Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Euro 2016

• 07-06-2016 4:24am
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,434 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Tickets - check
    Flights - check
    Suncream - check

So who is going to watch the mighty Irish smash all in their path with a Leicesteresque march to glory in Euro 2016?

Who do yez fancy?
    Wide open this year with any number of teams having a shout. Smart money on Germany imo although I would like to see Ronaldo shine.

mod note
    thread is about football rather than immigration/Islam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭JakeBell

You can't help but feel that all the fans come home safe is the main thing with Euro 2016. There is a definite terrorism threat but security will no doubt be massive too.
    Enjoy it Pawwed Rig. I'd usually be jealous but not this time around. No doubt the Irish will have a great time though. Hopefully the team surprises a few people along the way too! Looking forward to it starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Heading over on Saturday for 3 night (tickets for Sweden sorted)

Can see France winning it, very good team and home advantage does count in things like this

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

JakeBell wrote: »
    You can't help but feel that all the fans come home safe is the main thing with Euro 2016. There is a definite terrorism threat but security will no doubt be massive too.
    Enjoy it Pawwed Rig. I'd usually be jealous but not this time around. No doubt the Irish will have a great time though. Hopefully the team surprises a few people along the way too! Looking forward to it starting.

before kids came along, going wouldnt have bothered me but no its a different story.

From a team perspective, good performances and a bonus if we get out of the group.

Brother in law is going over for the 2 weeks (have no idea how he pulled that as he's proper whipped :pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭skallywag

You won't need that suncream looking at today's forecast!

I've gone to a lot of away games myself down through the years, and must say that I am looking forward to it now, though I have real fears about it being a potential logistical nightmare concerning the extra security, strikes etc.

Performance wise it would be great to see Ireland get something out of it at least, even a point would be something. It's difficult to see that though as our we have in my opinion the weakest squad ever going into a major tournament, and that's really saying something considering Euro 2012. If I was forced to put money down it would have to be on us losing all three games, though we will hopefully get something from one of them at least if a bit of luck falls our way.

All in all it should be a good trip as always though. There will be a huge contingent of paddys, and we will definitely win the singing and dancing prize again.

For the tournament itself I fancy Belgium.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

skallywag wrote: »
    You won't need that suncream looking at today's forecast!
    Last I heard you would have been in greater need of a canoe than sunscreen. Hope it has improved.

I picked up an aerial today. Don't really watch TV so I haven't needed one, but that changes this month :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Have a sneaky feeling that England might do well.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Heading over for 4 days for the Ireland/Sweden game, buzzing for it already!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,434 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

We were just talking about England the other night. Would be nice to see them do well but I don't think they will.
    They really are the biggest underachievers in world football. Other countries of a similar size and league quality have multiple world cups/Copa Americas/euro champs but the poor aul Sasanachs still only have the one.
    I will happily cheer for them but will avoid their media at all costs for the next 40 years if they win it.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Didn't realise France are favourites. Home turf though and looking at that squad they do have a lot of potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

Well Marcel Desailly was at Vicar Street last week, and he said that this current team is man for man* better than the World Cup winning team of 98.

*Zidane aside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 733 ✭✭✭wijam

Heading over to Bordeaux for a couple of days for the Belgian match, absolutely can't wait

I'm running a predictions competition in work and on my own one I have Germany down to beat Spain in the final

Be great if we could get out of the group, more so, as me and a friend have Last 16 tickets if we get through

In regards to France being favourites, one of the lads pointed out they've won all the tournaments they've hosted - he's French, I'll take his word for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Corvo

France v Germany final*

*I haven't checked if this a possible final, they may meet sooner

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,434 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Umbrella - oops
    Bloody torrential here.

Great result for Wales. I was fearing they would struggle but now reckon they can top the group. England were poor enough.

Nordies have a tough match later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,957 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Disappointing result in the end but great match.
    Good craic with the Swedes.
    Swedes chanting to the tune of Go West by the Village People
    'Go home to your ugly wives'

Irish responding to the same tune
    'You're sh*t but your girls are fit'

Great atmosphere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Jealous, some performance. Dont remember when Ireland last played so well going forward.

Was some experience in fairness.

What section were you in RIG? We were in H. The cops were great too.

Section J. Behind the goal.
    In F22 for Belgium match. Think we can do em?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,733 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Section J. Behind the goal.
    In F22 for Belgium match. Think we can do em?

