Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How long for food poisoning to kick in?

• 11-05-2016 8:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭

Thought i'd bring this to attention of AH so ye can get a laugh as i'll probably be welded to the jacks all night tonight.

Picked up a feed from a local Chinese in Galway as too wrecked to cook. Munched it all... got to the last bit and as it was a little bigger than the rest of the chicken pieces I decided to cut it in half.

This is what I was faced with: http://imgur.com/RvCpeim

Brought it back to the take-away. 2 staff there started roaring at me saying that IT COOKED FINE, IT COOKED OK.

I'll put the toilet paper in the freezer :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Install the boards mobile app and be sure to keep us posted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭LightsStillOn

Looks grand to me. Though I usually like my chicken cooked medium rare.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,547 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

You don't automatically get food poisoning from eating raw chicken. There's a reasonable chance that you may, but you may not. Good luck, I genuinely hope you don't die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Amirani wrote: »
    You don't automatically get food poisoning from eating raw chicken. There's a reasonable chance that you may, but you may not. Good luck, I genuinely hope you don't die.

I hope not. Starting a new (big) project tomorrow, it's going to cost me a small fortune if it gets delayed :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Depends - anything from hours to weeks.

Chances are it wasn't the last thing you ate and you poisoned yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

looks like tabby, my neighbours cat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

I got food poisoning from chowder last year. The cramping was horrific. I had to drive an hour home, I seriously thought a few times that I was going to have to pull over and get someone to pick me up. I haven't looked at chowder since :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Liamario

Usually takes 24-48 hours, but obviously it can hit sooner. Raw chicken obviously has potential dangers, but if it's really fresh, you may be ok. You should definitely report the restaurant, particularly after their reaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

You'll be grand until tomorrow evening anyway.

Liamario wrote: »
    Usually takes 24-48 hours, but obviously it can hit sooner. Raw chicken obviously has potential dangers, but if it's really fresh, you may be ok. You should definitely report the restaurant, particularly after their reaction.
    Already sent an initial form submission to FSAI. I'm not one to rant online normally, but their attitude disgusted me... total defense. I guess, if they said "sorry", they've accepted liability. It's not like I went down demanding compensation.... they didn't even offer me a refund, and I didn't ask for one.
    You'll be grand until tomorrow evening anyway.
    Cheers.... still not great news, have work all weekend too :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Head out west and find your friendly local poitín dealer. That will kill any bacteria that might be in your system. As long as it doesn't also kill you, you'll be grand.

Real answer: you might get away with it. You said the other pieces of chicken were smaller, so they might have been cooked through. Cross your fingers, and your legs :(

You may not get any food poisoning. But you'll know if you do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭luftmensch

JohnCleary wrote: »
    Already sent an initial form submission to FSAI. I'm not one to rant online normally, but their attitude disgusted me... total defense. I guess, if they said "sorry", they've accepted liability. It's not like I went down demanding compensation.... they didn't even offer me a refund, and I didn't ask for one.

You should have dared one of them to eat it, if they were so sure it was cooked. I bet they would've changed their tune then :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭Dinky22

Remember what the Queen said!

luftmensch wrote: »
    You should have dared one of them to eat it, if they were so sure it was cooked. I bet they would've changed their tune then :P

That would have been gas. They kept trying to take it, but I wouldn't let it out of my hands (I had it wrapped in cling film) - Told them I was keeping it for FSAI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

Dinky22 wrote: »
    Remember what the Queen said!

Had she verbal diarrohea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Great bunch of lads...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

May as well start singing this OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭The Raptor

Chinese food is disgusting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Had a dodgy 99 one time. I think John you will know in a few hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Liamario wrote: »
    Usually takes 24-48 hours, but obviously it can hit sooner.

I've only been unlucky enough to get food poisoning twice and both times it hit somewhere between the 5-8 hour mark.

Horrific stuff guys. Both ends.

