Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Complaining about milk processers, milk prices, boards and all other moaning

• 21-06-2016 8:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭

Now lads knock yourself out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

keep going wrote: »
    Did someone get out of the wrong side of the bed this morning? Or maybe stood on some Lego?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭browned

I can't thank you enough kg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

farmerjj wrote: »
    Did someone get out of the wrong side of the bed this morning? Or maybe stood on some Lego?

No just trying to get rid of a pain in my head , or maybe in the arse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭browned

coop 2009 milk price
    aurivo 21.06c/l
    arrabawn 20.88c/l
    bandon 23.96c/l
    dairygold 21.96c/l
    drinagh 23.17c/l
    glanbia 22.79c/l
    Kerry 21.99c/l
    lakelands 21.07c/l
    lisavard 23.95c/l
    Tipperary 21.11c/l
    monaghan 20.78c/
    wexford 23.07c/l

is there that much difference between prices this year and back in 2009. west cork are paying a similar milk price. how do other coops match up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

browned wrote:
    is there that much difference between prices this year and back in 2009. west cork are paying a similar milk price. how do other coops match up?

A table of prices.

Hmm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

They're the average for the year yeah? Dairygold are at 22 now, Nd the same for april so will have to drop again to go below it for the year average. 09 we had a bad summer weather wise as well, altho this spring nearly matched it. Over 2/3 of April milk this year came from silage and meal here anyway. Difference this time is supply is way up whereas in 09 it was combined with a drop In demand which dropped the prices faster I think and due to China etc having less reserves demand picked up again relatively quickly. The US didn't have their current scheme either so they dropped off supply much faster

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Great stretch in the evenings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,209 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

mf240 wrote: »
    Great stretch in the evenings.
    ah they'll be getting shorter from today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭greenfield21

I'd say twitter is the cause of this, fckin crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Browned gone , sick of the moaners and clowns

You don't look in for a day and all hell breaks loose.
    I have to say I'm involved in a few forums and this one especially dairy is something else for the name calling and insulting people.
    A purpose of an internet forum is to give a voice to everyone. If you don't agree with the poster either put your point across (perhaps you'll both learn something)or forget about it.

I learn a great deal from the forums and if I think I know a bit about a subject will contribute. Can be wrong sometimes but you don't learn if you don't ask.

Sorry to the mods if ye think I'm interfering but I felt I had to say something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

I've missed something. What the hell happened!

KG, I'm just going to close this for the moment, it's grand having a thread to moan in but it seems to have gone arseways so might have to tidy it up...

Edit- reopened. Moan away. Plz remember that it's not very nice to discuss if a person closed their account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Pity to see Keep Going closing up shop , he is around awhile now and often had a different perspective on things that was nice . Hopefully he will be back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Browned gone. One of the proactive ones that we could learn from. Lovely.

Keep going gone. One with the inside track on the functioning of West Cork Coops, and much more. Lovely.

Milked out gone. Wise beyond his years. Lovely.

Ye happy?
    "Lord, what fools these mortals be!"

"Aujourd'hui ce qui ne vaut pas la peine d'être dit, on le chant".
    Sing away lads.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Dawggone wrote: »

Keep going gone. One with the inside track on the functioning of West Cork Coops, and much more. Lovely.

Ye happy?

Sing away lads.

I think it's more to do with May milk chqs being 5-10k smaller than this time last year, than anything that was said here. Lot of lads feeling stressed out.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    I think it's more to do with May milk chqs being 5-10k smaller than this time last year, than anything that was said here. Lot of lads feeling stressed out.
    I think the price drop when we thought things were on the up was a real kick in the teeth. May adn June cheques are when most people pay off alot of debts built up over the spring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Dawggone wrote: »

Ye happy?

Sing away lads.

