Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why won't my Audi A4 sell?

• 08-06-2016 4:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭JungleMartin

Hi All. Can I just start by saying I genuinely don't intend this to be an ad for my car. I have it advertised in several places already and what I'm looking for is feedback on why the ads are generating hardly any interest.

I honestly think my asking price is very realistic, at least if other ads on Carzone are anything to go by. (DoneDeal and CarsIreland are a bit of a PITA to research prices on, as there seem to be a LOT of cars on which there is VRT still to pay.) On Carzone there are only two 2011 A4s cheaper than mine in the whole country. One has almost 20k kms more than mine on the clock and the other apparently has €4k VRT still to pay if you look at the description.

I would rate my car's condition as 9 out of 10 for its year. It really is in excellent nick. I really look after my cars and the one previous owner obviously did too. There are two or three very small dents which I'm sure most people probably wouldn't notice, plus a few light surface scratches on the rear bumper. The interior is very, very clean - everyone who sees it compliments me on it. Full service history too.

And yet, I have only had two serious viewings - one at this price and one at a higher price a couple of months ago. (The latest guy to view it, last week, wanted to buy it and we agreed the price but he pulled out a few days later saying he could not get the money together.) It has been for sale almost four months now, with a few price drops along the way.

So if anyone would mind casting their eyes over my ads and recommend any changes, that would be much appreciated. Does anything look 'wrong'? Maybe I should include more interior shots?

www.carzone.ie/used-cars/audi/a4/used-2011-audi-a4-2-0-tdi-se-reas-mayo-fpa-201608241354300

https://donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2011-audi-a4-2-0tdise-reasonable-offers-considered/11737137

www.carsireland.ie/detail.php?ad_id=1513832

PS Sorry, boards.ie won't let me post proper links yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Hi All. Can I just start by saying I genuinely don't intend this to be an ad for my car. I have it advertised in several places already and what I'm looking for is feedback on why the ads are generating hardly any interest.

I honestly think my asking price is very realistic, at least if other ads on Carzone are anything to go by. (DoneDeal and CarsIreland are a bit of a PITA to research prices on, as there seem to be a LOT of cars on which there is VRT still to pay.) On Carzone there are only two 2011 A4s cheaper than mine in the whole country. One has almost 20k kms more than mine on the clock and the other apparently has €4k VRT still to pay if you look at the description.

I would rate my car's condition as 9 out of 10 for its year. It really is in excellent nick. I really look after my cars and the one previous owner obviously did too. There are two or three very small dents which I'm sure most people probably wouldn't notice, plus a few light surface scratches on the rear bumper. The interior is very, very clean - everyone who sees it compliments me on it. Full service history too.

And yet, I have only had two serious viewings - one at this price and one at a higher price a couple of months ago. (The latest guy to view it, last week, wanted to buy it and we agreed the price but he pulled out a few days later saying he could not get the money together.) It has been for sale almost four months now, with a few price drops along the way.

So if anyone would mind casting their eyes over my ads and recommend any changes, that would be much appreciated. Does anything look 'wrong'? Maybe I should include more interior shots?

carzone.ie/used-cars/audi/a4/used-2011-audi-a4-2-0-tdi-se-reas-mayo-fpa-201608241354300

donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2011-audi-a4-2-0tdise-reasonable-offers-considered/11737137

carsireland.ie/detail.php?ad_id=1513832

PS Sorry, boards.ie won't let me post proper links yet.

Donedeal link doesn't work.
    To me it's the fact it's a 15k car with 0 comeback if something goes wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Yeah, If I had 15k to drop on a car, I wouldn't be looking at private sales at all.

People do though,I went to view a golf with a guy from work last year and he paid 18k in cash for it.

OP maybe ask a garage what they would give you as a trade in for it and advertise it for mid way between that and the price you have advertised.

I dont think its badly priced but maybe you just have to lower it if theres no buyers, whether that be because of private sale at that price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭JungleMartin

Thanks all for quick feedback. Yes, I have begun to wonder if most people are just too cautious to spend that amount on a private sale. I won't get into the worth of dealer warranties and the availability of independent warranties. Maybe people just don't think of or aren't aware of the latter.

DoneDeal requires HTTPS. I don't seem to be able to edit my post but this should work, if you can see what I mean.

https : // donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2011-audi-a4-2-0tdise-reasonable-offers-considered/11737137

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

I would guess that a lot of people that are looking for a B8 A4 would be looking to get an S Line / Sport version.

