Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I miss The Thunderdome

• 16-05-2016 12:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭

It's a crying shame when you've had a beer after a hard days work and you cannot come on to boards with bile in your belly and abuse the schit out of another poster because he likes to sell 2nd hand leather trousers on adverts or put himself forward as an international cyber crime fighting hero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

No room for laughing rape jokes on this site anymore even amongst those who consent, ironically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

My name is Jim. My world is fire and blood. Once, I was a Boardsie. A post-warrior searching for a righteous cause. As the world fell, each of us in our own way was broken. It was hard to know who was more crazy... me... or everyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

The TD closure was ham fisted and overkill of the highest calibre by the powers that be.

Anyone that posted in it did so of their own accord, knew the rules of the game and accepted it.

Probably the worst decision I've ever seen on Boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,803 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

The dome lives on ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

The dome lives on ;)

This guy knows

The dome lives on ;)

That's a pale shadow of the genius that was the original Dome.

True true but every tree starts with a small seed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

I always enjoyed the posts slagging off a big chinned idiot, posing like a retarded Joe Dolan lookalike in front of his turf shed in a cheap suit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

It doesn't miss you.

Eh

Lolocaust was better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The dome lives on ;)

Haven't been there in a bit.Is it still the same three people giving their opinion on everything?

Come to think I remember why I left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

We don't need another hero

kneemos wrote: »
    Haven't been there in a bit.Is it still the same three people giving their opinion on everything?

Yeah,

Pretty much boards but with swearing allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Gonskis

The Thunderdome once was filled with posters who would be so quick witted that you would have belly ache from laughing. The insults were close to the bone but malice was never the intention. That was a long time ago.

It subsequently turned into a placed filled with neckbeards who couldn't come up with anything better than "that's what your ma said last night", and they became nasty in a poor attempt at humour.

Those neckbeards now have their own site. Full of idiots and cretinous fools who wouldn't know how to be funny if they spent three years in the front row of clown college. Creepy bastards who log on "anonymously" to <snip> but who unsurprisingly can't hide their own sh!tty grammar and spelling mistakes making it clear to anyone who has read their bullsh!t elsewhere that it's them.

The old Thunderdome is a long time gone and never to return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Wasn't it just renamed 'Politics Cafe'?

'twas but another victim of the Grand Sterilisation as the "New Ethos" took hold across the site.

As I am sure you are all aware, the Internet is a non-trivial matter and should be treated with the utmost seriousness at all times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

I joined the thunderdome last year, only the admin and the mods there, ghost town stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,125 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Gonskis wrote: »
    The Thunderdome once was filled with posters who would be so quick witted that you would have belly ache from laughing. The insults were close to the bone but malice was never the intention. That was a long time ago.

I think it was the perceived cliquey nature that led to its downfall. There was no malice, but that was only apparent to people that knew the place and posters that were active there.

Some people were wandering in without a clue of what it was all about, and they rarely left before giving themselves a chance to realise what it was.

Imo, the closing of the dome was one of the points in which boards started to fall apart.

At least when it was open, boards and posters had some sway.

Now, the people who have shit to say about others; go to the likes of <snip>, where the people talked about have no chance to respond, and have their personal details posted.

And Boards have no control over it. All they can do (and have done) is delete posts and ban people for mentioning the fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,495 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Where is this Thunderdome you speak of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,125 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Do we not even get notified when our posts are removed now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Slideways wrote: »
    It's a crying shame when you've had a beer after a hard days work and you cannot come on to boards with bile in your belly and abuse the schit out of another poster because he likes to sell 2nd hand leather trousers on adverts or put himself forward as an international cyber crime fighting hero.
    You can feck off with your Thunderdome there Tina Turner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Slideways

I joined the thunderdome last year, only the admin and the mods there, ghost town stuff.

That place is pitiful. I got banned because I used a different username there.
    They're pitifully unfunny and unoriginal. It's cringeworthy tbh

Ah but we both know that's not true ; )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Like a tribute band that barely knows the lyrics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

kneemos wrote: »

You're spot on there man..

A couple of bitch's sneering at people and so full of self importance it puts Trump to shame, other then that it's a grand spot altogether..

Like a tribute band that barely knows the lyrics.

A fair amount of spoofing going on alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

I used to love reading it, but sadly never got involved in the fray. Some of the insults were amazing though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

not yet wrote: »
    it's a grand spot altogether..

Tis indeed :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭Slideways

Ah but we both know that's not true ; )

Walked into that didn't you...

Multiple accounts to reveal personal details about posters is not the same as getting banned for using a different name ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

Having a username that infers one of the members beats his kids is okay so is it ;)

No wonder he saw fit to ban you, and I believe he PM'd you here and explained why, a change of username was offered too iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,436 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I think it was the perceived cliquey nature that led to its downfall. There was no malice, but that was only apparent to people that knew the place and posters that were active there.

