Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Danish man beaten by group of Irish holidaymakers

• 28-06-2016 10:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭

Story is translated from a Danish site. A shame to see the Irish reputation being tarnished abroad with all the good press coming from France.
    What looked like an ordinary late Monday afternoon for 43-year-old Kenneth Flindt developed into anything when he stopped at Aldi at Messe de Triomphe. Here did a family of so-called traveling people from Ireland also stop, after they had just been evicted from a campsite in Næstved.

It was a huge chaos with playful children who ran around between about seven caravans and two minibuses. In total there were probably between 30 and 50 people, says Kenneth Flindt, like going to the store went and looked at his cell phone. He should obviously never have done for one of the men wearing darting toward him and accused him of being a pedophile who took pictures of the children. Soon Kenneth Flindt surrounded by aggressive men from the family. The whole thing evolved quickly. One of the travelers had been running near Kenneth Flindt down before Næstved citizen tried to escape, only to be obtained is five to seven men, who pelted him kick on the upper body and punches and kicks to the head.

I thought: Is it really this? If it actually? ****, now I die, says Kenneth Flindt, who rates himself happy that the Irish ran away after having beaten away at him for about 30 to 40 seconds:

If they had kept until the police arrived at 3:00 to 5:00 minutes later, I ended up as a vegetable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

"Irish holidaymakers"

... One of the travelers

Ok then.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They'd never behave like that at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Ah, the innocence.

This is going to be one of those threads requiring a frying pan and a bag of corn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,993 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

That beating should have culturally enriched him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Here's pavee point

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

a truly wonderful people we must embrace actions like this

Toobz wrote: »
    But we're the best fans

No, the best fans are the Scottish fans. Never see any trouble at major tournaments from the Scots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Lads, the story is translated from Danish. In most European languages a "traveller" is simply someone travelling - a holiday maker, in other words.
    I sincerely doubt that google translate is familiar with the finer socio-economic points surrounding that term in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

FortySeven wrote: »
    No, the best fans are the Scottish fans. Never see any scots at major tournaments.

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Shenshen wrote: »
    Lads, the story is translated from Danish. In most European languages a "traveller" is simply someone travelling - a holiday maker, in other words.
    I sincerely doubt that google translate is familiar with the finer socio-economic points surrounding that term in Ireland.

Strange that there would be 40-50 Irish holiday makers outside a Aldi at Messe de Triomphe.

"seven caravans"

This is definitely a traveller story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭xabi

Sure it's only culture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Maybe they misunderstood Danish Pastry.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Is this one of the cases where they don't want to be identified as a separate ethnicity?
    Lads, the story is translated from Danish. In most European languages as "traveller" is simply someone travelling - a holiday maker, in other words.

Are you trying to say these weren't travellers (as we know them)?
    seven caravans and two minibuses.
    so-called traveling people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

"Here did a family of so-called traveling people from Ireland"

Even this Danish newspaper wants to use the real word most people use to describe them :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

From the article - "so-called traveling people"

I definitely would interpret that to be the people we know as travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

smash wrote: »
    "seven caravans"

This is definitely a traveller story.

Possibly. I don't like jumping to conclusions, though, and all we have is a translated snippet of news.

7 caravans, 2 minibuses and 50 people. Aldi car park after being evicted from campsite? Clutching at straws here really.

Oh yeah, don't forget the thuggery. It's usually a dead give away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Winterlong wrote: »
    Strange that there would be 40-50 Irish holiday makers outside a Aldi at Messe de Triomphe.

In a convoy of caravans and minibuses, having been evicted from a campsite.

vicwatson wrote: »
    FYP

My tongue was firmly in cheek. Being Scottish and all. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

7 caravans, 2 minibuses and 50 people. Aldi car park after being evicted from campsite? Clutching at straws here really.

Oh yeah, don't forget the thuggery. It's usually a dead give away.
    It's so infuriating - and given the way feeling is around Europe I imagine this will lead to hostility towards us Irish because of these delightful folks' atrocious behaviour (caveat for anyone who thinks I'm being unreasonable: I know plenty of travellers don't behave like this but I'm talking about the significant contingent that do) the way Romanians en masse are being tarred due to how some Roma carry on.

You do realize that this is translated from Danish, so it could actually be people that were travelling and not travelers. We're kind of jumping the gun here. Either way, it sucks that it happened, but surely they would have been referred to as gypsies and not travelers?

Can I also point out the fact that the article was translated by Google translate?

Two Tone wrote: »
    It's so infuriating - and given the way feeling is around Europe I imagine this will lead to hostility towards us Irish because of these delightful folks' atrocious behaviour (caveat for anyone who thinks I'm being unreasonable: I know plenty of travellers don't behave like this but I'm talking about the significant contingent that do) the way Romanians en masse are being tarred due to how some Roma carry on.

I doubt it will change the opinions on Irish people. The Irish are nearly impossible to not like abroad. Anyone can see these people don't represent Ireland.

It may be the cynic in me but I'm pretty sure he was taking pictures. Not due to a prediliction for children but more likely a 'what the f@ck is this travesty in my supermarket car park?' kind of way. Something to show the family or local politician.

I do try to give travellers the benefit of the doubt but it is hard. My own experiences of contact with them have largelly been negative. Can't say that about any other group I've ever come into contact with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I think the travellers in the article are what some people (not me) would uncouthly refer to as knackers.

gramar wrote: »
    I think the travellers in the article are what some people (not me) would uncouthly refer to as knackers.

