Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

This is why you don't take heroin.

• 01-06-2016 9:10pm

Read this today from a former addict and it's hauntingly beautiful. Tragic poetry.

The godly sweetness of your first true heroin high. I'm not talking about trying a little once and feeling a little good, I mean the first time you really go face and enter the warm silky euphoria palace fully, letting waves of pleasure massage your soul and cradle you against the breast of pure pleasure herself. In that moment you are free from everything, your mind, body, the outside world, the inside world, its like a special magical place. But every time you return the road to get there is longer and the goddess sends you away earlier and earlier until it seems like she no longer cares about you. The love is gone, but its dark and cold outside and there's nowhere to get warm except back in the palace. you either make the trip or tough out the cold. Eventually you battle through the frigid air for just moments in the palace, you can't even see the goddess any more, just hope to get a chance at a little warmth before you go back outside. The tragedy is that you will never feel the way you did the first time you went in and it will never get warmer outside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭dusty207

Omackeral wrote: »
    Read this today from a former addict and it's hauntingly beautiful. Tragic poetry.

The godly sweetness of your first true heroin high. I'm not talking about trying a little once and feeling a little good, I mean the first time you really go face and enter the warm silky euphoria palace fully, letting waves of pleasure massage your soul and cradle you against the breast of pure pleasure herself. In that moment you are free from everything, your mind, body, the outside world, the inside world, its like a special magical place. But every time you return the road to get there is longer and the goddess sends you away earlier and earlier until it seems like she no longer cares about you. The love is gone, but its dark and cold outside and there's nowhere to get warm except back in the palace. you either make the trip or tough out the cold. Eventually you battle through the frigid air for just moments in the palace, you can't even see the goddess any more, just hope to get a chance at a little warmth before you go back outside. The tragedy is that you will never feel the way you did the first time you went in and it will never get warmer outside.

Hauntingly beautiful absolute bollox, my son died from a heroin overdose, your guy was very, very lucky.

dusty207 wrote: »
    Hauntingly beautiful absolute bollox, my son died from a heroin overdose, your guy was very, very lucky.

I don't know the person who wrote it. To be fair, I was complimenting his writing style as beautiful in that it really helps you understand how and why people can get addicted to the horrible substance. Found it very interesting and figured a few others might too. My condolences to you and anyone else who has had endure the effects of it in real.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Wild Garlic

Dangerous tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭kyogger

dusty207 wrote: »

Sorry for your loss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

See there is always someone who will read that and decide that they want to feel what is described in the first line. Fck knows where it will take them but doubtful it will end well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

Did everybody else read the whole thing in a scanger accent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

No

No, just you.

Did you check with everybody?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Ah sh1t off with that sh1t will ya

vicwatson wrote: »
    Ah sh1t off with that sh1t will ya

Meh. I found myself reading it in that accent, just thought I'd ask.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Started of with a posh Liverpool
    accent kinda like the Ringo Star but then it ended up a real scouser accent by the end of the tale.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Winterlong wrote: »
    See there is always someone who will read that and decide that they want to feel what is described in the first line. Fck knows where it will take them but doubtful it will end well.

If I ever have terminal cancer, or a neurodegenarative disease, it's the way I want to go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

Its a cautionary tale.. and one not to be taken lightly. It is also an insight as to why heroin is such a powerful and dangerous drug. You cant help getting the feeling that there are so many desperate people out there because of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

I don't know the person who wrote it. To be fair, I was complimenting his writing style as beautiful in that it really helps you understand how and why people can get addicted to the horrible substance. Found it very interesting and figured a few others might too. My condolences to you and anyone else who has had endure the effects of it in real.

I just saw a wall of meaningless words and wouldn't ever bother reading the ramblings of some random junkie.

Its a cautionary tale.. and one not to be taken lightly. It is also an insight as to why heroin is such a powerful and dangerous drug. You cant help getting the feeling that there are so many desperate people out there because of it.

They all tend to know what they're getting into. I've had friends/acquaintances get roped in that always swore that it's the one thing they'd never do. The "dirty" drug is what they would say.

Did you check with everybody?

Working on it. At the moment it's still just you but if anything changes I'll be sure to let you know, bud.

