Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sleazy comments on threads

• 23-05-2016 1:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭

Does anyone else find it annoying when a thread is going along nicely and civilly and somebody comes on with some really smutty, schoolboyish comment that we're all obviously meant to snigger at, when it's really just offensive and rude.

Just seen it on the 'Asking people when their baby is due' thread.

Why do grown adults do this? I can understand some fifteen year old school kid, but surely most people have grown out of this by the time they're fully fledged grown ups?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Not really.

You're the one that brought it up...

*snigger*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

Does anyone else find it annoying when a thread is going along nicely and civilly and somebody comes on with some really smutty, schoolboyish comment that we're all obviously meant to snigger at, when it's really just offensive and rude.

Just seen it on the 'Asking people when their baby is due' thread.

Why do grown adults do this? I can understand some fifteen year old school kid, but surely most people have grown out of this by the time they're fully fledged grown ups?

In general I find those comments childishly amusing. I enjoy discarding decorum and being crude for the sake of being crude. It's a release from all the times I have to speak properly and watch my mouth, be respectful etc. Here I can just say what I'm thinking.

If someone was genuinely offended by something I said I'd apologise but people here seem to take it well.

However, in the "Asking people when their baby is due" thread? Jaysus, that must've been a hell of a crude comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

Same happened to me.

I asked a question about whether it was legal to put sheep in the back of my jeep instead of the trailer.

And then I got a heap of smart ass comments but it goes with the territory!

I like a good snigger. Vagina. Penis. Gnarf Gnarf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

It bothers me that people start threads when they should just be calling the waambulance for themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

It's the internet.

Liven up.

Sheesh.

Sick of this PC Brigade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

OP seems inordinately fond of Outraged Of Tunbridge Wells type threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Cathy.C

Don't come to After Hours for serious discussion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Because we can. A 44-year-old engineer in smart-casual coming out with "Tits! Vibraphone! Wankel Rotary Engine!!" in polite mixed company has tremendous impact, because none of the other Dorises and Richards expect it, hi! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

OP seems inordinately fond of Outraged Of Tunbridge Wells type threads.

Nope. Just voicing an opinion on something I find really childish on some threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

For some people, sex and the human body is a bit mysterious and scary so they like juvenile chuckles on t'internet because it takes some of the terror out of it for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Same happened to me.

I asked a question about whether it was legal to put sheep in the back of my jeep instead of the trailer.

And then I got a heap of smart ass comments but it goes with the territory!
    Same here. I was digging a hole out the back of the shed when all the hens broke out. I got them back in but then I found the cock in the hole I had dug. I was trying to get suggestions on how to get the cock out of my hole but nobody took it seriously. Poor cock is still stuck in my hole, I don't know what to do.

ScumLord wrote: »
    Same here. I was digging a hole out the back of the shed when all the hens broke out. I got them back in but then I found the cock in the hole I had dug. I was trying to get suggestions on how to get the cock out of my hole but nobody took it seriously. Poor cock is still stuck in my hole, I don't know what to do.

Whatever you do, don't Pullet! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Ohbethehokey

Similar story here. My uncle Richard got stuck giving my pet donkey a pregnancy exam . I started a thread asking how I could get dick out of my ass. the answers I got were very crude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I find that scrolling past a post and ignoring it tends to work wonders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭g6fdyotp5nj2l7

Perfectly legal so long as you don't do a ewe turn far as I know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I like the really edgy comments. They shock me and my hat pops off my head and my eyes bulge. They really get me going on a dull day.

Duggy747 wrote: »
    I find that scrolling past a post and ignoring it tends to work wonders.

I do usually - with an eye roll. Just wondered if other people find those posts a bit sad and sleazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

I see nothing wrong with a bit of lighthearted childishness in threads, obviously there are threads better suited without.

It's mostly people trying to inject a bit of humour (myself included). That humour wont be everyones cup of tea and thats fair enough.

Getting offended for the sake of it, feeling obliged to be offended or cribbing because certain attempts of humour havent hit the mark, is ridiculous.

Without a bit of lightheartedness, the place would be boring as fcuk. It would end up being a place of humourless, sterile, one sided debate with no soul.

If you couple the regular refugee / dole / government bashing threads with a place where you cant have a bit of craic in between, theres no point being here.

I use this place as a bit of fun, like a lot of people. It can pass as much as 5 minutes or a whole day. Theres always something interesting to read and some quite quick witted and knowledgeable people reside here too.

There are some spectacular people here with varying views, opinions, backgrounds and passions. Without it, I would be less well off.

If it was chocablock full of politically correct, narrow minded, inflexible, banal, micellaneous, inane and monotonous Q&A threads....it would be a lesser place.

Anyway, maybe you should post in Feedback or alert the fun police.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Lurkio

That's actually what I thought as a 15 year old. Then I discovered "adult humour" and realised we'd been lied to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Depends on the post, depends on the thread. I get a snigger out of some of the funnier crude commentry on most threads, there's a couple I'd be a bit "er, time and a place.." about. Mostly I ignore them if I'm eyerolling too much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Nate--IRL--

Nope. Just voicing an opinion on something I find really childish on some threads.

Comments like the ones you mention are from those who measure their self-worth by the amount of thanks their posts receive.

It just means you can ignore the 1st page of any Thread in AH, before the actual subject of a thread is discussed.

Nate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

I love a good mucky chuckle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

I haven't seen the post in the asking people when their baby is due thread, and I would agree entirely that sometimes it's not appropriate to make those comments and there will always be the one eejit who can't tell when to shut the hell up. As is life.

But really, overall, I actually seriously miss that about After Hours.

Now everything has to be bloody serious and little by little the fun is being sucked and eventually there'll be nowhere left to come for an immature giggle.

