Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mart reports for Store Trade 2016.

• 28-06-2016 12:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭

A thread where people can discuss the Store lamb trade which is starting up now,feel free to throw in factory lamb quotes/prices as well as they inevitably affect Store trade.
    Few imponderables at moment are how if at all Brexit will hit lamb trade south of border?,will the very heavy rain a lot of us are suffering bring out lambs earlier than usual?....with Cattle dear at the moment will men up the country with early after grass after the good growth spurt buy store lambs earlier than usual?

Based in Mayo myself,any store lambs I see around me(including my own)...are not just as strong as other years after the very tough month of April ewes went through...is this also the case nationwide...I would imagine so....

Discuss😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

blessington today(from their website)
    Posted on 28/06/2016 by

1787 Sheep on offer. All types better by €2 to €4 per head on last week.
    Butcher Lambs €111 to €117 or €67 to €77 over €/kg
    Factory Lambs €98 to €110 or €60 to €73 over €/kg
    Store Lambs €73 to €96 or €40 to €54 over €/kg
    Fat Ewes €96 to €116 per head
    Feeding Ewes €66 to €92 per head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

ganmo wrote: »
    blessington today(from their website)
    Posted on 28/06/2016 by

1787 Sheep on offer. All types better by 2 to 4 per head on last week.
    Butcher Lambs 111 to 117 or 67 to 77 over /kg
    Factory Lambs 98 to 110 or
    60 to 73 over /kg
    Store Lambs 73 to 96 or 40 to 54 over /kg
    Fat Ewes 96 to 116 per head
    Feeding Ewes 66 to 92 per head

Excellent post Ganmo...the type of thing that is useful...did you just cut and paste that from their site?...I'm worse than useless at that craic:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭Ard_MC

Great idea, trying to decide what to do with them myself this year. Store trade usually with me. But tempted to keep a few of the strongest and try the factory or butcher trade with them.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 4,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

Thanks for starting this thread.

We're looking for store lambs at the moment and it's great to get a sense of the price and what fellas are thinking too!

Was dependent on the Journal and trying to find different websites.

If it helps, we paid €87 for 37kg (€50 with weight) on 8th and 15th August last year. This was in New Ross, Wexford.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

We're looking for store lambs at the moment and it's great to get a sense of the price and what fellas are thinking too!

If it helps, we paid €87 for 37kg (€50 with weight) on 8th and 15th August last year. This was in New Ross, Wexford.

If I may be so bold as to ask how you got on with them?

Bought for 87 in August
    When were they sold, and what did they make?

Just interested to hear how people got on...

I think store lambs seem easier money than may be the case. ;)
    I guess as with all things with sheep, its down to small profit per lamb, so need big numbers to make any real money...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Bought for 87 in August

I guess as with all things with sheep, its down to small profit per lamb, so need big numbers to make any real money...

And f you lose one it takes 10 more to bring you back to where you started!

Bought for 87 in August

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Willfarman wrote: »

Suppose that's the difference with home bred stock, you loose 1 and it's only your one time and effort you wasted. Bit harder to accept if it's something you paid good money for, such as a store at €80 or hogget at €160.

But your right Will, the minute their finished get them out the gate fast in case one decided to go south, cause you'd never make it up again.

Bought for 87 in August

We're only starting back with sheep so buying the stores was an early step last year.

We sold them in early Dec (don't have exact date in front of me) for an average of €117. Gave them some concentrate for last 2 weeks but no more than 100g/head as they didn't seem to be that interested in it. Other expenses were blackleg vaccination and our own costs (transport, labour, % of fertiliser bill)

You would get them cheaper if you could source them in the North west/ west! But then you have to haul them. Suppose depends on numbers of stores you were buying.

Ard_MC wrote: »
    You would get them cheaper if you could source them in the North west/ west! But then you have to haul them. Suppose depends on numbers of stores you were buying.

Any idea how much a lorry-full (50?) would cost to get down to the South-East from there?

would ya fit 50ish in a tri axle trailer?

Handy. Be a little tight in a 12ft for a long distance drive but I do it regularly enough from mart.

Think the lorry full, you would be looking at a few 100 lambs. (i could be wrong on that number!) But use to be charged €2 a lamb from Donegal to Hacketstown when the factory was going. A haulier would pick up from ppl in the area and deliver to the factory. (Had to be full loads) Been a few years since I sent lambs like this tho.