You wouldn't be a tad melodramatic at all would ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,273 ✭✭✭orm0nd

whelan2 wrote: »
    I think the price drop when we thought things were on the up was a real kick in the teeth. May adn June cheques are when most people pay off alot of debts built up over the spring

every warehouse in the country & farther afield is full to the rafters with smp

take the china & russian scenario in consideration & how could anybody think that "things were on the up" ?

orm0nd wrote: »

take the china & russian scenario in consideration & how could anybody think that "things were on the up" ?
    Plenty of articles saying things had bottomed out, have learnt here from 2012/13/14 to look on the bright side, this year is nothing compared to the hardship of 2012/13 we have here plenty of grass and feed, weather isnt bad, good growth, fair enough milk price is crap. Alot of farmers had no hardship that year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Plenty of articles saying things had bottomed out, have learnt here from 2012/13/14 to look on the bright side, this year is nothing compared to the hardship of 2012/13 we have here plenty of grass and feed, weather isnt bad, good growth, fair enough milk price is crap. Alot of farmers had no hardship that year.

Experience has thought me that when you think everything's going well in farming, you have usually overlooked something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

That's certainly part it but a larger problem is boards has just become a bitching ground lately, and as freedom said last week is totally lacking any friendly banter lately. Contrast this to twitter where many of our old friends reside now, it's alot more postive a place to be, all us milk producers face large cashflow challenges this weather, and what the fcuk does anyone need to come onto boards to escape that, but see nothing but pages of utter tripe posted up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

See what your saying about the weather etc, but if your a dairy farmer the price of milk is the be all, if we were getting a fair price I,d be happy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

orm0nd wrote: »

Skim being sold at above intervention prices atm orm0nd. It looks like things have turned but it will take a few months of demand picking up and Autumn sales of intervention stocks (COMPLETELY SEPARATE FROM PEAK NZ SUPPLIES:pac:) before any significant rise above 25c base will be seen.

farmerjj wrote: »
    See what your saying about the weather etc, but if your a dairy farmer the price of milk is the be all, if we were getting a fair price I,d be happy.
    whats the point in going way ott about it, we can not change milk price in the short term. Every person who comes into this yard the first thing out of them is milk price believe it or not there's more to life than milk price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Bad year, mediocre year, good year and again.

If anyone has any worries I won't be leaving anytime soon, thick neck

kevthegaff wrote: »
    If anyone has any worries I won't be leaving anytime soon, thick neck
    ah feck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Don't know what the fook is going on here lately with a lot of regurals shutting up shop .i know a lot are on Twitter but this is a great forum for debating out things without restriction of 250 charcheters .hooefully theyll be back but I think mods need to have a serious look at things as regards new users turning up and trolling the crap out of others and there point of view .this used to be a great place for getting views and ideas on things but sadly over last short while things have gone way south

I was with the oh and kids for 5-6 hrs and missed everything, pity:-)

whats the point in going way ott about it, we can not change milk price in the short term. Every person who comes into this yard the first thing out of them is milk price believe it or not there's more to life than milk price
    Jaysus, the price of lambs is shoite at the minute, isn't it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Timmaay wrote: »
    That's certainly part it but a larger problem is boards has just become a bitching ground lately, and as freedom said last week is totally lacking any friendly banter lately.,,,,,,,
    Deffo agree with that. I notice it myself recently. The whole tone of the place has being dragged down a lot. The old posters have being a great constant here and I would be sorry to see any of them go, but some of the new posters, the less said the better. It's like the old saying, ' if you have nothing good to say, maybe it's better say nothing st all'.

sure you're a new poster :)

Camels are flying it tho, 10k plus their weight

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Camels are flying it tho, 10 plus their weight
    ha, the lads that closed their accounts got the hump

+1 Patsy.

It's all our forum. I find it great at times to come on and post and get a different perspective on things, sometimes well outside my comfort zone.

