If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tell us about your new improved government regulations compliant cycle part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 arse_jackeen

Knocklyon to Howth Head and back 62km. Roads on Howth Head were quite slippy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,498 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Glendalough Green is closed till 3Rd of February, the owner is away on holiday for a few weeks.

I was down home in Sligo for the weekend so brought the bike. Got up this morning raring to go, looked out the window and could barely see the window sill with the fog. I said I'd leave it for a while but that while turned into a few hours and the fog turned to rain and then it was dinner and time to head home. Jumped into the car, drove 3 miles down the road and no fog or rain. Could have been out all morning. The joys of living 600ft up the middle of the Ox Mountains.
    Came home and did an hour on Zwift. Not the same :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭kirk buttercup

So been doing Mtbiking for the Last two years and decided to do some Road cycling too. I have never done any before this weekend, did Two 25km spins in wicklow ( very hilly) around where I live. really enjoyed it, I decided to ease myself in but gonna add more and more distance as I adjust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,236 ✭✭✭✭dahat

120km with the in with one or two lads of the quicker lads back off winter breaks. Lumpy spin with one or two.nice digs which I felt real good on and felt the improvement of more focused training via Traineroad.
    My climbing is improving and while I won't ever get KOM I hope to get efficient at least so I don't get dropped when the pace rises over the coming months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I had to take advantage of today's weather and the fact the my young lad had no sports training. I also had a burning desire to try my new winter jacket.

I set off with a neighbour and we headed for Enniskerry. From there we went up to Glencree (via the Liam Horner route) and then onto Sally Gap. It was quite foggy/misty up there and me like a fool dressed in black with no lights. As we approached Sally Gap we could see that the visibility was improving down the mountain to our right. We descended towards Manor Kilbride.

At this point the Garmin was indicating over 750m climbed so I decided to take the opportunity to go for 1,000m. Just after Kippure Adventure centre we took the slight right that brought us past the military firing range and we turned left to head for Brittas.

Near Brittas, the Garmin was now indicating close to 1,000m climbed but I was presented with another problem - there was 60km on the clock - we could either head for home and finish at 75km or we could, you know, head for Blessington for a coffee and then head home with 100km for the day.

Needless to say, we went to Blessington. Tasty apple tart in the Moody Rooster. We had a bit of a yap with some of the Resevoir Cogs lads that Merican Pro mentioned a few posts back. They were doing their best to recruit us for this years Dog :)

101km and 1,140m. Not bad for January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 815 ✭✭✭1bryan

Weepsie wrote: »
    Precisely as you said. They are closed until February 3rd. Nature of the their business means they might get very little other chances to take a break.

thanks. Good to see I'm not the only one who misses it!

Got out for three spins last week. Kept to lower roads around Enniskerry with the extra Christmas balast on board.

I wore bib shorts on two of them. It's great cycling weather and passed loads of others out too.

33km today . Inching towards 50km and hopefully 100 in June for the wicklow 100/200. Took in Ashford , Glenealy ,Deputys pass and Wicklow. Parts were tough against the wind .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Paul_Mc1988

On a side note anyone know anywhere to fill up a water bottle up around blessington.:)

https://www.strava.com/activities/823032594

As you go through Blessington from Dublin, on the RIGHT at the "end" before the hardware place is a little Offy/Shop that have never minded me bringing my bike in. You can get a bottle of water there and bars etc. it's a thin/long shop so bringing a bike in does not cause any issues.

My bikes are never left alone! :)
    That's just the info I needed:). 
    Got out for a nice 60 odd Kilometers on Sunday with just over 700 meters of climbing, Had not done more than 350 on a single cycle before this.. First time ever up at Sallys gap and it almost broke me. Three lads past me with about a kilometer to go and gave me some words of encouragement and some advise to sit back in the saddle as i was off that saddle at the time and panting like dog. Hit over 70 Kmph on the way back down which was a bit hairy thinking back on it now.

https://www.strava.com/activities/824950789

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭Hauki

I've been in Tenerife for a week and now finally I got into riding.

Yesterday I did the big climb starting from Puerto de la Cruz and turned around at Teleferico del Teide. Nice 50k's of uphill followed by 50k of downhill. Total for the day was 101km and 2520m of climbing.

Weather was absolutely gorgeous. In the beach it was +27C and I was riding in shorts and short sleeve jersey for most of the day. Just 2 days earlier it was snowing at the top so it was quite surreal to ride in summer gear when there was still snow at the side of the road. Weather at the top was mild with clear blue skies.

Definitely one of the best rides of my life.

https://www.strava.com/activities/826470350

Another Trianerroad workout on my chosen plan but it was a set of VO2 max intervals, my worst nightmare tbh. Found these 3 min intervals a little easier than 1 min on/off and I was able to complete the set with just a slight adjustment on intensity.