Oh well.

Story Bud? wrote: »
    I haven't seen the post in the asking people when their baby is due thread.

I found it, it was a bit of a let down. Didn't live up to the hype.

It was that tired old "Why do people rub the woman's belly and say congrats but they never rub the man's dick and say well done" line.

The sin here is how unfunny and overused the joke is as far as I'm concerned.

Some people are very easily offended. A bit of a flirt or a few laughs draws out the horrified brigade. In saying that there are some very serious topics where I can understand how someone might take offence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

JustShon wrote: »

It was that tired old "Why do people rub the woman's belly and say congrats but they never rub the man's dick and say well done" line.

That's always the sin with these things. They're just not funny, or they're not intelligent.Yawn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Good grief, that was the upsetting comment?

I feel let down by it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

Oh dear.

Story Bud? wrote: »
    ...the fun is being sucked...

Isn't it just! Hard to beat it. :pac::pac::pac:

Samaris wrote: »
    Good grief, that was the upsetting comment?

I feel let down by it too.

Yeah, since it prompted a thread about offensive comments, and it was in a pregnancy-related thread I was really expecting the unholy mother of all inappropriate comments and then I got that.

It was completely out of context and a few pages in too so it was neither placed cleverly nor was the guy particularly quick off the bat with it.

Over all I give it a meh out of ten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

This defines the internet ! - especially AH !

Op - stay away from AH for serious discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Double detention all round.

Don't you mean double penetration? Wha!

Gnarf Gnarf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

This defines the internet ! - especially AH !

Op - stay away from AH for serious discussion.

AH is well capable of hosting a serious discussion thread. It regularly does and you wont have to go 50 pages back to find one either.

The thread in question may have technically been better suited to a more appropriate forum. Im certain there is a pregnancy forum or similar here somewhere.

The title alone "Asking people you don't know, when their baby is due" doesn't immediately announce its self as a serious thread.

The social awkwardness of an incorrect assumption may lead to an embarrassing, offensive and possibly humorous outcome. There are some dark areas there too that should not be joked about.

Anyway, the post in question was on the tame end of things. I thought it was funny enough.....and true too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

So when is your baby due OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I don't find it annoying at all. Quite the opposite. Sometimes, if you're lucky, you never really fully grow up; there's always a little bit of childishness that stays in you. This is an online discussion forum, it's not a board meeting or a funeral. The usual filters or social norms don't apply. (Within reason, but typically in this forum) You're sitting behind a pseudonym, nobody knows you.

Don't be stiff as a board OP, crack that durty joke that you'd love to blurt out in real life, whilst sniggering like an eejit, and I'll be the first one to thank it and wish I'd thought of it first. :D

...I'll be the first one to thank it and wish I'd thought of it first. :D

It is also considered decorous to growl "Abhoy da KED!!" at around the same time. :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    It is also considered decorous to growl "Abhoy da KED!!" at around the same time. :D

Wha'?! Are you speaking English? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

I'm a woman well into my 30s and I've already made two gags* about sex on AH today.

Am I proud of myself? No.

I should have made more, and they should have been funnier. But hey, if I keep practising I'll get there someday.

*Three. <snigger> gags. Ball gags**.

**Four. <snigger> balls.

... that's what she said?

Wha'?! Are you speaking English? :P

I do apologise - that's Limerick Cit-AAAH for "By jove - well-hoofed, that young man!" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

I must say I wholeheartedly agree with the OP. All of this talk about bums and hairless legs is outrageous.

Is it that hard to have a civilised conversation? Seriously, it must be rock hard. It's a slippery slope we're heading down, a seriously wet slope with not much elbow room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭newport2

Pluck it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Blast it with... Oh wait, the angle isn't quite right :pac:

I don't find it annoying at all. Quite the opposite. Sometimes, if you're lucky, you never really fully grow up; there's always a little bit of childishness that stays in you. This is an online discussion forum, it's not a board meeting or a funeral. The usual filters or social norms don't apply. (Within reason, but typically in this forum) You're sitting behind a pseudonym, nobody knows you.

Don't be stiff as a board OP, crack that durty joke that you'd love to blurt out in real life, whilst sniggering like an eejit, and I'll be the first one to thank it and wish I'd thought of it first. :D

Totally agree with that. I like it when people still enjoy books they loved as a child, slip back into laughing like a teenager when they meet old school friends, enjoy chasing around the park with the kids. etc

But arriving into the middle of a conversation and deliberately throwing in smutty 'ooh look what I just said' 'snigger, snigger' remarks is different. If someone did that in real life you'd think they were a total arse who needed to cop themselves on. It sounds the same when they do it in the middle of a forum chat as well.

Totally agree with that. I like it when people still enjoy books they loved as a child, slip back into laughing like a teenager when they meet old school friends, enjoy chasing around the park with the kids. etc

But arriving into the middle of a conversation and deliberately throwing in smutty 'ooh look what I just said' 'snigger, snigger' remarks is different. If someone did that in real life you'd think they were a total arse who needed to cop themselves on.
    Pretty much, though it depends on the circumstances.
    It sounds the same when they do it in the middle of a forum chat as well.

Have to disagree.

But arriving into the middle of a conversation and deliberately throwing in smutty 'ooh look what I just said' 'snigger, snigger' remarks is different. If someone did that in real life you'd think they were a total arse who needed to cop themselves on. It sounds the same when they do it in the middle of a forum chat as well.

I wouldn't think that at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FortySeven

I might find them a breath of fresh air. It's entirely subjective. (Also depends on the quality of conversation being had)

Forums would be a very different scenario though. Sometimes a bunch of pigeons isn't quite cutting it and a cat may be required.