Same with 320d's or 520d's for example, I know people who would not even give the ad a glance unless it was the M Sport version.

ION08 wrote: »
    I would guess that a lot of people that are looking for a B8 A4 would be looking to get an S Line / Sport version.

Well there's not much I can do about that! :)

(Unless I was to try to make it look like a different trim version, which I'm not going to, and it wouldn't fool the smart buyers anyway.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

Well there's not much I can do about that! :)

(Unless I was to try to make it look like a different trim version, which I'm not going to, and it wouldn't fool the smart buyers anyway.)

Ah no, im not implying that you should do something about it. It might just be a slower sell.

Car looks good and is priced well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,763 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

When was timing belt last changed or was it ever, no mention of it in the ad and it should have been changed by now. Does it have leather interior or cloth, very hard to tell from the poor interior pictures so I am assuming as there's no mention of leather in the ad it's cloth? Perhaps mention in the ad how long you have owned the car if it's more than a year, otherwise avoid. Add photos of the service history and receipts.

Get rid of "All reasonable offers considered." or you will have blind bids down the phone which are a waste of time, by all means let them bid when they have viewed the car but don't entertain them before.
    Get rid of the mention of test pilots in the ad, it's a 120bhp diesel A4 not a Lambo.

I'd bump the ad Friday on Donedeal at 11am for the viewers on a Friday who will go view cars over the weekend. If someone agrees a price with you take a non refundable deposit of €200 off them there and then or else tell them car remains for sale until they bring cash to buy, these time wasters who can't get the funds together will drive you mad, a €200 penalty will be nicer in your pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭ampleforth

OSI wrote: »
    Very few people willing to spend that money on a private sale would be your main hurdle.

Very interesting. In Germany this would totally go, people are willing to buy private for even a lot more than that. On the other hand, Irish people seem perfectly fine to buy houses on flex interest whereas Germans want the interest rate to be fixed for 15+ years ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

When was timing belt last changed or was it ever, no mention of it in the ad and it should have been changed by now. Does it have leather interior or cloth, very hard to tell from the poor interior pictures so I am assuming as there's no mention of leather in the ad it's cloth? Perhaps mention in the ad how long you have owned the car if it's more than a year, otherwise avoid. Add photos of the service history and receipts.

Get rid of "All reasonable offers considered." or you will have blind bids down the phone which are a waste of time, by all means let them bid when they have viewed the car but don't entertain them before.
    Get rid of the mention of test pilots in the ad, it's a 120bhp diesel A4 not a Lambo.

I'd bump the ad Friday on Donedeal at 11am for the viewers on a Friday who will go view cars over the weekend. If someone agrees a price with you take a non refundable deposit of €200 off them there and then or else tell them car remains for sale until they bring cash to buy, these time wasters who can't get the funds together will drive you mad, a €200 penalty will be nicer in your pocket.

All of the above...plus, Don't start your Ad off with "Best Value A4 in Ireland"..you're not Harvey Norman.
    Why bother warning other people about VRT ? You're not their Mother.
    Never tell potential buyers that the Car will be Traded-in soon (or worse, don't care if it sells, just testing the market), it just shows that you're desperate to sell...or a timewasting Seller (they do exist).
    And use Bullet points. Don't stick all the Car's details into one big paragraph. Start with the big stuff, and work your way down to the smaller features.
    Change your photos. Go for diagonal shots rather than just straight in from the side.

All small things, but they do put buyers off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

Drop it to 12 grand & she'll sell

Thanks Atlantic Dawn. Timing belt is not due until 210k kms. That's straight from the original Audi service schedule which is still with the car. It gives no time interval for the timing belt - it's purely down to mileage/kilometres.

Cloth interior. Not really a selling point unless people don't like leather (some don't) but I'll cut down the number of exterior shots and add a couple of the seats and carpets to show how clean they are.

I've had the car almost two years now and I think you're right, I think that's worth a mention.

With the 'reasonable offers considered' (only added last time price was dropped) you might think I would have had offers or more enquiries but unfortunately not! Fair point on the test pilots comment.

I asked the buyer-who-wasn't to leave a deposit but he said he wanted to send it via bank transfer. I told him the car would remain up for sale until I got his deposit. In hindsight he may have been stalling until he got all the money together. Maybe he was, maybe he wasn't - in any case, he pulled out so that's that. :(

Thanks for all the feedback, appreciated!

People do though,I went to view a golf with a guy from work last year and he paid 18k in cash for it.