They all tend to know what they're getting into. I've had friends/acquaintances get roped in that always swore that it's the one thing they'd never do. The "dirty" drug is what they would say.

Did you check with them all?

foggy_lad wrote: »
    I just saw a wall of meaningless words and wouldn't ever bother reading the ramblings of some random junkie.

He's clean over a decade, not that that matters to you obviously.

Did you check with them all?

No. I would have left out the word tend if I did.

Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Alfred Lord Byron, Percy Bysshe Shelley, John Keats..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Sounds good. Tempting to see how good it is. Just the once like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

That's exactly how I feel about Club Orange.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

It's from this reddit thread earlier today. That's where I saw it anyway.

https://www.reddit.com/r/AskReddit/comments/4m0mh6/what_is_something_im_better_off_not_knowing/d3ro1h3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

I think it was a beautifully written piece

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Meh. I found myself reading it in that accent, just thought I'd ask.

Lucky it's only you then. You have to be a "skanger" to be addicted to heroin in your world. Sigh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

He's clean over a decade, not that that matters to you obviously.
    Lovely for him so why glamorise his habit for others? why not tell the truth about the thefts from friends and family and violent thefts and muggings, not having any real life or relationships, all the other things that make a drug addict a person to be avoided until they take the steps to become clean.

I don't think it glamorises it at all. The first few lines tell of the euphoria of that first high but the writer goes on to say how hard it is to keep that going...the road gets longer..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I recently met a man that was in my year at school. When we were at school he was a lovely fella always cracking jokes and nice to talk to. I had heard he'd had a few problems with heroin and had even been caught dealing cocaine. When I met him I couldn't believe how bad he looked. I'm 41 and he's the same age but he looked 65. Loads of teeth missing and he must've only weighed about 7 stone. Chatted to him for about 10 minutes and walked away thinking that heroin had taken a lovely fella and just swallowed him whole.

It's so shocking when it's someone you know that's on drugs. He had spotless clean clothes and even still could make me laugh but my god it chilled me to the core how his life's turned out. He's supposed to be trying to stay away from drugs now but who knows how he'll end up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

Is this what passes for beautiful prose now?

I don't want to be too critical but I feel I have to, I left school at 14 and could write something more haunting than that about a subject so emotive. It is also quite immature in its presentation and is lacking in emotion relevant to a high better described in a one liner in trainspotting.

Books people. If you think this is good then you need to read more books.

No offence but come on! This is the kind of tripe every remorseful inmate that spent a month in education in jail churns out in their cell in a scourge of self pity.

It's me words bruv. 'Feels' man.

Self indulgent pish of the highest order.

vicwatson wrote: »
    Lucky it's only you then. You have to be a "skanger" to be addicted to heroin in your world. Sigh

I didn't say that. The people I see addicted to heroin all have that scanger drawl. I'm well aware they don't speak like that in Cork, London, Miami, Moscow...
    I'm speaking from my own experience but you go on ahead and be as offended as you like, I'm not one bit bothered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

Collie D wrote: »
    I don't think it glamorises it at all. The first few lines tell of the euphoria of that first high but the writer goes on to say how hard it is to keep that going...the road gets longer..

He didn't read it, just saw 'heroin addict' and defaulted to reactionary wailing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Dangerous tripe.

What is this? Lying about or hiding the facts about any drug is a more dangerous approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,706 ✭✭✭brevity

What a horrible attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It's diamorphine, an incredibly powerful opiate. Aslan and the '80s are no longer cool, and a dog with a mallet rammed up his hole knows enough to stay away from that stuff. Goddess my fcuken' hoop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

jimgoose wrote: »
    It's diamorphine, an incredibly powerful opiate. Aslan and the '80s are no longer cool, and a dog with a mallet rammed up his hole knows enough to stay away from that stuff. Goddess my fcuken' hoop.

Many people live lives so harsh and bereft of any comfort or support, that they will take the chance just to feel good.

But surely the dogs in the street know this, even those without mallets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Many people live lives so harsh and bereft of any comfort or support, that they will take the chance just to feel good.

But surely the dogs in the street know this, even those without mallets?

