Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Seriously thinking of a bike camera to protect myself

• 15-05-2016 8:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭

Had a close one today.... Had some Cnut spit at me from a passing car. Felt some of it but by reaction was to look away as it flew thru the air. So no chance to get a Reg Number ... Just a a model and colour

Is there a camera that I can get just for the handlebars that will have a 15 minute cycle that will keep recording over itself etc. not looking to record scenery, mates chatting etc.... Just what happened in front of me if there is an incident???

Any recommendations?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LpPepper

Masala wrote: »
    Had a close one today.... Had some Cnut spit at me from a passing car. Felt some of it but by reaction was to look away as it flew thru the air. So no chance to get a Reg Number ... Just a a model and colour

Is there a camera that I can get just for the handlebars that will have a 15 minute cycle that will keep recording over itself etc. not looking to record scenery, mates chatting etc.... Just what happened in front of me if there is an incident???

Any recommendations?????

You could get a GoPro copy from Amazon for about €60/€70. Then you would need an aluminium bar mount - there's ones on Amazon again about €6/7 that are decent. The official ones are k-edge but are €30 plus.

Entry level GoPro hero is about €130.

In saying that, Gardaí probably can't/won't do an awful lot based on my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 859 ✭✭✭StevieGriff

Consider a rear camera? Fly6 cameras are fierce handy, less clutter, awesome light and a decent camera rolled into one package. Well capable of capturing license plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,310 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Fly6 on the rear, GoPro session on the front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Re you title - no camera will protect you. It may allow you to gather evidence etc. but it won't stop aggressive behaviour from other road users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,527 ✭✭✭Masala

Re you title - no camera will protect you. It may allow you to gather evidence etc. but it won't stop aggressive behaviour from other road users.

I agree... But just want to have evidence if I want to follow it up legally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,220 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

As as Nibali would say "the mother of cretins is always pregnant". :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

LpPepper wrote: »
    You could get a GoPro copy from Amazon for about €60/€70. Then you would need an aluminium bar mount - there's ones on Amazon again about €6/7 that are decent. The official ones are k-edge but are €30 plus.

Entry level GoPro hero is about €130.

In saying that, Gardaí probably can't/won't do an awful lot based on my experience.

The entry level go pro, doesn't do loop recording. So it can be a bit of a pain having to clear the card every week or so. And I'd agree that the Gardai wont do much unless someone actually hit you.

Weepsie wrote: »
    Gardai in station mightn't, but traffic watch gardai would take it seriously I'd think

Even the fact that I go to Guards and file a complaint ... Something will have to be done. Even if it's a call around to the driver house for a few words ... It might save someone life down the line and give the driver a good lesson. I would expect that a complaint will be auctioned....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LpPepper

The entry level go pro, doesn't do loop recording. So it can be a bit of a pain having to clear the card every week or so. And I'd agree that the Gardai wont do much unless someone actually hit you.

It will save 4.5hrs of footage on a 32gb SD card. You can format it in literally 5 seconds on the GoPro itself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,685 ✭✭✭barneystinson

Even the fact that I go to Guards and file a complaint ... Something will have to be done. Even if it's a call around to the driver house for a few words ... It might save someone life down the line and give the driver a good lesson. I would expect that a complaint will be auctioned....

Are you saying the driver spat at you? Unless it was a left hand drive car, or you were cycling on the wrong side of the road, it's probably a medal they should be getting for managing not to gob all over the passenger side of their car...

How exactly would you think it's likely to save anyone's life, genuine question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

How will the camera protect you? Does it have a forcefield that envelopes you?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Did you get the reg op, disgusting attitude to us cyclists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Are you saying the driver spat at you? Unless it was a left hand drive car, or you were cycling on the wrong side of the road, it's probably a medal they should be getting for managing not to gob all over the passenger side of their car...

How exactly would you think it's likely to save anyone's life, genuine question?

I can't decide which I find more irritating. Drive by spittings or the above post.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Had some Cnut spit at me from a passing car.

I don't think you read the OP fully, someone spat. General experience over the years is that it is the front passenger who tends to throw, hurl spit stuff at you, just facilitated by the drivers skimming you.

fat bloke wrote: »
    I can't decide which I find more irritating. Drive by spittings or the above post.

Well excuuuuuuuuse me for the audacity to ask questions! :o

Maybe I underestimate the ease of spitting out the passenger window of a moving car while driving?! Maybe I should try it on my way to work tomorrow..! (Not at a cyclist of course!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Den_M

Replies like this are the worst thing about boards and similar sites

CramCycle wrote: »
    I don't think you read the OP fully, someone spat. General experience over the years is that it is the front passenger who tends to throw, hurl spit stuff at you, just facilitated by the drivers skimming you.

