Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you sleep at night?

• 21-06-2016 12:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭

City folk I mean, and townsfolk, and even village folk I suppose. With all that noise and bustle and carry on.

The farmer a mile and a half away from me is covering his silage pit and the noise of the plastic is keeping me awake. :( How do you live with le commotion all the time? Are you all Kylie fans of wha?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Have you tried counting turf to try send you off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,002 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

On top of a big pile of money, with many beautiful ladies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

KERSPLAT! wrote: »
    Have you tried counting turf to try send you off?

Turf excite me though, they don't have the right effect. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,455 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

If I'm sharing a room with a snorer I can't sleep

Hate snoring with a passion (heavy breathing while sleeping also irritates me)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭thisistough

Double glazing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

I can deal with city noises since I lived for a year beside a motorway (in a house, not actually on the side of the motorway). I live right out in the countryside now, and the country is anything but quiet! Sure, little to no traffic, but there's two donkeys that like to have LOUD braying conversations between their fields, a horde of cats, ..a dog until today, cows all over the place lowing - and every so often they all act like they're possessed and do their best to howl at the moon, owls, foxes, cuckoos, crickets (which are surprisingly noisy) and all the other noises that come under the general heading of Modh Coinníollach as far as I'm concerned.

Beware the Modh Coinníollach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

count the revs of his tractor, sure he wont be out there at that lark 6 months from now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Very accusatory thread title. I don't know what you think I've done, but you can't prove anything.

I find it difficult to sleep without a little bit of noise - some music or a podcast playing quietly in the background.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Double glazing

:eek: filthy!!

....and there starts up the owl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

Samaris wrote: »
    I can deal with city noises since I lived for a year beside a motorway (in a house, not actually on the side of the motorway). I live right out in the countryside now, and the country is anything but quiet! Sure, little to no traffic, but there's two donkeys that like to have LOUD braying conversations between their fields, a horde of cats, ..a dog until today, cows all over the place lowing - and every so often they all act like they're possessed and do their best to howl at the moon, owls, foxes, cuckoos, crickets (which are surprisingly noisy) and all the other noises that come under the general heading of Modh Coinníollach as far as I'm concerned.

Beware the Modh Coinníollach.

What happened to the dog?

pablo128 wrote: »
    What happened to the dog?

She was hit by a car reversing earlier today. She was a terrier, barky little thing, so she came to mind while I was typing before I remembered again. Poor mite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

Samaris wrote: »
    I live right out in the countryside now, and the country is anything but quiet
    This is actually true although in my case there was lots of traffic when I was growing up. When I moved to an urban environment I found it really difficult to sleep with the eerie silence and no traffic passing in the night. Where I live now is dead quiet day and night. No more traffic lullabies for me.

where i live i hear the sea crashing against rocks and cliffs day and night, can someone go and settle it please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭stevek93

where i live i hear the sea crashing against rocks and cliffs day and night, can someone go and settle it please

Jesus aren't you lucky... I to go to sleep hearing police sirens and helicopters also maybe the odd dirt bike doing laps in the field.

yes steve i agree i am lucky. wouldnt swap for anything sorry.

count the laps those lads do on the bikes.

There was a fella beside me, lived right on a cliff face, he went to Birmingham to work when he was young and he used to have to get the landlady of the digs he was staying in to throw buckets of water up against the bedroom window so he could sleep at night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

My parents were publicans so I've always grown up living over pubs. The hum of people chatting or the noise of them out on the street afterwards is what I'm used to. My best friend, when I was a teenager, lived in the sticks and I couldn't handle the lack of noise late at night. I can't imagine myself living anywhere but a busy town or a city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭Bongalongherb

I'd pay good money to live where you are listening to the sea and wind crashing in all night, that would put me to sleep in minutes.

How lucky some folk are.

I'd pay good money to live where you are listening to the sea and wind crashing in all night, that would put me to sleep in minutes.

How lucky some folk are.

yep i agree bongalongherb. I paid good money to live here. Love it.
    I love listening to the sea and hearing the traffic reports in the morning, its hard not to feel that Score mentality when you hear of tailbacks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭511

The same way people can sleep while camping a music festivals, the noise is constant so you get used to it.

I've always found it easier to sleep with a television on than complete silence, the constant sound drowns out any sudden sounds that may disturb you. Seems to relax me better too.

511 wrote: »
    The same way people can sleep while camping a music festivals, the noise is constant so you get used to it.

I've always found it easier to sleep with a television on than complete silence, the constant sound drowns out any sudden sounds that may disturb you. Seems to relax me better too.

that white noise like kids who can sleep to the sound of the hoover

511 wrote: »

I sleep with a fan going helps block out any outside noise.

that white noise like kids who can sleep to the sound of the hoover

My flat mate used to put on the light in his ensuite so that the extraction fan would come on and he'd be fast asleep within minutes.

I live beside Dublin airport and most nights they do engine testing, and the coast guard helicopter and also the garda chopper hovering overhead don't bother me as I can sleep no problem. You get used to certain noises over the years and the brain just switches off to it, unless you focus on it.

Still, I'd love to live on the mountains of the far west listening to all that wind and waves. I need a holiday.

You're all freaks!

There's no better feeling in the world than drifting off hearing absolutely nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,705 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

what weirds me out when I sleep in the country is that when I turn off the light the room is pitch black whereas in the city unless you have blackout curtains you get light bleed from the lamp posts or other houses outside

I live beside Dublin airport and most nights they do engine testing, and the coast guard helicopter and also the garda chopper hovering overhead don't bother me as I can sleep no problem. You get used to certain noises over the years and the brain just switches off to it, unless you focus on it.