In the bit of the west of ireland where I come from knackers was a term for corner boys....so when I moved to dublin I used to get in awful trouble for referring to corner boys as knackers. People thought I was properly un-pc.

What is the correct term for corner boys in dublin?!

I somewhat doubt these are travelers, given that they would probably have been referred to as gypsies. Or else travelers in quotation marks. Since the article was essentially machine translated, it would need a fluent Danish speaker, who was also skilled in English, to ensure that it is accurate, which, while the technology is advancing, just isn't there yet.

I've never heard of corner boys being called knackers. In Galway knackers were usually just rough people or scumbags in general.

That depends. WTF is a corner boy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Green Fella

You cant talk ill of Travellers or Roma gypsies on this website or you will be site banned. Even pointing out their involvement in crime or telling people to report them is a punishable offence. Its Boards.ie Liberal policy, no wonder this website is half empty now.

From my viewing of The Wire, I believe a corner boy is those people that sell drugs on the street.

I somewhat doubt these are travelers, given that they would probably have been referred to as gypsies. Or else travelers in quotation marks.

Jesus. Where's that special snowflake thread?

From my viewing of The Wire, I believe a corner boy is those people that sell drugs on the street.

So, a dealer then.

Jesus. Where's that special snowflake thread?

Not being a snowflake whatsoever, but more pointing out the fact that traveler is the word we use for them in Ireland. And pointing out the fact that we're likely reading an inaccurate translation. If they were travelers, then f*ck 'em. But I've worked in a translation agency that were developing machine translation software, of which Google translate is a part of.

I'm not saying they were or weren't, but pointing out that people shouldn't jump to conclusion based on possibly inaccurate translations from an article written entirely in Danish.

Edit to add: "travelers" means nothing to Danish people. The article was written for the Danish market, not the Irish one, so why would they refer to them as "so-called travelers" when "gypsies" would be much more relatable?
    So, a dealer then.

Not entirely. There'd be the dealers, but they'd be the leg work more than anything else.

At least that's what the Wire has taught me.

Not being a snowflake whatsoever, but more pointing out the fact that traveler is the word we use for them in Ireland. And pointing out the fact that we're likely reading an inaccurate translation. If they were travelers, then f*ck 'em. But I've worked in a translation agency that were developing machine translation software, of which Google translate is a part of.

I'm not saying they were or weren't, but pointing out that people shouldn't jump to conclusion based on possibly inaccurate translations from an article written entirely in Danish.

And what about the caravans? And violence and hostility? And being kicked out of a camp site?

The only thing missing is the gammy horse grazing on the local play park. Then we'd have a full house.

... holiday makers also can travel around in caravans. And not only travelers can be prone to violence, hostility, and getting kicked out of places.

Again, I'm saying that we're better off not jumping to conclusions based on evidence we don't know 100% about.

Trust me, I've no love for many travelers and have had many bad encounters, but I just don't believe in kneejerk reactions based on this kind of information.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭pgj2015

T

The only thing missing is the gammy horse grazing on the local play park. Then we'd have a full house.

Unconfirmed reports suggest they may have been advising Aldi staff on the need for a new tarmacked car park. Or at the very least, a power wash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

You do realize that this is translated from Danish, so it could actually be people that were travelling and not travelers. We're kind of jumping the gun here. Either way, it sucks that it happened, but surely they would have been referred to as gypsies and not travelers?
    Can I also point out the fact that the article was translated by Google translate?

The translation was made by a Reddit user who claims to be a Dane living in Ireland.

https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/4q8fp7/irishmen_almost_beat_a_dane_to_death/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

In the bit of the west of ireland where I come from knackers was a term for corner boys....so when I moved to dublin I used to get in awful trouble for referring to corner boys as knackers. People thought I was properly un-pc.

Wasters?

... holiday makers also can travel around in caravans. And not only travelers can be prone to violence, hostility, and getting kicked out of places.

Again, I'm saying that we're better off not jumping to conclusions based on evidence we don't know 100% about.

Well, we know what happened to the horse anyway. Here it is being flogged!

Only kidding boneyarse. T'was too easy.

In groups of 30-50?

Predecessor of a Boot boy!

El Weirdo wrote: »
    The translation was made by a Reddit user who claims to be a Dane living in Ireland.

https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/4q8fp7/irishmen_almost_beat_a_dane_to_death/

How odd. When you put it into Google translate, that's almost word-for-word what was translated in the OP. I'm still dubious, based on the use of "so-called" travelers. It just seems weird to write an article and use vernacular from another country, which wouldn't relate to the intended market.

Predecessor of a Boot boy!
    A boot boy, often simply boots, was an English household servant. Usually a boy or young teenager, the boots was the lowest-ranking male servant.

Now I'm even more confused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

El Weirdo wrote: »

The translation was done by myself using Google

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Kat1170

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Trust me, I've no love for many travelers and have had many bad encounters, but I just don't believe in kneejerk reactions based on this kind of information.

As someone who knows some caravaners (even members of caravan club, etc) I can assure 6you they don't tend to travel in convoys of 7 odd caravans, groups of 50 with minibuses, etc.

but you go right ahead and perform your verbal gymnastics in trying to play this as something else.

It is actually funny to see how far you will stretch credulity.

I am not allowed discuss …