Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cattle shot on Monaghan farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Ah, this is terrible.
    Not related to the Angel dust though, I think.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Is it banks?^^

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,724 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

blue5000 wrote: »
    Is it banks?^^

It would seem so.
    TBH I didn't believe this story as it first broke. But this is anaerobic own goal for the banks and recovery of debt from farmers.

Mods, maybe better move into a separate thread.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

blue5000 wrote: »
    Is it banks?^^
    CAB are mentioned in the Agriland article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,841 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Wheres the value in a shot beast ??

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,724 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Markcheese wrote: »
    Wheres the value in a shot beast ??

Id say they'd spooked the cattle and aparrently some were out on the road. Say there was fear of an accident and chose this option to prevent it. Very bad publicity for them and their ability to recover stock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 EJ88

_Brian wrote: »
    Id say they'd spooked the cattle and aparrently some were out on the road. Say there was fear of an accident and chose this option to prevent it. Very bad publicity for them and their ability to recover stock.

Yes let's start firing wildly into the countryside. That will end well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭sword1

Why are cab involved, surely they are not at all repossessions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

With CAB involved and the area it's in I'd say there's a whole lot more to this story.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

NiallBoo wrote: »
    With CAB involved and the area it's in I'd say there's a whole lot more to this story.

I doubt we'll see anything on the 9 o'clock news:(about it.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

Apparently the heard had cases of TB.

“As Official Assignee I have a duty to recover value from assets of bankruptcy estates and it is clearly not in my interests to kill cattle, nor would I do it, without firstly having exhausted every other possible avenue open to me to resolve the problem.”
    So, the next option is to shoot them in the field? Christ, what sort of country do we live in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Contracting statements from the same person.

“It was carried out by trained members of the Defence Forces in a controlled environment.”

"the cattle were in large fields and were wild and dangerous."

The cattle wandering over the roads endangering the local community, road users and the cattle."

So cattle aren't safe in a big field, wandering on the road is a danger but a soldier with a gun shooting them on the road isn't??:confused:

Seem like a messy way to handle things by the looks of it, TB or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Seem like a messy way to handle things by the looks of it, TB or not.

Whether or not (some of) the herd had TB should have no consequence on them being shot though. Usually cattle are shot as a last resort as they are a danger to the public, not gunned down in the manner that's being suggested. It's very strange.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

I would suggest that the full facts of this story aren't out and the sad affair is going to be used by vested interests to promote their own agendas.

That's every bit as bad as, and probably worse than, trained marksmen (presumably army snipers, of which we have some of the best in the world) shooting cattle in the field instead of a slaughter man doing the same thing in the privacy of a factory's slaughter booth.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Ah, this is terrible.
    Not related to the Angel dust though, I think.

Not related to the angel, farms are either side of our county, one on Cavan border, other on Louth border.

Was there something about the livestock in question that were 'non compliant with department regulations' i.e. not tested in a long time or similar. That was the meaning I took from dear Joe this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Capercaillie

A mad but sound lad lives near me. He has two bullocks that were totally mad. They weren't tested for 2 years. Could not be brought into yard and even had to leave them outside during the winter. The bullocks would not even come into the yard eventhough the main herd were in sheds. Dept. got them shot. It was the only thing they could do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

http://www.farmersjournal.ie/watch-cattle-allegedly-shot-by-army-in-debt-dispute-214374

Just saw this. Don't know the full story but it seems quite wrong to shoot healthy cattle because they were 'wild'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

kerry cow wrote: »
    Any one know anything about cattle shot in monaghan farm with army on site ?? ?
    http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/breaking-cattle-shot-on-monaghan-farm-after-receiver-moves-in/

Bankruptcy case - Other assets were taken day before but Cows were Infected with TB apparently and some gobsh1tes were going in cutting chains and opening gates letting the animals out to wander the roads at night - public safety - shoot them.

The Hub Facebook has more updates saying other cows were loaded up and 5/6 were shot for the craic.

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/breaking-cattle-shot-on-monaghan-farm-after-receiver-moves-in/

Bankruptcy case - Other assets were taken day before but Cows were Infected with TB apparently and some gobsh1tes were going in cutting chains and opening gates letting the animals out to wander the roads at night - public safety - shoot them.

The Hub Facebook has more updates saying other cows were loaded up and 5/6 were shot for the craic.

Some rubbish on face book. There is better online contributiies than it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Whatever the story was with the banks, the cattle shouldn't have been shot. What about a tranquilizer?
    Between the Dept of AG, Gardai and Army, I hope they get fcuked out of it for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,841 ✭✭✭Markcheese

If the cattle were wild and couldnt be rounded up for testing or loading how does anyone know wether they have tb or not...
    Still would you want lunatics cutting open gates and letting potentially tb carrying cattle loose near your own stock..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Whatever the story was with the banks, the cattle shouldn't have been shot. What about a tranquilizer?
    Between the Dept of AG, Gardai and Army, I hope they get fcuked out of it for this.

What would you do with them when you had them souped?

The army shot 3 cattle locally here in the 1980',s only difference then there was no idiots on facebook posting incorrect info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,741 ✭✭✭jd

has more updates saying other cows were loaded up and 5/6 were shot for the craic.

I wouldn't put much store on what 'The 'Hub' posts anywhere.

jd wrote: »
    I wouldn't put much store on what 'The 'Hub' posts anywhere.

