Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Choosing county on reg plate for new car

• 21-06-2016 9:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭

I am due to receive my new car in July - the dealer is saying he can only give the county of the dealership as the county on the reg plate.

However, I live in a different county and I want the county on my reg plate to be the county where I live.

The dealer is saying he can only use the dealership county as this conforms with sales targets required by their main dealer.

What can I do here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,729 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

He is talking rubbish, clearly he is trying to sell you a pre registered car so that you will then be 2nd owner recorded on the logbook.

Did he tell you that you would be the 2nd owner of your "new" car when you ordered it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Pious14 wrote: »
    I am due to receive my new car in July - the dealer is saying he can only give the county of the dealership as the county on the reg plate.

However, I live in a different county and I want the county on my reg plate to be the county where I live.

The dealer is saying he can only use the dealership county as this conforms with sales targets required by their main dealer.

What can I do here?

Tell him that he is talking out of his arse.

Car should be registered to the owners address which will give the country plate for where you live.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 334 ✭✭skywanderer

I thought a new car was always registered by where you lived, example if you bought a new car from a Cork showroom it would be registered as 161-KY if your address was in Kerry.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,907 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

He's talking rubbish. We bought out new car in a different county... 3 new cars in 2 different counties actually. All 3 were given the reg of the county we live in.

M

I thought a new car was always registered by where you lived, example if you bought a new car from a Cork showroom it would be registered as 161-KY if your address was in Kerry.

Yes it is always registered at the address you provide to the dealer if it's a new car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Pious14

Thought as much - no I ordered the car in the April. It will be a 162 so I won't be getting a second hand car. I will be contacting him tomorrow!

M

Unless it was disclosed in the documentation you signed when you ordered the car that you were getting a car as 2nd owner listed in logbook I would tell them they either give you what you ordered or you want your deposit back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

It's a legal requirement for the car to carry the index mark of the relevent licensing authority where the car will normally be kept for a first time registered vehicle.

So if you live in Dublin and buy a car in Cork it must have a D reg by law, if the dealer gives a C reg they are breaking the law.

I know a mainstream Dublin dealer who used to register the car to the correct owners name (who had a non-Dublin address), but with the garages address to enable the car have a D reg, as soon as the VRC was issued the address was then changed to the correct address so the owner had a D reg, but with the car registered (eventually) to the correct address and they were still owner no.1.

Revenue eventually flagged it with the dealer and the practice stopped as they were threatened with legal action if it continued.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

Unless it was disclosed in the documentation you signed when you ordered the car that you were getting a car as 2nd owner listed in logbook I would tell them they either give you what you ordered or you want your deposit back.

Who said anything about a second Owner or not getting what they ordered??

It sounds more like a sales person who doesn't know what they're talking about more than anything.

M

Who said anything about a second Owner or not getting what they ordered??

It sounds more like a sales person who doesn't know what they're talking about more than anything.

OP did in their first post that dealer would be first owner which would not then be a new car as in first owner as per logbook number of owners of the car...

I will be the first owner, as stated later the reg will be 162

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

Just tell the sales guy that if it doesn't have the reg of your home address you'll be looking for your depost back and they can keep the car.

I bought a new car in January from a dealer in Galway, when placing the order I specifically said that if the car arrives with anything other than the reg of my home county they could keep it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

GM228 wrote: »
    It's a legal requirement for the car to carry the index mark of the relevent licensing authority where the car will normally be kept for a first time registered vehicle.

So if you live in Dublin and buy a car in Cork it must have a D reg by law, if the dealer gives a C reg they are breaking the law.

I know a mainstream Dublin dealer who used to register the car to the correct owners name (who had a non-Dublin address), but with the garages address to enable the car have a D reg, as soon as the VRC was issued the address was then changed to the correct address so the owner had a D reg, but with the car registered (eventually) to the correct address and they were still owner no.1.

Revenue eventually flagged it with the dealer and the practice stopped as they were threatened with legal action if it continued.

My last 5 or 6 brand new cars have all been D reg. I live elsewhere.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Sounds like a delboy dealer I knew in the south west, know it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

My last 5 or 6 brand new cars have all been D reg. I live elsewhere.

Indeed it's still possible to do if you provide a Dublin address for initial registration, but not actually legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

If the dealer registers it in their name first, they can treat it as a demo, and get an extra discount from the distributor. By taking the regular price from you, they basically get a higher profit.

What they are telling you is BS, and they are chancing their arm. New car should be registered to you as first owner, with your county on the plate. If it's not happening that way, tell them to keep it. If the car is a special order / unusual spec they will back down because it could be more difficult for them to sell it elsewhere.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

GM228 wrote: »
    Indeed it's still possible to do if you provide a Dublin address for initial registration, but not actually legal.

Why not? D reg is handy for resale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭bren2002

Why do you care what county the reg plate is? It's still the same car?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

bren2002 wrote: »
    Why do you care what county the reg plate is? It's still the same car?

