Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Night Of (HBO)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    http://www.deadline.com/2013/09/robert-de-niro-james-gandolfini-hbo-miniseries-criminal-justice/

Robert De Niro now to take over the role originally played by James Gandolfini in the pilot, very worthy replacement :cool:

A decent substitute, in fairness!

The first series of the original BBC show, with Ben Whishaw, was brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,958 ✭✭✭DopeTech

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ1ti7WeFM-45ujosHt2eKYBn4HHgMG5QMOGXh79xFooSFvwJD7zw

http://m.imdb.com/title/tt2401256/

After a night of partying with a female stranger, a man wakes up to find her stabbed to death and is charged with her murder.

First episode is available now on demand.

Just watched the first episode , seems quite good. Anyone else following it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

First episode was very good. The two leads are great and there were some very tense scenes.

I love the gritty, New York feel - has a real NYPD blue vibe. I'll follow it up. I've not seen the BBC show it's based on. I wonder how close it is to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Had never heard of it, but think I'll check it out. Its got John Turturro, thats enough for me.

I see its based on the UK show Criminal Justice, which I remember being pretty good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

The Night Of (now it's name) starts tonight on HBO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Threads merged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭cmac2009

Watched this last night, excellent opening episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Really good opener.
    We can all agree "Naz" makes a lot of silly decisions over the course of the episode, and if you've seen any crime thriller ever you could be forgiven for thinking he's an idiot, but Riz Ahmed plays him brilliantly.
    I'd only seen him in Nightcrawler before this; he's definitely talented.

Curious to see what the pacing is like now that the premise is established.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Really enjoyed episode two as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

Really good opener.
    We can all agree "Naz" makes a lot of silly decisions over the course of the episode, and if you've seen any crime thriller ever you could be forgiven for thinking he's an idiot, but Riz Ahmed plays him brilliantly.
    I'd only seen him in Nightcrawler before this; he's definitely talented.

Curious to see what the pacing is like now that the premise is established.

I think he makes those mistakes because he's never done anything bad in his life. I would have been absolutely crapping myself sitting in the back of the squad outside of the house.

Did anyone get a strange vibe off the step-dad? I know it was probably filmed that way but could he be a suspect? Naz doesnt appear to be covered in blood which you think he would be. He'd hardly have got dressed to go down to the fridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

Can't believe this isn't getting more love. It's fantastic.

It has sort of a True Detective (season one) mixed with The Wire vibe, or something along those lines.

Hopefully it keeps the quality up and doesn't descend into a standard procedural, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,209 ✭✭✭maximoose

Really enjoyed the first episode, but this week's lost me a little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

Cina wrote: »

Hopefully it keeps the quality up and doesn't descend into a standard procedural, though.

This is a serial. A procedural is a series of stand-alone episodes. Think Blue Bloods, CSI, Criminal Minds etc.

I just watched the 2nd episode and noticed the arty-ness a lot more. The camera panning down to the puddle on the ground as the prisoners were walked into the building, and on leaving the camera panned up the building to, I assume, show the enormity of what faces Naz. Lots of slow pans across rooms, several seconds of next scene conversation, dark and empty rooms etc. I think if we want to get the most out of this one, we'll need to get our art heads on and try to figure out what it is the art is saying to us.

Those are all the reasons I'd usually not bother with a show, but I have a good feeling about this one.

DubTony wrote: »
    This is a serial. A procedural is a series of stand-alone episodes. Think Blue Bloods, CSI, Criminal Minds etc.

You are indeed correct. What a brainfart!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

Watched the first 2 episodes and it's very good so far.Seems to have come in under the radar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,321 ✭✭✭sham69

enjoyable so far, stylish, well directed and turturro reminds me a bit of Columbo, have high hopes for this, hopefully it doesn't disappoint.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

This is great. It's misdirects all over the shop-until the step dad appears.

Anyone notice when she puts the cat out, she doesn't lock the door? Could be a thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭NinetyForNone

I like it too... so who are the bad guys and who are the good guys?

I think that one of the elements that are familiar from the wire. Even the good guys aren't really good guys. It's all about each following their own agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,990 ✭✭✭squonk

Shaping up great so far. I think I wasn't quite as impressed with episode 2 but that doesn't make it bad, just that the pilot had heaps of suspense. Definitely getting that Wire vibe from it which is no bad thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Watched the third episode last night. This is the most immersive opening three episodes to a series I've seen in a long time. Brilliant pacing and excellent characterisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭channelsurfer2

Watched episode 3. I believe
    similar to a BBC series but hopefully they concentrate more on the killing rather than him in jail as I prefer that aspect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

I like it, but what is the point in the eczema feet story they keep focusing on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭massy086

Unearthly wrote: »
    I like it, but what is the point in the eczema feet story they keep focusing on?

