Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What was the worst concert you were ever at.

• 02-07-2016 8:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭

One of the first gigs I ever attended was the Australian outfit The Vines. I believe it was in 2004 or 5, not entirely sure.

I loved The Vines, I played the crap out the Highly Evolved and Winning Days CDs. However I thought they were terrible live. Substandard playing and the lead singer just took the absolute piss screaming and shouting and getting the lyrics wrong. He seemed very drunk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

Robbie Williams in Croke Park.

So bad it was that he apologised at the end and promised a free concert for all attendees.

That was about 11 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,550 ✭✭✭✭JRant

The Verve in Slane for me. Ashcroft came out onto the stage looking like cooked spaghetti and slurred his way through a shambles of a set. The drugs obviously worked for him that night :)

"Well, yeah, you know, that's just, like, your opinion, man"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

RHCP in the Phoenix Park. Never have I seen a band so disinterested in playing or having to be there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

Kanye West's first Irish gig. I wasn't a fan anyway (got free tickets) but he did something like 6 songs then walked off and was done.

Anytime I've seen Mastodon live they've been sh!te too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭seiphil

The Smashing Pumpkins in 2011 or something in the RDS.

€70.00 for half hour ****ty b-sides and then Billy Corgon moaning about the crowd half way through it.

Tonnes of people were storming out too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,663 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

RHCP in the Phoenix Park. Never have I seen a band so disinterested in playing or having to be there.

I was at that gig, spent the whole time lying on the ground with stomach cramps. Awful gig

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Neil Diamond (1989). I never liked him much anyway but the missus wanted to go. I hated every f**king minute of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Saw Bob Dylan at a one-off festival called the London Feis around 5 or 6 years ago. Absolutely painful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Katy Perry in the point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭tobottherobot

Kanye West's first Irish gig. I wasn't a fan anyway (got free tickets) but he did something like 6 songs then walked off and was done.

Same for me... what a c**t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

The Killers in Marlay Park. Must be 6/7 years ago now.

Not because of the gig...Bloc Party were support and The Killers were pretty good that night but the organisation of the transport afterwards was a shambles and that's my abiding memory of the gig.

Anytime I've seen Mastodon live they've been sh!te too

Jaysus, I had wiped that one from the memory bank altogether. That was a truly pathetic effort altogether. Didn't he walk off citing the lack of "brothers" in the audience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭LightsStillOn

Been lucky enough that I've never been to a bad gig in all my years of going. Bar maybe Swedish House Mafia a few years ago, wasn't really my choice to go to it and was very happy to get out of there at the end of the night! Snoop was decent though so wasn't a total waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,907 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I was there and it was brutal. The pixies were quite good but RHCP were sh*t.

JRant wrote: »
    Jaysus, I had wiped that one from the memory bank altogether. That was a truly pathetic effort altogether. Didn't he walk off citing the lack of "brothers" in the audience?

Something like that, but had to tell cause the fcuker just mumbled into the mic and stormed off. Absolute sap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

Saw Lady Gaga in the Aviva with the wife. It was a disjointed mess of costume changes and missed cues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭Oafley Jones

Genuinely terrible gig. Was a big fan of the Chilis, still listen to the earlier stuff and Flea would probably be my favourite musician but that gig was just ****e. Woeful sound setup. Strange atmosphere as well from the sheer number of pixie fans that were only there for them.. Also ****e. Lansdowne was okay, but thought they were decent at slane. RHCP really should never have been a stadium band.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭jack presley

Genuinely terrible gig. Was a big fan of the Chilis, still listen to the earlier stuff and Flea would probably be my favourite musician but that gig was just ****e. Woeful sound setup. Strange atmosphere as well from the pixie fan that were only there for them.. Also ****e. Lansdowne was okay, but thought they were decent at slane. RHCP really should never have been a stadium band.

I enjoyed Slane, Landsdowne and going back donkey's year their gig in Dalymount. But this one was awful. They were just going through the motions and counting the minutes till they could get offstage and count the money they got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

seiphil wrote: »
    The Smashing Pumpkins in 2011 or something in the RDS.

€70.00 for half hour ****ty b-sides and then Billy Corgon moaning about the crowd half way through it.

Tonnes of people were storming out too.
    It was 2008 (no idea where you got 2011 from).