Any dealers in your area, sourcing lambs in the west/north west?

We had a few torrential rain showers today,the poor ewes and lambs are spending most of their time standing under hedges looking for shelter this week!....
    Are there many people showing store lambs yet to get them out of the rice paddy fields?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Sold 13 lambs - 44kgs well fleshed €100. Stopped feeding them about 3 weeks ago...not worth finishing them with nuts. Only a few left now so they can have whatever grass they can find:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Was in Manorhamilton mart last night,wasn't showing lambs but trade was fairly good for store lambs.Overall quality of lambs was mixed but the wet weather had lambs very battered looking.Saw nice Suffolk stores,37 kg make 83 euro.

Tuesday's report from blessington

I'm tempted to sell some stores at those prices but then again we've plenty of grass
    2046 Sheep on offer. Fat sheep that little harder sold, very lively trade for store sheep.

Butcher Lambs €106 to €112 or €66 to €72 over €/kg
    Factory Lambs €95 to €106 or €55 to €65 over €/kg
    Store Lambs €80 to €93 or €40 to €53 over €/kg
    Fat Ewes €95 to €120 per head
    Feeding Ewes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,804 ✭✭✭kk.man

The prices currently been paid for stores is completely unjustified. There is little or no margin on it for the finisher especially if the factory price drops (which it will). Fools and their money.....

I'm inclined to agree with you kk.man - way too much being paid for store lambs.

I read in the Journal that the high price of beef stores was driving farmers to buy store lambs instead but this seems a bit overly simple to me. I don't know if it's that easy to switch between the two from one year to the next.

Anyway, with beef prices dropping post-Brexit maybe lads will go back to beef stores again?

I'm inclined to agree with you kk.man - way too much being paid for store lambs.

I read in the Journal that the high price of beef stores was driving farmers to buy store lambs instead but this seems a bit overly simple to me. I don't know if it's that easy to switch between the two from one year to the next.

Anyway, with beef prices dropping post-Brexit maybe lads will go back to beef stores again?

They better drop in price or you won't see me buying a lamb this year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

I'd prefer to buy based on the estimated factory lamb price next spring as opposed to a price driven by what beef is making now. Same thing happened two years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭murrak123

102e for well fleshed 45kg texel lambs in elphin tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Sold forward store lambs in Dowra yesterday,Suffolk x ram lambs around 39kg estimitated weight made 86euro,Suffolk x ram lambs,35 kg roughly made 78 euro(all twins).Well bred,healthy lambs.Trade was lively with plenty of buyers around.

Plenty stores in New Ross on Saturday. 30-33kg were making €75-80. 40kg up were making over €100.

Seemed to be plenty sellers but not too many buyers for lighter ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭DJ98

What's the ideal/best weight to buy/sell store lambs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Just a few prices from Carrigallen tonight.

13 @ 28kg, 69 Euro. (rams)
    3 @27kg, 60 euro (rams)
    5 @30kg, 62 euro
    5 @17kg, 40 euro
    3 @20kg, 49 euro
    10 @30kg, 69 euro

Heavier lots:
    4 @46kg, 96 Euro
    14 @42kg, 85 euro
    8 @48kg, 99 euro
    12 @ 40kg, 82 euro

6 quid?? Must of been shocking bad!

Factories now paying to 21.5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Nekarsulm wrote: »

3 @27kg, 60 euro (rams)
    5 @30kg, 62 euro
    5 @17kg, 40 euro
    3 @20kg, 49 euro
    10 @30kg, 69 euro

Heavier lots:
    4 @46kg, 96 Euro
    14 @42kg, 85 euro
    8 @48kg, 99 euro
    12 @ 40kg, 82 euro
    We're the light lambs Mountain bred?
    Saw only 2 weeks ago pets @ 25kg making €60

Farrell wrote: »
    We're the light lambs Mountain bred?
    Saw only 2 weeks ago pets @ 25kg making €60

Some Speckle faced. No horney's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭farming93

Would it pay to put some of my heavier ram lambs in the shed to feed hay and meal? These lambs are between 36 and 40 kg . I'm running tight on grass and have the lambs running with the ewes (which are dry about 6 weeks) I won't have time to go to the Mart with work unfortunately.

