Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Baseball cap

• 15-05-2016 10:50am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭

What are peoples opinion on them. You don't see much people wearing them. I'd like to wear one but are they considered silly looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

The Raptor wrote: »
    What are peoples opinion on them. You don't see much people wearing them.

Not many baseball teams in finglas, yet I see every second scrote wearing them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

I'm not a scrote. But then I'm not from finglas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

A nice flat cap instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭kfrp

What are peoples opinion on them. You don't see much people wearing them. I'd like to wear one but are they considered silly looking.

If you are silly looking anyway then the hat won't change this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

I wear them all the time, lived in Toronto everyone else was wearing them. Came home and went to gym one of the guys their thought it was hilarious, I just laughed at him and asked was he really one to give fashion advice, then nothing was said again. Its a cap, who really cares what people think, Ireland can be so backwards sometimes.
    Its cool to wear everything crosshatch but put on a baseball cap and people have a heart attack.
    Just remember people wear subaru jackets, compared to that is a baseball cap really a big deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,564 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Nothing wrong with them. These new yokes with the giant bills ("snap backs" I think they're called) are ****ing horrific though and anyone wearing one who doesn't star in a hip-hop video is a complete knob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Get a John Deere one,create a dichotomy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Nothing wrong with them. These new yokes with the giant bills ("snap backs" I think they're called) are ****ing horrific though and anyone wearing one who doesn't star in a hip-hop video is a complete knob.
    'New yokes'? They've been around for decades.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,517 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Absolutely fine as long as you wear it backwards or to one side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,581 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Why would you care what other people think?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Ruu wrote: »
    A nice flat cap instead.
    Remember to doff it to your betters, peasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

these ones?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

PARlance wrote: »

Eh, maybe not this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Why would you care what other people think?

Reflected identity or something. Everyone does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Breaking News

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Ruu wrote: »
    A nice flat cap instead.

The calling card of the pavee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,076 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

astonaidan wrote: »
    I wear them all the time, lived in Toronto everyone else was wearing them. Came home and went to gym one of the guys their thought it was hilarious, I just laughed at him and asked was he really one to give fashion advice, then nothing was said again. Its a cap, who really cares what people think, Ireland can be so backwards sometimes.
    Its cool to wear everything crosshatch but put on a baseball cap and people have a heart attack.
    Just remember people wear subaru jackets, compared to that is a baseball cap really a big deal

Did you have the cap on backwards? :)

I think the person had a point anyone who wears a cap/hat inside looks like a bit of an eejit.
    But it is the accepted norm to do so in some countries.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Baseball is huge in Finglas. Everybody owns a baseball bat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

Go for it OP but don't forget to wear the addidas/nike tracksuit with a pair of airmax and the optional tucking your socks into your pants to complete the look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭rodge68

PARlance wrote: »
    Like Dan Shanahan !!

I wear snap backs, their really is nothing out of the ordinary with them outside of Ireland. Like I think people who leave all the stickers on them are silly, but other than that they are just a hat. How does it make me a knob to wear a hat that of my favourite baseball team

Eh, maybe not this.

Actually Im not sure if the other poster was joking, but a snapback generally looks best worn backwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

Baseball is huge in Finglas. Everybody owns a baseball bat

It took a while, but someone finally showed up ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

astonaidan wrote: »
    I wear snap backs, their really is nothing out of the ordinary with them outside of Ireland. Like I think people who leave all the stickers on them are silly, but other than that they are just a hat. How does it make me a knob to wear a hat that of my favourite baseball team

Calling it a snap back in Ireland is a bit silly.

I work with a guy. Late 20s. He has the whole thing; jeans like the bottom half of a wetsuit, rolled up to 2 inches over his ankles. No socks, ever. Big white runners. Skin tight jumper thing. And the baseball hat.

I think he looks a sight but he seems happy so let him at it.

Calling it a snap back in Ireland is a bit silly.

I work with a guy. Late 20s. He has the whole thing; jeans like the bottom half of a wetsuit, rolled up to 2 inches over his ankles. No socks, ever. Big white runners. Skin tight jumper thing. And the baseball hat.

I think he looks a sight but he seems happy so let him at it.