Oh I read it alright, I suppose the point I'm getting at is that there's no point taking the driver's registration then is there, since it's the clown in the passenger seat who spat - the guards calling to the driver's house are going to do/say what, exactly?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Hurling a humdinger at a fellow road user may also have serious health issues.

Den_M wrote: »
    Replies like this are the worst thing about boards and similar sites

Replies like yours are actually far worse, at least I'm engaging in conversation; you're just doing the internet equivalent of raising a disapproving eyebrow over your glasses and tutting loudly.

I'm so glad I wandered in here as a non-cyclist, to facilitate you guys in closing ranks and tut-tutting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,038 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

.. Something will have to be done. Even if it's a call around to the driver house for a few words ...
    In my experience that seems to be at the discretion of the individual Garda. Some are great, others just consider cyclists a nuisance.

(On one occasion when I reported a pass at night where the vehicle actually made physical contact with me, the Garda on desk duty said that I shouldn't be cycling at night as it was dangerous).

Oh I read it alright, I suppose the point I'm getting at is that there's no point taking the driver's registration then is there, since it's the clown in the passenger seat who spat - the guards calling to the driver's house are going to do/say what, exactly?

It's technically assault, the gardai can call around, inform them that evidence has been provided, that the other road user is not persuing but to cop the F on going forward as the behaviour is now recordeded on Pulse. The Gardai are often (not always), very good at this sort of common sense, quick resolution policing.

Depending on the response, the Gardai may contact the OP, say the driver seems to have understood, or if the driver was a prat to the Garda, ring the OP and ask themm would they be willing to testidy to assault.

The latter is rare.

Also while driving a car, you are responsible to a degree for the behaviour of your passengers, if the video could show that the driver clearly and intentionally facilitated the maneuvre, clear swinging in, then it would not be hard for the Gardai to add that in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Den_M

Replies like yours are actually far worse, at least I'm engaging in conversation; you're just doing the internet equivalent of raising a disapproving eyebrow over your glasses and tutting loudly.

I'm so glad I wandered in here as a non-cyclist, to facilitate you guys in closing ranks and tut-tutting!

Some poor bugger gets spat on by an ignorant prick in a passing car, is obviously upset about it. comes on here to talk about what could done to help in some, any, way in the future and they get the likes of you questioning if it even happened or if they were somehow at fault without a single helpful word

I'm not a cyclist either and never post in this section but a bit of empathy goes s long way

You swung in to dismiss assault, while minor and in the long run, of no real harm. As if somehow in civilised society, scumbag behaviour is grand if no one dies.

My response would have been the same had it been a pedestrian being spat at, or maybe a pedestrian or cyclist spitting in the window of a car.

Nothing to do with closing ranks, more to do with an expected minimum level of decency.

Den_M wrote: »
    Some poor bugger gets spat on by an ignorant prick in a passing car, is obviously upset about it. comes on here to talk about what could done to help in some, any, way in the future and they get the likes of you questioning if it even happened or if they were somehow at fault without a single helpful word

I'm not a cyclist either and never post in this section but a bit of empathy goes s long way

Where did I question if it happened? I've no doubt it happened, and the fact that I'm not offering him a back rub and sweet tea doesn't mean that I don't empathise. This isn't Facebook where you have to say, THAT'S TERRIBLE HUN XXX...

The questions I asked were to clarify that it must have been the passenger that spat, and that being the case to pose what I think is a perfectly reasonable question as a consequence of that fact, as to how exactly sending the gardai to the driver's house is likely to have any effect.

Maybe it will, but considering the type of moron who'd do something like that, I doubt it TBH, they'd probably laugh at a Garda warning.

CramCycle wrote: »
    You swung in to dismiss assault, while minor and in the long run, of no real harm. As if somehow in civilised society, scumbag behaviour is grand if no one dies.

My response would have been the same had it been a pedestrian being spat at, or maybe a pedestrian or cyclist spitting in the window of a car.

Nothing to do with closing ranks, more to do with an expected minimum level of decency.

Where did I "dismiss assault"? I simply expressed the view that if it's the passenger spitting, the likelihood that reporting it to the gardai will have any meaningful effect to the extent of saving a life, is fairly remote. It's got nothing to do with dismissing or excusing the toerags that did it, simply recognising the practical reality of the situation.

If it was me and I had the reg I'm sure I'd report it too, but just wouldn't have my hopes up about any meaningful satisfaction resulting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭conkennedy

Deedsie wrote: »
    Can the evidence gathered using a GoPro be used in legal proceedings? Insurance cases?

Yes

Did you get the reg op, disgusting attitude to us cyclists.

