Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Country Music Awards on RTE

• 24-06-2016 9:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,842 ✭✭✭

Auld fella has thrown this on so I'm in for an evening of Daniel and ****e talk from people thanking each other.

Anyone else watching? I don't find the country music seen too bad here (as in, I wouldn't go for rope if it was on the radio), so I should be able to bear this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I thought they would have held it somewhere bigger, everyone is on top of each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Not much of fan of country music (although the LLS country special was probably the most lively and entertaining show of the season :o ), I feel a bit sorry for the older and more established singers as they're not getting a look in tonight. It's all about the young ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Let us know if Gareth makes a surprise appearance

Poor Shay :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭ofcork

They shouldn't have had him up there on his own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,320 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

I bet Derek Ryan and Mike Denver are so jealous that Nathan Carter got to record 'Wagon Wheel'.

I'd say they've locked him in his dressing room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,842 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Jaysus Shay Healy has faded away. Felt sorry for the poor lad there now.

As for the young ones being to the forefront - proper feckin order! The oldies aren't really at the races anymore. Their time has come and gone and it's good to see a younger crew taking up the mantle and breathing new life into it. This show, and shows like it would not be on if we still only had Philomena, Margo, Mick Flavin and the likes. I'm not saying to consign them to the scrapheap by any means as they are all still very professional artists, just they haven't moved with the times just enough to be considered on par with the new artists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,212 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I bet Derek Ryan and Mike Denver are so jealous that Nathan Carter got to record 'Wagon Wheel'.

I'd say they've locked him in his dressing room.

I like proper country music but the bastard Irish Country is just damn weird, creepy and absolutely shiţe...

The insincerity of the lot of them...

It's like an episode of France Ted.. the best bit being Daniel telling us we had to log onto the farmers journal website to vote... strangness

M

The Brexit might impact music, they will probably need work visas to perform in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 324 ✭✭elaney

They should have had it in a bigger venue i'd say thats the smallest crowd they
    have played to in a long time.

If crystal swing come on can somone pm me ?

M

Shane MacGowan is looking well.

Strumms wrote: »
    If crystal swing come on can somone pm me ?

When Lisa McHugh comes on, can someone pm me? :D

Garret Brukes said he'd only perform if he could sing 5 songs....

Ditto for Susan McCann...

And Margo

Daniel is getting great publicity with all the ads he's quids in tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

O'Callaghan? Sure, why would he be there?

Saw my mother/brother in the audience.

elaney wrote: »
    Daniel is getting great publicity with all the ads he's quids in tonight.

Only downside is that he's not nominated for any awards tonight. They'll probably surprise him at the end with an induction into an Irish Country Music Hall of Fame thingy.

Hahaha the portumna powerhouse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Big Tom is still able to sing, if Paddy Cole flapped his ears he'd take off.

Only downside is that he's not nominated for any awards tonight. They'll probably surprise him at the end with an induction into an Irish Country Music Hall of Fame thingy.

They can't let Daniel go home empty handed it would be sacrilidge ;

M

Is there a lot of botox going on or are the performers just plastered in makeup?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Is there a lot of botox going on or are the performers just plastered in makeup?
    Daniel seems to have eased off on the botox, his face isn't as stiff and there are a few wrinkles showing. Maybe rosenshock shamed him into doing without it. Some nice young ones there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

If Leanne Moore comes on, can somebody hose me down with cold water.

Daniel perched there like in the corner like Lee Harvey Oswald on the sixth floor of the Texas Book Depository.

I aint over the hill... as she forgets the words to the song. :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭Stig Inge

cliiiiiiiii ona

Serious amount of make up on show tonight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Strumms wrote: »
    Hahaha the portumna powerhouse...

Who is that about

M

Wagonised Wheel will take this no doubt.

Any chance this aint gonna be wagon wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Who is that about

Joe Canning, hes gone on the road with a county music band

M

All the better live for the oul mistakes.

Give him the mic Daniel ye greedy boll1x

Ah here. How da hell did Wagon Wheel win that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

liam7831 wrote: »
    Joe Canning, hes gone on the road with a county music band

He will sell out 5 nights at Croke Park

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,051 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Was that a new song?

I don't recall ever hearing it before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

I was waiting on a scrap over the mic there

Ireland's favourite country song...... written by Bob Dylan and sung by a scouser.

M

They should take one song each year that has run its course and encase all copies of it in concrete and bury it at sea.

I was waiting on a scrap over the mic there

The scrap is being portrayed in a new movie, Brokeback Microphone

M

No Crystal Swing, have they been decommissioned?

Ireland's favourite country song...... written by Bob Dylan and sung by a scouser.

Says it all... a cover version ! Galway girl playing in the background written by Steve Earle...

Not even a song to finish with? FFS!

I'd say it's gonna be some night there. No doubt the will be regaling stories of Daniel's wild night, "up supping tae until QUARTER PAST TWELVE" for many years to come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,819 ✭✭✭liam7831

Cant believe this didnt win :(

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g7YyF1l6D64

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

liam7831 wrote: »

Dirge, as is most of that so-called Country & Irish schmalz:D:mad::eek:

Proper music now. Johnny Cash.

Nathan Carter has also scooped 'Best Male' at Irish TV's ICMA's

What a night it's been :D