Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So Enda Kenny was at the Springsteen gig last night, and for some reason people are a

• 28-05-2016 12:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭

...and for some reason people are angry (sorry, ****ed up the title)

I'm seeing some news media pages on Facebook today posting pics of Enda rocking the air guitar at the concert in Croke Park and having the craic with his wife. All good fun. But the comments are full of idiots saying crap like "how can he have a night out wen ders homeless people on de streets" and "ders never a sniper around wen ya need 1" and "That miserable prick didn't buy a ticket. And I bet the Dickhead kept his receipts for his hotdogs to claim back as expenses". One person even wished he fell off the balcony he was on.

Now, most people enjoyed the pics saying fair play to him and calling him a "ledge" for doing the air guitar thing and enjoying himself. Generally just having a good attitude and not thinking too much into it.

But some people are actually begrudging him for enjoying himself at a concert. What the f*ck! I really hate this country sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Its a hard life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

The people who make such comments are far worse than any person in the D ail.

(My phone simply refuses to write that word.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

The insults are probably coming from the same people who complain about having no money to feed their child yet smoke 20 a day and drink a few times a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭luftmensch

If people are so concerned about the homeless on the streets, why don't they something about it themselves ffs. Why should the responsibility fall on one man alone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

Andre 3000 wrote: »
    The insults are probably coming from the same people who complain about having no money to feed their child yet smoke 20 a day and drink a few times a week.

From what I'm seeing you're right. The ones that just hate any type of authority and have a tattoo saying "tiocfaidh ar la" on their right arm and another tattoo saying "Jacinta" on the other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

Mr Kenny is 40 years in the dail representing mayo, and has climbed to the top of irish politics. So I'm sure he has a skin thicker than a rhino and is well used to having to ignore the mumblings of morons. Cause life is too short isn't it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Simple answer..he's not a liked man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

luftmensch wrote: »
    If people are so concerned about the homeless on the streets, why don't they something about it themselves ffs. Why should the responsibility fall on one man alone?

That seems to be the consensus of the replies to these idiots which is good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Enda is still a prick. I also wish he fell from the balcony but only if it was good and high and there was nobody under it for him to fall on. Wish he'd fcuk off to Brussels and take his property tax with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Sad it's even a story....

Man enjoys concert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Ah ffs there's another thread on the go slagging endas dancing (which is probably better than my dancing if im honest) it was Friday night and he's out letting his hair down (he's more hair than me if im honest) heaven forbid someone snapped him knocking back a pint.. We'd have a bunch of threads started about him having a drink problem, yet when Obama had a pint he was the greatest living irishmen that ever lived for the day.
    Im certainly no fan of endas,but there's much more important issues in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Just dropped in to say hes still a prick. Wouldnt want him killed though or anything bad happen to him like fall over a balcony as they would make a martyr out of him and he'd be all over media outlets in Ireland for the next hundred years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The man is entitled to a night out, just like the rest of us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭SteoL

Don't like the man but certainly don't begrudge him for having a night out. We are all entitled to go to a concert if we want to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

concert tickets should come out of general taxation.

can't pay won't pay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bmm

If every civil/public servant got the perks and conditions the politicians have given themselves regarding pensions and lump sums, the country would be broke. It is the most sickening part of politics and politicians in this country. When we see politicians having a good time it just reminds us of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭...And Justice

The headline should have been "príck enjoys night out with wife"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

A lot of people in the stands are angry at the poor sound quality last night. So much so that they left early. After shelling out hard earned cash to concert people who should be able to get these things fairly right. Then again Croke Park always had this problem.
    I wonder how many left when they saw Enda do his air guitar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

An undignified spectacle certainly not becoming of a man in high office

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

I hope you're not being serious here.

Barack Obama danced with Ellen on the Ellen DeGeneres show. What's wrong with people actually having a bit of fun in their life outside politics?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

I don't understand why anyone would begrudge a man a night off. Even the country's leader is entitled to let to his hair down once in a while.

The anger and bitterness being thrown Enda's way really baffles me and to be honest it says about the people of Ireland than it does about our Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Don't like Enda but jaysus he's entitled to enjoy his night out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Don't be so high and mighty.....he's still a human being isn't he, still just a man who enjoys a good gig.

Where or when was it ever said that those in office couldn't enjoy themselves?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

The type of people who give about this sort of thing on social media are generally the type of people who have no f*cking notion about politics anyway.

Ask them to name a few ministers, they'd be stuck after one and then go... "Yeah well it doesn't matter, they're all a shower of bast*rds anyway."

It's very easy to criticise Kenny for his policies why would you be worried that he went to see Bruce Springsteen play a gig?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭ronnie085

bmm wrote: »
    If every civil/public servant got the perks and conditions

Isn't that not part of the reason for the trouble we got ourselves into

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I heard the b'stard once went to the cinema too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I don't understand why anyone would begrudge a man a night off. Even the country's leader is entitled to let to his hair down once in a while.

The anger and bitterness being thrown Enda's way really baffles me and to be honest it says about the people of Ireland than it does about our Taoiseach.

Because he's an arrogant cowardly man who spends half the day ignoring or hiding from the electorate, or lecturing them like the schoolchildren he should have stuck to teaching, but instead has been leeching off those same people for over 40 years.

He's certainly entitled to a night out, but that doesn't mean everything he does in his "day job" will be ignored by those who live with the consequences of he and his colleagues decisions. That's life as a public figure (even those who are adored can't go anywhere without being mobbed by press or fans).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

So big deal if he was out the gig. Is he not allowed a day/night off.

