Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Guards - 9.55pm Tonight RTÉ2

• 17-05-2016 8:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,543 ✭✭✭✭
    GDY151

This 2 parter starts tonight on RTÉ2, looks interesting :D
    The Guards is a landmark series bringing viewers an unprecedented, behind-the-scenes look at frontline policing in Dublin city centre. In this first episode we see how the Gardaí are tackling the drugs trade in the north inner city, the burglaries, thefts and assaults that arise out of it and the unintended consequences for other parts of the city. Series 1 Episode 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Samsgirl

Watching!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Samsgirl wrote: »
    Watching!
    Same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Seems to be completely focusing on drug related crime so far. Wonder is that going to be it for the 2 programmes.

I would love a Road Wars episode. Or maybe a shootout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Convicted of 3 counts of dealing = suspended sentence.

What a joke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,543 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

It would be interesting if drugs were legalized would burglary and street theft collapse.

Some amount of scumbags on it so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭technocrat

The judges have a lot to answer for leaving these vermin off the hook with suspended sentences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Would like to see the same documentary in a few years when the garda numbers are up. See have they more resources to blitz this ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

1st episode mostly drug 2nd be a bit different

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭pidgeoneyes

Solicitors, barristers and judges are the problem. But they're making too much money for it to change.

GDY151

I'd want a hazmat suit to be walking around dealing with these scummers, could catch all sorts off them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

The war on drugs has been an almighty failure globally and needs to be reassessed immediately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Notoldorwise

Slightly off topic but does anyone know why rte didn't report the garda march on Dail Eireann today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

12 bags of heroin shoved up his hole.
    I wouldn't fancy searching that fecker.

Slightly off topic but does anyone know why rte didn't report the garda march on Dail Eireann today?

They did, I saw it on the news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

"You have to send it where the sun don't shine, it's either tha or get caught with it"

The bloke beating the absolute sh1te out of that guy with a hammer.

Absolute lowest scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Fair play to the guards but I can't help but feel it's all a bit pointless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 246 ✭✭Notoldorwise

bubblypop wrote:
    They did, I saw it on the news

My mistake. I see it there now on their newsfeed...

GDY151

Have the junkies not adapted and moved online for doing their deals?

The drug dealing must be a scourge for the local shop owners trying to make a living among those low lifes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭swine

What an awful job.

Leave the area and go where? Arresting them achieves what?

GDY151

The drug dealing must be a scourge for the local shop owners trying to make a living among those low lifes.

And when your paying the massive rent and rates to have to put up with it.

GDY151

Pepper spray and a baton is what he should have used there.

Jaysus, why would anyone want to be a Guard?? Utter scumbags they have to deal with.

GDY151

Threatening the Garda with the syringe should have been the same level of charge as that if she threatened him with a gun, on the mental side of things the syringe is much worse.

3 months for 30 charges. The problem isn't the number of gardai on the street, it's the repeat offenders getting the judicial equivalent of a slap on the wrist.

Samsgirl wrote: »
    Jaysus, why would anyone want to be a Guard?? Utter scumbags they have to deal with.

I know several gardai and they all hate their job, easy to see why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭Gavlor

swine wrote: »
    What an awful job.

Not sure if I missed the cop show and am watching worlds worst jobs instead. Horrendous.

The worst thing is the menial sentences that the scumbags are given.

3 months for 30 charges. The problem isn't the number of gardai on the street, it's the repeat offenders getting the judicial equivalent of a slap on the wrist.

Don't want to sound like a bleeding heart but drug addicts won't be "reformed" by a prison sentence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Innocent hard working people tying to earn a few pound, scum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,363 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Don't want to sound like a bleeding heart but drug addicts won't be "reformed" by a prison sentence

Agree but what is the alternative in Ireland at the minute? Honestly don't know..

I would agree on that. We don't have the resources for rehabilitating addicts but "minor" crime across the board have ridiculous sentencing.

On a side note, that breaching ram looked quite small/thin compared to what you see on TV!

GDY151

The boardwalk is a bloody disgrace, the money spent on it and it has become a zone for junkies to sunbath and deal.

Did I just see a tram moving there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Tiocfaidh ar la ffs the scrote.

GDY151

I think Joe Duffy has his topic for tomorrows show :D

I would agree on that. We don't have the resources for rehabilitating addicts but "minor" crime across the board have ridiculous sentencing.

On a side note, that breaching ram looked quite small/thin compared to what you see on TV!
    Surely it's more expensive to have extra garda, prisons, prison officers than some safe injection and detox sites?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Mightydrumming

That battering ram job was something else!

Surely it's more expensive to have extra garda, prisons, prison officers than some safe injection and detox sites?

I agree. My initial comment was more in relation to all minor crimes having sentencing that is far too lenient, not just drug related.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,417 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Agree but what is the alternative in Ireland at the minute? Honestly don't know..

Legalization ......hand them over drugs instead of social welfare payments and write them off from the human race as a lost cause

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Not by a two or three month one they won't. Rehabilitation in prison only works when the sentence is long enough for a detox, treatment and education so 12 months minimum and possibly longer.

Legalisation and regulation of drugs IMO, along the lines of the drinks industry. Take the power and the money away from the big dealers so it's not worth their while anymore and straight away you're putting the street dealers out of business as well. Treatment - detox can then be carried out as per smoking / drinking but it should have the bonus of not having an upcoming market as the peer pressure to try drugs should also lessen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

agree , but also attacking a Garda and cameraman with a filled syringe and getting 3 moths for such a horrible coward evil act - never mind the other 30 charges - the judiciary in Ireland live in a different world , cushioned away from day to day reality of the world most of us live in , in there own pampered wealthy environs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Riverireland

thebaz wrote: »
    agree , but also attacking a Garda and cameraman with a filled syringe and getting 3 moths for such a horrible coward evil act - never mind the other 30 charges - the judiciary in Ireland live in a different world , cushioned away from day to day reality of the world most of us live in , in there own pampered wealthy environs.

I agree with it being a horrible cowardly act to threaten anyone in that manner is disgusting. However, is it not the responsibility of the security services in the first place to keep drugs out of this jurisdiction? If the illegal substances were not rampant in Ireland then surely these problems wouldn't be occurring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

I agree with it being a horrible cowardly act to threaten anyone in that manner is disgusting. However, is it not the responsibility of the security services in the first place to keep drugs out of this jurisdiction? If the illegal substances were not rampant in Ireland then surely these problems wouldn't be occurring.

in fairness very few addicts will attack with a syringe - I believe addicts should be helped and treated with compassion , many want to get clean , but for those who attack with filled syringes should get hard long sentences - I have seen it happen and the devastation and fear it causes to victim and family is horrendous . Drug taking rooms must be introduced quickly to keep potential hazardous paraphernalia away from vulnerable people , such as children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭kravmaga

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/1997/act/26/enacted/en/print

I think Section 6 deals with the offence of Syringe attacks.

I remember this was brought in to deal with the many drug addicts using syringes filled with real blood or substances similar in colour to commit Robbery from shops and the person in Dublin back in the late 90's.

Interesting 1st episode, just shows what the average Guard has to deal with on a daily basis.

The Criminal Justice system in this country is a joke. Complete failure..............

Part two starting.now!

GDY151

I can never understand why there's no push to extend or stagger closing times, having everyone ejected at the same time all looking for taxis, food etc at the same time is a receipe for disaster.