Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boards Bull Island Run, 6th August '16@2pm

• 28-06-2016 7:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭

In a follow up to the Boards Canal run I'd thought we'd change location and incorporate a few social beverages into the equation this time around. Date and time above with a meeting point at the monument across from Clontarf Garda Station running to Bull Island and back and onto Harry Byrnes for some rehydration?

Suggestions on rehydration location are of course welcome, was my favourite watering hole during my 14 yrs working in the area so I plumbed for there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,619 ✭✭✭overpronator

Hopefully make this one. Excellent boozer choice too, I lived in Marino for a couple of years and it was my favourite pub in the area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Good man tang :) that all sounds good to me and the D3 crew won't need to arrange transport :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,595 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Fair play, great choice for run and beverage. I reckon the run you describe is about 4-5 miles (or longer depending on how far down wall/Dollymount) so should be enough energy left over to lift a glass or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Fantastic. I'm in :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Excellent, I love Harry Byrnes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Tentatively in! I might run commute there to make an LSR out of it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Sounds great, unfortunately I am away that weekend :( Enjoy the run (and beverages)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Fair play Tang - I'll be there for this one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Great suggestion Tang, and good choice of pub, but... Might not be in Dublin that week... :(.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

Nice, ill limp along for a mile or 2, and a few pints.

Just checked and there is a 3.8m tide @ 2:50 that day, but it should still be ok to run at the top of the beach, on the soft stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Good man, B. I'll hopefully be around to join in on this one. Alfie Byrne Road to Bull Wall and back is about 4 mile. You could make it 5 or 6 by heading out along the wall for a bit. Alternatively if people want to do a little longer I'd say DD would give them a tour of St Anne's he pretty much knows every inch of it at this stage. I'll be passing on any beach running or offers by you to give tours of your auld stomping grounds in the dunes :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

FBOT01 wrote: »
    I'll be passing on any beach running or offers by you to give tours of your auld stomping grounds in the dunes :P

TbL and Murph have been there more recently than me, they might know the best spots now!!

Giving this a bump folks, two weeks from today, if your interested just add your name. Hopefully we can get similar numbers to the Canal run earlier in the year:

GOING:

tang1

GOING:

tang1
    Redrunner

GOING:

tang1
    Redrunner
    Singer

GOING:

tang1
    Redrunner
    Singer
    Firedance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Going

tang1
    Redrunner
    Singer
    Firedance
    Kennyg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Going

tang1
    Redrunner
    Singer
    Firedance
    Kennyg
    Denisb

Look forward to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Going

tang1
    Redrunner
    Singer
    Firedance
    Kennyg
    Denisb
    Laura_ac3

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Going

tang1
    Redrunner
    Singer
    Firedance
    Kennyg
    Denisb
    Laura_ac3

Laura, are you skipping the run and going straight to Harry's? :p

Bummed we will miss this!

Going drinking

tang1
    Redrunner
    Singer
    Firedance
    Kennyg
    Denisb
    Laura_ac3
    aquinn

aquinn wrote: »
    Going drinking

tang1
    Redrunner
    Singer
    Firedance
    Kennyg
    Denisb
    Laura_ac3
    aquinn

I might have to settle for just the run as there is a clash with the Dubs match which throws in at 6pm. Bummer.

RedRunner wrote: »
    I might have to settle for just the run as there is a clash with the Dubs match which throws in at 6pm. Bummer.

Oh good point, R. Harry's has plenty of screens anyway so should be busy that day.

annapr wrote: »
    Oh good point, R. Harry's has plenty of screens anyway so should be busy that day.

What? Dubs match?

I'm out. Thanks.

Arrgghhhh...haven't missed a champo game since 2001!!!!! Will make the run but will have to jog on off to the game then.

Just giving this one last bump folks, if it interferes with people's GAA plans or doesn't suit others we can leave if for another day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

i was waiting to see if i could make it but more GAA plans getting in the way, U12 semifinal, much more important that the Dubs match!!!;)

I'm still in.

I'm still in. Time will be tight for me though. If it could be brought forward an hour that would help me no end but can still do 2pm if that suits the majority.

Is there a specific route planned yet?

I'm still in. Time will be tight for me though. If it could be brought forward an hour that would help me no end but can still do 2pm if that suits the majority.

Is there a specific route planned yet?

Was thinking down Prom, onto woodenbridge down beach to Bull Island exit, down to junction with James Larkin Rd turn and come back? Yay or nay?

tang1 wrote: »
    Was thinking down Prom, onto woodenbridge down beach to Bull Island exit, down to junction with James Larkin Rd turn and come back? Yay or nay?

I'm coming from beyond that junction so would be heading away from home on return section. What I might do though is make this my long run for the week, run up to meet ye, join you for run and then run back home. Would add about 6/7 miles onto run for me. So that's a yay from me.

Thats a yay from me to being there and to the route. If its an hour earlier then all the better but will be there regardless.

denis b wrote: »
    Thats a yay from me to being there and to the route. If its an hour earlier then all the better but will be there regardless.

I also have a preference for an early start!

What time ye prefer to meet lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭UM1

What time ye prefer to meet lads?
    Grammar please tang :)

aquinn wrote: »
    What? Dubs match?

I'm out. Thanks.

It's actually a Donegal match. :p

UM1 wrote: »
    Grammar please tang :)

Sorry, Wot time does yiz wanna recce at or wha? Did I get that right!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,595 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Sorry to miss this. Enjoy.

The ideal scenario for me would be in the morning circa 10am.However ,appreciating that people are travelling,if it has to be the afternoon a 1pm start would take the pressure off somewhat for the rest of day. I can still do 2pm though if that suits most.

How about 12pm? I appreciate the Dubs attending Croke Park will have to get the obligatory 10-12 cans of Dutch Gold in to get into proper singing voice for the Hill!! I just have to sort train times out for myself, just want a definite time.

Ha ha. I'd have to be very thirsty to drink that stuff. Yep I could do 12 too.( Opposite Garda Station in Clontarf?)

You are getting the train? Ah makes sense if you are going for pints after. I'd pick you up only the oh will have car all morning.

Right folks time change, 12pm now at same location, monument opposite Clontarf Garda Station.

I thought we were going for a run and then on for pints to watch the dubs match but I'll be there whatever time suits the majority :) (probably minus the pints at that early hour though!!)

Firedance wrote: »
    (probably minus the pints at that early hour though!!)

WUSS!!!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Right folks time change, 12pm now at same location, monument opposite Clontarf Garda Station.

I should be there. How far is that route by the way?

adrian522 wrote: »
    I should be there. How far is that route by the way?

Say 7 miles or so A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

Im going to miss this unfortunately, I have a thing on with the son, so im stuck until about 3:00pm.

I might drop in for a pint if you are still around at that stage, and say hello?

MisterDrak wrote: »
    Im going to miss this unfortunately, I have a thing on with the son, so im stuck until about 3:00pm.

I might drop in for a pint if you are still around at that stage, and say hello?

I'll still be there anyway so make sure to drop in, I'm sure I won't be the only one!!!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I've to pick up a number for the rock n roll half on Friday evening, if anyone wants theirs picked up let me know and I can bring it on Saturday.

See ye there for the run. Will be good to top up the tan for de Hill. Not sure what happened this lad so might just go with SPf 2 to be on the safe side :D