Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Don't ye hate leaving cert students

• 08-06-2016 7:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭

Ever listen to them on the radio or tele doing interviews for the news. Trying to use big words in every sentence. Christ they're a pain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Not really, to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

They act like they're in honours english class. Just talk normal saps

Just until they get into trinity :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Not really, to be honest.

Agree but did hear one of them on d'radio saying she would go for a few "socialables" during the exams....don't hate them but do hate their wannabe D4/US stupid language

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Education can be intimidating for some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

Consider this your engraved invitation to join the English language (or any other language you consider "normal"). People who know what words precisely fit their intended meaning are not obliged to dumb their thinking down for you. Yes, I am a bit contumelious about this, but then again, people like you hire me to write things for them.

Translation: Cop on and learn your own language; don't make other people learn it for you and then sneer at them while you pay them to do your word work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,950 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

They suffer, so that we may enjoy the good weather.

Speedwell wrote: »
    Consider this your engraved invitation to join the English language (or any other language you consider "normal"). People who know what words precisely fit their intended meaning are not obliged to dumb their thinking down for you. Yes, I am a bit contumelious about this, but then again, people like you hire me to write things for them.

Translation: Cop on and learn your own language; don't make other people learn it for you and then sneer at them while you pay them to do your word work.

I know plenty of big words too but their not appropriate for ever day conversation. Sooner these nerds learn that the better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭Jack Killian

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Ever listen to them on the radio or tele doing interviews for the news. Trying to use big words in every sentence. Christ they're a pain.

Love them! They almost unfailingly bring us a few weeks of annual sunshine!

I know plenty of big words too but their not appropriate for ever day conversation. Sooner these nerds learn that the better.

Plenty of time to brush up on your smaller ones so! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,665 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Could be worse. They could be spouting shít on internet discussion boards ;)

Plenty of time to brush up on your smaller ones so! :D

Autocorrect mistakes are fine. A+

It's the constant dribble of clichés. Someone should write a book of sh*t LC students say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,385 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Dave0301 wrote: »
    Could be worse. They could be spouting shít on internet discussion boards ;)

They can only dream. They're stuck in a gym hall this morning with no Internet :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

I know plenty of big words too but their not appropriate for ever day conversation.

their is not appropriate for this sentence either.

Autocorrect mistakes are fine. A+

It's the constant dribble of clichés. Someone should write a book of sh*t LC students say.

Wouldn't it be too hard to research all the spellings ?

Maybe go with an audio recording / podcast ? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

I rest my case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It's the constant annual advice on how to fill out CAO forms I find annoying,as if they wouldn't know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭Car99

I'd rather listen to them than you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

I actually thought you WERE a leaving cert student...?

In any case, I think RTE go out of their way to find what they think are the brightest future for Ireland. Being an annoying and arrogant twat and being a national equivalent of a Mummy's Boy goes hand in hand.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Is there some way I can harvest their youth, enthusiasm and potential to sustain and bolster my own flabby and jaded cynicism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Is there some way I can harvest their youth, enthusiasm and potential to sustain and bolster my own flabby and jaded cynicism?

Yes - build a matrix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 elastics

My God .. 19 years since I did my leaving.

"We study things we don't like with brains we don't have to get grades we won't remember to impress people we don't like. In a country that doesn;t give a flying **** about us."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

They act like they're in honours english class. Just talk normal saps

Most of them are, or were until a week ago.

Just wait until August when they're interviewing the kids who got 8 A1's because their parents sent them to a hothouse grind school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

I know plenty of big words too but their not appropriate for ever day conversation.
    This intrigues me. May I ask why you would stifle your own conversation?

As for leaving students I have one taking exams this year. We are both finding that the content of gin bottle is helping us through the worst panic attacks. :o

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

OldGoat wrote: »
    This intrigues me. May I ask why you would stifle your own conversation?

As for leaving students I have one taking exams this year. We are both finding that the content of gin bottle is helping us through the worst panic attacks. :o

Giving your kid Gin isn't a great idea.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Ah they're alright OP. Except those ones that'll be paraded around the results time for getting 9 Higher A1's or something. They should be shot. It's sad in a way though, nobody thought to tell them there's no point and it really doesn't matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,640 ✭✭✭✭OldGoat

kneemos wrote: »
    If you knew my kid you'd understand. :)

I'm older than Minecraft goats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Kat1170

You know wheelbarrow and marmalade are not considered "big" words ;-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

Most leaving cert 'kids' are 18/19
    In the spirit of this thread:
    Judge lest ye be judged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

They act like they're in honours english class

Maybe they... are in the honours english class?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

They suffer, so that we may enjoy the good weather.

They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old:
    Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
    At the going down of the sun and in the morning,
    We will remember them.

:cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

They're kids ffs. Give them a break.

'I know words. I have all the best words.' - I mean, that's presidential material right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

"We study things we don't like with brains we don't have to get grades we won't remember to impress people we don't like. In a country that doesn;t give a flying **** about us."

Yeah but on the upside, when your man goes out to the jacks you can have a quick gawk at what the lad beside you wrote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

It's the constant annual advice on how to fill out CAO forms I find annoying,as if they wouldn't know.

