Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Atalntic Coast Challenge 2016

• 27-06-2016 9:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭

Couldn't see a thread for this years so said I'd start one.

Will be my 3rd year and hoping for better weather than last year.

Really looking forward to it now. Carne - Enniscrone - Sligo is the rotation again. Long drive Mon morning but all good after that.

Considering trying to fit in Strandhill on the Tues evening on my way to Rosses Point. If anyone fancies it let me know

I assume there will be a strong boards showing as always

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Really annoyed to miss the ACC this year, 3 days on the links would be heaven right now.
    Enjoy and hope the weather stays nice for everyone.
    Considering trying to fit in Strandhill on the Tues evening

That’s just like rubbing salt into my wounds:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭Tom.D.BJJ

Where can i find info on this that isnt a facebook page please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Tom.D.BJJ wrote: »
    Where can i find info on this that isnt a facebook page please?

Hard to find anything that is not on facebook for it. Carne site has booking page but not much else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

Playing a different rotation this year Rosses, Carne and Enniscrone looking forward to it.
    Have played every year since it started.
    See the are returning scores to you home club this year.

mike12 wrote: »
    Playing a different rotation this year Rosses, Carne and Enniscrone looking forward to it.
    Have played every year since it started.

Did that the first year and I must say I prefer my current rotation (Carne, Enniscrone, Rosses)
    Get the big drive out of the way first.
    But then I am staying in Enniscrone Mon and Rosses Tues night and my drive home is easiest from Rosses so it all suits me really.

Glad they are sending scores home but still think they should adjust each evening for the comp itself.

mike12 wrote: »

They said that last year, but did it actually happen?

Senna wrote: »
    They said that last year, but did it actually happen?

Did anyone we know break sss? Not I.

Ah Carne, the wind and the rain :(:D

Forecast looks better for tomorrow anyway. Carne in the rain is still better than work!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 464 ✭✭gary29428

Just finished Carne and have to say the pin positions on the back 9 were an utter disgrace, 5 to 7 feet from the edge of every green and in that wind....joke. Club have seriously disrespected the competition and the competitors.....shane on them...rant over...battled for 36pts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

gary29428 wrote: »
    Just finished Carne and have to say the pin positions on the back 9 were an utter disgrace, 5 to 7 feet from the edge of every green and in that wind....joke. Club have seriously disrespected the competition and the competitors.....shane on them...rant over...battled for 36pts.

On a tough course like that - with tough pin positions and strong wind - what score did you want :)

I know the ACC requires about 42pts a man for a decent 100 + combined. :D

Played with a member of 10yrs and he was shocked at some of the pins...would be interested to hear other people's options....

Just back from Carne. That was a tough front 9. Non-stop rain for 9 holes. Everything was soaked. Cleared for the back 9.
    Played ok but seemed every slightly wayward shot was punished on the back 9.
    Can't say I noticed the pins as had so much trouble getting to the green :D

Weather is looking better for Enniscrone tomorrow thankfully.
    Can see the dunes from my room as I type.

Think I'm gonna for a 99 and then maybe a pint :D

alxmorgan wrote: »
    Just back from Carne. That was a tough front 9. Non-stop rain for 9 holes. Everything was soaked. Cleared for the back 9.
    Played ok but seemed every slightly wayward shot was punished on the back 9.
    Can't say I noticed the pins as had so much trouble getting to the green :D

Weather is looking better for Enniscrone tomorrow thankfully.
    Can see the dunes from my room as I type.

Think I'm gonna for a 99 and then maybe a pint :D

how about 99 pints and points then an ice cream ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Macker1

First time at Carne and underwent a baptism of fire. I have never played in such bad weather in the first nine. Weather thankfully picked up for back nine with the sun coming out and the rain feckin off. Alas the damage had already been done with practically everything in the bag soaked thru. Back in the hotel in Ballina trying to dry things out ahead of Enniscrone in the morning. Time for a few well earned scoops and a chance to recap on today's war of attrition. 20pts as a result of 7 scratches.

Any scores to report?

