Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New 100-115hp loader tractor

• 01-06-2016 10:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭

Hi All,

I have a fair bit of machinery at home but recently I have considered upgrading one of the older tractors for something a bit more modern. I would consider trading in one of 2 tractors:
    - A '00 Renault Temis (105hp/6 cyl) all manual with loader and approx. 5500 hrs. Never given any real trouble and getting its second clutch shortly. A good reliable tractor that starts every time and has hardly ever let me down. A bit awkward with forward swinging doors and all manual gears/pto with hand clutch etc.

- A '03 Landini Mythos 110. (110hp/6cyl) Manual Fwd/Rev. Elect pto switch <3000 hours. Lovely tractor to drive, draw silage, top, fertilizer etc. Gives lots of bother with small bits and pieces like springs. Can be very slow to start on occasion. Splitter gear recently gone so needs to be split. Clutch went at just 1100 hrs. As I said, much nicer than the Renault to drive but just less reliable.

What would people recommend as a good replacement for either of these. Personally I like Valtra as I have driven earlier 50 series and early T models and like the layout and durability. Something like an N113 would be my preference.

By the way, this consideration is purely for tax purposes so lets assume that I will definitely get rid of one of the above. (I may decide not to and invest my money much more wisely elsewhere so please no suggestions on just keeping what I have and investing in stock or something as this is a hypothetical situation and I'll make my ultimate decision at a later date!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

3 clutches in them few hours? I've a landini vision with 8500hrs and one clutch over its lifetime (at 6k or so), we are always careful enough in and out of pits etc, and keep the clutch adjusted to always have an inch of free play.

On the new tractor, I'm far from the person to give suggestions ha, however the landini 5h seemed to be a very good value tractor, came with a landini loader which was basically a trima/quickie with landini stickers, just make sure ya avoid the horrific tiny rear tires on the budget spec model, and make sure it has an electric shuttle (don't know if they come with the chappy manual cable shuttle anymore?). I had the chance to trade in my vision for a 5h 3years back and considering how much mine has depreciated and how much more expensive new tractors are now I'm sorry I didn't go for it at the time, would have been useful depreciation on the books, but cash was tight at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭mythos110

Timmaay wrote: »
    3 clutches in them few hours? I've a landini vision with 8500hrs and one clutch over its lifetime (at 6k or so), we are always careful enough in and out of pits etc, and keep the clutch adjusted to always have an inch of free play.

On the new tractor, I'm far from the person to give suggestions ha, however the landini 5h seemed to be a very good value tractor, came with a landini loader which was basically a trima/quickie with landini stickers, just make sure ya avoid the horrific tiny rear tires on the budget spec model, and make sure it has an electric shuttle (don't know if they come with the chappy manual cable shuttle anymore?). I had the chance to trade in my vision for a 5h 3years back and considering how much mine has depreciated and how much more expensive new tractors are now I'm sorry I didn't go for it at the time, would have been useful depreciation on the books, but cash was tight at the time.

Getting a landini on demo over d summer so we'll see what she's made of. Its usually my ould lad that drives the renault to be fair and he wouldnt be the best to mind the clutch. Shes literally doing loader work for 95% of its hours. Worked as a mechanic myself for a while too so would keep clutch adjusted fairly right but only so much u can do!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 136 ✭✭Jaysus Christ

Landini are tractors fisherprice make.

Buy once, buy right, buy a Deere.

What have you yourself to quantify that statement? Have heard lots of horror stories with the commonrail engines... Have driven a few troublesome deeres myself in the past. Not as bullet proof as some people like to think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Some sweeping statement there, but you have nothing to back it up?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,489 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

farmerjj wrote: »
    Some sweeping statement there, but you have nothing to back it up?:rolleyes:

Don't worry that poster makes lots of sweeping statements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭visatorro

Did you decide to buy another tractor or go with a loader MJ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

mythos110 wrote: »
    What have you yourself to quantify that statement? Have heard lots of horror stories with the commonrail engines... Have driven a few troublesome deeres myself in the past. Not as bullet proof as some people like to vthink

Other than emissions issues on 20/30 series engines they've been bullet proof. R series is well regarded their just getting too expensive and limit the m spec too much. A 50k running gear, suspensioned m series would be a popular machine rather than having to buy all the electrics add-on that never gets used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

Slightly mad having a loader.on a 6cyl.tractor if u ask me unless ur working in a massove yard which most arebt Electric shuttle a must on modern loader work and good visibility. Mf and nh is a good call in ur power bracket. Deere fendt etc win in higher powered tractors.

Was bought before i was making the purchasing decisions! At the time it was to be used for jobs like spreading slurry etc and with the ground here being pretty steep to stability of the 6 cyl was a major consideration. Its tidy enough in fairness and the yard is not too tight. Will def be going 4 cyl next time as have other machines to cope with the bigger stuff now.

A better way of putting the original question out there:
    Has anyone bought a tractor in the last 2-3 years and in hindsight might have gone a different route? I know we all like to defend out own brands and the fact that we may have mis spent 60k plus isnt an easy thing to admit, but has anyone had any hassle with a relatively new tractor that they purchased and if so, what??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

A better way of putting the original question out there:
    Has anyone bought a tractor in the last 2-3 years and in hindsight might have gone a different route? I know we all like to defend out own brands and the fact that we may have mis spent 60k plus isnt an easy thing to admit, but has anyone had any hassle with a relatively new tractor that they purchased and if so, what??

I think that is a great question. A thread on problems people have had with machinery would be excellent. I genuinely do not understand the mindset that makes people defend a certain brand to the death. All brands have lemons the same as all brands have good machines. I have a neighbour here that has a MF 6480. He spends more time with his head in the back end of her than in the seat and yet he tries to tell everyone she is a great yoke. Defending a multi million pound corporation that is selling sub standard equipment to small businesses is a fallacy in my eyes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭stantheman1979

Don't laugh but a neighbour bought a new tumasan. He just uses it for yard work and topping, slurry, etc and he loves it. Says its far gutsy and easy to manicure than the NH.It was very cheap and has a very basic cab but it's a nice little tractor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Don't laugh but a neighbour bought a new tumasan. He just uses it for yard work and topping, slurry, etc and he loves it. Says its far gutsy and easy to manicure than the NH.It was very cheap and has a very basic cab but it's a nice little tractor.

A neighbour has one too, never seems to stop going, handles a lot of bales, seems to be alright and they are cheap

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

they might not be that bad afterwards. I bet the biggest problem is that the people who buy them just wont mind them. People who buy cheaper makes generally just don't mind them because they see them as disposable items- get 20 years out of a cheap machine and its money well spent.

I have a habit of buying the better brands but I am also very good at minding them. I keep everything in the shed. I bought a 10ft Kuhn mower brand new in 2000. Its still immaculate and like new. Granted it only cuts around 100 acres a year but its washed after each cut and oiled and back into the shed. Then I would oil it again twice throughout the winter while doing other implements aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

I'm going for the new 5H110 with loader

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭GERMAN ROCKS

Reggie. wrote: »
    I'm going for the new 5H110 with loader

biggest problem will be that you will be married to it. Depreciation will be very high compared to the massey and it may be hard to trade it in as dealers might not want it. Similarly how will parts be to get in 20+ years time?

Its far ahead than the massey atm I think. That's hard for me to say. I think landini is underrated abd wouldn't be surprised if they start getting popular from next year. Mark my words the under dogs will become more popular. In fairness it has almost everything the big brands have and in some cases some extra features

Companies only have to produce parts for 20 yrs. I know this as certain parts are no longer manufactured by MF. You can still get all the parts for the blizzard from landini. They produce all parts for upto 30yrs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 JD115m

Have a 151 John deere 6115m excellent tractor so far with front suspension definitely worth the extra cash up front.Clutch is also very smooth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭Mf310

Hahaha thered be a fair premium on that compared to the landini id say over 20k if not more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

JD115m wrote: »
    Have a 151 John deere 6115m excellent tractor so far with front suspension definitely worth the extra cash up front.Clutch is also very smooth

If imagine there's a gaping price difference between that and the landini. I know a fella that bought a 5115m with loader a few months ago for 60k and I thought it was very basic for the price of it. I'd imagine a 6115 would probably be another 15k along with that. Tractors are gone stupidly expensive especially the couple of bigger names.

Your not to far off in 65-70k but its a long term investment to make life easier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,554 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

JD115m wrote: »
    Your not to far off in 65-70k but its a long term investment to make life easier

Was there a loader on it for that? Not knocking you and I'd love to have one myself but don't think I could bring myself to part with that kinda money.

