Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Run like you left the immersion on!" - Sexism?

• 09-06-2016 11:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

So at a mini-marathon that was held recently this Irish Times writer had found herself in a predicament:
    On three occasions I was exposed to what what I would consider sexism in the form of “motivational” slogans: “Run like you left the immersion on!”, “The N11 never looked so good!” and “Don’t worry, ladies, the hair still looks gorgeous!”

I've honestly never once associated it being a derogatory jibe towards women, at all. I always figured the "immersion" joke was a pretty universal one about the dangers of your electricity bill going through the roof.......hence freaking out when you remember you left it on and high-tailing it back home at top speed.

Anyways, she seemed perplexed that nobody else's jimmies were rustled at the event:
    The latter was shouted by a member of the Order of Malta. To my astonishment, most women around me did not find fault with any of these slogans.

In fact, they cheered on the troglodyte and seemed genuinely validated by his creepy flattery.

Would you find the slogans mentioned sexist? Would you consider what the Order of Malta member said was creepy?

Personally I tend to find a lot of these particular, probably click bait, types of articles to be demeaning to women that imply they're mindlessly part of institutionalised sexism and are unable to understand the context of things in their surroundings. There's reporting of clear and serious sexism in various environments and then there's articles like sexist air conditioning, sexist ties, etc.

In this case women didn't see what she saw and didn't react like her, therefore there's something inherently wrong with the common Irish woman (and man).

Or do you think the author is onto something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Being a man I have no idea what to do with cleaning products... What sorcery is this.

Why would the n11 one be sexist i dont get it. Actually i dont get any of it, the immersion is nothing to do with women specifically

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Some people just look for things to be offended by.

bluewolf wrote: »
    Why would the n11 one be sexist i dont get it. Actually i dont get any of it, the immersion is nothing to do with women specifically

Women are the only ones that shower or bathe ?

Patronising, stupid, unfunny, but not sexist.

I agree with her pals about it being called a marathon, it is a 10k which is respectable enough on its own without calling it something else

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

The N11 one I guess being that it looks good because of all the lovely ladies I suppose.

Being offended by the immersion one is pretty dumb though.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Did I leave the immersion on??? **** sake, I'm all paranoid now!

As for the immersion slogan being sexist: go away out of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭Paulzx

I'd always associate the fear of the immersion being left on with my father not my mother. He'd pull a freaker at the thought of the ESB bill going up by 10pence.

I fail to see how thats a sexist banner.

Why do people feel the need to be constantly offended?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,826 ✭✭✭Sebastian Dangerfield

If remarks about leaving the immersion on were sexist, Des Bishop would have been out of business ages ago. Hes been telling that one for 15 years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

The latter was shouted by a member of the Order of Malta. To my astonishment, most women around me did not find fault with any of these slogans.

In fact, they cheered on the troglodyte and seemed genuinely validated by his creepy flattery.
    They're laughing because they have a sense of humor, and she doesn't.

Peregrine wrote: »
    Did I leave the immersion on??? **** sake, I'm all paranoid now!

As for the immersion slogan being sexist: go away out of that.

it gets worse did you lock the back door ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I didn't read the OP and I've no idea what this about but I have to say I'm absolutely outraged and I'll be calling Joe Duffy just as soon as I've finished reading todays Daily Mail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

No mention of the sexism of a Women's mini marathon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Is the Irish times' 'Opinion' section similar to the Guardian's 'Comment is Free' section where people who don't write for the paper are allowed to put up their stuff?

That section is full of people moaning about next to nothing, and has done huge damage to the Guardian's reputation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

No.

It's absolutely ridiculous to call it sexism.

I laughed when I saw it, which was quite a feat let me tell you because it was at 7km and it was really fcuking hot and I could barely breathe let alone laugh at that stage.

Also agree with bluewolf and the woman's friends - it shouldn't have marathon in the title but that's a whole 'nother days argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,814 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Having a mini marathon for women only could also be construed as 'sexist'.

The immersion joke has to be one of the most worn-out Irishisms going.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

One of the myriad of reasons why every home should have a back boiler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Exactly,

A mini marathon/10k that bans men but nothing sexist about it at all at all.

Fwiw I found the slogans slightly amusing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I can't believe that in this day-and-age all immersion heaters aren't on 'stats. Now that's sexist, or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,300 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

I genuinely wonder when the last time that author got any action?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Good lord my sides...
    Probably because most women aren't über feminists, with a desire for the destruction of of society.
    So an Order of Malta volunteer is a creepy troglodyte. :rolleyes:

What a gob****e. It is funny. Otherwise people wouldn't laugh. Immersion jokes are one of the great Irish stereotypes. It's not remotely patronising or sexist. Holy hell get a life, missus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

One of the myriad of reasons why every home should have a back boiler.

