Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats your greatest distinction

• 19-06-2016 6:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,681 ✭✭✭✭

What is your greatest distinction ???

Yesterday I had the distinction of being in trains in 2 different country's in the same day Manchester to Liverpool , flew home then train from Dublin to Waterford

Good times

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Yesterday I had the distinction of being in trains in 2 different country's in the same day

A distinction shared by few I'd imagine. Bravo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Once saved an old gals life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

I don't like to brag, but I have often been mistaken for Chris Martin.

(Is this a distinction or hindrance?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I have the distinction of having been a boy in my past. However, I've been having a change of heart about the whole thing lately. Being a man sucks and I want to go back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

cantdecide wrote: »
    I have the distinction of having been a boy in my past. However, I've been having a change of heart about the whole thing lately. Being a man sucks and I want to go back.

Change of heart? If you're going back to being a boy, then you'll definatly need a change of heart as you'd need a smaller one in the chest cavity.

They're on special offer in Lidl at the minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

My house is split between two different counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,985 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

On Monday last week I drove 3 different rental cars.

Started off the day in an Audi Q3, dropped it off at Dublin airport, flew to London and picked up a Mercedes GLS 350 AMG, flew back home that night and picked up a BMW 316d at Dublin airport.

I was also the youngest perso in Ireland (aged 11) to successfully complete a basic sea survival course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

My house is split between two different counties.

Are you Slab?:eek:

On Monday last week I drove 3 different rental cars.

Started off the day in an Audi Q3, dropped it off at Dublin airport, flew to London and picked up a Mercedes GLS 350 AMG, flew back home that night and picked up a BMW 316d at Dublin airport.

I was also the youngest perso in Ireland (aged 11) to successfully complete a basic sea survival course.

Now the GLS63 AMG would be pretty impressive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

I am without distinction. Frequently described as a typical accountant. Anonymous and grey. I like it like that.

Fleawuss wrote: »
    I am without distinction. Frequently described as a typical accountant. Anonymous and grey. I like it like that.

PM sent ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Err...

I am our Lord and saviour Jesus Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭weemcd

I once killed a fly with a knife.

It was buzzing under a glass counter and I just timed it right and stabbed the mawfúcka straight up.

Cold blooded, me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

I had the glorious distinction of winning a bronze medal in a 200m race in the local community games, There was only three of us in it, Still have me medal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

weemcd wrote: »
    I once killed a fly with a knife.

I once cut the dome off the back of a wasp with a snissors.

They still live on as just the front bit, while the back bit ooooooozes out it's venom as it dies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

I'm best friends with Marty Whelan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭super_sweeney

i once witnessed sunshine in ireland :O

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Only two other people in Ireland are currently qualified to do what I do as part of my work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

I saved a 2 year old child's life 21 years ago outside Pennys in Newbridge. Grabbed him just as he was about to step out in front of a car.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

ken wrote: »
    I saved a 2 year old child's life 21 years ago outside Pennys in Newbridge. Grabbed him just as he was about to step out in front of a car.

Ah I forgot when I was eight I found someone who had tried to kill yourself and got an ambulance

Always wondered if they hated me

Stheno wrote: »
    Ah I forgot when I was eight I found someone who had tried to kill yourself and got an ambulance

Always wondered if they hated me

You found someone who was trying to kill ken?

Lol no themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,040 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

My house is split between two different cunties.

Bad neighbours eh .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 312 ✭✭Boater123

When I was a kid I received a silver medal for coming second in a boxing match.

Genuine, true story.

I got better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

If you discount my stunning handsomeness, I would say my unassuming modesty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'm a +100kgs Irish Judo champ :)

I've also won Leinster and Munster titles.

In December I'll have completed 31 years military service.

Oh, and I'm a boards.ie moderator lol :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I once made the local newspaper by organising a demonstration for the religious freedom of woodworms as an April Fool's prank.
    Only 3 people showed up, but we had lots of flyers to hand out :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

Moved to Dublin from the country, eventually after years renting bought an apartment and am still here - when many of my old friends and class mates have emigrated. Good life but not nothing achieved very distinctive....once cycled from Malin head to Mizen head one summer years ago, thats all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

I don't tip delivery people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I can wiggle my ears

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

Yesterday I had the distinction of being in trains in 2 different country's in the same day Manchester to Liverpool , flew home then train from Dublin to Waterford

Good times

I have had a shower on a plane a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,681 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

I have had a shower on a plane a few times.

U must own a private jet ???

Always imagined if a private pilot of a jet owner grew sick of flying there passenger around and said **** it I'm crashing this plane.

Private showfers must be on plenty of money

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

U must own a private jet ???

Always imagined if a private pilot of a jet owner grew sick of flying there passenger around and said **** it I'm crashing this plane.

Private showfers must be on plenty of money

No I wish but I have flown on Etihad A380 first class and Emirates A380 first class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭greenflash

I am not one of the best fans in the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,586 ✭✭✭Stigura

I bred some newts.