But that's no bad thing, even if it annoys me at times. It's interesting to see someone elses take on the exact same problem and how they would deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Who made you a fecking Moderator? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

He's only a mod on the touch site by the looks of things......:-)

Coz I'm always in the outhouse, they put me in charge of it:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Timmaay wrote: »
    That's certainly part it but a larger problem is boards has just become a bitching ground lately, and as freedom said last week is totally lacking any friendly banter lately. Contrast this to twitter where many of our old friends reside now, it's alot more postive a place to be, all us milk producers face large cashflow challenges this weather, and what the fcuk does anyone need to come onto boards to escape that, but see nothing but pages of utter tripe posted up.
    mahoney_j wrote: »
    Don't know what the fook is going on here lately with a lot of regurals shutting up shop .i know a lot are on Twitter but this is a great forum for debating out things without restriction of 250 charcheters .hooefully theyll be back but I think mods need to have a serious look at things as regards new users turning up and trolling the crap out of others and there point of view .this used to be a great place for getting views and ideas on things but sadly over last short while things have gone way south

I agree entirely and we're all ears if there are suggestions to aid the forum maintain it's regular posters and get new (non troll) members as well. The thing about posters who are acting the d1ck, we can't just declare them a troll and ban them. There are certain protocols for us mods to follow or else we end up looking like cranky gits who just get rid of people for the fun of it.
    The milk price being low has led to waves of dissension around here and it's affecting the good-natured, friendly tone that used to be here all the time. Since I became mod here there's been a sort of ebb and flow of posting, there are things like weather and stock prices which can change the entire mood and general feeling in the forum and it can be very difficult to try and reverse that atmosphere if the general outlook isn't looking likely to change in the short term.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

I always miss the good sh1t. What happened ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

+1 Patsy.

It's all our forum. I find it great at times to come on and post and get a different perspective on things, sometimes well outside my comfort zone.

But that's no bad thing, even if it annoys me at times. It's interesting to see someone elses take on the exact same problem and how they would deal with it.

Spot on. What ive come to realise, and its taken me nearly 40 odd years to see it - it's not what life throws at ya but how you deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭visatorro

Moaning hmmm
    I'm working 16 hour days for nothing.
    Iv lost my sleep.
    Herself is giving out.
    My stock is worth nothing.
    I'm just a number at work and I still make an effort which annoys me.
    No sex.
    No drink.
    When I do get out I can't drink.
    Can't get broadband.
    No TV
    Stuck renting.
    Iv put on a stone weight.
    I'm going grey

Other than that things are looking good!! That'll do for a while!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Miname wrote: »
    I always miss the good sh1t. What happened ?

Tractor's battery gone flat
    Jeep wheel got a puncture
    Sheep got into neighbours field
    Lamb nearly died in the pen
    Deer eating GLAS trees
    Tractor pissing hydraulic oil
    And to top it off the midges are eating me alive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

I can't sleep sweaty balls keeping me awake in this heat lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

I'm broken down by age, sex and religion. Like the national census.

Laughter is a great medicine.

I might post a photo of my current account balance, should be good for a few laughs :pac:

no toilet roll at the toilet, this is the start of a bad day:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I said wrote: »
    I can't sleep sweaty balls keeping me awake in this heat lol

So long as it's only your own balls keeping you awake , things aren't too bad !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,544 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Jaysus it's like a bad joe Duffy show here.

"They just don't want to know joe"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭stanflt

Lads I remember when I joined This forum I was very green around the gills-home about 1 Yr with no formal Agri eduction-I would like to thank all the posters on here- present and gone-
    The knowledge that had been shared and the information I have received had Been the best education that anyone could get
    The recession won't last forever and we will come out stronger at the other end- I know financially it's difficult to say the least but a problem shared is a problem halved- everyone else is going thru the same scenario and you may feel like your the only one but it's good to talk(not criticise)

Onwards and upwards and try to remain positive

I know I'm not around much but I do try and catch up once a week as there's always something new we can learn from other

Keep the chin up
    Dave

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

It could be worse, you could be a silage contractor or a liffey mills sales rep at year end whose customers have no money AT ALL.

My advice to anyone in bother, talk to someone, a bit of counselling is a lot cheaper than a divorce. Heard yesterday of a lad who went into hospital to get a hip done, had a mini heart attack which stopped the hip op. If you have your health it's a lot.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.