Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How accurate is AH as a reflection of Irish society?

• 05-07-2016 12:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭

I lived in Dublin for three years when I was in college and I have been planning on coming back for a bit more schooling but now I am not so sure. I was super excited too because I had such a wonderful time before but now, with the rise of anti-immigration sentiment all over Europe, I wonder if I wouldn't be better off staying closer to home.

I am a little apprehensive for a number of reasons, one of which is the worry that the anti-immigrant/multiculturalism sentiment expressed in recent AH threads is an accurate reflection of Irish society at large. The one thread I am talking about had a poll where a statistically relevant number of people voted - 63% I think it was - against multiculturalism.

As a foreigner, it's a little disheartening to read some of the stuff said on here. I've been on boards and AH for a while - I closed my old account and re-regged - so I know not to take everything quite so seriously but even then, it's hard not to wonder if it is actually how people IRL feel but can only say under the guise of anonymity.

So tell me AH, how accurate would you say AH is as a reflection of Irish society?

So how accurate is it? 18 votes

It's a fair representation
    0% 0 votes
    Meh, it's AH, don't pay it any mind
    100% 18 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭muddypaws

Go to the UK, they are much more welcoming and open to multiculturalism and immigrants.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

I don't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Nah, not very.

The internet as a whole tends to be more reflective of extreme views, the moderates tend to be largely underrepresented because they're not militant in their views.

The militant include the kind of pathetic individuals who'll continually re-register accounts after having been banned, or register multiple account in order to shout out anyone else within a discussion.

So threads on contentious topics - like immigration - often see an influx of shouty and angry new accounts who mysteriously disappear shortly afterwards.

Dublin, and Ireland, is more open to other cultures than at any other time in my opinion. But then I am Irish, I'm not going to encounter negative comments or looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭HughWotMVIII

Sorry for all the reposts. Trying to delete them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

It should be ok now.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭coffeepls

I think AH is like being in the nearest pub to a uni - well - it reminds me of the local pub nearest uni when I was in college. Loads of people with loads of opinions, not necessarily correct ones, often just pure argumentative for the sake of it. Enjoyable to listen to (or read in this case), and you can take it or leave it if you want to contribute. Best of all is you can just walk off if you don't like it.

Don't take AH seriously. It's banter.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

How accurate is AH as a reflection of Irish society?

Not in the least bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,813 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

me_irl wrote: »
    Poll.

Not another damn Poll, the country's full of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,529 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Multiculturalism is multiple cultures living side by side - which often leads to many insular groups and tense relations between them
    If you integrate or at least engage with Irish values and Irish society I don't think anyone has any issue - and rightly so. If they still have a problem with you then perhaps the problem is theirs not yours.

If you were here for 3 years and enjoyed yourself then theres really no cause for worry.

Also yes, AH is in no way representative of Ireland at large. The internet is full of people shouting loudest, those with neutral opinions don't bother shouting because their opinions are, well, neutral/not strong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

After hours is the window lickers of Ireland.

No sane person would go into political threads and argue all day long.
    Dublin is packed full of foreigners. No one really cares apart from 1 or 2 gowls.

How would I fare in your town?

After hours is the window lickers of Ireland.

No sane person would go into political threads and argue all day long.
    Dublin is packed full of foreigners. No one really cares apart from 1 or 2 gowls.

How would I fare in your town?

Quite well actually. I live with two Italians, one Singaporean, and a Danish guy. Kigali is pretty good to foreigners. The numbers have quadrupled over the last five years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

Quite well actually. I live with two Italians, one Singaporean, and a Danish guy. Kigali is pretty good to foreigners. The numbers have quadrupled over the last five years.
    Perhaps there should be a contraception awareness campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

Nah Hugh, don't mind the hype. I'd bet it's no different to when you were last in Ireland.
    The sound people are still sound :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Not at all.

It's full of anonymous blowhards and chronic moaners who love feeling persecuted, but in real life virtually everybody just gets on with things.

Mon over and we get a bag O cans, a spice bag, and chicken rolls and I'll show you some real Irish culture.

Get the bus to limerick, sit at the back drinking cans and go to costellos. Then to chicken Hut and we start some fights with some gowls for looking at you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

I am a little apprehensive for a number of reasons, one of which is the worry that the anti-immigrant/multiculturalism sentiment expressed in recent AH threads is an accurate reflection of Irish society at large. The one thread I am talking about had a poll where a statistically relevant number of people voted - 63% I think it was - against multiculturalism.