I was up in Donegal a couple of weeks ago, and anyone who knows that Fermanagh country all along Lough Erne from Enniskillen to Beleek, will know the rocky mountainous terrain on the left. Not a ewe to be seen for miles, and it used to be real sheep country.
    That's many thousands of store type lamb's that are missing from the numbers this Autumn.
    Was remarking it to a man up that direction, and he summed it up:
    "Them old men are all dying out, and the ewes with them. No young yellow is going to give himself that kind of hardship"

Last summer I drove through the spine of Co. Wexford and was amazed alot less sheep than years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

I thought breeding ewes were up 2.3% since 2014 or something like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

kk.man wrote: »
    Last summer I drove through the spine of Co. Wexford and was amazed alot less sheep than years back.
    The smaller flocks all seem to be gone A lot of tillage men used to keep ewes and mixed farming seems to be a thing of the past. The loss of beet also has an affect in Wexford. Young farmers don't want sheep around the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

grassroot1 wrote: »
    The smaller flocks all seem to be gone A lot of tillage men used to keep ewes and mixed farming seems to be a thing of the past. The loss of beet also has an affect in Wexford. Young farmers don't want sheep around the place.
    Allot of farmers children have good jobs with good lifestyles & farming is only hardship that can be done without, plus some home farms are too small to provide a living, with increasing (rent or purchase) being too expensive

Butcher Lambs €103 to €110 or €53 to €60 over €/kg
    Factory Lambs €92 to €103 or €55 to €60 over €/kg
    Store Lambs €76 to €92 or €43 to €53 over €/kg
    Suffolk cross Ewe Lambs €110 to €133 or €71 to €100 over €/kg
    Fat Ewes €94 to €114 per head
    Feeding Ewes €68 to €90 per head
    Breeding Ewes €110 to €165 per head
    Suffolk cross Hogget Ewes €145 to €195 per head

blessington's report today

That's good money for the Suffolk X ewe lambs Ganmo,must have being nice stock,probably off Cheviot ewes.

ya the vast majority of sheep in blessington would be out of cheviots

I should say i wasn't at the sale, just taken off the website

Butcher Lambs €100 to €108 or €54 to €62 over €/kg
    Factory Lambs €92 to €100 or €54 to €62 over €/kg
    Store Lambs €60 to €90 or €38 to €51 over €/kg
    Suffolk cross Ewe Lambs €105 to €157 per head
    Fat Ewes €90 to €112 per head
    Feeding Ewes €65 to €88 per head
    Suffolk cross Hogget Ewes €150 to €205 per head
    Suffolk cross 3 & 4 year olds €130 to €172 per head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Butcher Lambs €100 to €108 or €54 to €62 over €/kg
    Factory Lambs €92 to €100 or €54 to €62 over €/kg
    Store Lambs €60 to €90 or €38 to €51 over €/kg
    Suffolk cross Ewe Lambs €105 to €157 per head
    Fat Ewes €90 to €112 per head
    Feeding Ewes €65 to €88 per head
    Suffolk cross Hogget Ewes €150 to €205 per head
    Suffolk cross 3 & 4 year olds €130 to €172 per head

A lot of lambs coming fit now, price will surely come under pressure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Gammo the Suffolk cross hoggets than made the 205 were bought last year as lambs for 135 to 155 in the same mart, hardly much profit in them.

Ya can't see the sense in it either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,422 ✭✭✭Robson99

What way are stores ATM?? Are they coming back any bit??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭dodo mommy

Any reports from Ballinrobe today?

dodo mommy wrote: »
    Any reports from Ballinrobe today?

A lot of lambs , but trade was good.

Plenty pics on Twitter - ewe lambs and hoggets seem to be a fairly strong trade. Well over €200 for some Mayo mule hoggets

That was the special mule sale today. On Wednesday is just the usual sale. Was down at it today. I wasn't too impressed by the hoggets apart from the 5 or 6 exceptional pens. 250 was tops for hoggetts , didn't wait for the lambs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭tommy5678

Nekarsulm wrote: »

3 @27kg, 60 euro (rams)
    5 @30kg, 62 euro
    5 @17kg, 40 euro
    3 @20kg, 49 euro
    10 @30kg, 69 euro

Heavier lots:
    4 @46kg, 96 Euro
    14 @42kg, 85 euro
    8 @48kg, 99 euro
    12 @ 40kg, 82 euro

would stores be after dropping a lot now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Sent lambs to Camolin yesterday. Got €3.90/kg lambs average €100.50 before deductions. Also supplying 2 local butcher's aswell with 46-50kg lambs and getting €105 per lamb