Tell us about your new improved government regulations compliant cycle part II

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,502 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

first time in the phoenix park in donkeys for me. nice and quiet (though got beeped at for not using a cycle path which was barely visible for the leaves)

didn't do the loop down into the furry glen - was concerned the road might have been awash with leaves, but the few glances i had from above, it seemed OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

Not sure if we overlapped or not - I was in the Park from about 10 till 1. The Furry Glen was fine once you took it easy but you need to do that anyway as most pedestrians there regard cyclists as intruders. The North Road near the Cabra Gate was probably the worst for leaves that have turned into mush and, like a few others have mentioned, took a lot of cleaning off when back home. I can recommend the Tea Rooms near the Zoo - nice coffee and scone and quite a short queue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭rushfan

Actually, just from reading this thread got me wondering if you carry any form of ID when you cycle? I wear a "Road ID" dogtag type when I'm out. Customised with whatever details I want, e.g. name, name of estate & town where I live ( not incl. house no. ) contact details of next of kin, blood type, meds or no meds.
    Needless to say, wishing you the best of luck with the recovery.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 44,448 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

I carry my phone in a back pocket inside a plastic food bag. I have my drivers licence in a small plastic bag inside the same food bag (visible if to anyone who takes the bag out of my pocket).
    Unfortunately necessary.

Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/ .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭.red.

First time on the bike today in 5/6 weeks due to a few different reasons but mainly due to road works and the amount of wet leaves on the road. I've kept myself busy walking instead.
    Ended up raining just after I left and I almost turned back but it dried up quick enough to a pleasant morning.
    Ended up doing 30kms in 70mins averaging 25.7kph within my 5k. I kept well away from the roads that I knew were covered in leaves.
    Nice to be back out on it again but I was destroyed when I got home due to no mudguards I realises half my rear light had fallen off somewhere so must grab a new one.

https://strava.app.link/G1VFv0x1ibb

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 54,502 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

Not sure if we overlapped or not - I was in the Park from about 10 till 1.
    fraid not, i didn't leave the house til a quarter to two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

rushfan wrote: »
    Actually, just from reading this thread got me wondering if you carry any form of ID when you cycle? I wear a "Road ID" dogtag type when I'm out. Customised with whatever details I want, e.g. name, name of estate & town where I live ( not incl. house no. ) contact details of next of kin, blood type, meds or no meds.
    Needless to say, wishing you the best of luck with the recovery.

I used always wear he RoadID dogtags, until I was taken down in a race about 5 years ago. I was badly injured, including a bad concussion. I couldn't remember my wife's name, never mind her phone number. Somehow the dogtags went down my back instead of down my chest and the medics didn't see it. I apparently got quite agitated about not remembering names etc.
    Anyway after that I got a RoadId wrist strap in red, which I now wear.

Only replaced my own RoadID bracelet not that long ago, was about €25 I think it was. Great thing to have and at this stage I'd feel weird going out without it.

You can even get just the info part done up and it will slip onto to some of the strap of some of the sports watches.

Cycling Ireland do an ICE bracelet for members for €6.50. AFAIK it's made by iDMe and you can either order it at membership renewal or by contacting CI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Bull76

RoadID is a brilliant product. Always have the bracelet on me when out cycling. Got it years ago when I used to run. Herself wanted me to have something in case the worst ever happened. Name, DoB, blood type and ICE numbers.

i loathe wearing anything like that. bracelets, watches, wedding ring (i wore my wedding band for two days before taking it off). even the security guard in work gave up telling me to put my staff ID on a lanyard around my neck. any other products which do the same without being a bracelet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

i loathe wearing anything like that. bracelets, watches, wedding ring (i wore my wedding band for two days before taking it off). even the security guard in work gave up telling me to put my staff ID on a lanyard around my neck. any other products which do the same without being a bracelet?

Like above I've worn a RoadID for years and it would feel weird going out without it.

The one I have is a soft, velcro material type thing and tbh you wouldn't even know you were wearing it. And, like you, I ain't fond of any type of jewellery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

I lost all if my usual Zen tonight on Aston Quay, normally I dont get into rows but a taxi driver purposely nudged me while beeping at me trying to force me into the space for the bus stop - i wont go in there because the surface is in tatters but the middle lane is bus and cycle anyway. I just about stayed upright and he went around me.

I caught him at the lights and lost it, he locked his doors and was clearly terrified, I felt like a complete arsehole then. While what he did was unforgivable and he should be banned from driving I felt I let myself down too, I should have taken his details and reported him rather than going ape****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭a148pro

He made contact with your bike with his car? Vindictively? Lucky for him he stayed in the car imo.