OP maybe ask a garage what they would give you as a trade in for it and advertise it for mid way between that and the price you have advertised.

I dont think its badly priced but maybe you just have to lower it if theres no buyers, whether that be because of private sale at that price.

I've been told 13,000-13,250 trade in value but you know what trade ins are like - if a dealer's asking prices are inflated they can afford to flatter you with trade in values. Either way though, my current asking price isn't that far away from that trade in value and of course you'd expect a prospective buyer to try their luck offering less than the asking price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

OSI wrote: »
    Very few people willing to spend that money on a private sale would be your main hurdle.

I'm weird then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

Car looks quite well overall.

Apart from the fact that €15k is a LOT of money to be spending privately, the main drawback is the mileage, it certainly wouldn't put me off, but some people simply won't buy a car once it's past 100,000 miles because apparently it's a wreck that will constantly break down at that stage :rolleyes:.

The other problems are the wording of the ad (as mentioned) but the lack of leather is a deal breaker for me. I don't think the fact it's not an S-Line or Sport is a big problem on those model A4s, sure it's a nice thing to have (from a resale point of view), but it's not a B6 or B7 A4, where people want the RS4 lookalike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭zzfh

People cant A4'd it pal.

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

any link to the ad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It's in the OP's second post.

the problem is the colour, spray it silver

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭Digital Society

Savage high mileage. 15k for a car with 100k miles. Madness.

Trade it into an Audi garage against something with lower mileage and sell that maybe.

Savage high mileage. 15k for a car with 100k miles. Madness.

Trade it into an Audi garage against something with lower mileage and sell that maybe.

Booooring...

I'd put "mileage for negotiation" in the ad...

M

That would be like running the gas off the electricity and the electricity off the gas :D

link still not working

M

just as i expected, i'd rather walk than drive that yoke

Mod: Uncivil and unwarranted, don't post in this thread again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,734 ✭✭✭zarquon

It's bog standard spec, wrong colour, nasty wheels. Unfortunately people are not going to be willing to splash out with decent value higher spec out there.

I'd rather go for an older B8 if it was S line, nice 18'' wheels, Bang&Olufson 10.1 surround audio. MMI 3G, bluetooth, cruise control, auto headlights, auto wipers, auto mirror, rear foldable seats, dual climate control.
    Mine has all of the above, only 110K miles and is 3 years older than yours and i would probably have no problem selling for 10 to 11K due to spec.

Actually mine has just had timing belt, clutch and flywheel done so that would likely increase the value greatly. I'm not sure what it's worth.

The danger of a new DMF and clutch can put off knowledgeable buyers as it's a massive expensive

Would you be willing to upgrade the wheels before selling. A good set of 18''s would take the ugly look off the car and increase it's sellability. You could trade the 17s to offset the cost. I think a set of A5 18'' alloys would look great on your car

https://www.donedeal.ie/alloyswheels-for-sale/audi-a5-18inch-rims-5x112/12489065

Car looks quite well overall.

Apart from the fact that €15k is a LOT of money to be spending privately, the main drawback is the mileage, it certainly wouldn't put me off, but some people simply won't buy a car once it's past 100,000 miles because apparently it's a wreck that will constantly break down at that stage :rolleyes:.

The other problems are the wording of the ad (as mentioned) but the lack of leather is a deal breaker for me. I don't think the fact it's not an S-Line or Sport is a big problem on those model A4s, sure it's a nice thing to have (from a resale point of view), but it's not a B6 or B7 A4, where people want the RS4 lookalike.

Thanks. Yes, I agree, I think the 100,000 mile mark is a psychological milestone for people, which is especially frustrating since odometers, distances and speed limits are all in kilometres in Ireland! I did want to sell it before it got too close to that, but unfortunately I couldn't afford to. (I couldn't afford the extra to get the next car I wanted.)

On Carzone, when you do a search, if you want to put an upper mileage limit, 100,000 miles is the lowest upper limit you can set, if you see what I mean. I wonder how many potential buyers are not even seeing my car because of that.

I'll definitely be rewording the ad and changing the photos after all the feedback.

zarquon wrote: »
    It's bog standard spec, wrong colour, nasty wheels. Unfortunately people are not going to be willing to splash out with decent value higher spec out there.