I bet your itching to know aren't you haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,610 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

I'm amazed there isn't more talk about this. It's hands down the best new show of the year. Another comparison I haven't seen mentioned so far is Rectify - deliberate pacing, and a 'hero' who many would presume innocent, but has absolutely not been established to be so.

It's absolutely fantastic so far. It sort of reminds me of a mix of the first season of True Detective (the artistic cinematography and overall grim tone) and The Wire (the realistic way it depicts the justice system).

Episode three. Man. I could barely sleep after it. Never want to go to prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Cina wrote: »
    It's absolutely fantastic so far. It sort of reminds me of a mix of the first season of True Detective (the artistic cinematography and overall grim tone) and The Wire (the realistic way it depicts the justice system).

They're pretty good reference points I think. I'm totally engrossed four episodes in. There are clearly a huge amount of subtle foreshadowing and referencing going on too in terms of some of the details and little moments that will be clearer by the end of the series. This is grown up TV - serious sombre and deliberate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

Really wish I had the full season to watch. Just finished the episode and I want more.

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    They're pretty good reference points I think. I'm totally engrossed four episodes in. There are clearly a huge amount of subtle foreshadowing and referencing going on too in terms of some of the details and little moments that will be clearer by the end of the series. This is grown up TV - serious sombre and deliberate.

I found the fourth episode to be possibly the weakest, so far. Still very good TV but very slow and we're now half way through, yet it doesn't feel like we're half way through the story and case at all. It was also pretty predictable, overall.

Also, as much as I like Torturro, how much more are they going to focus on his personal life and feet? I feel like for a character that isn't the most important in the show, they're devoting far too much time to his personal life in contrast to Andrea's stepfather, the main detective, even Naz and his family.

We get it, his feet are fecked, move on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,647 ✭✭✭channelsurfer2

Its interesting but very slow. I look forward to the rest of the episodes anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,694 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Why did the blonde attorney offer to represent Naz for free? Was it because it was such a high profile case that it was a great marketing opportunity?

Also, I adore this show, the opening episode was probably the best episode of tv i've ever seen, the way they portray New York is amazing, get a great feel for the city. Did find episode 4 a bit slow but that's my only criticism so far.

siblers wrote: »
    Why did the blonde attorney offer to represent Naz for free? Was it because it was such a high profile case that it was a great marketing opportunity?

Also, I adore this show, the opening episode was probably the best episode of tv i've ever seen, the way they portray New York is amazing, get a great feel for the city. Did find episode 4 a bit slow but that's my only criticism so far.
    I would say that is the very reason she took it on.She seems a bit of a **** so probably has no issue with using him to get media coverage/increase her profile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,201 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Just watched the first episode last night.. absolutely fantastic!

May not quite binge on the next three.. but definitely will watch another this evening.

EDIT: Somewhat tempted to watch Criminal Justice (BBC series it's based on) but probably best to wait as presumably it plays out similarly..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I think she tried to make it appear that it was for a good cause while it becomes evident that she's taking advantage of the situation to make herself and her firm look good. She doesn't give a shít about Naz and how he'll come out of this, instead wanting him to plead guilty and take a deal.

The flipside being that everyone said Tutorro was originally doing this while it's looking likely he's taking a personal interest in the case and with Naz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Can people tell us what type of spoiler they are posting?

As in, are you spoiling because you have seen the latest HBO episode or are you spoiling because you've seen the entire BBC series?

I haven't seen the BBC series so i can't click on any spoiler because i don't know if its going to ruin the HBO show for me.

Best thing to do is not have any spoilers. If it's shown on HBO it's fair game to discuss it. But if it references the BBC show, then spoiler away.

I enjoyed the latest episode but, like others have said, I felt it was a bit slow. I didn't realise there was only 8 episodes in total so this episode didn't add greatly to the story.

I'm not going to bother spoiler tagging as this episode has aired so if you have an issue, move on now! :)

The feet thing is getting a bit overblown at this point. We now know he's the lawyer who sticks around due to a personal interest and that's fine but there's way too much coverage of his foot condition. It's like they have to show some reason to give him some scenes.

I feel things are in limbo now with the high powered lawyer having walked. Naz isn't in a good place now. The pro bono lawyer might have been looking to up her profile but she didn't do a bad job and it was more than pointed out that it was a good outcome. Yes Naz did have to plead guilty but maybe he is? We don't know. He doesn't even know.