I don't recall them playing any b-sides, or seeing people storming out. For me the gig was poor mostly due to the terrible acoustics of RDS Simmonscourt. It's a horseshed and it sounded like the inside of a horseshed. Billy was full of himself as usual, and dragging the song United States out to 20 minutes was painful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

Went to see Bob Dylan in Galway, the first concert I ever went to and stupidly wore high heels. :/

At a Pink Floyd concert in Earls Court, I got separated from my husband, boyfriend at the time, and ended up in a taxi heading to the other side of the city. Cost me a fortune.

Went to see Eric Clapton and the rain was mental.

Slane to see Oasis/Kasabian and walked for miles after to get a taxi to our b&b.

Still enjoyed them all though so never really had a problem with the band/singer. Every time I go to a concert, I'm a little bit more prepared.

U2 in Croke park were brutal as well. The sound was woeful and when Bono brought out all those people wearing face mask of your one from Burma I walked straight out the gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

REM in Marley Park, years ago. They were over an hour late and only played for 40 minutes. Getting out of there was a nightmare afterwards too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,092 ✭✭✭furiousox

Neil Young was fantastic a couple of weeks back in the 3, but the gig he played in the RDS with Crazy Horse 2013 was a disaster.
    It would have been a good indoor gig but it was windy, pi$$ed sheets of rain throughout, the sound was appalling, and Neil was grouchy.
    Was a relief when it was over.

CPL 593H

Haven't been to a bad one but then again, 90% of gigs I've considered through the years, I discard for one reason or another so I'm probably too choosy in terms of who i see. Really, I can't think of a bad one and I've been to 100"s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Went to see the band Wire downstairs at The Academy a few years ago. One of my favourite bands, their back catalogue is unbelievable. They played for an hour, nothing but mediocre new stuff and no classics. I think it's totally fair enough for bands to play their new material but to completely ignore all the songs that the crowd are clearly there to hear is total rubbish. Maybe not the worst gig I was ever at, but defintely the most dissapointing.

Saw a duo called Jeff The Brotherhood a few years ago. A drum and guitar twosome. The drummer was so drunk he fell off his seat, more than once, and the guitarist was so wasted he couldn't remember the songs. Was sort of entertaining in a way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭CloudCumulus

Britney Spears in 3 arena a few years ago.
    Sure i shouldn't have been expecting much but ers was the first album I ever bought and thought it would be a bit of craic.
    She was wooden and mimed her way through, plus I was standing behind some douche with his camera in the air the entire time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭Hococop

Linkin park in 08, think it was RDS, thought it was awful, looked like they had no interest in being there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Myself and Mrs.Osis took two days off work to see Bob Dylan in Millstreet.

We were about an hours drive away from the venue when it was announced on the radio that the big nosed little bollix had a cold and wouldn't be performing.

We drove on to Cork in a rage and went on the piss anyway.Ended up having a grand night.

That was the worst concert I was nearly at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 515 ✭✭✭daithi1970

u2 in Croker in 2005,was up in stands, and the acoustics were completely poxy-the sound just bounced around the place and you could barely make out what the songs were..would never go back to croker for a music gig,its completely unsuitable for live music on that scale..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭sheep?

Genuinely terrible gig. Was a big fan of the Chilis, still listen to the earlier stuff and Flea would probably be my favourite musician but that gig was just ****e. Woeful sound setup. Strange atmosphere as well from the sheer number of pixie fans that were only there for them.. Also ****e. Lansdowne was okay, but thought they were decent at slane. RHCP really should never have been a stadium band.

Lansdowne RHCP was my first gig, and it was well below par imo. Awful awful sound. Couldn't make out a word.

Slane was much better. Great craic, and played some older tunes. Certainly helped that Feeder, QOTSA and Foo Fighters were also playing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Salmon Leap

Def Leppard in the Point a few years ago I thought were awful. Also Europe in Olympia last year. Was there to see Black Star Riders who were superb but Europe were awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭sheep?

Also, Murray Perahia playing at the NCH in 2010/11 (can't recall which year).

Butchered so many pieces, putting his own 'interpretation' on them, which generally translated as 'play them slowly, ignoring rhythmic and tempo directions'.

First and only gig I've ever walked out on (so far).

Def Leppard in the Point a few years ago I thought were awful. Also Europe in Olympia last year. Was there to see Black Star Riders who were superb but Europe were awful.