No... Didn't get the Reg. All happened so fast...and I was concentrating on stopping and wiping myself clean as a priority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

In fairness I've seen several cyclist spit to the right and many occasions have missed people as they pass them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

Sympathies OP, unfortunately the world is full of a$$holes; some of them have even found their way into this thread...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

If the Gardai don't take the camera footage as evidence what would be the point. I had similiar craic yesterday on Dunbro lane out by the airport. Idiot in 08 black beamer decides to overtake 6 cars together coming towards me at serious speed. Missed me by about a foot. And no hard shoulder to use. I was shakin after that.

cjt156 wrote: »
    Sympathies OP, unfortunately the world is full of a$$holes; some of them have even found their way into this thread...
    MOD VOICE: Apologies I am an assh0le but as per the rules, go for the post, not the poster, if you were calling someone else an assh0le though, maybe just park it there or report the post, do not discuss in thread
    Johnnio13 wrote: »
    If the Gardai don't take the camera footage as evidence what would be the point. I had similiar craic yesterday on Dunbro lane out by the airport. Idiot in 08 black beamer decides to overtake 6 cars together coming towards me at serious speed. Missed me by about a foot. And no hard shoulder to use. I was shakin after that.
    Some Gardai will fob it off as not being forensic, the better ones will ask for the unedited footage ie full journey from start to finish. I got a dashcam myself after a car overtook 5 cars (from what I could tell) approaching a blind bend, at speed as I was coming the other way I slammed on the brakes. My daughter thought we had been hit, the stop was so abrupt. There was no more than a foot between us, thankfully the driver on the opposite side copped the overtake and lack of space and also jammed his brakes on, he was also missed, by no more than a few feet. Alas we were so busy avoiding the driver and trying not to vomit in shock that neither of got the reg. Every other driver managed to stop so we all got away light but I am no idiot, the speed of the overtaker and the narrow space, any distraction in those few seconds to me or my opposing counterpart, and there would have been a horrendous crash, I imagine at least one person would not have been walking home, be they in a coffin or a wheelchair afterwards.

The dashcam would not have prevented the accident but hopefully would have given a person for the Gardai to follow.

That's what I am saying....you might get some satisfaction that you have his Reg on camera and 'IF' you want to follow up - at least you have evidence. I can't see why Gardai wont do anything on it. A complaint will be made - a Case file will be opened ... and an official response will be expected.

So... going back to the start of the Thread.... a GO Pro is recommended. I see them in PC World and I have a BIG birthday coming up that might cover the cost. If there is an Ebay / Amazon compatible at cheaper price - I would appreciate a linky.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,890 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

ted1 wrote: »
    In fairness I've seen several cyclist spit to the right and many occasions have missed people as they pass them
    there's a world of difference between doing it by accident and doing it intentionally. not that that's easy to explain to someone you may have just spat on.

That's what I am saying....you might get some satisfaction that you have his Reg on camera and 'IF' you want to follow up - at least you have evidence. I can't see why Gardai wont do anything on it. A complaint will be made - a Case file will be opened ... and an official response will be expected.

So... going back to the start of the Thread.... a GO Pro is recommended. I see them in PC World and I have a BIG birthday coming up that might cover the cost. If there is an Ebay / Amazon compatible at cheaper price - I would appreciate a linky.

I have the GoPro Session. It has the looping video feature and Its a nice neat little package. So its fits very discreetly under the handlebars. Can you spot it in this photo? ..
    https://flic.kr/p/HaTUMK

Video quality is very good and you can Preview the footage via the Gopro App on your phone. Battery life isn't great (about two hours) but its fine for what I use it for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,901 ✭✭✭✭ted1

You could bring a civil case as oppose to a criminal one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Johnnio13

You'd have to catch the reg first Ted. Car was going too fast so I was thinking of investing in a camera also.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭2RockMountain

Weepsie wrote: »
    Gardai in station mightn't, but traffic watch gardai would take it seriously I'd think

You could well end up dealing with the same Garda, at the end of the day. Traffic Watch take the report and send it to the local station. It might get to the Traffic Corps, who do tend to take this stuff slightly more seriously than the average Garda. They should accept video evidence, and as others have said, even it if just means the other guy finds a Garda landing at the door, or has to go to the bother of giving a formal statement, it at least sends a message that you're not getting away with nasty tricks like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Bloggsie

Any recommendations?????
    sorry for the nasty experience you had recently, in regards to the camera, I would bow to greater knowledge of some of the other posts on the forum from other boardsies. I would report such an incident & if I had footage I would supply an unedited version to the Guards and advise them that you want to make a formal complaint against the driver, as previously posted here, the driver has a responsibility for the passengers in his/her car and their behaviour.

dont allow the stupid behaviour of some numpty to put you off cycling!