Still, I'd love to live on the mountains of the far west listening to all that wind and waves. I need a holiday.

take yourself wild camping on the cliffs in aran, its magic on a starry night and a bright moon. its what its all about.

Skerries wrote: »
    what weirds me out when I sleep in the country is that when I turn off the light the room is pitch black whereas in the city unless you have blackout curtains you get light bleed from the lamp posts or other houses outside

Yeah but it is not spooky not being able to see what's outside your window?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭jma

I turn on my Spotify tunes on my phone. But even though I live in a town, it's dead quiet at night, even with the window open. I used to live on another street; across the road was a massive hedge and some trees. The birds really wrecked my head there in the early mornings. I didn't have Spotify then :/

stevek93 wrote: »
    Yeah but it is not spooky not being able to see what's outside your window?

I've been in the dark a long time and I haven't seen anything worse than myself yet:)

That's enough of a reason to keep the lights on! :P

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

What noise? I live in a quiet cul de sac in a settled area. There's no passing traffic, loud people, noise, bustle, commotion or carry on. In fact the only noise I can hear from outside is a dog that has just started barking, but I believe you have them in rural areas too. So to answer your question, I sleep like a baby thanks. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

City is not that bad. I'm two minutes from the city centre, 20 yards from one of the busiest roads in Dublin and you'd hear a pin drop right now. Granted, someone was shot outside the door one night but that's a bit of a rarity to be fair. If it does get noisy and I can't sleep, I just listen to Enya.

I like being near the hustle and bustle in general though. It can be company at times. Used to visit my grandmother in the middle of absolutely nowhere (seven miles from Scotshouse, Monaghan on an old unapproved road) and as a kid I used to cry for ages as we used to drive off and leave her there on her own (my Granddad had died a couple of years before).

I think I have a bit of a phobia about being too far from a town, city and even a sea or an ocean. It just feels weird to me to be surrounded by nothing but land for miles and miles and miles and miles. Just the thought of it is freaking me out in fact.

It's all about getting back to nature, because when the sh!t hits the fan, I'd rather be on the cliffs of Aran looking at the night-sky with my monocular while drinking a few beers and smoking away on a herb.

Why anyone would fear the wide fields and mountains of free boggles my mind. Back to real reality and nature, the way it's supposed to be instead of listening to constant noise from people and traffic in a bustling claustrophobic city.

I can feel the lotto win coming soon, then I'm off to the cliffs and mountains to listen to the natural earth environment far away from insanity :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

My neighbour has a miniature sun in their back garden which they leave on all night. Additionally, because it's so hot now I have to leave the AC on all night as well.

How do I sleep, with blacked out windows and earplugs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I'm off to the cliffs and mountains to listen to the natural earth environment far away from insanity..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I sleep in peoples houses when they're away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

On a pile of dead bodies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Kommander Kaputnik

I dont. Hence the ungodly hour im posting this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

You stole my line.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

When I lived with my dad, and I'd get down to my last ten euro it was either a taxi or two more drinks. When I'd been drinking all day, two more drinks always seemed like the better idea. We lived about 3/3.5 miles outside the main town. And once you got up the Main Street, you probably wouldn't meet a car the rest of the journey. My dad used to be having fits about me walking that distance that time on my own, but like my brother used to tell him "don't worry, if anyone took her they wouldn't be too long about bringing her back".

I loved living in the country. No cars. You could sit outside at nighttime knacker drinking from cans and nobody would bother you. Your neighbours are too far away to complain about noise from a party. You don't have to close the blinds and curtains when you're getting dressed cause all that would be looking in at you would be the cow across the field. So much space for so many animals. Pet cows, pet cats, pet dogs, pet puppies, pet calves, pet sheep, pet pigs.

Now I live in a quiet estate. I really like where I live now. The kids are good kids, there's never trouble, neighbours are lovely, it's clean and safe. But when you grow up in the country it's a little clausterphobic. Small garden that neighbours can look into, not a lot of space for the dogs, no privacy. Can't drive around the house so it looks like you're not home.

Lot to be said for living in the sticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

Ever since living in a hostel and subsequently sharing a house with 8 other people when I was in Toronto, I can get to sleep with almost any sort of noise going on.

It used to bother me when next door had a dog at one stage though- the poor thing was never walked and constantly barked/snarled. All day, all night. They gave him away in the end. Disliked them before. Loathe them now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 sassychick91

It's what your used to tbh

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

City folk I mean, and townsfolk, and even village folk I suppose. With all that noise and bustle and carry on.

The farmer a mile and a half away from me is covering his silage pit and the noise of the plastic is keeping me awake. :( How do you live with le commotion all the time? Are you all Kylie fans of wha?

Live smack bang in a city centre but my apartment is silent. There could be a carnival outside and you wouldn't hear it until you went out the front door. Ground floor apartment at back of building. Also when you turn the lights out it's pitch dark at night so sleeping is a joy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I'm in Limerick so I can't sleep without the comforting noise of gunfire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I find the €2 coins usually dig into my back though

HensVassal wrote: »
    Live smack bang in a city centre but my apartment is silent. There could be a carnival outside and you wouldn't hear it until you went out the front door. Ground floor apartment at back of building. Also when you turn the lights out it's pitch dark at night so sleeping is a joy.

What amazing city is this that you live in ? is it a city on the moon ? is it a city outside of a city ? because if you live in a city the noise is constant, sirens most nights. Do you have quadruple window glazing ? Is your abode completely encased in egg cartons ?

How can it be silent in the city as you say ? it's impossible I tells ye.

Wait till ye see me :D