Surely every world leader has had a moment where he has looked daft at a publicised event.

Tbh, I thought the safety announcer sounding like Enda on leaving the stadium, was funnier than Enda's air guitar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

Not usually one for saying fcuk the begrudgers but yeah, in this case, I'll go along with that line of thinking.

Same clowns who gave FF another in somehow. That tells you everything about the inner workings of their brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

bmm wrote: »
    If every civil/public servant got the perks and conditions the politicians have given themselves regarding pensions and lump sums, the country would be broke. It is the most sickening part of politics and politicians in this country. When we see politicians having a good time it just reminds us of this.

They do. 50% of final salary as pension for life and 18 months salary lump sum at retirement. Trying to cover the cost of that (thanks Bertie) into the future is going to make recapitalising the banks look like a piece of p1ss in comparison

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Because he's an arrogant cowardly man who spends half the day ignoring or hiding from the electorate, or lecturing them like the schoolchildren he should have stuck to teaching, but instead has been leeching off those same people for over 40 years.

He's certainly entitled to a night out, but that doesn't mean everything he does in his "day job" will be ignored by those who live with the consequences of he and his colleagues decisions. That's life as a public figure (even those who are adored can't go anywhere without being mobbed by press or fans).

In your opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jelutong

Does anybody know the names of the other 79,999 people who attended the concert? I saw Joe Higgins at a Leonard Cohen concert once!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,581 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

From what I'm seeing you're right. The ones that just hate any type of authority and have a tattoo saying "tiocfaidh ar la" on their right arm and another tattoo saying "Jacinta" on the other.

I showed this to my jacinta. She's not happy with you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

luftmensch wrote: »

Those mongs going on about supposed homelessness and how it is being perpetuated by enda kenny going to a concerts. Laughable. It's not the actual homeless that people are advocating for. It's the "I pumped out 7 kids before I was 28 and I can't get a bleedin house next door to me ma" crowd. And ultimately it's not enda kenny's job to tell the 'homeless' to stop having kids they can't afford nor to tell the actual homeless to stop drinking and taking smack. He's a man, clocking out of work and going to a gig like everyone else there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Where you actually answered the question you were asked, you agreed with the poster you quoted.

Not sure why you felt the need for the bitter irrelevant diatribe that went with it though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Where you actually answered the question you were asked, you agreed with the poster you quoted.

Not sure why you felt the need for the bitter irrelevant diatribe that went with it though.

Read it again.. it explains that while Enda can certainly have his night out, there are many reasons why people might resent him jumping around and acting like some sort of King on his balcony while they struggle with the consequences of the decisions he and his colleagues make during the day.

In short, when you're as unpopular and poor at communicating as Kenny, don't be surprised when people don't like or respond well to you regardless of the circumstances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Read it again.. it explains that while Enda can certainly have his night out, there are many reasons why people might resent him jumping around and acting like some sort of King on his balcony while they struggle with the consequences of the decisions he and his colleagues make during the day.

In short, when you're as unpopular and poor at communicating as Kenny, don't be surprised when people don't like or respond well to you regardless of the circumstances.

So, in summary, he's entitled to his night out.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Ye's are all whingers, whingers I say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,516 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Usual anti everything crowd sure if hed been given tickets and not gone they'd be complaining that he wasted them etc likely shouting something unrelated about tax payers money as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

VinLieger wrote: »
    Usual anti everything crowd sure if hed been given tickets and not gone they'd be complaining that he wasted them etc likely shouting something unrelated about tax payers money as well

They really never stop with their moaning.

I pity people who have to spend time around them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I hope you're not being serious here.

Barack Obama danced with Ellen on the Ellen DeGeneres show. What's wrong with people actually having a bit of fun in their life outside politics?
    Obama dancing was also cringe worthy shite, always this desperate "I'm black so I'm cool" (well he's half white but keeps that pretty schtum).

It wouldn't bother me support wise, but I expect some would take issue with it, I wonder how much his spin doctors were paid who advise him on such behaviour in the public eye. Remember Enda telling a nigger joke?

I feel more sorry for his kids more than anything. "Grown man make tit of himself at concert" -nothing new there, but if I was him and knew fine well it would appear on youtube I would have toned it down for the sake of my kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

You'd swear it was Dermot Morgan up there taking the piss out of what a Taoiseach might look like at a gig :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Its a bit cringeworthy all right, but I would be having a sad life if I let this make me angry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

jelutong wrote: »
    Does anybody know the names of the other 79,999 people who attended the concert? I saw Joe Higgins at a Leonard Cohen concert once!

Kevin and John were there anyway. I know that much.

Let me get back to you with the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Kevin and John were there anyway. I know that much.

That's because they won't shut up about it. The annoying pricks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

how often do we see guys of near 60 acting like that, they usually sit down have a beer or perhaps half a barrel, a few small ones, or even a bottle, yet they never play to an audience with such cringeworthy style

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,486 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The gaa president is there dancing too. Everyone deserves a day off and enda was entitled to be there as anyone

Sure president Micky was at u2 last November

I really enjoyed my night there last night and saw plenty of people extremely drunk and others parent dancing too lol

The people giving out need a life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

The question is will he be at the Beyonce concert in Croke Park in July?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Couldn't give a ****e personally. He's entitled to a few hours off to go to a concert for a bit of craic, give him a break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭Frynge

RobertKK wrote: »
    The question is will he be at the Beyonce concert in Croke Park in July?

Who let that gob****e in?