Yes. Ye read that right. And I'm as serious as cancer.

I was breeding various amphibians at the time. Shop had these particular newts in. I bought some and said, " I'll breed these now. " And I did. Nothing to it.

Then, I started getting flooded with letters from Doctors, in Russia! They were calling me " Doctor Stigura " and asking me how I did it.

Turns out I was only the second or third person in the World Ever to have bred these fcuking newts!!!

I just did it for a bit of craic! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

I figured out how to use my rain jacket as:
    1. extra padding for the shoulder strap on my bag
    2. a bumper of sorts to avoid my laptop bag from hitting against things
    3. a booster to put between myself and the seat
    4. a means of avoiding my underlying clothes from getting wet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭PLL

Saved the life of a girl I lived with in college. She tried to hang herself. I was the only person in the house and I only left my room because I remembered I'd taken clothes out of the washing machine hours ago and forgot about them. My scattyness saved her life. She was hanging outside my bedroom door from the attic. I was 19.

She is very happy now, got the help she needed, and has a daughter. I don't speak to her and although I usually delete anyone off Facebook I don't speak to, I can never delete her. Seeing pictures of her happy is a wonderful feeling because ANYONE can be like she was at rock-bottom and suicidal, you just have to always remember there is always a way out, things can get better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

PLL wrote: »
    Saved the life of a girl I lived with in college. She tried to hang herself. I was the only person in the house and I only left my room because I remembered I'd taken clothes out of the washing machine hours ago and forgot about them. My scattyness saved her life. She was hanging outside my bedroom door from the attic. I was 19.

She is very happy now, got the help she needed, and has a daughter. I don't speak to her and although I usually delete anyone off Facebook I don't speak to, I can never delete her. Seeing pictures of her happy is a wonderful feeling because ANYONE can be like she was at rock-bottom and suicidal, you just have to always remember there is always a way out, things can get better.

Hands down thats the best distinction here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I have dimples on my face and my back? Do I win a prize?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

I ve been involved in fist fights, knife fights and had loaded guns pointed at me.

I ve met good men great men and bad men

Ive drank pints sang songs and kissed girls

Ive seen a man die and saved a mans life

Ive hurt men who have deserved it and some who haven't

I ve seen one million Euros but it was not mine to take

ive had more sex than any man who looks like me should have had

I know better men than me and I know worse and so does everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

I trended on Twitter for two days about two years ago (thanks to a photo I took - not because I'm special :-( )

I sang at the State funeral of one of those executed for their part in the 1916 rising (Thomas Kent) - even got to song a solo bit !! Not sure if it's a distinction but taking part in it was certainly one of the greatest honours I've ever had.

Once did personal security at an event for Michael Madsen and also ................Vinnie Jones !!! You'd swear he needed minding !! :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I've met the last 3 presidents and last 5 taoisigh

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,198 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I've authored 15 peer reviewed academic papers and written a chapter in a book.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser Gate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I think we can safely say that I am the only person to have met both Enda Kenny and Bez over the past weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭duchalla

Buddy of mine has the distinction of being the only person I know to get sick in 3 countries in the space of 7 hours.
    Back in the day, a gang of us went to Barcelona/Valencia for a week. flew Kerry-Stansted-Girona with Ryanair. Good week was had by all, plenty of high jinks, booze etc.
    Night before we flew home, we went for a few in a bar in Girona to keep the aul sweats/horrors at bay. Most of us headed back to the hotel round midnight, buddy was getting a lip for it at this stage, so he decided to stay on. Told him he should come away, we've flights early in the morning. no good, he told us we were a pack of lightweights!
    He fell into the hotel room round 4 am, absoutely hammered, was still p!ssed at 8 am when we were leaving the hotel, got out of the taxi at the Airport, one sight I'll never forget is seeing your man down on his hands and knees puking his ring up outside Girona Airport! He slept all the way to Stansted, ran to the jacks in Stansted Airport, puked there. Got off the plane in Kerry Airport, puked on the tarmac even before he got into the building. Even now 13 years later, I find it hilarous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

I have been in the Artic circle, in the middle of winter, in minus 35C.

In a t-shirt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

mynamejeff wrote: »
    I ve been involved in fist fights, knife fights and had loaded guns pointed at me.

I ve met good men great men and bad men

Ive drank pints sang songs and kissed girls

Ive seen a man die and saved a mans life

Ive hurt men who have deserved it and some who haven't

I ve seen one million Euros but it was not mine to take

ive had more sex than any man who looks like me should have had

I know better men than me and I know worse and so does everyone

Your name isn't Jeff, it's Jack...Jack Reacher.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Good times

Got that beat. Last week took the train from Paris to Amsterdam which passed through Belgium so that's 3 different countries :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

A few years ago, I was stuck in traffic on my way to work. The futility of the whole lifestyle was getting to me. I decided there that I would a achieve something just for it's bowb sake; I decided I would get into the Guinness Book of World Records. Within 3 weeks I'd done it.