07Lapierre wrote: »
    I have the GoPro Session. It has the looping video feature and Its a nice neat little package. So its fits very discreetly under the handlebars. Can you spot it in this photo? ..

Video quality is very good and you can Preview the footage via the Gopro App on your phone. Battery life isn't great (about two hours) but its fine for what I use it for.

I see it in the pic....very neat and un-intrusive. Many thanks

cjt156 wrote: »

Is that directed at me, for expressing my OPINION that filing a formal complaint to the gardai is unlikely to save any lives??

I love how there's only the mod and one other poster (who, like myself, just happened across the thread) willing to engage with me as to what their issue with my posts is - everyone else are posting snide comments or just thanking others' comments (ironically kind of like an Internet version of spitting on someone, or thanking the one who spits on someone...) - is this the norm in this forum? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭ezra_

07Lapierre wrote: »

One bidon and long sleeves?! Mad ted!

How long does the charge / video last for?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Is that directed at me, for expressing my OPINION that filing a formal complaint to the gardai is unlikely to save any lives??

I love how there's only the mod and one other poster (who, like myself, just happened across the thread) willing to engage with me as to what their issue with my posts is - everyone else are posting snide comments or just thanking others' comments (ironically kind of like an Internet version of spitting on someone, or thanking the one who spits on someone...) - is this the norm in this forum? :confused:

Cramcycle has already issued a warning about this post. Please don't restart the argument.

ezra_ wrote: »
    One bidon and long sleeves?! Mad ted!

How long does the charge / video last for?

:confused: Whats wrong with long sleeves and one bidon??

Anyway, Battery lasts about two hours. I tend to use the one button feature, which means you press the button to switch on/record, then press it again to Stop recording/switch off. This method means the battery can last a lot longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,158 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

The Indo's camera's have been around showing "Shocking" footage... I would say these incidents are pretty normal in Dublin?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/shocking-footage-shows-hundreds-of-near-misses-for-city-cyclists-34718041.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Have to say I'm considering going down this route myself - had a close pass from two motorbikes on the N2 yesterday, they thought it was good fun anyway to pass our group, tooting their horns, at insane speeds.

As well as an incident last week, where I had a motorist aggressively beep and pass me close at speed while merging from a bus lane to a main traffic lane in a residential area.

A camera would have been handy to record this an bring it to the Gardai / Traffic Watch. I did try to take a video on my phone of the offending motorist (who I caught up with, plonked in the bus lane - my phone battery ran out), he was abusive. A video of the original incident, as well as the follow up unpleasantness, may have assisted in getting him at least warned, if not charged.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,723 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Got a half full two litre bottle of coke in the back of the neck thrown from a car last year in Portlaoise ,came very close to falling off,would of loved to get the reg.

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    The Indo's camera's have been around showing "Shocking" footage... I would say these incidents are pretty normal in Dublin?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/shocking-footage-shows-hundreds-of-near-misses-for-city-cyclists-34718041.html

Hunreds of near misses but could only edit together 56 seconds, half of which were not near misses.

Two people on the pavement (rude and inconsiderate), one person, stupidly undercutting a bus (near miss which the guy should thank the DB for not continuing), two people getting left hooked (better road position and more sensible drivers would have sorted both), one cyclist having pedestrians walk into him getting left hooked and one d1ck riding through pedestrians (who deserved a grazed knee at the least if they happened to fall)..

Most of the others were cyclists stopping in time or waving thanks to a bus that let them out.

Slow day for the Indo, or "The Irish Clickbait" as it has morphed into.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Click bait ! You would easily get better examples if you really wanted to highlight the inconsideration on show by all road users - daily!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Tenzor07 wrote: »

Interested to see the responses - from a car dependent nation like ours, no surprise. Other than 'road tax', lack of helmets, hi vis and making cyclists take a test / carry insurance, very few acknowledged the actions of the errant motorists or call for improved infrastructure or the restriction of the private car into Dublin. A typical day, really.

The video kicked off with an Audi indicating left, then changing his mind and continuing in the cycle lane, guy on the Dublin bike is trying to get back in left.

4 cyclists overtake a bus - 2 front guys have no hand on the handle bars. Caused a bit of a stir on the Indo comments. I've seen drivers o na mobile and smoking a cigarette / doing make up / eating cereal, so what's the issue?

Guy waves to a bus, who has stopped to let him in.

Guy on a Dublin Bike mounts the kerb, speeds down the path (with another cyclist behind him), then hops back into the cycle lane.

guy gets squeezed by a bus turning left - looks like the bus spots him and stops

Junctions at Georges Quay features - look like the second silver car almost turned across the cyclist, the 2nd clip shows a guy nearly being hit.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

The Indo sensationalising something? Never!