Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

69 cent body spray in Aldi would you use it

• 18-05-2016 3:02pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 726 ✭✭✭

Lynx is about €3 I noticed Vive for 69 cent.
    It comes in Vivid and Galactic.

Quick question would you use it along shower gel for €1.29?

It surely can't be much different to Lynx?

I'd use the €1.29 shower gel alright. As for deodorant, tend to avoid the Lynx type stuff in favour of the more standard Nivea type brands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭rizzee

Eau de sweaty bollocks is grand. It's free too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,385 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Anything, literally anything, is better than Lynx.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

I'd use a brillo pad or a bit washing up liquid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭mrsoundie

It surely can't be much different to Lynx?

I'd use the €1.29 shower gel alright. As for deodorant, tend to avoid the Lynx type stuff in favour of the more standard Nivea type brands.

Likewise, I do use Mitchum deodorant though, always look for it in Tesco on special offer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

The Vivid one is actually exactly the same as Lynx Africa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

More of a Hai Karate man myself.

http://www.stuffwelove.co.uk/haikarate.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

The Nivea one is cheaper than Lynx, and has the added advantage of not making you smell like a nacker who paints over his underarm crust

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,634 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

I can't wait 'til payday so I can buy some deodorant.

Roll on Friday!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

OSI wrote: »
    The difference between body spray and anti-perspirant is something that far too many grown man seem incapable of grasping.

I think they can grasp it just fine, it's the letting go is the problem.

You can smell them before you see them.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I think I use that shower gel, or at least something similarly priced from Aldi.

It does the job, I'm not look for something fancy when I'm scrubbing my pits.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Xterminator

use showergel from aldi/lidl al the time, its fine.

Still prefer branded deo's like sure. usually can get them in the euroshop or tesco for <€2 but have used aldi when i had to.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

69 cent body spray in Aldi would you use it

Ah one's as good as the next for my purposes.

Which is namely holding a lighter to the can and pretending I'm doing Street Fighter-esque fireballs out the back garden.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 45 gourcuff28

LOL at thinking some can of air will make you attractive, don't you know it's all about that face?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Lynx is about €3 I noticed Vive for 69 cent.
    It comes in Vivid and Galactic.

Quick question would you use it along shower gel for €1.29?

Well according to what I read on the "Life in Ballyhaunis" blog the Vivid stuff is pure fanny magnet, they gave it 9 briquettes out of ten, the Galactic not so much!!

As for the shower-gel, well its been re-branded as Bath Lubricant, the shower part was confusing the local folk!

I'd absolutely buy a Vive if it cost 69c.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I don't use deodorant. It's made from toxic waste.

Soap is soap, I'm not convinced one soap is better than another. As long as it lathers up that's all that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

ScumLord wrote: »
    I don't use deodorant.

Apt username is apt.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    More of a Hai Karate man myself.

http://www.stuffwelove.co.uk/haikarate.htm

Great read :D, but I was more of a Brut man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭eurokev

they have a shower gel for about 69c too and it's perfect. The deodorant is crap tho. Stains clothes and clings to your skin. I buy dove or nivea when on offer in multiples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Cien, musk for men

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

It's a formidable scent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭eurokev

smells like bigfoots d.ick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,397 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Ah one's as good as the next for my purposes.

Which is namely holding a lighter to the can and pretending I'm doing Street Fighter-esque fireballs out the back garden.

Hadouken!

Use a non-descript antiperspirant on the pits myself and a bit of CK BE/Hugo Boss or whatever is to hand on the torso.

So, if there wasn't a bang off it, I'd throw it under the arms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭MrMorooka

Yes, I use that one, and I use the 79c shower gel they sell next to it. No one has ever complained, I have no problems with them, so why would I waste money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

I use sex panther cologne.

60% of the time it works every time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

I use Old Spice Deodorant & Old Spice Shower Gel

Is that bad?

Polo_Mint wrote: »
    I use Old Spice Deodorant & Old Spice Shower Gel

Is that bad?

More a Blue Stratos man myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

I wouldn't use a body spray and I don't know much about the Aldi deodorant, but probably wouldn't use either.

I'd try and use the least invasive and sensitive deodorant I can find... and I wear the bare minimum at that. Mostly for the sake of other folk who might be near me!

