on their own policies then fair enough.

Yeah ...thats it exactly...no ratting...no staff reprimands ( Staff cant be reprimanded for that incident as client was in fact over 18) but management want to instil that if they do not look 18....ask for I.D.

Thats a totally different scenario..thts just entrapment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭jcd5971

dennyire wrote:
    Yeah ...thats it exactly...no ratting...no staff reprimands ( Staff cant be reprimanded for that incident as client was in fact over 18) but management want to instil that if they do not look 18....ask for I.D.

Work in retail as a manger in one of the big supermarket chains.

The companies hire out mystery shoppers to test the policy ( think 25 usually) these testers are over 18 but look young (i.e. should get asked for Id ideally). Contrary to belief the staff can and sometimes do face disciplinary action for failing this test, reason being the breached the policy, no law is broken but policy is.

The gardai send in people actually under 18 made to look older as they are looking for underage serving.

Whilst I agree that clear serving minors deserves a right hammering, this is not what the gardai do, it is almost invariably 17 year olds made to look as old as possible that they send in.

Personally I don't like how they do it, it is more a fund raising initiative than an attempt to curb underage drinking in my opinion.

Shops are usually fined when they breach it especially in the big ones. I'm not sure about smaller independent shops etc.

My 2c anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Work in retail myself. Would you believe (a sign of the times sadly) what they tend to try and do in our place is send in normally dressed 15/16 year old to buy a knife. All hell breaks loose if a store ever fails one of these

• Closed Accounts Posts: 982 ✭✭✭VincePP

Any of the garda operations are done with the parent giving permission and also usually being with them, possibly in the car.

The garda operations will always be with someone who looks under 18 - you do get people saying that person was 6ft with beard, the same people claim they get speeding tickets for being 2kmh over limit.

Remember, these cases go to court, so if a store showed that the under 18 person looked well over 18, the case falls. Very few cases have fallen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

The clerk sold alcohol to someone over the age of 18 and gets in trouble, is the law about looking 18 or being 18.

There's the law which is under 18 and the store can lose their licence and get a very hefty fine.

Then there's terms and conditions of employment where a store has its own policy that anyone looking under whatever age they choose to select and have signs showing such restriction, must produce id.

Staff sign up to adhering to the terms and conditions of their job, so can have internal disciplinary hearing if they don't adhere to the store policy.

VincePP wrote: »
    Any of the garda operations are done with the parent giving permission and also usually being with them, possibly in the car.

The garda operations will always be with someone who looks under 18 - you do get people saying that person was 6ft with beard, the same people claim they get speeding tickets for being 2kmh over limit.

Remember, these cases go to court, so if a store showed that the under 18 person looked well over 18, the case falls. Very few cases have fallen.

Doesn't matter what the shopper looked like,doubt there is any room for leeway and that is why the cases never fail.

The manager above reackon the guards deliberately send in older looking kids.

kneemos wrote: »
    Doesn't matter what the shopper looked like,doubt there is any room for leeway and that is why the cases never fail.

The manager above reackon the guards deliberately send in older looking kids.

If they send someone in that looks well over 18, then the case would fail as it would not be reasonable. I've read a lot of cases as I'm connected to the industry and get all the articles from industry grouos - the kids used are always 16 or younger and look young and photo of the kud is produced in the evidence.

VincePP wrote:

Massively disagree with this statement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

If I was put on the till in Tesco, I would ask everyone for ID. Store would be losing business as the customers would get pissed off :D

VincePP wrote:
    If they send someone in that looks well over 18, then the case would fail as it would not be reasonable. I've read a lot of cases as I'm connected to the industry and get all the articles from industry grouos - the kids used are always 16 or younger and look young and photo of the kud is produced in the evidence.

Reasonable has nothing to do with it, if they are under 18 that's that.

As for saying kids 16 and under just no, it's not happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

YFlyer wrote: »
    If I was put on the till in Tesco, I would ask everyone for ID. Store would be losing business as the customers would get pissed off :D

They do in Aldi/Lidl and it isn't unusual for someone having a meltdown over it, this is an outrage etc..

Basically, an adult *with* a younger person, will not be sold alcohol. I'm ok with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

In America you can get a gun at 18, or 16 in some States. But drink at that age and they are appalled.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

The advertisements I saw stated they were looking for a pairs of people to work together, one 16/17 the other 18.

So if the younger was able to purchase the alcohol, the 18 year old was meant to take it off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Amalgam wrote: »
    They do in Aldi/Lidl and it isn't unusual for someone having a meltdown over it, this is an outrage etc..

Basically, an adult *with* a younger person, will not be sold alcohol. I'm ok with that.

Yeah I seen that. They wouldn't serve the adult.

The advertisements I saw stated they were looking for a pairs of people to work together, one 16/17 the other 18.

So if the younger was able to purchase the alcohol, the 18 year old was meant to take it off them.

No..in my daughters case she worked alone and she was over 18.
    I ferried her around a bit as the places were spread out over a large area and they covered my mileage( albeit just petrol costs) but I wanted her to get a bit of work experience so I didnt mind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

When I was 21 ( 6'2" and a beard and never asked for ID )I brought a trolly of shopping to the till in tesco
    Yer wan beeped everything through and then asked for ID for the 4 cans I was buying. Told her I didn't have id cos I'm 21 and no one ever asks for ID
    She got really cross when I said if I couldn't have the beer I didn't want any of the items ID get them in dunnes

Also why is ireland so strict in spain they're fairly lax about it

No..in my daughters case she worked alone and she was over 18.
    I ferried her around a bit as the places were spread out over a large area and they covered my mileage( albeit just petrol costs) but I wanted her to get a bit of work experience so I didnt mind

As above there are two different formats -

1 - garda operation where the person is accompanied and is under 18 and will look under 18.

2 - the one your daughter does which is privately operated by mystery shop company on behalf of the specific retailer to ensure staff are adhering to company policy.

People are mixing the two up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

They seem to be quite strict on asking for ID in Aldi, saw them asking people who looked well over 18 to me for proof of age before leting them have the booze.

Back on topic, nobody likes a grass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

It's actually quite funny how much can change in 14/15 years I remember apart from having very little trouble buting drink (although granted tall for my age and live outside the city) but I remember one instance when I was buying a bottle of Vodka for me and a couple of others and the manager of the shop said I can't have the vodka but she would sell us some cans.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

I think it's highly unlikely that even if a god is real that he will be be rewarding a bunch of kiddy fiddler priests and their worshippers or bowler hat wearing orangies. Let's face it despite the stupidity of the gen. pop. we are unlikely to be given that choice if God is real or a god then perhaps you might want to side it's the other guy or guys anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,909 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

timthumbni wrote: »
    I think it's highly unlikely that even if a god is real that he will be be rewarding a bunch of kiddy fiddler priests and their worshippers or bowler hat wearing orangies. Let's face it despite the stupidity of the gen. pop. we are unlikely to be given that choice if God is real or a god then perhaps you might want to side it's the other guy or guys anyway.

Haven't seen God buying booze recently, you sure you're in the right thread?

They seem to be quite strict on asking for ID in Aldi, saw them asking people who looked well over 18 to me for proof of age before leting them have the booze.

Back on topic, nobody likes a grass.

Yep - their policy is that everyone age under 25 has to produce id.

Unfortunately they never ask me :( though they did ask the wife and shes was quite chuffed. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Ah there's probably a drink in it for them...