Yep loader but no implements

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭sthilmick

Maybe it's me but I've got it bad for the N4 Valtra they are an expensive bit of kit to start off with but the N114 got 115hp + 10 hp boost +an eco mode it's got a 50 K box nice size of a machine not a huge Camel of a yoke in the yard but still a decent size. You will can spec it up for what you want including the factory fitted quickie loader reverse drive and the cleanest cab space I was in just felt airy without being huge. I saw the base model N104 at Grass and Muck and was impressed it's running the same engine as the 300 series fendt and they're know for engine hours plus the fins have a habit of doing things right

Its far ahead than the massey atm I think. That's hard for me to say. I think landini is underrated abd wouldn't be surprised if they start getting popular from next year. Mark my words the under dogs will become more popular. In fairness it has almost everything the big brands have and in some cases some extra features

Companies only have to produce parts for 20 yrs. I know this as certain parts are no longer manufactured by MF. You can still get all the parts for the blizzard from landini. They produce all parts for upto 30yrs

The problem I have with my 03 Landini is as I said. It's a smashing tractor to drive but the reliability is poor considering it has less than 3k hours on the clock. Hopefully the current models have sorted that.

I'd find it very hard to let another one into the yard after the experience I've had. That being said, maybe it just happens to be a bad one or not being driven enough - 3k hrs isn't much per year over 13 years! The demo I'm getting over the summer will get a good trial before I make my mind up!

I've seen it before when a neighbour bought a new JD 6610 in 2002. It wouldn't pull the socks off a dead man. Changed injector pumps etc all to no avail. Typically, any other 6610 I've seen has been a mighty tractor so sometimes lemons are produced even by the larger brands!

We've always had a fiat of some description in the yard. Only got rid of my F130 last year and still have a little 2wd 780. Mighty tractors. All my current Renaults are running on the Iveco(Fiat) engines. Couldn't fault them, but I'd probably go for a little more comfort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 whitetail

Hi got a 6130 with loader in 2013 put 400 hrs up a year has broke my heart with fuel problems never again. Neighbours have case and nh more than once had to borrow there's!!

whitetail wrote: »
    Hi got a 6130 with loader in 2013 put 400 hrs up a year has broke my heart with fuel problems never again. Neighbours have case and nh more than once had to borrow there's!!

Excuse my ignorance, is that a Deere?

The problem I have with my 03 Landini is as I said. It's a smashing tractor to drive but the reliability is poor considering it has less than 3k hours on the clock. Hopefully the current models have sorted that.

I'd find it very hard to let another one into the yard after the experience I've had. That being said, maybe it just happens to be a bad one or not being driven enough - 3k hrs isn't much per year over 13 years! The demo I'm getting over the summer will get a good trial before I make my mind up!

I've seen it before when a neighbour bought a new JD 6610 in 2002. It wouldn't pull the socks off a dead man. Changed injector pumps etc all to no avail. Typically, any other 6610 I've seen has been a mighty tractor so sometimes lemons are produced even by the larger brands!

Can't speak from experience but the new ones look far better made imo from the old ones. Still a perkins in them but I think most people ain't too fond of them

Yes it's a JD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I don't know why people go for brand new tractors. You'd save 10 - 15k on an ex demo machine if your willing to be patient and do some investigating. Also its a cheap to buy a 135-140hp tractor as a 100hp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 323 ✭✭Mf310

davidk1394 wrote:
    I don't know why people go for brand new tractors. You'd save 10 - 15k on an ex demo machine if your willing to be patient and do some investigating. Also its a cheap to buy a 135-140hp tractor as a 100hp.

All very well saying that its as cheap to buy 135 -140hp but no point in having a 140hp tractor with a loader going around a rale tight yard. As nice and all as itd be and all that itd cost more in the long run as well with diesel and all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mf310 wrote: »
    All very well saying that its as cheap to buy 135 -140hp but no point in having a 140hp tractor with a loader going around a rale tight yard. As nice and all as itd be and all that itd cost more in the long run as well with diesel and all

I was offered a 115hp ex demo for 5k more than a new 100hp but it would be overkill for a 1t spreader, 1600 gal tanker and 4'4" grab which is 95% of its work. 100hp is exactly what I need for now and the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I would have agreed with you until I bought the class last year it's not much bigger than a friends 6100 MC JD and it doesn't burn much more than his tractor when doing yard work. Also it broadens your options for the future by being able to do work you couldn't do before. and while we're on the note of "rale tight yards" what is the fascination of Irish farmers and tight spaces. Was hauling into a dairy farm last week where the owner spent 1 million on a whole new set up and 2 f#ckers of 10ft gates going into and out of the yard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

I was offered a 115hp ex demo for 5k more than a new 100hp but it would be overkill for a 1t spreader, 1600 gal tanker and 4'4" grab which is 95% of its work. 100hp is exactly what I need for now and the next few years.

Each to their own. I have a 115hp tractor and there's times i'd love that bit more power.
    Have a 1300 gal tanker and when have the money together to replace will be getting a 2000 gal tanker.
    Then drawing 24 bales of straw there's hills you'd meet when you could do with a bit extra.
    For turning in the yard there's a surprising good turning circle on the 4270 for a 6 cylinder tractor and with the loader has the height to stack hay and straw bales 4 high with ease.
    I think the next tractor i'll get when I trade in will be 120hp.(at least)
    But happy enough for what work I do (not a big lot but still use it everyday) with the 6cyl mf 4270. Have it 4 years now and had to replace clutch and brakes but not major.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

We looked at one back in 2002, the 80hp model. They were priced around the same as a zetor. They were like the fiat 880, similar style cab with the gear stick in the middle. We didn't get one, as they were a brand new manufacturer, and had no idea if they would be around in 5 years, so could have issues with parts down the line. All in all, they seem to be decent machines. Most people that bought them would have been stock farmers, so they should not have been abused too much, and were probably mainly owner driven.

Agree with you there. In relation to the original post, I already have a 148hp tractor in the yard, so I am looking to get a nice sized tractor for loader duty and to do the lower hp requirement jobs like topping and spreading fert. I would intend keeping the tractor for at least 20 years and upgrade another tractor in 7 years time once the one I potentially buy early next year is paid for...

Tractor should be bought to the job it's required for. Buying extra hp for just in case will only cost ya as you have to feed them extra horses with diesel

Well the 5600 series masseys look good with a tight turning circle 100 ltr per minute hydraulics 3 pot engine from 85hp to 100hp slope bonnet loader ready one has the dyna shift on the joystick and the 3&4 services ready plumbed in. Good reviews on the farmers guardian chanel on YouTube he gives a few makes the same test with a loader NH JD & MF all in the 90-105 hp category and he's pretty much a neutral. Keep your tractor under a roof and grease and oil her regular and should be able to get the 20years you want outta her

sthilmick wrote: »
    Well the 5600 series masseys look good with a tight turning circle 100 ltr per minute hydraulics 3 pot engine from 85hp to 100hp slope bonnet loader ready one has the dyna shift on the joystick and the 3&4 services ready plumbed in. Good reviews on the farmers guardian chanel on YouTube he gives a few makes the same test with a loader NH JD & MF all in the 90-105 hp category and he's pretty much a neutral. Keep your tractor under a roof and grease and oil her regular and should be able to get the 20years you want outta her

That's the way I've been operating so far. Everything is in one shed and gets well serviced. Its key to getting long term value from a machine. Its also amazing what a grease gun does for front axles and loaders. Some lads forget that a few bob on grease goes a long way in a few years time. I bought an air greaser a few years ago - best investment on the farm!!

There's a good massey dealer near me so might take a look there as well. Does anyone know if they are now very similar to the Valtra's (like Landini are to McCormack) or are they still fairly independent? Know very little about Massey's tbh.

Thanks for the suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

davidk1394 wrote: »

True, but why buy a people car, when all you need is a Fiesta!
    Our yard is very tight when we have bale on the loader of a 90hp massey, couldn't imagine what it would be like if we has a large 6 cylinder tractor. Unless you are in a tillage area, most tractors of that size would have began their lives with a contractor. I'd rather a 5 year old 100hp machine thats been owner driven, than a 140hp contractor machine of the same age and hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Be hard to ignore 56xx mf series for this. Good finance to be had

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

New Holland T4.120?

Or maybe something completely out of the box:
    http://agriculture1.newholland.com/nar/en-us/equipment/products/tractors-telehandlers/bidirectional

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Midfield9

That's the way I've been operating so far. Everything is in one shed and gets well serviced. Its key to getting long term value from a machine. Its also amazing what a grease gun does for front axles and loaders. Some lads forget that a few bob on grease goes a long way in a few years time. I bought an air greaser a few years ago - best investment on the farm!!

There's a good massey dealer near me so might take a look there as well. Does anyone know if they are now very similar to the Valtra's (like Landini are to McCormack) or are they still fairly independent? Know very little about Massey's tbh.

Thanks for the suggestion.

Masseys and valtra have the same engine in them anyway.

Shannon757 wrote: »

A bit like the old MFT!

Shannon757 wrote: »
    The old ones got slated for being under powered reverse drive is a good option

They share the engine as do fendt and I think they have a few more common bits not sur what they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Can't speak from experience but the new ones look far better made imo from the old ones. Still a perkins in them but I think most people ain't too fond of them

the modern perkins engine are sh1te compared to the old,

a few old landini blizzards & 9880's around here & still going strong but any body bought a new landini very disappointed & massive problems,