I'd rather go for an older B8 if it was S line, nice 18'' wheels, Bang&Olufson 10.1 surround audio. MMI 3G, bluetooth, cruise control, auto headlights, auto wipers, auto mirror, rear foldable seats, dual climate control.
    Mine has all of the above, only 110K miles and is 3 years older than yours and i would probably have no problem selling for 10 to 11K due to spec.

Actually mine has just had timing belt, clutch and flywheel done so that would likely increase the value greatly. I'm not sure what it's worth.

The danger of a new DMF and clutch can put off knowledgeable buyers as it's a massive expensive

Would you be willing to upgrade the wheels before selling. A good set of 18''s would take the ugly look off the car and increase it's sellability. You could trade the 17s to offset the cost. I think a set of A5 18'' alloys would look great on your car

https://www.donedeal.ie/alloyswheels-for-sale/audi-a5-18inch-rims-5x112/12489065

Wrong colour? Actually I think it's a lovely colour - dark metallic blue with a lighter blue metallic fleck that sparkles in sunlight. Maybe the photos don't do it justice. I'm going to take new ones anyway. Colour is a very personal taste to of course. Anyway, it is the colour that it is and that's the car I have to sell.

Wheels - again personal taste, but these are the standard ones on this spec. Do you really think someone who'd be interested in this type of car would be put off by it having standard wheels? If I was a potential buyer and I didn't like the wheels I'd just factor a few hundred extra in to add the wheels I wanted later. I'd be much, much more interested in the mechanical and cosmetic condition of the car itself. Wheels are easily changed, as you say. But I know not everyone thinks the same.

Great feedback, keep it coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭ssmith6287

If you can get in touch with a photography student, get them to take nice pictures.

Look at it like a human, an A4 has a mean aggressive look, no point picturing it with a nice scenic lake behind it especially on a rubbish day.

My advice would be take the shots in a more industrial setting, get as much shots from head light level.

This wont sell the car but it will make the prospect a lot more attractive especially to the target market.

Family man wants safe will spend at a dealer
    20's 30's male wants excitement, will be more open about private

Ive started taking these shots for friends and their ad views have sky rocketed, simple advertising

I like to think I can take a good photo! :) But yes, I'll be taking new ones. The weather was decent for February when I took them. You watch, it'll pee rain now so I can't get new ones!

I'd agree on the young buyer thing except I doubt they'd be looking at this car. As someone else pointed out, it is after all a 120PS diesel with fairly standard spec. Unless it's all about looks and maybe they'd think of adding wheels, maybe spoiler. But are those lads looking in this price bracket?

I need to be realistic about who the likely buyers are. Probably older guys buying for themselves or their missus and who are prepared to buy private to save a big chunk compared to dealer prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭carrotcake

I think the wheels are fine. Even if it was being sold by a dealership I would say that 15k is too high for a five year old 120bhp A4 which is close to boggo spec.

ssmith6287 wrote: »
    Family man wants safe will spend at a dealer
    20's 30's male wants excitement, will be more open about private

It's a diesel A4 not a S4. :p

The way I see it, it can be a slow time of year to sell cars. People are focused on their summer holidays. If they are in the market for a new car then it might not be at the front of their mind right now.

You also have to take into consideration that the car's mileage has passed the psychological 100k miles barrier that Paddy Irishman doesn't like very much. Imo the price is a bit on the high side given it's fairly standard spec with nothing that stands out as being very desirable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

The pictures on the ad are fine. The main problem is the market is absolutely inundated with A4s.

Yours gives people no reason to buy it. Yes it's a fine car don't get me wrong, but it's bog standard. No spec, no extras, common colour, average miles and average price. The only way to sell it is to drop the price because the rest can't be changed. It's far from overpriced but as a private sale I can't see anything more you can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

an A4 has a mean aggressive look, no point picturing it with a nice scenic lake

You might be mixing up the mean, aggressive drivers with the looks of a OK spec, low powered repmobile!

OK spec, low powered is not a slight on it by any means - it would almost be a plus for the Irish market in sub 10k price range.

Pics look OK to me for the purpose of selling a car, a better interior shot would help as mentioned previously.

The ad is a wall of text. Break it up a bit, prioritise the most important stuff.

"test pilots" is comical - it's a nice repmobile that weighs more than some petrol SUVs and has 120horsies for cruising the mayo motorways.

carrotcake wrote: »
    I think the wheels are fine. Even if it was being sold by a dealership I would say that 15k is too high for a five year old 120bhp A4 which is close to boggo spec.