Late 20s? Like, a 'grownup'? Feck...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Here's one you can wear to a funeral..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

I didn't realise those hats were called snapback. Seemed to be very popular with the bros in Oz and NZ 8 years ago or so. Never saw an Irish person wearing one. They ridiculous looking IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Wear them by all means, just take the bloody sticker off it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭browne_rob5

For us bald folk it's a lot easier to wear a baseball cap on days like today rather than reapplying suncream all day. I'd take it off once I was indoors though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,564 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

razorblunt wrote: »
    Wear them by all means, just take the bloody sticker off it.

These are the ones I mean. Big flat peak with a big shiny metallic sticker on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

These are the ones I mean. Big flat peak with a big shiny metallic sticker on it.

There was a house down our way that had a room where someone had hung these ridiculous yokes on the wall like they were posters or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,285 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Go for it OP but don't forget to wear the addidas/nike tracksuit with a pair of airmax and the optional tucking your socks into your pants to complete the look.

Ya doin it backwards mofo! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 511 ✭✭✭TheBiz

Wear it when it's sunny.
    People will think you're practical.

endacl wrote: »
    Late 20s? Like, a 'grownup'? Feck...

Im 30 and wear them, I knew guy in their fifties who wore them in Canada, why is it a big deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

When a lot of the F1 drivers started ditching the traditional curvy peaked baseball cap for the gangsta rapper version, trend setter Lewis Hamilton being the biggest culprit, that's when I knew it was time to stop watching. You're sportsmen, not fiddy cent lookalikes you bunch of absolute cnuts! :mad:

deep breaths........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Did you honestly start a thread because you were unsure whether a baseball cap is too bold a fashion accessory to wear in 2016?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Not many fighter jets around either but you still see people in bomber jackets. Both bomber jackets and baseball caps are very well designed functional clothing. This is why you will see them worn in other sports and by police and as part of other professional uniforms.

If people were going around wearing baseball gloves to keep warm or for fashion it would be a different matter.

People wearing baseball caps in a non functional way also look like idiots, the tits you see with them barely on their head and a stupid long peak sticking up to the sky. Just like guys with woolly hats in perfectly warm environments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

rubadub wrote: »
    People wearing baseball caps in a non functional way also look like idiots, the tits you see with them barely on their head and a stupid long peak sticking up to the sky. Just like guys with woolly hats in perfectly warm environments.
    Baseball/beanie, slag them all you like.

Just don't step on my tinfoil hat.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

My brother is one of them snap back sheep who follow the latest "trend"

I **** you not, he wears his cap INDOORS. Like while watching tv laying on his bed and generally just around the house.

I agree with another poster, if you're not staring in a hip hop video then you look stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Clampdown

The fact that so many people in this country still gasp in disbelief at the thought of men wearing baseball hats, scarves, whatever, show just how closed minded and judgemental Ireland still is. Don't these people ever get tired of giving out about hipsters, wannabe rappers/yanks, whatever? Why do they care? If you think it looks stupid, fine. Why do you care if a person other than you looks stupid?

I think honestly it's people are who are insecure who make those comments. They know that they're not hip or thin or interesting enough to be able to pull off any item of clothing that isn't your bog standard tablecloth pattern shirt, superdry/crosshatch whatever jeans, etc. and feel sort of threatened by those that can. They're the type of lads who only go put in packs, all kitted out in slight variations of that same uniform, their mission seemingly to make their weekly jaunt to the pub resemble a stag. Don't let them dictate what you wear. If they want to stay in their basic box, that's fine, but not everyone has to do that if they want to try something trendy. Likewise if you're going to let comments from thickos dissuade you from wearing what you want then then maybe being fashion forward just isn't for you. It's not like a baseball cap is the apex of non-conformity. Grow a pair and ignore them.

People keep mentioning the sun, but baseball caps do a pretty darn goods job of keeping the rain off your noggin as well!

Btw, as with all things fashion related the cycle has reset and flat bills are not in style so much any more, even amongst the hip hop scene. Curved bills are back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,672 ✭✭✭elefant

Clampdown wrote: »
    The fact that so many people in this country still gasp in disbelief at the thought of men wearing baseball hats, scarves, whatever, show just how closed minded and judgemental Ireland still is. Don't these people ever get tired of giving out about hipsters, wannabe rappers/yanks, whatever? Why do they care? If you think it looks stupid, fine. Why do you care if a person other than you looks stupid?