If both teams perform as they did in the first match then definitely but that's going to be unlikely. Its going to be very tough but we certainly have a shout. Pity Walters looks out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

I think we deserve an honorary tournament win for our fans alone.

I was very pessimistic before going into the tournament, but that performance has really lifted me. Yes, beating Belgium is now looking a lot more likely than it was last week, especially when you see how they collapsed v Italy.

skallywag wrote: »
    I was very pessimistic before going into the tournament, but that performance has really lifted me. Yes, beating Belgium is now looking a lot more likely than it was last week, especially when you see how they collapsed v Italy.

Yea, I was expecting to concede at least two to Sweden. But we did get sloppy and a bit negative after scoring. I think we would need to score twice in both remaining games.

Sweden game proved that Ireland are not out of their depth at this level unlike 4 years ago.
    Walters is a big loss alright. Player of the qualifiers imo.
    Hendrick looked very sharp. Could be a big tournament for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

Been a decent Euro's so far, I've seen worse ones (Euro 2004) but no teams or games have really stood out as of yet, the Germany/Poland and N. Ireland/Poland games were tough watches. German's and Spanish lack a number 9, France once they face a top team will be out. England the same as France. Far too many one man teams (Wales and Sweden especially).

Rep of Ireland, thought we gave a good performance agaisn't Sweden disappointed we didn't beat them. Our fans have been great and I think getting a win over Belgium and Italy is possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Italy win works for us.

Christ that was hard to watch. Rolled over completely, all out of ideas.

Awful stuff. Made Belgium look much better than they are

I expected Belgium to score 2 but I thought we would have given a better performance.

That was shocking. I feel sorry for the fans out there. The team embarrassed themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Shoudl have been stopped before their first goal and a sending off.

Not saying they werent the better team but its smal decisons like this that change a game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,915 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

naughtb4 wrote: »

Not saying they werent the better team but its smal decisons like this that change a game

We deserved nothing from that game, they were in a different class to us. Whether they are as good as we made them look is another debate.

We were truly awful. Zero tactics, zero ideas, zero skill.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Anybody reckon we have a shot at the win against Italy?

mzungu wrote: »

Not if we play like yesterday.

mzungu wrote: »

Nope.

A draw is the best we can hope for and even then..... I'm not holding out much hope.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Nope.

A draw is the best we can hope for and even then..... I'm not holding out much hope.

Indeed. That would be my thoughts on it too.

Italy will not field a full strength team. If we play our best and get a bit lucky a result is possible if not very likely.
    Albania and the Nordies might be through ffs. We are no worse than either.

Italy will not field a full strength team. If we play our best and get a bit lucky a result is possible if not very likely.
    Albania and the Nordies might be through ffs. We are no worse than either.

Iceland might even scrape in there too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

Yeah yesterday's match was a screwed up affair. The tournament going as expected. Fans rioting, Irish fans enjoying the occasion and the big teams turning up to play some ball. Be great to see some outrageous semi-final and quarter final match-ups. May the best team win.

True I suppose. In my most positive mood I'd support that.

But given Belgium will more than likely beat the Swedes, Italy won't just sit back - they'll need a draw at the very least to guarantee top spot.

I don't think we have it in us.

It's true that the Italians will surely field some non first team players, but the flip side that these lads will be champing at the bit to turn the managers head. No way on earth I can see us beating Italy now.

Great craic in Lille tonight.

Glad you're enjoying it.

We're not jealous btw. Nope . . . . Not at all. Not even a little bit. Not even the teensiest bit. Uh uh. Nah. Sure when you have your hangover in the morning we'll be right as rain in work . . . Oh. :o

Feckit just cheer them on to the unlikeliest of wins.

Feeling a bit more optimistic this morning

COYBIG

Feeling a bit more optimistic this morning

It's early enough to be on the drink already :)

RIG, you are the football Mystic Meg on this forum from now on. I've never in my life been so happy at being wrong about something.

Please delete my earlier pessemistic posts !

Christ I'm buzzing ....

Never been happier to be totally wrong! :D

Friggin mental.

France Lyon Sunday.

Let us destroy them.

What did I tell yas? I told ya....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,801 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I honestly had no idea the third placed team could go through. I was in a bit of a strop when the goal was scored until my housemate explained this.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

Right that's it, I propose that Pawwed Rig be made official cheerleader* of the forum. Any seconders?

*Pom Poms optional. :p

I honestly had no idea the third placed team could go through. I was in a bit of a strop when the goal was scored until my housemate explained this.

Ah here!