As a foreigner, it's a little disheartening to read some of the stuff said on here. I've been on boards and AH for a while - I closed my old account and re-regged - so I know not to take everything quite so seriously but even then, it's hard not to wonder if it is actually how people IRL feel but can only say under the guise of anonymity.

So tell me AH, how accurate would you say AH is as a reflection of Irish society?

Be grand sure. The anti-immigrant crowd might be against the idea letting in hordes of people from Syria or whatever but I don't ever remember someone having a problem with a lad deciding to move over here from some far flung place and saying "feck it you don't belong here at all and you should get out"

The lib'rul anti-Brexit media in England are bitter now because they didn't get their way and are publishing every racism story they can get their hands on to help denounce the Brexit crowd as a bunch of racists but that doesnt mean things are getting worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,768 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

It isn't accurate.

I have no powers over Irish society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

AH isn't meant to be taken seriously most of the time. I don't even know what common definition there is for multiculturalism: most people I know in Ireland don't give a fcuk about what your culture is as long as you get on with people and you're not going around trying to make them live according to some rules handed down by some god or other years ago. Enjoy the rain. It has got worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

I like the comparison of AH is like a pub.
    Because in a pub you'll have the history buffs talking about if Stalin really was that mad of tyrant or if he a hero. You'll have the lads talking about the match that's coming up. You'll have the barman who's seen and heard it all.
    But imagine in the pub, each group is divided. Say a group talking about soccer, a group talking about MMA, a group talking about films and then you have the big group that each of those groups get people from. That big group is AH.

So to sum up: AH is a pile of lunatics and sometimes the people here wander out into the wild. It's representative in about as far as 100 people are representative of Ireland which is based purely on luck.

Tombi! wrote: »
    So to sum up: AH is a pile of lunatics and sometimes the people here wander out into the wild.

AH is the wild: occasionally we break into the carefully tended gardens of the rest of Boards to cause trouble enlighten them.

And in this pub you have bouncers throw you out for saying a rude word.

Ah is not a pub at all. It's a school class with the students having a free class and are closely watching eachothers behaviour to tell the teacher.

It isn't accurate.

I have no powers over Irish society.

Be grand sure. The anti-immigrant crowd might be against the idea letting in hordes of people from Syria or whatever but I don't ever remember someone having a problem with a lad deciding to move over here from some far flung place and saying "feck it you don't belong here at all and you should get out"

The lib'rul anti-Brexit media in England are bitter now because they didn't get their way and are publishing every racism story they can get their hands on to help denounce the Brexit crowd as a bunch of racists but that doesnt mean things are getting worse
    I've seen those stories floating around and heard of some from people I know - it's not just fear mongering. While it's unfair to say that all Brexiters are racist, Brexit definitely empowered the racists among them. I hope Ireland doesn't go that way in the future.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Unless you plan to spend a lot of time in the parental boxroom bedrooms of socially awkward and pathetically twisted keyboard warriors who blame all their failings on a word they can barely spell, let alone understand what it actually means, then you'll be grand. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Tombi! wrote: »
    I like the comparison of AH is like a pub.
    Because in a pub you'll have the history buffs talking about if Stalin really was that mad of tyrant or if he a hero. You'll have the lads talking about the match that's coming up. You'll have the barman who's seen and heard it all.
    But imagine in the pub, each group is divided. Say a group talking about soccer, a group talking about MMA, a group talking about films and then you have the big group that each of those groups get people from. That big group is AH.

So to sum up: AH is a pile of lunatics and sometimes the people here wander out into the wild. It's representative in about as far as 100 people are representative of Ireland which is based purely on luck.

I've always liked the pub comparison too, although it's like poking your nose into various different tables to stick in a post/comment, and then wandering off to the next one, and coming back when someone replies, so you can have several conversations at once. And there's some tables you're just not interested by and some that sound like they're about to become a riot at any moment, so you stay out of it.

And in this pub you have bouncers throw you out for saying a rude word.

Ah is not a pub at all. It's a school class with the students having a free class and are closely watching eachothers behaviour to tell the teacher.
    Eh, I think the bouncers are more watching to kick out anyone being a deliberate ass to anyone else so the majority can drink in peace :P

And not get sued. Since anyone can stick their head into the pub and take notes!

I'd love that to be true, but it's not.

Not all Brexiters are racists, but there has been a huge upsurge in racist incidents that can't be explained away by increased reportage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Not all Brexiters are racists but you can be sure most racists are Brexiters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I wouldn't say it's accurate. Unless you're a traveller you'll be grand :P

Actually I think with the economic upturn it'd be less of an issue than it was five years ago. You'll always get your hardy perennial racists/xenophobes of course, but you'll have that anywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I wouldn't say it's accurate even as far as a representation of the rest of Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Yeah, actually, getting back onto the topic (since I wandered off into pub analogies :D), overall, it's pretty decent. It won't have changed a great deal since the last time you were there, and big university cities tend to be fairly accommodating of foreigners since we do attract a lot of foreign students.

There -is- a current xenophobic swing in Europe on a macro-scale, but for individuals it's less of a thing.

The "targets" here tend to be Romanians, Poles, Eastern Europeans in general to a much lesser extent, Middle-Eastern Muslims*, Travellers (who aren't foreign, ofc, but different culture). Out of those, the Eastern European sector doesn't seem to see much problematic behaviour or attitudes, Muslim tension is all over Europe at the moment, but probably a lot less so in Ireland than in other places such as France or the UK** and Traveller tension has always been there. I assume by your saying you're in Kigali that you're Rwandan yourself. Ireland, oddly enough, has had links with Rwanda over the past twenty years or so and I certainly know of no commonly spouted (or spouted at all) Rwandan stereotypes, which is usually a good indicator of general feeling.

The biggest cultural clash does tend to be language. If you speak English well and can get along with Irish customs, there really doesn't tend to be issues. There is a religious clash going on at the moment, but that's pretty internal (Catholicism/secularism). If you enjoyed it here, welcome back, in short :P

*A lot of people don't seem entirely aware that anyone but Middle East/Turkey is Muslim!

** Actually, a question since you're here! I know Rwanda is predominantly Christian, but is there Islamic tension there too? We really don't get much news from Africa as a whole and it tends to be a bit lumped in together as "Africa" rather than individual countries and cultures, so mostly I'm working off a Eurocentric/American view!

Samaris wrote: »
    Yeah, actually, getting back onto the topic (since I wandered off into pub analogies :D), overall, it's pretty decent. It won't have changed a great deal since the last time you were there, and big university cities tend to be fairly accommodating of foreigners since we do attract a lot of foreign students.

There -is- a current xenophobic swing in Europe on a macro-scale, but for individuals it's less of a thing.

The "targets" here tend to be Romanians, Poles, Eastern Europeans in general to a much lesser extent, Middle-Eastern Muslims*, Travellers (who aren't foreign, ofc, but different culture). Out of those, the Eastern European sector doesn't seem to see much problematic behaviour or attitudes, Muslim tension is all over Europe at the moment, but probably a lot less so in Ireland than in other places such as France or the UK** and Traveller tension has always been there. I assume by your saying you're in Kigali that you're Rwandan yourself. Ireland, oddly enough, has had links with Rwanda over the past twenty years or so and I certainly know of no commonly spouted (or spouted at all) Rwandan stereotypes, which is usually a good indicator of general feeling.

The biggest cultural clash does tend to be language. If you speak English well and can get along with Irish customs, there really doesn't tend to be issues. There is a religious clash going on at the moment, but that's pretty internal (Catholicism/secularism). If you enjoyed it here, welcome back, in short :P

*A lot of people don't seem entirely aware that anyone but Middle East/Turkey is Muslim!

** Actually, a question since you're here! I know Rwanda is predominantly Christian, but is there Islamic tension there too? We really don't get much news from Africa as a whole and it tends to be a bit lumped in together as "Africa" rather than individual countries and cultures, so mostly I'm working off a Eurocentric/American view!

No, there's no Islamic tension in Rwanda. The Muslims make up about 5 percent of the population and are moderate I think. I rarely hear anything about them which I figure is a good thing. If anything, I'd say they are respected, having been the only religion whose representatives saved people during the genocide unlike most of the representatives of the Catholic church, who not only did nothing to help but also actively killed and help others kill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

I'd of thought AH was fairly representative of the national conversation.

I know allot of people , friends and family in Dublin where i'm from have had a changing attitude towards immigration in the last few years. I think the two things really fueling that are the rental crisis , as in rents are going up and up because demand is outweighing supply , no doubt the number of immigrants moving to Dublin from abroad has played a part in this. Obviously not the driving factor (lack of supply being the critical issue) but the City is now over populated.

The other factor i think that has really affected peoples view is the criminality etc among certain immigrant groups , such as the Roma and the Nigerians (particularly Taxi Scams).

still i think compared to the UK City's i visit regularly (London,Birmingham and Livepool) Dublin is on a whole a more tolerant place . The last few times i've been in the UK there's been a noticeable change in peoples attitudes towords immigrants particularly Muslims , Africans and eastern Europeans.