My asking price is only €14.5k though, and that's with room for a bit of negotiation. A canny buyer would get it for closer to 14. (I know dealer prices are understandably higher though.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Golfgorfield

Being in Mayo is certainly not helping either, when i am looking for a car i usually limit my search to a reasonable distance, if there is an exceptional car further afield id travel, however a 120bhp A4 with low spec wouldn't make me drive from Dublin to view it tbh.
    you might have to make it the cheapest of its kind by a long shot to move it on id say.

millington wrote: »
    The pictures on the ad are fine. The main problem is the market is absolutely inundated with A4s.

Yours gives people no reason to buy it. Yes it's a fine car don't get me wrong, but it's bog standard. No spec, no extras, common colour, average miles and average price. The only way to sell it is to drop the price because the rest can't be changed. It's far from overpriced but as a private sale I can't see anything more you can do.

A very level headed response - boils it down pretty well I think. Thanks.

I like to think I can take a good photo! :) But yes, I'll be taking new ones. The weather was decent for February when I took them. You watch, it'll pee rain now so I can't get new ones!

I'd agree on the young buyer thing except I doubt they'd be looking at this car. As someone else pointed out, it is after all a 120PS diesel with fairly standard spec. Unless it's all about looks and maybe they'd think of adding wheels, maybe spoiler. But are those lads looking in this price bracket?

I need to be realistic about who the likely buyers are. Probably older guys buying for themselves or their missus and who are prepared to buy private to save a big chunk compared to dealer prices.

Maybe you can but the setting for a black or dark car on a gloomy day with no light is just wrong. It doesn't stand out at all.
    bazz26 wrote: »
    It's a diesel A4 not a S4. :p

The way I see it, it can be a slow time of year to sell cars. People are focused on their summer holidays. If they are in the market for a new car then it might not be at the front of their mind right now.

You also have to take into consideration that the car's mileage has passed the psychological 100k miles barrier that Paddy Irishman doesn't like very much. Imo the price is a bit on the high side given it's fairly standard spec with nothing that stands out as being very desirable.

Maybe so but most people in their 20's and 30's cant afford to insure an s4 never mind buy 1, the A4 has the base looks

Anyway best of luck, just giving my 2 cents from someone in the market for a new car

Being in Mayo is certainly not helping either, when i am looking for a car i usually limit my search to a reasonable distance, if there is an exceptional car further afield id travel, however a 120bhp A4 with low spec wouldn't make me drive from Dublin to view it tbh.
    you might have to make it the cheapest of its kind by a long shot to move it on id say.

Thanks. I travel between Mayo and Dublin regularly, but no longer in this car, as I had to switch the insurance over to my new one. I can bring it again but would have to arrange temporary cover. It's a bit of hassle. I'll try rewording, new photos, maybe another price drop and see what happens.

Maybe you can but the setting for a black or dark car on a gloomy day with no light is just wrong. It doesn't stand out at all.

Maybe so but most people in their 20's and 30's cant afford to insure an s4 never mind buy 1, the A4 has the base looks

Anyway best of luck, just giving my 2 cents from someone in the market for a new car

It was more in reference to you saying that people in their 20s and 30s who want excitement are looking at diesel A4s rather than actually buying a S3 itself. And I know looks are a personal preference but to me the A4 is plain enough in non S Line spec.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭traco

Mayo is definitely not helping, have you any friend or relative in Dublin that would hold is and show on your behalf?

At that price point and market segment I reckon you are looking at middle age buyer with a current car 05-07 (probably want 6-8k for it) and would like to trade up to a newer car with low tax. The issue for them is that they cant sell what they have so I reckon get forced into the trade in order to shift their own. This makes them also look at the PCP options that are available and many go down that route as the headline numbers make it attractive.

I tried to sell my 10 Superb Estate 2.0l 140bhp about 2 years ago for 15k, good spec, colour, egr valve replaced, FSH etc etc and that was priced around 4-5k below dealers cars. I got one call so I just kept it, plan is to keep it till its worth 3-4k at which point I expect it will sell quickly.

So I'd get it to Dublin if you can, pics are grand for that market I reckon, simplify the text to single line point as stated and get aggressive with the price. No point in have it sitting there costing you money, harsh as it is you would be better taking the hit now rather than later. At least if you get people calling and viewing you have the opportunity to close a deal but if they don't call then there's not a lot you can do. Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭mullingar

Basic spec,
    High Miles
    Over saturated market
    Wrong area.

You need to knock at least €2k of the price to start an interest. €14.5k is too strong.

mullingar wrote: »
    Basic spec,
    High Miles
    Over saturated market
    Wrong area.

You need to knock at least €2k of the price to start an interest. €14.5k is too strong.

All that, except the third... The 2nd hand market for 2010-2012 is dry...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

grogi wrote: »
    All that, except the third... The 2nd hand market for 2010-2012 is dry...

I pass what seems to be an infinite line of used Audis for sale on the dock road in Limerick everyday. All english reg.

(to be fair, maybe they're not all A4s. A bit of "these ones are small, thsoe ones are faar awaay" going on with the Audis)

traco wrote: »
    Mayo is definitely not helping, have you any friend or relative in Dublin that would hold is and show on your behalf?

At that price point and market segment I reckon you are looking at middle age buyer with a current car 05-07 (probably want 6-8k for it) and would like to trade up to a newer car with low tax. The issue for them is that they cant sell what they have so I reckon get forced into the trade in order to shift their own. This makes them also look at the PCP options that are available and many go down that route as the headline numbers make it attractive.

I tried to sell my 10 Superb Estate 2.0l 140bhp about 2 years ago for 15k, good spec, colour, egr valve replaced, FSH etc etc and that was priced around 4-5k below dealers cars. I got one call so I just kept it, plan is to keep it till its worth 3-4k at which point I expect it will sell quickly.

So I'd get it to Dublin if you can, pics are grand for that market I reckon, simplify the text to single line point as stated and get aggressive with the price. No point in have it sitting there costing you money, harsh as it is you would be better taking the hit now rather than later. At least if you get people calling and viewing you have the opportunity to close a deal but if they don't call then there's not a lot you can do. Best of luck with it.

No, unfortunately nobody I could get to do that in Dublin for me. I come up to Dublin regularly for work though (and stay) so I can switch the location to Dublin to catch potential buyers there, then arrange insurance to bring it if anyone wants to view it. I think I'll freshen the ads up first and see if I get any more interest, then take it from there.

I agree on the PCP thing. I wouldn't be at all surprised if people with this kind of money to spend are being tempted into using it as a deposit on a brand new car on PCP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89 ✭✭squeekyduck

Sorry OP but for me its not an S line or black edition, it has high mileage and the interior colour is awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

OP here is another issue.
    You mention that your A4 is the best valued A4 in Ireland, however a 2min search on DD reveals that isn't the case:

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/stunning-audi-a4-se-2-0-diesel-nct-1-yr-warantee/12446455

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a4-tdi-warranty-finance/11822644

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a4-2-0-tdi-120bhp-new-model-6-speed/12333244 500e more and get's a year newer

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-aa4-2011/12197869

I'd also remove the Tax part as it's no longer valid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Hard to tell what the interior cloth colour is - if it's Beige/Grey, then that should put anyone off.

Apart from that, I think it's very reasonably priced, looks in good nick, has reasonable mileage for the year - haven't a clue why it's not shifting.

We sold 1 2011 A4 this year (FEB) - was a 120ps SE with no extra's. Lower mileage at 99,961km, but went, to the Trade, for a shade under €16,500!

Was White, which is a much more desireable colour than Moonlight Blue (for some strange reason), but shows how well an SE A4 holds value.

bear1 wrote: »
    OP here is another issue.
    You mention that your A4 is the best valued A4 in Ireland, however a 2min search on DD reveals that isn't the case:

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/stunning-audi-a4-se-2-0-diesel-nct-1-yr-warantee/12446455

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a4-tdi-warranty-finance/11822644

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-a4-2-0-tdi-120bhp-new-model-6-speed/12333244 500e more and get's a year newer

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/audi-aa4-2011/12197869

I'd also remove the Tax part as it's no longer valid.

Thanks, will do.

First DD link: Unspecified mileage implies very high mileage. Service book appears to show it was already up to 185k kms at service time sometime last year.

Second link: 139k miles / 224k kms

Third link: 130k miles / 210k kms

Fourth link: 116k miles / 187k kms. Admittedly this is not a huge amount higher than mine, but the ad makes no mention of service history available (just claims it was well maintained) and it doesn't look like it has NCT on it.

Don't get me wrong, I don't mean to just disagree but if anything this backs up my thinking that my car is already really well priced for its year, mileage and condition. Also bearing in mind that you would expect a potential buyer to offer less than the asking price. Admittedly I have done most of my price research on Carzone as I find its search options much better than DD and you don't have to sift out too many cars on which VRT would need paying.