I think a lot of them don't. It's 21 years since I did my LC so I've heard the message 21 times, but those kids are just hearing it the first time. Not every school has a career guidance teacher and some parents wouldn't have a clue either. There are a lot of reason students drop out of college in first year but it's often because they picked something they'd thought they'd get rather than something they wanted to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭Mousewar

I don't hate them but I am deeply bitter and jealous of them since they possess the sweet elixir of youth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,596 ✭✭✭threein99

The one phrase describing Leaving Cert papers (or any exam for that matter) that I absolutely hated was "It was a nice paper"

threein99 wrote: »
    The one phrase describing Leaving Cert papers (or any exam for that matter) that I absolutely hated was "It was a nice paper"

Yeah, that and it was "do-able". "Do-able"?? You turn up, read the paper, answer the damn questions. If you know the answers, it's "do-able", if you're there with your thumb up your arse it's not. Name a' Jaysis, "do-able"... :pac::pac::pac:

I still have nightmares about my own LC maths paper. And still feel nervous hearing about maths papers now. Yuck

I used to love maths papers. Simple case of "DO 10 I=1 .. 10" until it's finished. As opposed to i.e. English, where you'd have to come up with reams and reams of shockingly intelligent shit that'd have the original authors rolling around on the floor laughing if they saw it... :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,737 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

It's 17 years since I did my LC and all I remember is thinking my essay was deadly for English paper 1/2.

That's the entirety of my recollection of the LC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I feel sorry for them,brainwashed by teachers and certain media outlets into thinking this is the biggest event that will ever happen to them in their lives

unnecessary pressure and worry at a young age over nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

There once was a poster named Mint Areo
    Who decided one day on a dareo
    To chastise verbose students
    And he thought it quite prudent
    But found that nobody else did careo.

- AnonoBoy

- Leaving Cert Honours English Paper 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,519 ✭✭✭Rawr

I feel sorry for them,brainwashed by teachers and certain media outlets into thinking this is the biggest event that will ever happen to them in their lives

unnecessary pressure and worry at a young age over nothing

This is my own lingering memory of the LC. Once I had finished my final exams and had long hard look at the event as a whole, I suddenly felt very duped by it all. Sure...it was a big exam, and it took ages to sit & complete everything. But beyond all of that it was just a run of the mill school exam, no different than many that I had already sat.

I marveled at the ridiculousness of the previous 5 years, that had for the most part served as a never ending hype-machine that reliably spouted the phrase 'this will be on the Leaving' at least once or twice a day. Time that could have been spent actually teaching the material in a meaningful way appeared to have been pissed away in favor or showing you "the type of question you will probably get in Paper 2, Question 4".

The message was clear. "Prepare for it or be damned!!" Fill out your CAO form and mortgage your future based on how well you 'Compare and Contrast' some nonsense written by Jane Austin (I have a special kind of hatred for 'Emma'). But above all live in FEAR of it! Prepare! Cram! Cancel all PE activites! Forget sleep! There is simply no time! The Leaving in mere days! PANIC!! PAAANIC!!! AAAAAAAAAGH!!!

And then you sit it....

...and wonder why...

You move on with your life, and later that summer you get your results. For me, I got what I wanted, with some disappointments, but I got into college and it all turned out very well. My time in collage further fueled my opinion of the LC, and to this day I remain baffled as to why it was hyped *so* much.

If only they had focused on teaching, and making the students stronger on the *subjects*...then a final exam on that knowledge may not have been such a big deal.

As for LC students getting interviewed....well...I was once I teenager...and I still remember how much of a poncy pri**k I was. Let them have their moment...they'll cop on eventually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

It's 17 years since I did my LC and all I remember is thinking my essay was deadly for English paper 1/2.

That's the entirety of my recollection of the LC.

I was thinking about the essay writing aspect of state exams there recently.

It dawned on me that it's a pretty big ask to give someone a random topic and a relatively short time limit and basically say: "Now, go write something good!".

Professional writers don't even get asked to do that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,206 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

That Rubberbandits joke about the LC and mature students is so on the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,737 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

lawlolawl wrote: »
    I was thinking about the essay writing aspect of state exams there recently.

It dawned on me that it's a pretty big ask to give someone a random topic and a relatively short time limit and basically say: "Now, go write something good!".

Professional writers don't even get asked to do that.

Our English teacher had us write a load of essays over the 2 years and he always went through them and gave pretty decent feedback you I probably had a bank of ideas and concepts that work so I think I had a framework for an idea and where to take it.

Once I saw the choice of titles, I sketched out a frame it wrote itself.

I don't know why it stands out as a memory though.

Rawr wrote: »
    This is my own lingering memory of the LC...

I was bate into an awful state over it in 1989, and made a slight hash of it, from the perspective of what I wanted to do. I repeated three subjects the following year, and three only, at the age of eighteen. What a difference a year makes. I was working, driving to school, and at that stage treating the whole "school" caper as the part-time endeavour that it was. I had pleasant, relaxed, and highly productive year, excelling in maths, physics and chemistry. At the end of it, I could feel the childish things of secondary school completely dropping away as I got into my car and buggered off. Goodbye to all that! :pac:

Clegg wrote: »
    That Rubberbandits joke about the LC and mature students is so on the point.

"...and this is what they never tell you in secondary school: when you reach the age of 23, you become what's known as a Mature Student. You can apply for whatever college course you want, and the Leaving Cert points mean fuck-all!!" :pac::pac::pac: