Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Second Coming - Garth on his way, again, possibly, 2017

• 31-05-2016 5:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,234 ✭✭✭

So that flawless bastion of journalism, The Sun, via an unnamed source of course is suggesting that Garth Brooks is looking at Croke Park again.

His motivation is apparently the success of Bruce Springsteen over the weekend, especially Endas Dancing Taoiseach Routine which has apparently shown that Official Ireland that ruined his 2015 efforts is now cool and hip with music again.

The fact the Croker is free and licence free for 3 concerts next year, with 240,000 tickets worth approximately €30 million may have some part in the inspiration.

If he's really interested in copying Bruce he should look at Springsteen's tour of Ireland a few years ago, a few nights in Croker, a few in Kilkenny, a few in Killarney, he might as well settle down in Monaghan/Cavan region given their taste.

Mods across AH are stocking up on Rennies and ban hammers.

http://m.rte.ie/entertainment/2016/0531/792229-is-garth-a-goer-for-croker-in-2017/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Fcuk off Garth, no one wants you here you sh1t, twinkletoed, denim clad, fake cowboy.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Patser wrote: »
    Mods across AH are stocking up on Rennies and ban hammers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Patser wrote: »
    The Sun, via an unnamed source .

The journalist equivalent of "heard it from some guy down the pub"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Maireadio

I was happy that they were cutting down from the five concerts a few years back as it was completely excessive but was surprised when they were all cancelled. So it'll be nice that some of the disappointed folk might get to see him, as godawful as I think he and his music are. That's if they are happening, that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭RayCon

He has a children charity called "Touch 'Em All Foundation" ... he really should have got advice on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

McGruber wrote: »
    Fcuk off Garth, no one wants you here you sh1t, twinkletoed, denim clad, fake cowboy.

Beat me to it.. Yeah feck off garth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭makingmecrazy

RayCon wrote: »
    He has a children charity called "Touch 'Em All Foundation" ... he really should have got advice on that one.

Sorry to say that I doubted you Ray, but that is so ridiculous that I had to Google it.

He is a total moron :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

Did he come and see that play about himself that was all over the news?

No

This is no different.

Maireadio wrote: »
    I was happy that they were cutting down from the five concerts a few years back as it was completely excessive but was surprised when they were all cancelled. So it'll be nice that some of the disappointed folk might get to see him.

Any actual fan that goes to see him now, after he couldn't be bothered his arse playing the 3 concerts a couple of years ago are fools.

If I was a fan, he wouldn't be getting my money this time after fcuking over his fans!

bubblypop wrote: »
    Any actual fan that goes to see him now, after he couldn't be bothered his arse playing the 3 concerts a couple of years ago are fools.

If I was a fan, he wouldn't be getting my money this time after fcuking over his fans!

I must be a bigger fool for travelling to see him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

He cancelled three concerts in a row with a total audience of 240,000. His American tour played to an average of 20,000 per venue. Twelve nights, probably over the guts of two months to play to the same size audience with probably larger expense and less return per ticket.
    What an idiot!

galljga1 wrote: »
    He cancelled three concerts in a row with a total audience of 240,000. His American tour played to an average of 20,000 per venue. Twelve nights, probably over the guts of two months to play to the same size audience with probably larger expense and less return per ticket.
    What an idiot!

Just shows that he was never about the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

**** sound, rip off ticket prices, rip off beer prices, only sell **** Carlsberg in plastic bottles, everyone talking and not watching the gig

What a fantastic concert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭gigantic09

vicwatson wrote: »
    **** sound, rip off ticket prices, rip off beer prices, only sell **** Carlsberg in plastic bottles, everyone talking and not watching the gig

What a fantastic concert

I was led to believe he failed to show?.Media are such liars.

RayCon wrote: »

I don't know if that's the worst thing I've heard in ages or the best thing I've heard in ages, or both.

It's definitely the funniest thing I've heard in ages! What a moron!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

What a fantastic concert

Yeah I'd be very slow to go to another gig in croke park. The shíte drink I can forgive but shíte sound was taking the Michael.

The Raptor wrote: »
    Just shows that he was never about the money.

I think it just shows he was never about the brains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,741 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

McGruber wrote: »

agree, and I love real Country - Hank Williams, John Cash, Steve Earle - Garth Brooks is just Middle of the road ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

gigantic09 wrote: »
    I was led to believe he failed to show?.Media are such liars.

People gonna say after all the furore

What a fantastic concert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Excellent, a nine night stint will be on the cards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

When he throws a hissy fit the next time, we can all lobby the President of the United States to intervene diplomatically to try and save the day....again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭Babyspice13

Any actual fan that goes to see him now, after he couldn't be bothered his arse playing the 3 concerts a couple of years ago are fools!

I'm a fool so. If he does come next year, I'll be there. I did get tickets last time and subsequently got a refund. These things happen

I'm a fan and know how enjoyable his concerts are, so I would rather be in Croke Park than protesting at home

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

May god have mercy on our souls

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

May god have mercy on our souls

Ma-hay Gaw-awwwwd have mercy on our so-uo-uoools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

I would love to get free tickets, I'd get a big stetson and go and get hammered - I mean hammered off my tits, and try and ruin it for as much fans as I could - like the Garth crowd were doing at the Boss last weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

If the GAA and promoters don't try and fcuk over the residents and local authority again with extra gigs over the agreed limit, I don't see the problem.

thebaz wrote: »
    agree, and I love real Country - Hank Williams, John Cash, Steve Earle - Garth Brooks is just Middle of the road ****e

Thank you! I have to conclude that anyone who is a Garth Brooks fan isn't a country music fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

**** only sell **** Carlsberg in plastic bottles,

But was it a Loooooooooong neck bottle :)

Il get my coat

If the GAA and promoters don't try and fcuk over the residents and local authority again with extra gigs over the agreed limit, I don't see the problem.

I doubt they'll try that again.

If Brooks does play Croker, it will just highlight how stupid he was to cancel the three gigs he got the go-ahead for in 2014. Probably thought that if he cancelled the three, they would kowtow to him and allow the five to go ahead.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Good. I know lots of people who were disappointed last time, hopefully this comes together.

Winterlong wrote: »
    Excellent, a nine night stint will be on the cards!

Source ?

I would love to get free tickets, I'd get a big stetson and go and get hammered - I mean hammered off my tits, and try and ruin it for as much fans as I could - like the Garth crowd were doing at the Boss last weekend.

Were they wearing stetsons at the Bruce Springsteen concert last week? Or how did you tell who was a Garth fan out for a day out?

I don't see the problem with having more. They changed the concert licensing. They now have discussions with the relative people involved (residents, council, etc) before they sell tickets for more concerts.

I don't see how they will try and fcuk over the residents the next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,004 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

I don't see the problem with having more. They changed the concert licensing. They now have discussions with the relative people involved (residents, council, etc) before they sell tickets for more concerts.

I don't see how they will try and fcuk over the residents the next time.

Then why didn't they have a 3rd Ed Sheeran gig last year? Or a 3rd Bruce Springsteen gig this year? Since both would have sold out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Hopefully we will see more of these :pac:

hynesie08 wrote: »
    Then why didn't they have a 3rd Ed Sheeran gig last year? Or a 3rd Bruce Springsteen gig this year? Since both would have sold out?

Because the residents are crying little babies.

But sure they've changed the license laws so what can they do?

They said in some news piece yesterday that they will object to anything more than three.

Sour bunch they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Cork2015!

I'm an "actual fan" and I will gladly be handing over my very hard earned money to see him as he is my favourite musician ever.

I also supported his decision to cancel (as he didn't want to disappoint half of the fans), it wasn't becuase he couldn't be bothered

Guess this makes me a fool as per your post......

PS I had tickets to every single night last time... was expensive but you know what they say... a fool and their money etc etc

I'll gladly endure this ****e again if it means we get half the hilarious meltdowns we got last time. Maybe that group should march up O'Connell Street again.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I'll gladly endure this ****e again if it means we get half the hilarious meltdowns we got last time. Maybe that group should march up O'Connell Street again.

Spare a thought for the poor AH mods :pac:

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

Spare a thought for the poor AH mods :pac:

Nope, they managed to avoid the water charges talk for the most part, this'll put hairs on their chest (even the women's)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Cork2015! wrote: »
    PS I had tickets to every single night last time... was expensive but you know what they say... a fool and their money etc etc

Do you also like to be tied up and beaten?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Maybe that group should march up O'Connell Street again.

Oh man, that was quality. Stensons, cowboy boots and homemade banners decrying the whole situation. Damn near perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Cork2015!

smash wrote: »
    Do you also like to be tied up and beaten?

Not normally but never say never

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Oh god, I'm having flashbacks from the last time. Didn't he cancel every concert because he didn't want to do 2 in one day? And his excuse was he didn't want to disappoint them? It would be like "Santa" can't get the bike a kid wanted for Christmas, so instead of getting a similar one, the kid gets zero presents at all.

I feel sorry for the mods at moments like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Any chance of getting a ban on garth brooks threads in AH if this does happen? Lets keep this cancer confined to gigs and events.

You clearly didn't have a meltdown having your concerts cancelled as well.

Were you going for the craic and fcuk up a good time for the genuine fans? Similar to what cowboy builder mentioned about all the garth fans at the Bruce concert, just there to fcuk it up. Are you one of these people? Who gets totally p!ssed off their heads?

You clearly didn't have a meltdown having your concerts cancelled as well.

Were you going for the craic and fcuk up a good time for the genuine fans? Similar to what cowboy builder mentioned about all the garth fans at the Bruce concert, just there to fcuk it up. Are you one of these people? Who gets totally p!ssed off their heads?

No I didn't, just like I don't when other gigs get rescheduled/cancelled cause at the end of the day it's just a gig. I go to dozens of them a year so it doesn't bother me.

No, I don't drink at gigs as a general rule, think I've been tipsy or above at maybe 5/6 gigs of the 300+ I've been to.

How did you feel when Garth cancelled?

No I didn't, just like I don't when other gigs get rescheduled/cancelled cause at the end of the day it's just a gig. I go to dozens of them a year so it doesn't bother me.

No, I don't drink at gigs as a general rule, think I've been tipsy or above at maybe 5/6 gigs of the 300+ I've been to.

How did you feel when Garth cancelled?

Just a gig for you like the other 300 you've been to. Other people are genuine fans. I'm glad you find it funny that it was cancelled for those genuine fans.