Or programmable central heating if you're royalty.

Having a mini marathon for women only could also be construed as 'sexist'.

It could, however I do think it's a great event and it was started over 30 years ago by some female athletes who wanted to encourage more women into a very male dominated sport. It worked.

There was an attempt at a male only version, but men weren't really that interested in it and so it wasn't successful.

Always thought the fear of the immersion/radiators being left on was a "dad" thing.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I think it's about time we had mandatory sexism awareness courses, for people like her who obviously don't have a clue what sexism actually is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

what? my immersion is female?...or only females use immersions?.....or men don't wash with hot water?....

jaysus i can't make head nor tale of the complaint..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Turtyturd wrote: »
    No mention of the sexism of a Women's mini marathon?

Sexism doesn't work that way.

Only men can be sexist apparently.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

I agree with her pals about it being called a marathon, it is a 10k which is respectable enough on its own without calling it something else

Yeah for sure. Doing a 10k is a great achievement, no need for the marathon tag. The fact the Cork marathon was on at the same time and they were reported with a sort of equivalence is perhaps a bit unfair. "Well done to the marathon runners in Cork and Dublin today".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Or programmable central heating if you're royalty.

I have a three-way computer-controlled 'stat setup and if you discount Great-Uncle Ludwig who spent a few years convinced he was Edward Longshanks Plantagenet (many do), I'm not even remotely regal. It's not hugely expensive.

it gets worse did you lock the back door ?

Howwwwww DARE you spout such homophobic hate speech!!!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Whoever wrote the article is either deliberately winding people up or is a fcuking idiot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

I think it's about time we had mandatory sexism awareness courses, for people like her who obviously don't have a clue what sexism actually is

1. Are you a man? Y/N
    2. Did you, as a man, say something to a woman? Y/N
    3. Were you a man in a group/in the vicinity of other men? Y/N

If you answer Y to one (1) or more of these questions then you are a sexist. Please report to your nearest re-education center for a public shaming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

'Run like you left the hair straighteners on'

Now that would be sexist.

That paper has gone to the dogs!*

*not an endorsement for bestiality

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

If so many of my fellow women weren't so bewilderingly obsessed to near death with their appearance maybe the "lovely hair" comment would not have so much grains of truth in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

same sign was up for the dublin marathon...

shes looking for something to whinge about...

she'll get over it... if a guy telling her hair was still nice after running a few miles is sexist them god help me coz i still like to look nice crossing the finish line for the old celebration photo

that writer should be thankful she has nothing serious to worry about in her life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

"Why is it that men and women of this country continue to deny the presence of institutionalised sexism?"

What really got me about the article was the last line....

She saw a banner on the N11 that upset her......and look, if she says its sexist then so be it.....

But then to extrapolate.....

I don't deny that there is institutional sexism in Ireland. Right from the very top. We've never had a woman Taoiseach. We've never had a woman head of the GAA. We've never had a woman as CEO of the two big banks, or as CEO of our largest companies such as Kerry Group or Ryanair.

There is definitely institutional sexism in Ireland, no question.

But if you're starting point for such a debate is how offended you are by a banner about the immersion on the n11; then really, are you helping your cause, or are you trivialising it......

Two Tone wrote: »
    If so many of my fellow women weren't so bewilderingly obsessed to near death with their appearance maybe the "lovely hair" comment would not have so much grains of truth in it.

I actually got my hair done for it.

There are or were men only races

Two Tone wrote: »

Wait that could be sexist, you have to be fair, but I got this...

Of course they ALL have lovely hair

'Run like you left the hair straighteners on'

Now that would be sexist.

No it wouldn't. You've clearly never met my sister. The bimetallic strip was invented because people like her were burning down more houses than could be built :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Selfish sexist pigs. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,423 ✭✭✭✭josip

Immersions (now) have thermostats on them so leaving them on is no longer scary.
    Leaving the iron on, that's scary. I've cycled home 10k from work once to check that.

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Selfish sexist pigs. :mad:

Racists

Race-ists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

Yes like in the Olympics....where there are also women only races....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

I wonder does the author see the irony in complaining about sexism - whether real or not - while competing in a race that bars one gender from entry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Racists

Pigists.

cdeb wrote: »
    I wonder does the author see the irony in complaining about sexism - whether real or not - while competing in a race that bars one gender from entry?

That would require something other than a yawning chasm between the aul ears.
    It's like complaining there are no Corollas to buy - In a Nissan dealership.

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Pigists.

:eek: you can't say that, that's completely pigophobic dude....it's not the 80's dude, you can't used terms like that with such wild abandonment :eek: