Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fish Enigma

• 14-05-2016 12:33am
    Site Banned Posts: 109 ✭✭

What is it about eating fish, or is it just the company I keep, but I feel like its a discusting habit or something, I would be embarrassed to eat a mackerel sandwich at work, the boys would be slagging me for the day, it was the same at school. I love fish, and would eat probably 4 or 5 different fish a week. I feel like this has to be some kind of filthy habit rather than a healthy diet?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Yet you ride them op.

I like fish, I love mackerel...but sandwich?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

It's usually the smell, I had the displeasure once of sitting in a canteen one morning where a woman was microwaving her aquatic lunch despite it filling the room with an unbearable odour, turned me off fish for months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

It's usually the smell, I had the displeasure once of sitting in a canteen one morning where a woman was microwaving her aquatic lunch despite it filling the room with an unbearable odour, turned me off fish for months

Geez. you read my mind mate. I was just going to post the same about someone microwaving fish in the small kitchen in work last year. They would stink the whole place out.

But op, eat what you wanna eat. Anyone who slags you for eating a fish sandwich is an ejjit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

Fish are disgusting things, OP. They drink the same water they do Everything else in. They drop their guts and their loads in it. Then they imbibe it.

Is it any wonder they stink?

And you put those dirty fcukers in ye sarnies?

That's just wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Stigura wrote: »
    Fish are disgusting things, OP. They drink the same water they do Everything else in. They drop their guts and their loads in it. Then they imbibe it.

That's just wrong.

Lies :pac:
    What if I offered you a toasted fish finger sandwich now huh? HUH!? ... you'd bite my fingers off (pun intended lol)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭Stigura

See you, B.A ..... Ye ever tried walking into a chippers in a place like Hull and asking for a dose of cod 'n chips? They'll look at ye like ye Special. Ask why ye'd want to put cod in ye mouth. Because cod are bottom feeders. They eat all the other fishes turds. Urgh!

They recommend haddock. I'm not falling for that one though. Same sea. Haddock in front of the one in my sandwich has to 'go' sometime ..... Fcuk That!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Be grand, just get the passengers out of it :

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Well ive just become a pescetarian out of guilt more than anything so fish is now my only meaty pleasure (wahey).

Fish is amazing, and shrimps/prawns. It is weird how little fish we eat in this country, and peoples reaction to someone eating it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,072 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

This thread smells.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Freshly grilled, fried or smoked mackerel is so beautiful in a sandwich. Add some lettuce, some cucumber shavings and fresh cracked pepper and its heaven between slices of bread.

However, reheating fish in a microwave in a small kitchen is a hangable offence! No matter what you do, the smell lasts for days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

Stigura wrote: »

That's just wrong.

I like steak, and never seen a portaloo in the cows fields yet.

Them bastards just lift those tails, then projectile arse-spray dung and pee over the very same sods of grass they munch on a few mins later.

Steak ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

KungPao wrote: »
    Well ive just become a pescetarian out of guilt more than anything so fish is now my only meaty pleasure (wahey).
    You can still experience some meaty textures by going completely vegetarian and going the whole way. Just saying like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

I can never get it that as an island most people hate fish - go to Spain, Portugal, France and its a huge part of their diet. Just had this conversation with a work colleague and he was visibly gagging when I was telling him about the amazing fish paella I had in Spain on my holidays last week.

Worked with a Spanish girl who couldn't understand why you can get very little fish in Ireland in supermarkets etc.

Just can back from Spain on holliers and love the supermarket fish counters - lobsters, crab, shrimp, langoustines, periwinkles, clams and about a dozen types of fish - lovely.

I can only put it down to the fact that we have some of the best beef and lamb in the world - grass fed gives it amazing flavour.

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    I can only put it down to the fact that we have some of the best beef and lamb in the world - grass fed gives it amazing flavour.

...or because of some associated enduring latent guilt complex. Fish was usually only consumed here once per week on Fridays.

Shint0 wrote: »
    ...or because of some associated enduring latent guilt complex. Fish was usually only consumed here once per week on Fridays.

But surely the same in other predominantly catholic countries, Spain and Portugal in particular?

Interesting read here from t'interweb

http://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2012/04/05/150061991/lust-lies-and-empire-the-fishy-tale-behind-eating-fish-on-friday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Fish is just gross, it smells awful, it tastes awful and has a horrible texture that's somehow slimy and crumbly at the same time.

That's the only explanation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭previous user

Do you like fish sticks?

• Site Banned Posts: 109 ✭✭ShiddyArze

Just as I suspected, loads of fish hate on here too. I wonder how many of the haters have actually tasted fish, or different types of fish? I'd say they just got put off by the smell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I love fish I have to say.

The fact that most Irish people only eat it when covered in batter is a national embarrassment. And it took Italian immigrants to sell it to us with chips. For an island nation with some of the largest territorial waters in Europe, our disconnect from the sea is baffling and sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

This thread and the weather has inspired to head out to Howth for the day and stuff myself silly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Love fish. Love it, love it, love it.

I've occasionally brought it for lunch in work, but only in a form that can be eaten cold because much as I love it, the smell does tend to linger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Johnnyhpipe

Louie: Hey I thought you said Troy McClure was dead.

Fat Tony: No, what I said is that he sleeps with the fishes! You see...

Louie: Uh, Tony, please, no. I just ate a whole plate of dingamagoo.

But surely the same in other predominantly catholic countries, Spain and Portugal in particular?

Interesting read here from t'interweb

http://www.npr.org/sections/thesalt/2012/04/05/150061991/lust-lies-and-empire-the-fishy-tale-behind-eating-fish-on-friday

Perhaps it takes us longer than others to shake off a legacy. I believe we, Irish, are still very unadventurous when it comes to food. There's still a lot of the meat and two veg mentality. Not saying there's anything wrong with that. People here possibly don't know how to prepare fish in an interesting way to make it more appealing. As someone else here referred to our coasts being full of varieties of different fish ironically which gets bought up by Spain and Portugal as we have certain varieties that they don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,781 ✭✭✭dasdog

A lot of the population eat with distrust and fear. I don't know if its conditioning by the packet culture or where it comes from. Irish food is mostly bland, hearty and uncomplicated.
    Just can back from Spain on holliers and love the supermarket fish counters - lobsters, crab, shrimp, langoustines, periwinkles, clams and about a dozen types of fish - lovely.

Octopus, razor fish, barnacles. I stare at Spanish/Portuguese supermarket fish counters in awe and jealously.

I like fish, I love mackerel...but sandwich?

And yes, Toasted brown bread mackerel sandwich is delicious, try it. Small bit of mustard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

Just got a whole smoked mackeral from the market. yummy!

Just after having some mussels for lunch. Yum....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

Tuna and grated cheese sambo for lunch, together with some leftover garlic bread. A tasty combo.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Been canoeing and tried to catch some fish. Didn't catch any. Now eating sausages. Does that count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,806 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

There are loads of foods that I won't eat but fish isn't one of them. (Except my irrational animosity towards salmon.) However, when I went to Barcelona years ago, I opted for a some fish dish at one stage. My ex had a great laugh at my attempts to eat it, having to take 10 bones out of every bite. I think that's another reason big people don't eat fish. It's the bones...

When I first saw the title of this thread I thought that it read "Fish Enema" and thought WTF!

Bloody dyslexia!:o

Do you like fish sticks?

That one went screaming over everyone's heads... :D

Not Your Ornery Onager

Elgar

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

This thread is eely weird.

Ya it's a load of carp but it cod be worse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Not Your Ornery Onager

Variations

Not your ornery onager

There's a new book out, published by Fishtales a sister company of Penguin, called "Harry the horny halibut and his technicolour codpiece!".
    It's a great catch and you'll soon be hooked!

Not Your Ornery Onager

There's a new book out, published by Fishtales a sister company of Penguin, called "Harry the horny halibut and his technicolour codpiece!".
    It's a great catch and you'll soon be hooked!

I will bate you until you're bait. Then I'll give you (to the) crabs.

Not your ornery onager

^^^

Hee-haw

Why does Sean Connery not like lobsters?
    "Becaushe they're shelfish!"

Thread is starting to flounder, tbh

You must be Codding me, this is a great plaice to share fishy puns.. Get down of that perch.

ShiddyArze wrote: »
    You must be Codding me, this is a great plaice to share fishy puns.. Get down of that perch.

Badum-tish!
    Fish.
    /

What do you call a fish with no eyes? A fsh. (darnit, only works phonetically)

Well eye laughed so it didn't tank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I love fish I have to say.

The fact that most Irish people only eat it when covered in batter is a national embarrassment. And it took Italian immigrants to sell it to us with chips. For an island nation with some of the largest territorial waters in Europe, our disconnect from the sea is baffling and sad.

You think fish not being popular is embarrassing? Strange

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭The Pheasant2

I wouldn't be picky in the slightest when it comes to eating - I'll eat whatever's put in front of me.

The sole (heh) exception to this rule is with fish. Can't stand the stuff. I'll quite literally vomit if I have to eat fish - and it's not from a lack of trying it or whatever...I have fish occasionally just to make sure I don't really hate it but I've yet to encounter any I enjoy.

Fun fact: the characteristic "fishy" smell comes from trimethylamine in the flesh. Precisiely the same compound that you'll encounter in cases of bacterial vaginosis...yum

I wouldn't be picky in the slightest when it comes to eating - I'll eat whatever's put in front of me.

The sole (heh) exception to this rule is with fish. Can't stand the stuff. I'll quite literally vomit if I have to eat fish - and it's not from a lack of trying it or whatever...I have fish occasionally just to make sure I don't really hate it but I've yet to encounter any I enjoy.

Fun fact: the characteristic "fishy" smell comes from trimethylamine in the flesh. Precisiely the same compound that you'll encounter in cases of bacterial vaginosis...yum

TMI but interesting fact nonetheless. Tonight I fall asleep a little wiser. Thanks :)