While the Traineroad is hard work I am feeling the benefit on the road and I hope to progress further as the season approaches..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

WINDY! Battled my way to work this morning, heading from south to north Dublin. It was manageable, but I was tired at the end. It was more of a constant head wind rather than being too gusty I found. I've definitely cycled worse anyway! Should be blown home, so at least I've got that going for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

WINDY! Battled my way to work this morning, heading from south to north Dublin. It was manageable, but I was tired at the end. It was more of a constant head wind rather than being too gusty I found. I've definitely cycled worse anyway! Should be blown home, so at least I've got that going for me!

I chickened out & left the bike at home, was feeling pretty tired to start with and figured it would either be a battle in or a battle home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,719 ✭✭✭✭ted1

My usual 40 minute cummute became a 50 minute commute. Bloody headwinds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Luxman

Did 93k around maynooth. Kilcock. Trim. Couldn't nail down wind direction until I hit the home stretch from trim with a strong tailwind. Needed it too as I was tired when I got in. This was a bit over the usual 50/60k club spins but happy to push up the distance a little

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭poochiem

THE WIND! Think I've a bit of this cold that's doing the rounds as well but I found the extended commute (just under 25k stocking lane, lamb doyle's, blackrock) absolutely draining today. empty legs after the chrimbo. I don't think the 35mm cx tyres running 35psi are helping to be honest, felt like anchors but will be handy if it does snow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭dragratchet

tough old station in the wind today. did my usual quick hill spin up cruagh and across to glencullen etc. pushing full gas just to keep momentum whilst going downhill is a strange sensation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Miklos

Lucan, Clonee, Dunshaughlin and Kilcock all in that raging headwind. Tailwind back from Kilcock was very welcome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

poochiem wrote: »
    THE WIND! Think I've a bit of this cold that's doing the rounds as well but I found the extended commute (just under 25k stocking lane, lamb doyle's, blackrock) absolutely draining today. empty legs after the chrimbo. I don't think the 35mm cx tyres running 35psi are helping to be honest, felt like anchors but will be handy if it does snow.

This sounds a little low. I run my 35mm tyres at 50psi.

OTOH, THE WIND!...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭TooObvious

Cycling along the N7 this morning I was unfortunate enough to have 2 punctures. Big thanks to the lad in the white van who gave me a lift, only a minute or so after the 2nd puncture, all the way into Cyclesuperstore! They in turn were gracious enough to look after me with some new tubes and even fixed my puncture! They weren't even supposed to be open at the time! So what could have been a disaster commute was an overall positive experience!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,976 ✭✭✭secman

First spin since new year's eve yesterday, bad oul dose that:(. A straight run out to blessington and back, 40 km Avg was 25.5 kph, misty damp day but good to be back out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Did you do that this morning? Must have been fierce cold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,498 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Weather here was fine but the roads were manky dirty. Missed the Group 2 spin by seconds so ended up with the racing group, some proper racers too. A2s and a junior that was over with the Nicholas Roache development squad.
    The idea being that group 2 gets a 10 minute headstart and we all meet up at the coffee stop fairly close together.
    What followed was an absolute Hammerfest (for me anyway, the A2s and Juniors probably not so much)
    I was good till the coffee but spent the last 30 odd km barely hanging on to the back. A few times I got distanced on the small hills but got back on on descents thanks to my aerodynamic belly. Unfortunately the rolling road meant I was usually out the back again a few seconds later and then repeat. Good craic all the same but maybe I should leave the house 10 minutes earlier next week.
    Longwood -Kinnegad -Killucan -Mullingar -Kinnegad and back to Longwood
    83km @31.8kmh. So much for the easy endurance spin
    https://www.strava.com/activities/832581981

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭moonshadow

Led out the new members and leisure group today , started off by walking in formation to show the newbies how to cycle in group and change over , then headed off for a leisurely spin of 52k @ 23 km/h coffe stop half way.
    No mishaps , no punctures plenty of banter and 4 new sign ups successful morning !!

Usual Sunday club spin today and a good solid group of strong lads. We dropped a couple of lads early as the pace was hot and they weren't looking for a gallop as they are working their way back to fitness.

It felt a good solid even pace and a little fun near the end chasing down a lad or two to open the legs , pretty happy with my fitness as I am far stronger than I was at any point last year.

It was also the first road spin for my new saddle a FIZIK ANTARES which I picked up here and impressed I was, I have never been as comfy and relaxed on a bike so it looks like I have found my perfect saddle.

105km with 815m of up and a solid 30km average.

Quick edit...105km not 195km!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭moonshadow

195 for a Sunday club spin ......wow !

moonshadow wrote: »
    195 for a Sunday club spin ......wow !

Quick edit above....Good spot.

After my last 4 spins being on the road returned to MTBiking today... it felt like cycling a tractor uphill. Back to the road tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭jober

First proper spin out on the bike today since early December. 50 km kept it a very flat spin from tallaght - celbridge - maynooth - Lucan and home.couple of weeks it will take to get the fitness back I reckon. Was good to be back out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

dahat wrote: »
    Quick edit above....Good spot.

I am almost disappointed that's it's not 195km :-)

Either way, you won't have any problem with the Wicklow 200!