The Body shop, Vasaline and Sanex type brands is what I go for.

Deodorants deodorise and antiperspirants stop the sweat being produced... There's nothing wrong with sweating so I avoid harsh antiperspirants... Body spray is pretty unnecessary if maybe you might actually wash yourself from time to time :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I never got all the hate for Lynx Africa, been using it since I was a teenager and I've never had any complaints?

The "Revive" stuff in Tesco for 50 cents, it's like that Original Source shower gel, phew! :D

Generally speaking, very cheap scents will smell like very cheap scents. I include Lynx/Axe in all it's forms in that assessment. Fine for teenagers, not so great for an adult man.

For really cheap shower gel that is less likely to make your skin fall off with irritation, I used supermarket brand baby all over wash as a broke student. Less than a quid and never irritated my skin or smelled of overpowering cheap scent.

Supermarket own brand anti-perspirant is going to do a much better job of keeping you dry and fresh than a deodorant body spray, which is mainly alcohol to evaporate quickly, mixed with cheap scent to mask, rather than prevent, stale odors. Antiperspirant is the word to look for, not deodorant.

Find a reasonable cologne and use it at your collarbone, the crook of your elbows, and behind your ears, and forget about body spray altogether. For men, Roget et Gallet Homme is reasonably priced and a major step up from Lynx and it's pretenders, and there are other well priced colognes that last well and smell much, much more elegant than a 69c spray.

Unsolicited female perspective, over and out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

eurokev wrote: »
    smells like bigfoots d.ick

Where .............never mind.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,348 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Sanex all the way for me. But some of the Lidl/Cien stuff is fine.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Niemoj

I love Lynx Black.... Does this mean I'm a scumbag now?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,488 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I hate anti persperants, that horrible gummed up feeling in your armpit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,020 ✭✭✭gifted

Giorgio Armani all the time...ye peasants :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Nothing like the odd swim in Old Spice to top up the old schmells....

Niemoj wrote: »
    I love Lynx Black.... Does this mean I'm a scumbag now?:rolleyes:

Absolutely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,848 ✭✭✭Andy-Pandy

I never use deodorant or antiperspirant, i shower every day. My body is designed to sweat, if i shower often enough i dont smell of sweat and I change my clothes every day. I've always thought that spraying myself with unknown chemicals every day doesnt seem like the best idea.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Niemoj

Absolutely

My sister thinks it smells lovely!!

....wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭eqwjewoiujqorj

Prefer dry deodorant sticks, much nicer than than those wet ones with a ball that you rub on.

Like Sure:

http://www.tesco.ie/groceries/Product/Details/?id=254760367

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Prefer dry deodorant sticks, much nicer than than those wet ones with a ball that you rub on.

Like Sure:

http://www.tesco.ie/groceries/Product/Details/?id=254760367

Does that not feel like rubbing a bar of dry soap under your arms?

Totally agree with the sticky wet balls comment, and the way they catch the hair under your arms... sweet jesus! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

Its 69c for a reason. You will only attract other tightwads if you use it.

Lads at work used to use the cheap crap from Tesco and god it was foul.

I can't wait 'til payday so I can buy some deodorant.

Roll on Friday!!!

Jokes don't come better than that. :D

Considering a trusted brand is in legal dispute, is any of this mulch actually safe to put on your body?

http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2016/feb/29/is-it-safe-to-use-talcum-baby-powder-ovarian-cancer-johnson-johnson

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,296 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭jack747

the fcuk body spray smells unreal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,613 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Andy-Pandy wrote: »
    I never use deodorant or antiperspirant, i shower every day. My body is designed to sweat, if i shower often enough i dont smell of sweat and I change my clothes every day. I've always thought that spraying myself with unknown chemicals every day doesnt seem like the best idea.
    Shower with a spray of water only? No unknown chemtrails? Wash clothes in plain water only?

Sodium bicarbonate, drop of vinegar. Be grand.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

Totally agree with the sticky wet balls comment, and the way they catch the hair under your arms... sweet jesus! :(

Why not shave under your arms then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,976 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Does that not feel like rubbing a bar of dry soap under your arms?

Definition of a first world problem.