I lived in Tanzania which has Christians, Muslims, Hindu and Bantu religion all living alongside each other. Up until recently there was little or no tension. There does seem to be growing tension on the island of Zanzibaar though.

No, there's no Islamic tension in Rwanda. The Muslims make up about 5 percent of the population and are moderate I think. I rarely hear anything about them which I figure is a good thing. If anything, I'd say they are respected, having been the only religion whose representatives saved people - whatever their religion - during the genocide unlike most of the representatives of the Catholic church (to which most of the population subscribes), who not only did nothing to help but also actively killed and help others kill.

steddyeddy wrote: »

I lived in Tanzania which has Christians, Muslims, Hindu and Bantu religion all living alongside each other. Up until recently there was little or no tension. There does seem to be growing tension on the island of Zanzibaar though.
    Yeah, I've heard about the growing tension in Zanzibar. Mores the pity since tourism is one of their main sources of revenue.

PS: Is anyone else having trouble with the editing?

No, there's no Islamic tension in Rwanda. The Muslims make up about 5 percent of the population and are moderate I think. I rarely hear anything about them which I figure is a good thing. If anything, I'd say they are respected, having been the only religion whose representatives saved people during the genocide unlike most of the representatives of the Catholic church, who not only did nothing to help but also actively killed and help others kill.

Is there much of an influx from the border to the West?

Yeah, I've heard about the growing tension in Zanzibar. Mores the pity since tourism is one of their main sources of revenue.

PS: Is anyone else having trouble with the editing?

Yea just after I spelt Zanzibar wrong!

Candie wrote: »

Is there much of an influx from the border to the West?

From the DRC? Not really. Although we've had over 100.000 refugees this year, from the south, in Burundi.

A lot of the Congolese peoples cross the border into Tanzan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

muddypaws wrote: »
    Go to the UK, they are much more welcoming and open to multiculturalism and immigrants.

That is not true. Irish people are extremely welcoming. we didnt leave the EU just because we thought it'd mean less immigration

wakka12 wrote: »
    muddypaws wrote: »

That is not true. Irish people are extremely welcoming. we didnt leave the EU just because we thought it'd mean less immigration

It was a joke.

I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

It was a joke.

I think.
    I doubt it, I would agree that the UK is mostly welcoming to migrants. It is a very liberal country overall, I just wouldnt agree with that posters statement that its more welcoming than Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,529 ✭✭✭timmyntc

wakka12 wrote: »
    I doubt it, I would agree that the UK is mostly welcoming to migrants. It is a very liberal country overall, I just wouldnt agree with that posters statement that its more welcoming than Ireland.

I'm pretty sure it was a joke re: the brexit and recent reports of 'hate crimes' against foreigners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

OP, the simple fact this very thread ended up with a discussion about Zanzibar, should tell you :)

Anyhow, I myself am a foreigner, Italian to be specific; Been living in Ireland for over 7 years now, 6 of which in Cork, now I'm in Dublin.

I can't say I have ever experienced any real issues, and for those familiar with Cork and its insular nature (to some Corkonians a guy from Limerick is already a foreigner :D), it should tell a lot. Most of the times, I do get quite the opposite - people showing quite a bit of interest about my background, Italy and the likes.

It has to be said I already had a good level of English the day I set foot in Ireland and a fairly "global" vision - compared to most Italians, for example, I would get jokes in English and be aware of cultural references to American/British or generally English-speaking TV shows, novels, movies and such.

Dublin is effectively a cosmopolitan environment, if you don't make the mistake that many foreigners (especially Italian and Spanish) commit of locking themselves into communities, you'll be absolutely fine.

In the end, if the opinions expressed in AH were a mirror of society Ireland would effectively be the Fourth Reich in Celtic sauce, while in reality I've never felt like a foreigner here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

me_irl wrote: »
    Poll.

How do you know? He didn't reveal his nationality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

Not very accurate. People I meet on a daily basis arent racist bigots were as about 80% of AH is.

Unless you plan to spend a lot of time in the parental boxroom bedrooms of socially awkward and pathetically twisted keyboard warriors who blame all their failings on a word they can barely spell, let alone understand what it actually means, then you'll be grand. :)

I have a double bed in my place. She can stay here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

AH was once it's own little universe full of university and college geeks/nerds and socially awkward types who's points of reference were (wilfully) obscure and as such they were mostly harmless.

Now it's just a rabble of the unwashed.

AH was once it's own little universe full of university and college geeks/nerds and socially awkward types who's points of reference were (wilfully) obscure and as such they were mostly harmless.

Now it's just a rabble of the unwashed.

I deeply resent this personal abuse. I shower at least once a day in the most expensive unguents known to man.