I think honestly it's people are who are insecure who make those comments. They know that they're not hip or thin or interesting enough to be able to pull off any item of clothing that isn't your bog standard tablecloth pattern shirt, superdry/crosshatch whatever jeans, etc. and feel sort of threatened by those that can. They're the type of lads who only go put in packs, all kitted out in slight variations of that same uniform, their mission seemingly to make their weekly jaunt to the pub resemble a stag. Don't let them dictate what you wear. If they want to stay in their basic box, that's fine, but not everyone has to do that if they want to try something trendy. Likewise if you're going to let comments from thickos dissuade you from wearing what you want then then maybe being fashion forward just isn't for you. It's not like a baseball cap is the apex of non-conformity. Grow a pair and ignore them.

People keep mentioning the sun, but baseball caps do a pretty darn goods job of keeping the rain off your noggin as well!

Btw, as with all things fashion related the cycle has reset and flat bills are not in style so much any more, even amongst the hip hop scene. Curved bills are back.

This is sadly true. The insecurity about what you/other people look like/are expected to look like in Ireland is unbelievable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭farmchoice

I'm a bit confused, is the baseball cap not a fairly standard piece of apparel?
    im over 40 and people have been wearing baseball caps in Ireland for at least 30years. i'd say the can into fashion around 1985 well they did in my school anyway (rural mayo). in fact about 20 years ago every second fella walking the streets anywhere in Ireland had a baseball cap.

i suppose you might give someone a hard time if they insisted on wearing a hat indoors or at an unnecessarily jaunty angle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Bambi wrote: »

:D Thanks for that ... it gave me a great chuckle ..

I must watch that show ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

I'm not normally one to judge about fashion or people's clothing choices (that's a lie actually, I judge people all the time for wearing scarves) but it's fair to say anyone wearing a cap indoors should be booted solidly up the hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

I wear a baseball cap when its sunny outside (so only once or twice a year) to prevent me big balding heed from getting burnt to a crisp. I dont see a problem with them and I dont see any problem with anyone wearing snapbacks at any time of the year, at least theyre better looking than those fcuking ridiculous stupid looking retarded floppy wool caps that wanker hipsters were (and probably still are) wearing over the last few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭Juan8

Wear snapbacks a good bit, so do a good few people I know,

People calling them stupid are most likely 40+

farmchoice wrote: »
    I'm a bit confused, is the baseball cap not a fairly standard piece of apparel?
    im over 40 and people have been wearing baseball caps in Ireland for at least 30years.
    It seems snapback is used by people to describe the ones with completely flat peaks. I presumed snapback only was referring to the ones which are adjustable at the back, rather than non adjustable fitted ones, or ones adjustable with non snapping backs. But it seems some think its defined by the flat peak. If people had called them "flat peaks" it might have saved confusion.

The ones with totally flat peaks were around in the 80s too, and I always considered them cheap n nasty looking, everybody I know did. Type of crap you would get in pound shops or Oirish souvenoir shops. I remember people getting those and bending the peak to round it as it looks so shit otherwise. It is also less functional for shading. They look cheaply made and unfinished, like you would expect cheapo jeans to be a really basic straight fit, a few prefectly rectangular bits of material sewn together with no countouring or curvature.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Snapback_(hat)
    Snapback (British English: flat peak), called "flat cap" in some areas, is an urban slang term for an adjustable flat brim baseball cap. All other design elements are identical to modern, fitted, flat-billed caps as worn by professional baseball players. Snapbacks are less expensive than fitted baseball caps, and have become increasingly trendy in young urban fashion.

Although trucker hats and other types of adjustable baseball caps may be sold with pre-bent brims, usually with a mesh back section, these are not typically called "snapbacks" in urban slang. The brim is often left unbent in popular culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

It seems Irish folks don't get what a sap back is,
    Its a hat that's adjustable at the back with a snap to keep it in place,, very few people wear them,
    Most wear fitted caps or strapback caps but for some reason call them snap backs cause think its cool to do so but don't know the actually meaning,
    Always see instagram post about "rocking a new snapback" when its clearly a fitted hat (no way to make it bigger or smaller) or a strap back,
    Jesus people get it right rant over,

It seems Irish folks don't get what a sap back is,
    Its a hat that's adjustable at the back with a snap to keep it in place,, very few people wear them
    :confused: I would have thought the snapping mechanism was the most common.

This type

http://lf.hatworld.com/hwl?set=sku%5B20636949%5D,c%5B6%5D,w%5B667%5D,h%5B500%5D&load=url%5Bfile:product%5D

I remember in the late 80s it was a rare to see fitted ones, and people would bring them back from the US, rare to see them in shops here. I did not like them as they could shrink if got wet or washed.