Saw Def Leppard with Whitesnake and some other lot about 7 years ago. DL were good, I thought whitesnake were crap. Vocalist was too busy trying to hump the mic stand to focus on the audience

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Tool. ****ing awful live.

Paul McCartney in Candelstick Park a couple of years ago. I went with a friend who's a fan, bursting with ambivalence. I was bored out of my bin, nothing about it was remotely memorable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 761 ✭✭✭Dayor Knight

<p>Queen in Slane about 1986 were pretty poor. Wettish day, seemed like they didn't want to be there. My G, that was a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

Placebo in the Olympia a few years ago. They played nothing off the first two albums, one from Black Market Music, two from Sleeping With Ghosts, and everything else was from the new album.

**** sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

I went to see Christy Moore once, ah it must be back in the 80s sometime. You couldn't get up during the gig(it was a small venue), he had the bar shut while he was performing, you couldn't clap along and you couldn't sing either. I don't think he was long off the beer at that stage and man was he cranky, he treated the crowd like they were children. I wouldn't mind he's nothing special as a musician and a singer.

Also went to see The Coors back in the late 90s. Someone I went with knew them and wanted to see them after the gig. Jesus talk about a boring gig, I nearly fell asleep. I wanted to runaway meself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Thought it would be GnR at the Point back in 2010 but that was a pleasure compared to Dylan in 2014.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭CFlat

<p>Queen in Slane about 1986 were pretty poor. Wettish day, seemed like they didn't want to be there. My G, that was a long time ago.

I was at Queen in Slane as well. I really enjoyed it. I think the Bangles and Chris Rea played the same day.

Thought it would be GnR at the Point back in 2010 but that was a pleasure compared to Dylan in 2014.

I just purchased his latest CD- Fallen Angels- it's brilliant- all covers- but just brilliant. Saw him years ago, at his best and his worst. wouldn't go now unless the ticket was free but he's still belting it out in a good way on recordings so don't lose hope!.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭Olishi4

Every song he sings live sounds like a completely different one so it can be like going to a concert where you barely know any of the songs :) I still go to see him when I get the chance and still always have fun

I was disappointed in Dylan the one time I saw him in London.

In contrast, I thought Leonard Cohen in Dublin 2013 was exceptional.

They were sh!te at Croke Park a few years ago also, I mean terribly bad and I love their music. They seemed like they had no interest in being there and left as quick as they could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,485 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Never at a terribly bad concert but a few were quite crappy

Morrissey in the 3arena in 2014, played almost all new songs, had to sit through a load of pro vegetarian/anti bull fighting crap and it was fairly boring

Guns n roses In the 3arena 2010. Support band went on for 2 hours and gnr were an hour and a half late. Stopped the 2nd song and Axl gave the crowd a lecture saying he was leaving if someone else threw a bottle on stage, played a couple more songs and walked off when another bottle was thrown on stage. Left as the houselights came on but found out they Came back on stage after about a 45 min wait. Axl Rose finished the set standing in the one spot and didn't talk between songs. The band came back in 2012 and played a blinder of a set and all was forgiven lol

RHCP in Croke Park in 2012 was a let down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I heard that was an awful gig from a few diehard Dylan fans.
    Had tickets to see him in Cork, but he cancelled at the last minute.
    Had to throw my Subterranean Homesick Blues cue cards in the bin.

I didn't really have cue cards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Speaking of sh1te concerts,I got two tickets in the door from my gas supplier this week for The Boomtown Rats in concert.

I'd rather die of carbon monoxide poisoning than listen to that knob for two hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

I went o see Ian Brown's solo gig in the Olympia in 2000, it was poor enough until he lost his voice half way through, then to compensate and try and win over the crowd he jumped around with a tri-colour and a joint.

I won 2 tickets to see St. Etienne in the Olympia, I wasn't familiar with their stuff so I didn't enjoy it. They played badly towards the end anyway.

I didn't really have cue cards!

my advice is light yourself a candle, don't wear sandals:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Speaking of sh1te concerts,I got two tickets in the door from my gas supplier this week for The Boomtown Rats in concert.

I'd rather die of carbon monoxide poisoning than listen to that knob for two hours.

funny I was thinking about the Boomtown Rats a couple of hours ago. I didn't know they were playing, the only reason I was thinking of them was because I watched an interview with the band Rush, and the drummer said that he had been listening to them, which I thought was very odd..... the interview was from around 1982.