Now he's in limbo but I assume gammy foot lawyer is going to step back in. I'd have preferred to be able to move onto episode 5 after this week. All in all, the lady lawyer looked like a bit of a distraction. We dont' know if Naz's family will cover the costs now and what's happening with the civil suit over the car? Also, what's happening with the victim's father. He strikes me as the perp, or most likely candidate so far.

Also, what's the point of the ongoing plot with the gammy foot lawyer banging the hooker?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

He hardly had any blood on him bar the bit where they were doing the knife hand thingy. Surely he'd be covered in blood. Someone who had access to the house (like the stepfather) had to have come in after they had sex or was in the house before they arrived. Found an easy out with Naz being there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

Dont forget Stone found the downstairs door was open way after the forensics had left and in fact the police had never even noticed it was open.

Mc Love wrote: »
    He hardly had any blood on him bar the bit where they were doing the knife hand thingy. Surely he'd be covered in blood. Someone who had access to the house (like the stepfather) had to have come in after they had sex or was in the house before they arrived. Found an easy out with Naz being there.

Id agree with you but as Fred mentioned we dont know for sure.For me its pointing towards him being innocent and just unbelievably unlucky.

looking forward to finding out:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,694 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Spoiler here about episode 1

Remember when Naz got into an argument with the 2 lads outside the girl's apartment and there was one part where the camera focused on one of the guy's (the quiet lad) I wondered if he had some involvement in it but it seems fairly improbable now, felt like he would have some further involvement in that episode going by the way they focused in on him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,869 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Three Episodes in:

Like this show a lot so far. It oozes that HBO quality - good acting, production values, adult themes.

It's interesting how, at this stage in the story, every characters motivations and the essential truth of what did actually happen are still largely a mystery. I expect it all to iron itself out in time and, probably, consequently become less interesting, but for now I appreciate how ambiguous the storytelling is.

Some other things I'm not totally keen on - It seems a little too on the nose, at times, about the muslim angle on the story. I don't know if I'm personally all that bothered about how Nazir gets on in jail; it's absorbing and gritty enough, but haven't we been here before with other shows and films? What interests me more is the machinations of the justice system and the central mystery at the storys heart. Maybe the "aint prison hell" stuff will prove to be central to what comes later, but I can't escape the feeling that we're spinning our wheels a bit as viewers when we go visit the inside of those walls.

And, for the love of God, please enough, enough with the feet. Jesus wept! In the midst of this story about the fallout from a horrible murder, all I can think about half the time is how hell is looking at John Turturro's flaky feet.

Anyone else picking up on the recurring visual motif of intersecting wires and patterns? Once you start paying attention to it it's everywhere: precisely deliniated brick walls, iron gates, floor tiles. In tonights episode there was a pretty cool shot of Nazir's father cradling a disposable coffee in his hands, and the tips of his fingers were absentmindedly stroking some uniquely patterned shapes around the rim of the cup. Hey, maybe it will all amount to nothing, but I like how they are trying to do something visually with the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,201 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Spoiler here about episode 1

Remember when Naz got into an argument with the 2 lads outside the girl's apartment and there was one part where the camera focused on one of the guy's (the quiet lad) I wondered if he had some involvement in it but it seems fairly improbable now, felt like he would have some further involvement in that episode going by the way they focused in on him
    Spoilers for episode 1 below also:

He definitely does... as I rewatched episode 1 with girlfriend last night (not watched any more) so avoiding spoilers but when Boxs is interviewing the other guy ("you leave your bombs at home Mustafa?"), Boggs asks him was he on his own when he saw Naz and the victim. And he replied "yes!"... we all know that isn't true!

Missed that first time round!

I totally missed that. I'm guessing though that this is a show that rewards rewatching. I'd say there's loads of little details I've not picked up on so far.

The way the show is shaping up for me is that it doesn't necessarily matter who committed the actual murder now. What matters is that the police believe they've got their guy and it's case closed in their eyes. They want a trial to show up in a big way that the case has been dealt with. The legal profession are going through the motions, negotiating and arguing and producing canned responses at the end of the day. Nowhere in any of this does the truth actually matter. Even that was obvious early on.

I'm not sure what any of that has to do with Naz and Chalky White in prison. I know he has to go but, as was said, we've had plenty of prison dramas to date. This really isn't adding anything new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,348 ✭✭✭PropJoe10

This is brilliant so far. Gandolfini would be proud of it!