Why are people such assholes over such petty stuff, we all have to live on the earth together, a bit of lee way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭John Hutton

I lost all if my usual Zen tonight on Aston Quay, normally I dont get into rows but a taxi driver purposely nudged me while beeping at me trying to force me into the space for the bus stop - i wont go in there because the surface is in tatters but the middle lane is bus and cycle anyway. I just about stayed upright and he went around me.

I caught him at the lights and lost it, he locked his doors and was clearly terrified, I felt like a complete arsehole then. While what he did was unforgivable and he should be banned from driving I felt I let myself down too, I should have taken his details and reported him rather than going ape****

He will think twice in future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭sy_flembeck

You can still report him. A reg check on Pulse and a knock on his door will soften his cough at the very least.

And for what it's worth, I wouldn't beat myself up over your reaction if I was you. It sounds justifiable to me.

if he purposely nudged you, i'd have forgiven you tearing his wing mirror off.

however, i wouldn't bother going to the gardai with it - if they know you lost the rag, they'll use that as an excuse to not do anything.

See I mentioned earlier about them doing ones for sports watches? They do them for helmet straps as well. Which now I think about it is probably more visible to someone in the event anything happens and assuming the helmet stays on.

EDIT: One such example https://iceid.co.uk/helmet-id-for-cycling-horse-riding-and-motorbike-straps/

The other benefit is it's unlikely you will for get to put on your helmet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭cletus

See I mentioned earlier about them doing ones for sports watches? They do them for helmet straps as well. Which now I think about it is probably more visible to someone in the event anything happens and assuming the helmet stays on.

EDIT: One such example https://iceid.co.uk/helmet-id-for-cycling-horse-riding-and-motorbike-straps/

The other benefit is it's unlikely you will for get to put on your helmet.

Thanks for that. Not necessarily for myself, but my wife always gets worried when I go out for a spin, this might assuage her fears slightly

cletus wrote: »
    Thanks for that. Not necessarily for myself, but my wife always gets worried when I go out for a spin, this might assuage her fears slightly

Ha ha here mines a nurse, so in the event she gets a call to say I've been hit by a truck she'd likely ask if they did me the courtesy of reversing to finish me off

Don't beat yourself up over it. I'm usually pretty mellow on the road too but a few years back on the Quays heading to Houston a car tried to ram me off the road for some reason. I had to bunny hop up on the kerb to save myself. I followed them all the way to Kilmainham and kicked their wing mirror off. I wasn't proud of myself but I have never been so rattled by someone in my life and it was my natural reaction.

Really wouldn't recommend the rip the wing mirror off reaction. My brother did something similar to a taxi in the Amiens Street bus lane years ago and ended up lying on the ground with two broken front teeth. Fortunately some bystanders held onto the taxi driver while another one fetched a Garda from Store Street. It ended up in Court and my brother got his dental expenses paid plus a bit more. Better letting off steam, taking a few photos and any witness details and following it up with the Guards.

No slight or knock on your brother, but in general terms I'm always amazed at how many people are willing to get into physical altercations without knowing how to fight

cyclists would frequently be at a disadvantage in such situations anyway, it's harder to fight while wearing cleats (i say this as an assumption, rather than borne of actual experience, thankfully - but i have been in at least a couple of scenarios where i was afraid i might have to get off the bike to defend myself)

Absolutely, fighting in cleats would be a disadvantage. Not knowing how to throw or take a punch would also be a disadvantage :)

last time i punched someone in anger, it was 1989.

Last time I punched someone in anger was about the same. Last time I punched someone was about September :D.

Anyway completely off topic, so apologies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,253 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

cletus wrote: »
    Last time I punched someone in anger was about the same. Last time I punched someone was about September :D.

Anyway completely off topic, so apologies

I have experience of being knocked out :)

I was just annoyed that I boiled over last night. I'd have preferred to take his details and report him, all I know know is he was in a white Prius which is roughly 87% of the taxis in Dublin

I have experience of being knocked out :)

I was just annoyed that I boiled over last night. I'd have preferred to take his details and report him, all I know know is he was in a white Prius which is roughly 87% of the taxis in Dublin

I've come across you on the MMA forum, lollipopjimmy, my post wasn't aimed at you, or anyone in particular, really. More of a life observation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,090 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Can relate to all above ^^ I don't go out without ID on - many years just a velcro strap with ID info enclosed and then moved to RoadID. Had the clasp type but the clasp broke within year or so and have now gone to a red silicone strap. Always good discount offers with RoadID and they should likely have a very good Black Friday sale too.

Wing mirrors.. its what I aim for first. Have had a few post collision encounters with wing mirrors. Yes, fighting in cleats would not end well but they put a mighty dent in car doors, and any other part of a car they come in contact with. This from someone who has never raised a fist in his life but when cars come too close or invade my space on the bike then the red mist will come down.