Macker1 wrote: »
    First time at Carne and underwent a baptism of fire. I have never played in such bad weather in the first nine. Weather thankfully picked up for back nine with the sun coming out and the rain feckin off. Alas the damage had already been done with practically everything in the bag soaked thru. Back in the hotel in Ballina trying to dry things out ahead of Enniscrone in the morning. Time for a few well earned scoops and a chance to recap on today's war of attrition. 20pts as a result of 7 scratches.

Jaysus - Bad luck , one of the nicest locations for a course in Ireland - also a harsh barren wild place if it was that bad.

Imo - Enniscrone is the best. But , I just have a soft spot for it too as the first top class links I ever played.

Best of luck.

How is the pace of play lads - I suppose you couldn't judge anything by today.

Jaysus - Bad luck , one of the nicest locations for a course in Ireland - also a harsh barren wild place if it was that bad.

How is the pace of play lads - I suppose you couldn't judge anything by today.

I really enjoyed the course and it was fantastic to play it despite the weather. Some very very interesting holes. The pace of play was very slow at 5.5 hours but the weather obviously had a detrimental affect on every group. Looking forward to Enniscrone

Yeah bout 5.5hrs but as said you couldn't blame anybody...was a battle.

gary29428 wrote: »
    Yeah bout 5.5hrs but as said you couldn't blame anybody...was a battle.

Great score btw. I think anyone over 30 on a top links first time out is fantastic golf.

Alx had a great one our first year 36pts too I think .

Great score btw. I think anyone over 30 on a top links first time out is fantastic golf.

Alx had a great one our first year 36pts too I think .

I did indeed, thanks for remembering :)
    Still yet to break 30 in Carne. Find it toughest of the three.
    Enniscrone tomorrow is my fav of the 3 but possibly coloured by fact I have played well there.

Got soaked for 18 in rosses point, had 30 points around in 4 hours.
    Lots of pars but scratched 5.

Results are in. 38 was best score in Carne.
    Followed by a handful of 36s

Only place 100 was broken was Rosses.

Results are in. 38 was best score in Carne.
    Followed by a handful of 36s

Only place 100 was broken was Rosses.

Makes sense to me - you may get an odd freak at 40 pts in them conditions - but about 35 should be near top.

Yes I love the course -(Enniscrone) from 1 to 5 tee box is unreal - and then the run from 7 all the way to 18 is out of this world imo - Jesus I love that place.

Might head back there this summer or ACC next year.

woywover wrote: »
    Troll (hcp 28) #easy

Funny stuff.

But a couple of forum rules to clear up/ my ideas.

a) You can't name a person - just for the laugh like - under forum rules - I think it is rightly a Red.
    b) You can't name a hcp of 28 = of a guy worried about pin positions.
    c) I hope that lad who had 36 is not off 28
    d) The ACC has enough pr problems after the results it has had over the years - without making a joke of handicaps.

e) Amateur golf - at GUI clubs, should never have events that are not governed by GUI - imagine that - almost Brexit like. :eek::D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭Kevinmarkham

Sounds like everyone got a soaking at Carne. I was at County Sligo and the rain in the morning was brutal... I was told. We teed off at 2pm, got a bit of light rain for 20 minutes and played the last 6 holes in sunshine. I've got sunburn!

Greens are slow - far slower than recent years, which may have something to do with their head greenkeeper taking the 'big' job at Royal Portrush last year (I think).

One of our lads had 37 points (22 on back nine) but I can't access the results page, so no idea how that did.

Anyone playing today/tomorrow... on the Index 1 7th, if you land on the new green which extends to the right you have to take an exceptionally penal drop. Basically you drop on the 8th back tee and then have to pitch over rough and a hollow to the green, with the ditch on the far side. So, favour the left of the green!

Enjoy today

I will post more when I get home but played Enniscrone today.....what a course. Really enjoyed the experience and had great weather as well. Played OK for most of the round with some poor driving costing me 2 scratches and a number of 1 pointers. Ended with 29 points which I'm content with as it was first time playing the course. Highlight was nearly having a hole in one on the 17th which ended up a foot shy of the hole. Excellent round by Alxmorgan finishing with 36 points. Will post pictures when home. Final round of ACC in the morning at Rosse's Point. Bring it on......I'm definitely playing in this next year.

Another 36 point for Alx around enniscrone. Great shooting, no need to ask what's your favourite course:)
    Alx, Did you get to strandhill?

Senna wrote: »
    Another 36 point for Alx around enniscrone. Great shooting, no need to ask what's your favourite course:)
    Alx, Did you get to strandhill?

Ya another 36 in Enniscrone. Could have been better. Made a balls of the 16th and 17th really. Managed to make par on 18 to hit 36.
    Shot 85 strokes (+12) as well, finishing with same ball (despite best efforts to lose it) which included a 9 on 16th par 5.

Made it to Strandhill and played 15 with PingSeeker of this parish. Let him down by not finishing the 18 with him but I had no energy left so had to call it a day. Lovely course but a bit short with no wind in play. Wedges in to most greens. Fantastic views.

Rosses tomorrow. Just tried the practice green there after Kevin and PingSeeker both said they were very slow. Well I can say for sure that the practice green is very very slow. Have to really hit them. Looking forward to it and hope the rain holds off.

This seems like you personal escape and "me time" in your life alx. Fair play alx as you come across as 100 % family man outside of it.

I think everyone needs a break . Climb a mountain, jump in a lake.......

May catch you next year . Or perhaps you are done .

Brilliant score .

What a course . Glad I'm not alone now in my dreams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 woywover

Hi lads, enjoying the analysis. Question: as a team event can players advise each other re: club selection, line of putts etc?

This seems like you personal escape and "me time" in your life alx. Fair play alx as you come across as 100 % family man outside of it.

I think everyone needs a break . Climb a mountain, jump in a lake.......

May catch you next year . Or perhaps you are done .

Brilliant score .

What a course . Glad I'm not alone now in my dreams.

Cheers fix. Definitely me time. 3 kids at home and 1 is only 6 months so not near as much golf as I'd like but family first.

Doubt I'll be able to join my club again next year as hard to justify it but that's ok. Hopefully get the young lads into it and be back out with them.

Hoping to do this again next year so might see you then. A few pints in the pilot and a back swing session in the sitting room and we'll be sorted :)

Mad how you can find a course that suits your eye like Enniscrone. Have played it 3 times and shot 35,36,36. Carne is the opposite. Horrible scoring, all 20s. Rosses then somewhere in between

woywover wrote: »
    Hi lads, enjoying the analysis. Question: as a team event can players advise each other re: club selection, line of putts etc?

Good question. My guess is that as its also a singles comp then no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Hoof Hearted2

Good question. My guess is that as its also a singles comp then no.

That's correct it's played as a singles comp, so no course advice allowed.

Just back in the door after the final third day of the ACC at Rosses Point. Another fantastic course to have experienced playing for the first time. We had relatively decent weather until the last 5 holes which were already considered to be a difficult finish but the drizzle became more constant and hitting into the teeth of the increasing wind laid the gauntlet down. Very happy with my round of 33 points which included no scratches which I'm very pleased about. If the putter had been a little warmer I would have brought in at least another 4 points which for my first time playing Rosses Point would have been great. The company over the 3 days was great so many thanks to Alxmorgan and ThecHamp26. Definitely will be taking part in this event again and at least the next time I have some inkling of what to expect.

Carne 20pts :eek: :o
    Enniscrone 29Pts ;)
    Rosses Point 33pts :D

Amy results

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Results can be found on Carne's facebook page. Most of the scoring seems within reason which is good to see.

Some performance from the lads from Nenagh to take down the overall with 324 points. An average of 108 per day or 36 each for the 3 days. Tipp always has a strong showing in this event, reared on Links golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Dealerz

PARlance wrote: »
    Results can be found on Carne's facebook page. Most of the scoring seems within reason which is good to see.

Some performance from the lads from Nenagh to take down the overall with 324 points. An average of 108 per day or 36 each for the 3 days. Tipp always has a strong showing in this event, reared on Links golf.

Good surfing beaches in tipp

Back to work after my 3rd ACC and I loved it again. Delighted to have the company of Macker and TheChamp. Nice golfers and even nicer guys.

Macker played a great round yesterday in Rosses and left a load of putts on the lip so that 33 could easily have been leaning towards 40.

I had a strange day. Couldn't get my putting going early on as I struggled with the pace which was definitely slower than previous two days. 3 putted the first 2 greens before settling slightly after that. But didn't feel like I was playing well at all and was surprised to have 17 on the front.

I have to say that drive on the 4th down on to the runway like fairway is just perfect. Thankfully all 3 of us split the fairway.

Lost my way a bit on the back 9 and those closing 5 holes were played into the teeth of what was probably a 5 club wind. TheChamp, who has a fair dig on him, hit 3 wood on a 140 metre par 3 and it was bang on. So finished with 13 for 30 which wasn't too bad as played some poor stuff there for a while but a good par on 15 brought me back somewhat.

So my scores were:
    Carne 26
    Enniscrone 36
    Rosses 30

The Carne front 9 were as tough conditions as you will play in. Howling wind and driving rain. Even the Gore-tex gave up !!
    Enniscrone conditions were near perfect. Rosses had a bad shower to start and end and the wind was up and really strong towards the end.

I keep thinking its July, surely we'll get a good spell...but last 2 years disproved that theory. Big wash needed today....everything in my bag smells like wet dog :D

Anyway that's it for another year....looking forward to next year already. Probably won't play a single links shot from now till then but so be it. For anyone sitting on the fence about giving it a try....go for it, it's great :D

Oh and that ball that lasted all of the round in Enniscrone also made it through the day in Rosses (against all the odds again truth be told).
    I have decided to retire it and put it out to stud :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭paulos53

I will be making my first visit to those 3 courses next month. Really looking forward to it now after reading this thread

PARlance wrote: »

That is outrageous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Benicetomonty

That is outrageous.

Nenagh have an enviable record in the event from memory.

If I remember correctly a Nenagh team won it one of the other years I was playing be it last year or year before.

Don't even want to think about the results but it looks like the same club has provided the winners the last couple of years.
    Enjoyable 3 days but threw in 4 or 5 poor shots each day's which is almost always a scratch on courses like these.
    30 for rosses, 26 for Carne and 28 for Enniscrone dissapointed with the scores but we did get the worst of the weather each day.
    Think the need to make the comp GUI counting if u compare the scores to the down links challenge 99 points will win that most years and the 3 courses are easier might be too far for the tipp guys though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Dr Devious

What did you make of the first few changes to Rosses Point? Totally new 2nd green, new bits of green added to the 1st, 2nd, 4th, 7th, 10th and 18th. Some not fully in play yet. Are they still playing in the same 3 team members every day, if so they need to break up one team member each day to dispel any notion of cheating.

Dr Devious wrote: »
    What did you make of the first few changes to Rosses Point? Totally new 2nd green, new bits of green added to the 1st, 2nd, 4th, 7th, 10th and 18th. Some not fully in play yet. Are they still playing in the same 3 team members every day, if so they need to break up one team member each day to dispel any notion of cheating.

New 3rd green you mean ?
    Didn't notice anything new added to 1st, 2nd or 18th.
    7th not in play.
    4th and 10th were....fecked up my gps :D

I think if they keep them as they are they will be absolutely huge. Personally I don't see the need for them to begin with. Thought they were fine as was but what do I know.

Was just thinking about that score again. You could understand 100 + on a freak day. But 3 days in what sounds like tough conditions at some point . Is extremely extraordinary. ..

In case anyone here doesn't follow it take a trip over to Kevins blog to see what he has to say about the ACC:

http://www.theirishgolfblog.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 bduffy39@YAHOO.

Sounding brilliant few days again Alan! Hopefully get back with ciaran next year again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Dr Devious

New 3rd green you mean ?
    Didn't notice anything new added to 1st, 2nd or 18th.
    7th not in play.
    4th and 10th were....fecked up my gps :D

I think if they keep them as they are they will be absolutely huge. Personally I don't see the need for them to begin with. Thought they were fine as was but what do I know.

The 1st, 2nd and 18th have about an extra 30% of green added to them, as have the 7th and 10th. Totally new green on the 3rd and about 70 yards longer. A few more changes by next year too, and yeah some of the greens are ridiculous in size.