As I've just posted over on the AH thread, where were all these animal-loving keyboard warriors 8 years ago - http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/cattle-cull-described-as-pure-slaughter-64267.html
    Only reason this is getting so much press is because that rag of a site decided to run with it, most likely due to CAB being involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,310 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

NiallBoo wrote: »

I think everyone should bear that in mind . Probably 20 different irons in the fire

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Department had cattle shot locally about 15 years ago. Cattle were wild and were roaming. Similar situation to what has been described in previous posts. It seems unlikely to me that the department are going around shooting cattle for a laugh.

orm0nd wrote: »
    What would you do with them when you had them souped?

The army shot 3 cattle locally here in the 1980',s only difference then there was no idiots on facebook posting incorrect info.

Still seems a bit extreme don't ya think?

In fairness how wild were these cattle. Too much of a coincidence that CAB were involved in a case where the cattle happened to be wild too.
    Reminds me of a relative I know. Anytime there is a wild animal that is charging or can't be rounded up , he wants to get someone in to shoot them, I end up telling him to go home and I can get them in on my own when they have calmed down. Too many government officials in a hurry to go home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭148multi

Farmer spoke on the Joe finnegan show today on shannonside northern sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

I just read the article on agriland and here is my understanding

1. The herd were tested for tb. Some reactors were found therefore the herd is locked up and so the cattle can only be sold for slaughter.

2. People were opening gates at night with cattle getting onto the road therefore potentially endangering innocent peoples lives.

3.Several attempts had been made to round up the cattle however with only 5 remaining they were having difficulty. It was decided that further attempts would pose a risk to the safety of workers trying to round them up.

4. Army snipers were brought in to use their expertise to shoot the animals in the field in a ccontrolled environment. This means that unlike a gangland hit they took care to ensure that no person could be injured or killed if they missed.

Based on the article it seems that it may have been a reasonable course of action and if the bank was not involved the story would hardly be news worthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

In fairness how wild were these cattle. Too much of a coincidence that CAB were involved in a case where the cattle happened to be wild too.
    Reminds me of a relative I know. Anytime there is a wild animal that is charging or can't be rounded up , he wants to get someone in to shoot them, I end up telling him to go home and I can get them in on my own when they have calmed down. Too many government officials in s hurry to go home.

http://www.independent.ie/business/farming/army-marksmen-gunned-down-farm-cattle-described-as-wild-and-dangerous-34862476.html

The thing is that toommany people not used to cattle will drive them mad anyway. Then these are people are doing a days work you can't put them at any risk as an employer. What are tthey worth say 5k. How far wwill that go if someone hurts themselves trying to get out of the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Well I'm pretty sure that the army wasn't involved. Not the defence forces anyways

They don't even look like unifirmed military personnel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,459 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I wonder if they were not positive would they have been so quick to shoot them. Seems to me that the cull solved a problem for Mr. Lehane as they were of no commercial worth.
    Mr Lehane said the farm has been visited over several weeks with extensive TB testing carried out with the Department of Agriculture.
    “The results of those tests proved positive in the herd, greatly restricting what I could do with the animals,” he said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,287 ✭✭✭Chiparus

I used to cull animals for the government in Australia , we were prohibited from using FMJ ammunition as it could prolong suffering , certainly banned for hunting in the US. Are the Irish army supplied with soft point ammo?

I would doubt it.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Well I'm pretty sure that the army wasn't involved. Not the defence forces anyways

They don't even look like unifirmed military personnel.

I didn't see any pics, nor the video.

The link above has photos

Chiparus wrote: »
    I used to cull animals for the government in Australia , we were prohibited from using FMJ ammunition as it could prolong suffering , certainly banned for hunting in the US. Are the Irish army supplied with soft point ammo?

I would doubt it.
    Sniper rifles use NATO ball ammo. As international law dictates

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Was it not trained Army snipers who were used to kill the animals? Would they not be dressed slightly differently and carry different hunting type sniper rifles?

The link above has photos

Just seen it there.

Sniper rifles use NATO ball ammo. As international law dictates

That would be governed by the rules of war which bans soft point ammo. Ironically full metal jacket ammo is banned for hunting as it tends to wound rather than kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,842 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Plenty of lads around the country that are a danger to public and can't be rounded up. Pity the snipers wouldn't be set on a few of those

foggy_lad wrote: »
    Was it not trained Army snipers who were used to kill the animals? Would they not be dressed slightly differently and carry different hunting type sniper rifles?

Snipers always work in pairs. Can't make it out properly but they don't look like army issue rifles. Could possibly be rangers but who knows. Easy to say it was defence forces by the Dept

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭sword1

No big deal, similar events in Dublin regularly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

No story here. I reckon that farmer was doing more than farming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,100 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

I wonder was it the NPWS who did the culling , they would have the equipment for culling deer

Snipers always work in pairs. Can't make it out properly but they don't look like army issue rifles. Could possibly be rangers but who knows. Easy to say it was defence forces by the Dept

They also appear to be using shooting sticks , less likely in the military.

NOT for the easily offended

Video of the few animals lying on ground

http://youtu.be/tXryIHOpJqo

All decent farmers would hate to see animals like that
    If cab or who ever was that interested, then the gates should've been guarded 24/7, if their blaming vandals for cutting chains.

Wasn't the animals fault to be gunned down for the public to see.

Some 'human or humans' needs thorough investigation for pantomime of a killing spree!