I've said it before and I'll say it again, but I love how people buying brand new cars care so much about what the person buying it from them will want. I know people want their car to be easier to resell later but if you are losing so much on depreciation by buying a new car you might as well buy it for yourself and not for the next owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I don't think the OP is a reg snob but just wants the new car registered to the county where his/her address resides. The dealer should not be dictating that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

shietpilot wrote: »
    I've said it before and I'll say it again, but I love how people buying brand new cars care so much about what the person buying it from them will want. I know people want their car to be easier to resell later but if you are losing so much on depreciation by buying a new car you might as well buy it for yourself and not for the next owner.

Yes, it's rather like people who fit seat covers to keep the seats good for when they resell it. Why not enjoy your pristine seats yourself!

bazz26 wrote: »
    I don't think the OP is a reg snob but just wants the new car registered to the county where his/her address resides. The dealer should not be dictating that.

Exactly - I'm paying enough, the most I should get is to choose the reg county

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,971 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

When Ms. jou bought her car couple of years ago dealer (one of the leading ones) asked her what county she prefers to be on a plate. They said that's no problem at all, they're able to register it in whatever county.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭maximum12

Why do we even have counties on plates? It's completely useless information on a reg plate. It's not like each county has different rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

For each new car, the people in revenue issue a number based on the address of the first registered owner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

I worked in a rural BMW dealer and the amount of times a local would drive out in a new 5 series with a d reg was unreal. Not sure how they did it but the thinking was it would hold its value better with Dublin plates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭shietpilot

Jayop wrote: »
    I worked in a rural BMW dealer and the amount of times a local would drive out in a new 5 series with a d reg was unreal. Not sure how they did it but the thinking was it would hold its value better with Dublin plates.

There are no advantages buying a secondhand Dublin reg car because it was probably driven in Donegal anyway :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

maximum12 wrote: »
    Why do we even have counties on plates? It's completely useless information on a reg plate. It's not like each county has different rules.

We aren't alone in having the county on the registration plate. Our nearest neighbour and several other European countries use county on reg plates. Some even make you change the plate if you move county.

Del2005 wrote: »
    We aren't alone in having the county on the registration plate. Our nearest neighbour and several other European countries use county on reg plates. Some even make you change the plate if you move county.

+1 On every ad. for Mercedes you'll see a car with an 'S' in the reg. for Stuttgart and ditto 'M' for Munich on BMWs, in both cases where the companies have their headquarters. Cars in Italy also show the city or region in the number plates - 'Mi' for Milano, 'Ro' for Roma etc. In the UK, the first two letters of the reg. under the current (since 2001) format gives the county or city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,632 ✭✭✭carsfan2

I think the problem here in Ireland is that Dublin people are the reg snobs. Some will not buy a used car with a " country" plate. By having a D reg you have a bigger secondhand market.
    My father bought an e class merc and the dealer recommended a D reg even though he's not in Dublin and said it would be worth a grand to him 3/4 years later over a reg from his own county.

carsfan2 wrote: »
    I think the problem here in Ireland is that Dublin people are the reg snobs. Some will not buy a used car with a " country" plate. By having a D reg you have a bigger secondhand market.
    My father bought an e class merc and the dealer recommended a D reg even though he's not in Dublin and said it would be worth a grand to him 3/4 years later over a reg from his own county.

+1 I sat in front of a main dealer recently, told him I was interested in a 2 or 3 year old model xxx with a preferred set of specs., he said he had a car to match my requirements coming in soon on a trade-in, he brought up the details on his screen and one of the first 'features' he rattled off was : 'D reg.'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

maximum12 wrote: »

Having counties on reg plate would make sense, if this was updated everytime to reflect real current country that vehicle owner lives.

Having county indicator of first owner (which as by this thread is not even always right) is indeed pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

It's most likely the dealer trying to up the sales figures for the county as that's is how cars sales by county are determined and not be where the person who bought the car lives. He's full of **** and you can demand the car is registered first time in your name which will ensure you get your home county reg plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,499 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I recently bought a new car and when I mentioned that, despite me living in Co. Wicklow, it was the first car I'd had with a WW reg, instead of a D, the salesman said he could get it on a D plate if I wanted. He seemed to be suggesting that he could simply put Co. Dublin instead of Co. Wicklow at the end of my address and that would work. I declined, as not only would that be an invalid address, but where I am, a WW or D really makes no difference, what with part of Bray being in Dun Laoghaire Rathdown anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

And the stupid thing is the roads are considerably worse in Dublin than anywhere else. They're riddled with pot holes and filled in trenches. I would rather a car from outside Dublin that hasn't had the **** rattled out of it by poor roads but people are stupid, dealers are stupider and stupid always wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

And the stupid thing is the roads are considerably worse in Dublin than anywhere else. They're riddled with pot holes and filled in trenches. I would rather a car from outside Dublin that hasn't had the **** rattled out of it by poor roads but people are stupid, dealers are stupider and stupid always wins.

Yea, I also don't understand why car which was driven in Dublin would be better buy that one driven id Donegal, Clare, Mayo or Kerry...

The same logic as buying from one careful lady owner. For me fact that car had lady owner is rather a point against buying it...

It's most likely the dealer trying to up the sales figures for the county as that's is how cars sales by county are determined and not be where the person who bought the car lives. He's full of **** and you can demand the car is registered first time in your name which will ensure you get your home county reg plate.

The distributor and the dealer's own bean counters don't care which county reg. is on the plate when a new car rolls off the forecourt - why would they?

The dealer the OP is dealing with is effectively saying that if a prospect from Donegal walks in to buy a new car, he will be told he can't have a 'DL' registration and the dealer will refuse the sale if he insists :confused:

The only people who care about the count by county are the folk in the Central Statistics Office who publish the numbers every month.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Spend your holidays down here in Roscommon and you'll change your tune quick enough. :pac:

Having said that I drove through Kilmainham to Inchicore on Monday evening and remarked how sh!t the road is for a capital city. Generally though, roads are far superior in Dublin than where we are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

No sign of the OP today. :eek:

"Man found in the boot of a D reg BMW this morning"

If its a high volume main stream car brand then I can see where there might be a push from the distributor or manufacturer to have dealers in each county to compete with each other for units sold and registered in their respective counties.

However as mentioned earlier it may also be an attempt to qualify it as a demo for a higher discount from the distributor.

If its a high volume main stream car brand then I can see where there might be a push from the distributor or manufacturer to have dealers in each county to compete with each other for units sold and registered in their respective counties.

But if you take the hinterland of a town like Athlone for example, there are people living within 15 miles of the town whose addresses are in counties Galway, Roscommon, Offaly, Westmeath and Longford and for whom Athlone is the nearest big town.

What is a Toyota dealer in Athlone (Co. Westmeath) supposed to do when it comes to registering a car that he's selling to a customer from Ballinasloe (Co. Galway) or Ballymahon (Co. Longford)?

coylemj wrote: »
    But if you take the hinterland of a town like Athlone for example, there are people living within 15 miles of the town whose addresses are in counties Galway, Roscommon, Offaly, Westmeath and Longford and for whom Athlone is the nearest big town.

What is a Toyota dealer in Athlone (Co. Westmeath) supposed to do when it comes to registering a car that he's selling to a customer from Ballinasloe (Co. Galway) or Ballymahon (Co. Longford)?

My point is that distributors do have sales target incentives with their dealer network, what specific criteria they use only they would know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

If Dubs are the problem then why are the Culchies buying new D reg cars? I knew a person who lived in Dublin and always has Offaly plates on their new car. Also with the way the GAA builds rivalries people won't buy with any County but their own, or Dublin!

People put way too much emphasis on the least important part a car.

My point is that distributors do have sales target incentives with their dealer network, what specific criteria they use only they would know.

That was a quick climbdown from your previous post......
    ... I can see where there might be a push from the distributor or manufacturer to have dealers in each county to compete with each other for units sold and registered in their respective counties.

Which would be unworkable even outside Dublin because there are many cases of more than one dealer in a particular county, especially in big counties like Cork and Galway and then there are some counties like Donegal where for example there is no Toyota dealer.

coylemj wrote: »

He should do as his customer requests.

I wonder does it have anything to do with local motor tax offices and employment?

There's no reason this function should be splintered as it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

However as mentioned earlier it may also be an attempt to qualify it as a demo for a higher discount from the distributor.

Surely the manufacturer and or the distributior knows exactly how many new cars the dealer sold. I can't see how the reg would come into sales figures/targets.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

Thought as much - no I ordered the car in the April. It will be a 162 so I won't be getting a second hand car. I will be contacting him tomorrow!
    I will be the first owner, as stated later the reg will be 162
    That does not mean that you will be the 1st Owner. If the Dealer registers the Car to himself on 1st July and changes it into your name on the 2nd then you would be the 2nd owner of a 162 Car.
    Exactly - I'm paying enough, the most I should get is to choose the reg county
    You don't get to 'choose'. It's registered to your home Address, and whatever County that is in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I would contact Skoda Ireland as a concerned customer, tell them you think it's irregular and worrying that a garage would skew registration figures to hit some target set by the distributor. Tell them you're very upset that you were not made aware of this when ordering the car, and that you have checked with the VRO and they have confirmed that what is being proposed by the dealer is illegal.

See what they say then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

He should do as his customer requests.

I told Grandons Cork I wanted my car registered in the month I picked it up, 1st of Feb. When picking up they had registered 31st Jan. Presumably for targets, which affected tax.

That was the least of my worries/hardship with that garage. :(