Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Society Castlemartyr

• 04-07-2016 10:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭

Hard to believe we are at the July event already!

Next up is Castlemartyr on Saturday July 23. We have 10 slots booked at 12:10, going out in 3 balls every 10 minutes.

Guys this is a great venue and for €40 well worth it. I know for those of us in the pail it's a travel but to be fair many of our group have done similar journeys many times. I hope we get a good mix going to this one.

Teamer invites going out as we speak.

If anyone is planing on staying the hotel is top class, I will have the family down with me on the Friday night.

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Any chance of a pull out bed in your room ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Heading off on holiday that day so won't be able to make it unfortunately, hope you get a good turnout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

Playing captains prize in home club that day and have a camogie championship game so unfortunately won't make it!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Count me in for this one, haven't accommodation booked yet but will look into it today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 674 ✭✭✭Dr.Rieux

I'll be doing the day trip for this from South Dublin, if anyone wants to split the petrol cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

I'm in. Staying in the hotel as well. Sure feck it, I'll bring the family and stay a few days :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,513 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

My Brownie Point quota is well spent for July.

See you in August at Esker ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 ThecHamp26

Sorry All , I'll miss this one I'm away on a holiday with family

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

Haven't made a boards event yet guys but could possibly make this one? Would this be ok?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

More than welcome

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Just accepted there now. Myself & the Missus are going to go down & stay Friday evening & Saturday. Might as well make a trip of it

Accepted there now myself, losing my Boards golf society virginity that day!

slingerz wrote: »
    Accepted there now myself, losing my Boards golf society virginity that day!

Ah you'll be ok, we go gentle, just keep an eye on your balls and those belonging to the rest of your threesome. Don't need them going places they shouldn't be, and if they do get stuck somewhere awkward......... well, we won't tell anyone what you get up to :D

Just accepted there now. Myself & the Missus are going to go down & stay Friday evening & Saturday. Might as well make a trip of it

Excellent. First pint is on you;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭paulos53

I plan to be at this but will wait to confirm on Teamer next week

when will the timesheet go out for this?

I will try and do it this weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

I stayed here a few weeks ago in the lodges (great hols for young families) and played the course. Really enjoyed it, not very long and not too punishing, even a bit easy. Long irons off the tee are a good call as you'll get serious roll, fairways are very linksy. Course was in excellent condition with the greens on the quickish side

Loved the clubhouse, like something from Grand Designs. The house itself has a great spot out the back for drinks, don't forget the putter. It has the most random putting green I've ever seen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Was just about to ask could I join ye as I live 20 mins away and then I remembered I've a wedding in Poland :-(

Dave147 wrote: »
    Was just about to ask could I join ye as I live 20 mins away and then I remembered I've a wedding in Poland :-(

ditch the wedding. few of us will be there for a few nights, so we can have our own party :D

Dave147 wrote: »

Any chance of an invite - anything to get away from all these kids at the golf outing :p:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭Dave147

Haha no bother lads, I'm best man and have nothing prepared! Much rather play golf :P

Only 13 playing in cork so no real need for a time sheet.

If anyone wants to play in the 1st group just turn up early

J

I'm afraid in out for next Saturday folks. A rather pleasant wisdom tooth removal is booked in instead. Try not to be too jealous

Only 13 playing in cork so no real need for a time sheet.

If anyone wants to play in the 1st group just turn up early

J

Anyone else want to play.

Normally a great day out - and in real life lads are actually sound. :)

I'm afraid in out for next Saturday folks. A rather pleasant wisdom tooth removal is booked in instead. Try not to be too jealous

I've been having a bit of pain on and off for the last week. Went to dentist yesterday and he could see no problem. X-ray showed all was in order, told me a good clean was needed but other than that should be ok. Booked in for next Wednesday for that.

Well I was up all night with the pain. Thankfully has subsided now, but can't pinpoint it, no pain in any teeth so it seems the problem lies deeper. Really not looking forward to that..........:(

Down to 12 now !!! Very poor turnout, especially as all the cork lads travel to the other events.

If any of the 12 confirmed can't go can you please let me know as early as possible

Down to 12 now !!! Very poor turnout, especially as all the cork lads travel to the other events.

If any of the 12 confirmed can't go can you please let me know as early as possible

And we got such a good turnout last year in Fota. Hope we have a few last minute ad ons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭dwd

Dr.Rieux wrote: »
    I'll be doing the day trip for this from South Dublin, if anyone wants to split the petrol cost?

Are you still heading down? I think I should be able to make next weekend now. I'm based near Walkinstown and would have no problem splitting the petrol if I could bum a lift.

dwd wrote: »
    Are you still heading down? I think I should be able to make next weekend now. I'm based near Walkinstown and would have no problem splitting the petrol if I could bum a lift.

Yup I'm still heading down, more than happy for the company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

As a corkonian I'd love to play but I'm away next weekend. Lovely track scoring 9 is front 9 for sure. Ye playing off the blues? Whites are a bit of a gimme imo.

Yup I'm still heading down, more than happy for the company.

Deadly.

Just accept on teamer there now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Is there still spaces in this/?

Yes, you are most welcome to come along

I have reduced the tee times to accommodate 20.

So there is room for 6 more

J

Guys as we are well under the 36 that I booked for we no longer get the reduced rate.

The fee for 20 players and under is 50. The society will subsidise 5 per round for members so the fee on Saturday will be 45 for members and 50 for guests

If any wants to bring a guest please do

J

Can't wait until Saturday, haven't set foot on course since the New Forest outing :( so I've just been looking over Kevin Markham flickr photo's here to build the anticipation :D

J any ideas which tees, from the score card the blues look like they'd be playable, not too long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭millerj

A friend of mine played Castlemartyr today and sent me on the following message, 'best condition I have ever seen the place in - better condition than Cork Golf Club and Druid's Glen recently, I was well impressed'. judging by that it sounds like the course is in superb condition and he is a guy that would have played the course several times in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

dwd wrote: »
    Can't wait until Saturday, haven't set foot on course since the New Forest outing :( so I've just been looking over Kevin Markham flickr photo's here to build the anticipation :D

J any ideas which tees, from the score card the blues look like they'd be playable, not too long!

I was down there last week taking photographs of the course and, yes, the place is in fabulous condition. The grasses are up and golden and the greens are glorious. The rough looks more treacherous than it is... it's fescue.

One thing to note - the par five 11th is shaped like a reverse C. It's a brute and the drive is blind. I doubt anyone will be able to see the green - let along the flag - for their second shot, so play for the fairway you can see. And if the green is visible (tucked well into the left in a nest of gorse)... congratulations. If you want to take it a step further, when you drive passed the hotel you're directed left to the golf course... if you go straight on 100 yards you'll come to the 11th green... which will give you some idea of what's expected of you.

In the meantime... some photographs from last week.

The par three 5th (beside the road as you drive in): e0qr2c.jpg

The 10th green (from the left hand side): 2eggo05.jpg

Approach to the par five 8th: ok36td.jpg

Approach to the par five 4th: fbg4gp.jpg

Now that is a course that suits my eye.

Pity I'm playing like this at present.

Anyone on a fairway left of me - seriously watch out. I'm very good at fore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Herself not at 6cm dilated yet so I might try make this. Doc, can I bum a lift too if there's room in the car?

RoadRunner wrote: »
    Herself not at 6cm dilated yet so I might try make this. Doc, can I bum a lift too if there's room in the car?

There will be clubs in the back of the car possibly, as I've discovered that the boot of the Golf isn't that big, but as long as ye don't mind that, no problem. I'm meeting dwd in the Walkinstown area at 9ish if that suits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Cool, I could motorbike out to Walkinstown and meet yous there. No probs sharing back seat with clubs. Could you maybe PM with your address or a good place to meet there where I park up the bike? Other option is Luas stop at redcow.
    Cheers.

Just landed.

It's a few years since I was here last, and must be 7 years since I played the course so I don't remember much about the place.
    But Lads, from what I seen driving up the estate.............. Pay a visit to McGuirks and bring loadsa balls :eek:

I'll do more recon tomorrow, for now it's unpack and open the wine :D

RoadRunner wrote: »
    Cool, I could motorbike out to Walkinstown and meet yous there. No probs sharing back seat with clubs. Could you maybe PM with your address or a good place to meet there where I park up the bike? Other option is Luas stop at redcow.
    Cheers.

You can leave your bike in my drive, it'll save Dr.R having to do 2 pick ups!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Played it a few weeks ago. Excellent condition. Few too many pitch marks not repaired but I guess that happens.

Anyway I would say it plays fairy short mostly.

The par 5 4th has internal OB left. And it is not very far left. Short of bunker om the right is probably the shot. But hedges push in on the right too. So unless you are full of confidence I would go with a shortish iron as its still well reachable in 3 after that.

The par 4 6th has OB right and it is closer than you'd think off tee - just right of nest of right bunkers. Bunker greenside left is probably line. Not driver. I think I hit 8 iron, wedge to leave a good shot at birdie.

Careful on 9. There is a bit of a dip to dry drain and ball can run a long way. Do not hit driver. Better safe than sorry on this one.

11 is a bit mad as Kevin says. Just play to be short of drain in 2 unless you get a great drive away. Middle of green is the shot

On 15 watch out for internal OB left, cutting too much off corner can lead to trouble. Smart play is straight out (likely not driver)

Enjoy. Lovely course

Just following on from alx's comments... the front 9 is short and this is where you'll score more freely. The back 9 is much longer and certainly with holes 10 (Index 1) and 11 the second 9 hit you hard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Really disappointed I couldn't make this outing. Am actually on hols at the moment in Dungarvan, only 30minutes away. Had planned on staying in the hotel to extend our hols but unfortunately there is a family outing I can't miss. So enjoy lads, weather has been lovely the last week so hopefully it keeps up for you.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Lads, have done some right good damage to my knee and am waiting to see a specialist to see what surgery is needed (torn cartilage and MRi showed I have a 9mm cyst on top of my tibia, wtf did that come from?!!) Am able to get around with it strapped up but standing for anything more than a minute is painful.

Tomorrow might be my last round of golf for a long time, so anyone who has played the course before, do you think I'd get around with a buggy without too much strain? Really want to go, even with the long spin down.

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Lads, have done some right good damage to my knee and am waiting to see a specialist to see what surgery is needed (torn cartilage and MRi showed I have a 9mm cyst on top of my tibia, wtf did that come from?!!) Am able to get around with it strapped up but standing for anything more than a minute is painful.

Tomorrow might be my last round of golf for a long time, so anyone who has played the course before, do you think I'd get around with a buggy without too much strain? Really want to go, even with the long spin down.

Yes, it's not a strenuous course even without a buggy and the cart paths are well defined. Given the recent weather I'd be surprised if you're not allowed to drive right up to your ball... although you're not allowed to take buggies into the fescue grasses. There aren't too many uneven lies either.