I thought it was the bullying and singling out of 1 or 2 individuals trying to 'dox' them along with some horrendous racism were the main reasons.
    This coupled with 3rd part offence being a probable reason boards as an entity would end up in hot water.

I used to read it in its hay day and it could be hilarious. I particularly remember an elimination comp that the mods bollocko and tbh ran where 2 posters squared up to each other with the winner going to the next round. lassic stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,278 ✭✭✭Dr. Mantis Toboggan

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    I thought it was the bullying and singling out of 1 or 2 individuals trying to 'dox' them along with some horrendous racism were the main reasons.
    This coupled with 3rd part offence being a probable reason boards as an entity would end up in hot water.

I used to read it in its hay day and it could be hilarious. I particularly remember an elimination comp that the mods bollocko and tbh ran where 2 posters squared up to each other with the winner going to the next round. lassic stuff.

There was a subsequent tiering of posters in the aftermath of that competition I believe.

Pawwed Rig wrote: »

IMO its closure was part and parcel of boards moving towards the more business related incarnation we see now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,840 ✭✭✭Dav

IMO its closure was part and parcel of boards moving towards the more business related incarnation we see now.

It was closed because the members were involved in a cyber bullying campaign against a minor. Nothing to do with anything else.

Dav wrote: »
    It was closed because the members were involved in a cyber bullying campaign against a minor. Nothing to do with anything else.

Why not just permaban the offenders then?

Closing the entire forum because of it is akin to fishing with a hand grenade and was / is a convenient excuse.

*edited to add*

Was it not originally closed because someone, a non "game* user, took umbrage with one comment in particular which resulted in it been closed then reopened upon appeal from the members, as a private forum.

Its cards were well marked before any instance of bullying tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

I remember it as being a pile of piss, where for some unknown reason posters of the site would head over to and willingly insult each other.

Was usually frequented by the same half.dozen or so posters, sometimes hilarious insults, sometimes the ultimate in shock horror, and to me was a window into just how twisted some blokes minds and inner thoughts were.

Not a prude, far from it actually, but it wasn't for me. saying that, i can't for the life of me figure out why they didn't just make it a private forum where access request was mandatory, and so who was in knew the score.

I remember it as being a pile of piss, where for some unknown reason posters of the site would head over to and willingly insult each other.

Was usually frequented by the same half.dozen or so posters, sometimes hilarious insults, sometimes the ultimate in shock horror, and to me was a window into just how twisted some blokes minds and inner thoughts were.

Not a prude, far from it actually, but it wasn't for me. saying that, i can't for the life of me figure out why they didn't just make it a private forum where access request was mandatory, and so who was in knew the score.

They did...

Dav wrote: »
    It was closed because SOME members were involved in a cyber bullying campaign against a minor. Nothing to do with anything else.

FYP

[/COLOR]

They did...

Fair nuff, like I said, didnt frequent it for no other reason than I "just didn't get it".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,204 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I think a lot of people are remembering it with rose-tinted glasses. I joined in for a while, but after a few weeks it just became so repetitive. Same jokes being used by the same people directed at the same people... It got very circular very quickly.

Only good part was when they ran a tournament which was very funny as it meant people were really forced to be more creative.

But yeah, it was good for the odd quick laugh but the shine would wear off very quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,436 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Was it not originally closed because someone, a non "game* user, took umbrage with one comment in particular which resulted in it been closed then reopened upon appeal from the members, as a private forum.

Its cards were well marked before any instance of bullying tbh.

It was as I remember but unfortunately third party offence is a thing that businesses ignore at their peril. In particular towards the end there was a nasty anti jewish vibe in alot of posts due to one of the posters being (or pretending to be) jewish. No business that valued its future could have allowed that to continue and boards as an entity is responsible for what it hosts.

It would be great if it was brought back but I fear the level of moderation required to keep it legal would be unfeasible. IIRC weren't the moderators of the privatised forum part of the bullying?

Fair nuff, like I said, didnt frequent it for no other reason than I "just didn't get it".

It took a certain weird sense of something or other to get it, you also needed a thick skin at times...sure it was great gas altogether until Some knob from Dundalk spoiled it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

It took a certain weird sense of something or other to get it, you also needed a thick skin at times...sure it was great gas altogether until Some knob from Dundalk spoiled it.

What happened to it anyway?

AnonoBoy wrote: »

The Knob..?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

It was shyte

AnonoBoy wrote: »

Joined the family band. He's now forgiven, but not forgotten.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

There's enough cünts given the platform to bully and intimidate other users on other sites without boards following suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,495 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Was this a forum on Boards itself or a seperate website ? Because there is a thunderdome.ie forum is that the same thing or ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 457 ✭✭CaptainInsano

I recall at the time a mod saying that the abuse had spilled onto other social media platforms and that the actual mod of forum was involved. Think there was a thread in feedback at the time.