As you wish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

"human beings aren't meant to feel that good"...I forget who said it,my first experience of opiates was getting morphine for a broken arm as a kid,i remember feeling really content,like I could just go asleep on top of a pile of rocks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Would there be a way where Dopamine could be naturally released in a more controlled way, by meditation maybe? Or some safe herbal method... so that this high could be used for good purposes... as a way to aliviate depression for example.
    Define "natural".

As for "herbal methods" I believe Papaver somniferum is often used :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭OhHiMark

Are you also one of the people that thinks that Trainspotting glamorises heroin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Disgruntled Badger

Omackeral wrote:

Nice. I'll give it a shot when I'm terminally ill. No harm then I figure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I prefer this, it actually puts you off taking it and makes it sound horrific. The one in the OP made me want to try it!

https://www.wattpad.com/11690765-poems-heroin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Disgruntled Badger

PandaPoo wrote:
    I prefer this, it actually puts you off taking it and makes it sound horrific. The one in the OP made me want to try it!

I actually prefer the ops. that one you posted is good but it's all a bit text book. If you never take heroin you could say all that. But the op says something more. You will achieve absolute pleasure and then you'll never feel that good again. That's far more terrifying to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,577 ✭✭✭Bonzo Delaney

Thankfully herion never visited my door so totally ignorant to the devastating effects it causes
    There was a similar thread here a while ago and some one posted this it captures and explains the lure and evil of it perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Fsfop

My brother who came from a privileged background is a heroin junkie. I no longer see or speak to him. He has ruined our family. He had so many opportunities to get clean (family helped him enter so many rehab programmes etc) but he never seemed willing to really give it up. He made sober decisions coming out of these places to go back using. He's not a scanger. Far from it. Both our parents are professionals and we're from a very good affluent area of towns The rest of us, his siblings all went to college and got on v well in life. I'm only saying this because it annoys me that people brand just 'scangers' as users. It's not true.

I think that if you peel it back for most heroin users there's something underlying like a mental illness or a circumstance that makes the user want to try it in the first place. I think they feel they are just lost causes in the first instance to go and try it. They all know it's rare someone comes out of the addiction once they start it and they just don't care..because to them their lives are over already.

For my brother there's the underlying illness of scitzophrenia...sorry about spelling and I'm being too lazy to check the actual spelling! And with my brother there's a bad streak in him too. Falling in with the wrong crowd as a teenager etc.

That well written piece the OP posted..well, I've seen it before somewhere. Maybe that's how people feel initially when they take it but I think all people know they are heading down a dark and dangerous road before they ever put it into their body for the first time. There's enough info on heroin out there for all to know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

I will probably come off as an asshole on this one... but I'd rather be honest than just lie.

We're talking about drug addicts. Now how does the average person deal with junkies? (lets call them that because we all do) People either walk past them as if they were invisible as they ask for a euro or people clutch their belongings and remain sharp when one passes them by. That's what people do.

So what is this poetry? will it change peoples attitude? it wont and rightfully so. A lot of addicts commit crimes to pay for their habbit. But Omackeral posted this poetry and said the user has been clean for 10 years. But if Omackeral said this former-user had 12 convictions to his name then... well, we wouldn't have as much sympathy for the person on here. Problem is we know nothing of this supposed writer.

But yet so many quoted Foggy and said how he was wrong.

So is Foggy wrong?
    If he was talking about junkies in general no one would quote him. But because a junkie that no one knows about writes a nice poem? then suddendly thats harsh?

What is this? Lying about or hiding the facts about any drug is a more dangerous approach.

Glorifying is far more dangerous. It reads like an advertisement.

It's not glamorising it. It's showing the absolute unavoidable and inevitable horribleness of it while giving a first person experience of what the user experiences. I don't see why so many people are seeing this as a positive piece. Yes, I said it was beautifully written but that was a testament to the vivid language and nothing more.
    Collie D wrote: »

Bingo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭hawkwind23

indulgent nonsense.
    Heroin destroys lives , not only does it kill the user but it devastates the people who love them.
    Feck all romantic about it.

I don't think it's particularly well written, but the metaphor is pretty good.

As for those saying it shouldn't be said, I presume the heroin user who penned it is perfectly entitled to talk about his experience, and we can't prescribe that all he must say is "I was a skanger, I was a skanger".