Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nearly Choked to my death

• 26-06-2016 3:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭

So im dying hungover and decide to cook myself some steak. Everything is good and I begin to chomp away until I start to choke. I honestly thought I was on the way out. Face was goin purple. Milk going everywhere as i splutter it out. Do the ole 2 fingers back the throat and up she comes after a minute of trying. My eyes are now puffy as **** aswell. And that's my story for the day.
    Over and out. Tonto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Liamario

pics or gtfo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Something something deep throating meat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Facebook
    >

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

R U OK Hun?
    Xxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Ah, nearly never won a race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Bet the cow was looking down laughing at ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭tonto24

My eyes are actually still puffy lads. I need a lie down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

You prob saw ur whole life flash before you .

glad ur ok ;)

I had a close friend who went surfing and said he got separated from his board and got into difficulty . said he was saved by the luck if god by a passing boat .

Was in shock for ages .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

I clicked on this thread because I thought it was going to be about something entirely different and more titillating to ease the pain of Ireland's loss.

Oh well :( You survived your ordeal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

tonto24 wrote: »
    So im dying hungover and decide to cook myself some steak. Everything is good and I begin to chomp away until I start to choke. I honestly thought I was on the way out. Face was goin purple. Milk going everywhere as i splutter it out. Do the ole 2 fingers back the throat and up she comes after a minute of trying. My eyes are now puffy as **** aswell. And that's my story for the day.
    Over and out. Tonto

Happened to me back in December , scary as ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

If a cow ever got the chance, he'd kill you, and everyone you cared about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

People pay good money for that kinda stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

When I was much younger I was eating beef curry and I swallowed a large piece of beef and it got stuck in my throat.
    I couldn't breath and I ran for something to drink, which obviously was useless.
    My sister was there and saw I was in trouble and she with no training and around 13 years of age did the Heimlich maneuver on me and the piece of meat came flying out.
    If I had been on my own I believe I would have died as I was suffocating.
    It is something you never forget and never want to repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

My eyes are actually still puffy lads. I need a lie down

Glad you're ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Chew your food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I bags the leftover steak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Moral of the story - don't bite off more than you can chew, particularly when hungover.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

Milk with steak?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭Sarn

It's possible to self Heimlich. Good thing to know if you live on your own!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

If a cow ever got the chance, he'd kill you, and everyone you cared about

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If you choke on steak, then you weren't eating steak.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

Great blog post, would subscribe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭NomadicGray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

That was a real misteak OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

I had a weekend job for a while as a teenager selling cream cakes door to door. I was starving one day so I hid around the corner from the van and mowed into a cream doughnut. Next of all it got caught in my throat and I started choking. Well the tray got fcuked into the air as I'm turning purple, cakes everywhere. Eventually I coughed it out.

I had some job explaining to your man why there was grit and dirt and grass all over the cakes, (some of them landed in a garden) while my eyes were still streaming tears.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

LorMal wrote: »
    Milk with steak?

It's culchie thing.
    Sarn wrote: »
    It's possible to self Heimlich. Good thing to know if you live on your own!
    Whatever they call it there's stains all over my bedspread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,596 ✭✭✭hairyslug

Last year, I got an infection in my brain, I had a seizure and started foaming at the mouth, started choking on it too (I may have voided myself as well, I never got my pants back from the hospital) but for the grace of God, my wife came home just in time to save me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

You can't do the Heimlich manoevre on yourself. So only eat baby food when alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

OP...You didn't cook the steak properly and it really is as simple as that. Alternatively it was a feckin ****e piece of steak.

Chomping it down quickly isn't even an excuse once its cooked properly. Steak is steak. Cook it properly and you won't choke no matter what you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭tonto24

Grandeeod wrote: »
    OP...You didn't cook the steak properly and it really is as simple as that. Alternatively it was a feckin ****e piece of steak.

Chomping it down quickly isn't even an excuse once its cooked properly. Steak is steak. Cook it properly and you won't choke no matter what you do.

What in the name of God are you talking about willis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

What in the name of God are you talking about willis

Im not willis and I will warn you. Ive just watched Ireland lose in France and the Dubs aren't impressing me so far. Therefore I'm ready to tear the heart out of someone!:D

But honestly all Im trying to say to you is that a badly cooked piece of steak or a steak that is simply a bad piece of meat, will lead to what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

You can't do the Heimlich manoevre on yourself. So only eat baby food when alone.

So if I only eat baby cows I'm safe. Good to know.

I have nearly choked many times when LexieOnRale or The Backwards Man or Esel come out with one of their wisecracks. Does Boards.ie have public liability to cover these type of scenarios?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Chew yer food ye greedy pig!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

This is a choking first-aid device called Life Vac.

It is only recently out and everyone should have one in the house, school... where-ever.

Here is how it works.

Here is their website where you can order one for $70

*Mods, I am not advertising a product here. This is the only one of its kind and could save someone's life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

That's a great story, Cajonlardo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

I'd be much more impressed if you hadn't survived but still started this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭GMSA

Neighbours son died a few yrs back with almost the same complaint as the OP. Out in a restaurant with a few friends after a half dozen pints. Choked on a mouthful of steak collapsed and died despite efforts by patrons and staff to render first aid. Was in his 40s i think.
    Came out at the inquest that the drink consumed beforehand had a relaxing effect on the muscle in the throat involved in swallowing. Steak can break up in pieces when chewed. Sometimes a cut of steak won't break up depending on the way its cut and the meat fibres are running. Turns into a chewed ball that stays intact going down the throat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Sciprio

A good thing if you're on your own and choking is get on your hands and knees and lift out both your arms and fall on your stomach. You might be a bit winded but it should help.
    I rarely eat the next day after drinking because food easily slides to the back of my throat and i can feel everything go down. I can't even swallow tablets anymore .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Sciprio wrote: »
    A good thing if you're on your own and choking is get on your hands and knees and lift out both your arms and fall on your stomach. You might be a bit winded but it should help.
    I rarely eat the next day after drinking because food easily slides to the back of my throat and i can feel everything go down. I can't even swallow tablets anymore .

I think we need a demonstration. Surely if you are on your hands and knees and lift out both your arms you would fall on your face?

looksee wrote: »
    I think we need a demonstration. Surely if you are on your hands and knees and lift out both your arms you would fall on your face?
    Here you go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

Steak with milk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Happened to my kid before. Pretty terrifying. Managed to free the airway after a while thankfully but thought he was a goner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Sciprio wrote: »

Saw somebody on TV before doing it but they mimicked a Heimlich Maneuver by falling onto the arm of an armchair.

That sounds just has good.