Like my body said - let's get rid of this stuff as quick as possible. OPEN ALL VALVES AND LET HER RIP!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

Is that not a well cooked cockroach in the middle there, like a fossil ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

2 staff there started roaring at me saying that IT COOKED FINE, IT COOKED OK.
    Good quality Rat meat usually has a bit of pink marbling through it when it is cooked properly.
    So looks like it cooked ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

All I can say is good luck and hope you don't get it!
    (Or if you do that it gets out of you quick enough!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭glenq

JohnCleary is gonna be sitting on the sh!tter for a long time. A long long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I've had it twice. First time (from raw chicken in a Chinese!), it took about 26 hours to kick in. Awkward as fcuk because I was on a night out with a friend who I'd eaten with the day before. Hadn't even finished our first drink when we were both running to the bathroom.

Second time, it kicked in after about 6 hours (if I'm correct on what food caused it).

You might be fine if the chicken was quite fresh. Just in case, have immodium, motilium, dioralyte and loo roll ready.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,683 ✭✭✭monty_python

Thought i'd bring this to attention of AH so ye can get a laugh as i'll probably be welded to the jacks all night tonight.

Picked up a feed from a local Chinese in Galway as too wrecked to cook. Munched it all... got to the last bit and as it was a little bigger than the rest of the chicken pieces I decided to cut it in half.

Brought it back to the take-away. 2 staff there started roaring at me saying that IT COOKED FINE, IT COOKED OK.

I'll put the toilet paper in the freezer :eek:

it takes 12 to 48 hours, it can happen quicker if its physical contamination
    chicken like that, i reckon 12-24 hours out your ****ed, stay by the jacks
    then again, maybe your a hard bastard and your grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I've only been unlucky enough to get food poisoning twice and both times it hit somewhere between the 5-8 hour mark.

Horrific stuff guys. Both ends.

Like my body said - let's get rid of this stuff as quick as possible. OPEN ALL VALVES AND LET HER RIP!!!

I've been there.my arse was in ribbons after it.the only plus side is you lose weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Looks like a layer of fat to me.

Be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Edward Hopper

You might be fine if the chicken was quite fresh. Just in case, have immodium, motilium, dioralyte and loo roll ready.

I wouldn't take imodium because the idea the body has with the sh*ts is to get rid of all the bad stuff that comes with food poisoning. Imodium means you are keeping it in your system longer.

Better out than in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Edward Hopper

failinis wrote: »
    Better out than in.

Very succinctly put!

Feels awful for sure, but if its kept in you I bet it could make you sicker (if thats even possible).

if you chuck it up OP, you will feel far better once its all out of you, just hydrate and try not to die :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Drink some Tequila if you can't find any poitín. That chicken looks like it's still clucking. Yock. Hope your tummy manages to digest it. Keep lots of fluids on hand and attend the doctor if you need to. Bleurgh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,190 ✭✭✭✭sammyjo90

Got food poisoning from chicken at a bbq last year, took two days to kick in and a week in hospital to cure it.
    Wouldnt wish it on anyone! I have my fingers crossed for you OP!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Johnnyhpipe

What probrem? It cook!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

failinis wrote: »
    Better out than in.
    An empty house is better than a bad lodger.

I flash fry chicken in a wok at a high heat and sometimes it looks a bit raw in the centre. Never had any problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭winnie the schtink

your bumhole will be like a chewed orange..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

How do you ike your steak, sir?

Cut off his horns, wipe his ar$e and put him on a plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,824 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Minimum incubation time for some of the food poisoning bugs is 6 hours, if it hits in that time frame you will be extremely sick, most likely vomiting and extreme diarrhea. I had it happen once and spent two days in extreme agony with almost unstoppable vomiting and diarrhea. Food safety is of the utmost importance to any business in the food or hospitality industry and should never be overlooked. Best of luck OP.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭sunny2004

is the OP dead ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭makingmecrazy

I've had it twice. First time (from raw chicken in a Chinese!), it took about 26 hours to kick in. Awkward as fcuk because I was on a night out with a friend who I'd eaten with the day before. Hadn't even finished our first drink when we were both running to the bathroom.

Second time, it kicked in after about 6 hours (if I'm correct on what food caused it).

Almost the exact same thing here. Shared some small dishes at lunch with a friend. We were living in the same house at the time. The next day(practically 24 hours down to the minute)we both got ill. Extremely ill. Just as well we had two loos in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

I don't get it. What's that a picture of?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Pray4JohnCleary.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I feel very sorry for the OP. Hopefully he'll be ok.

Too many Chinese take aways in Ireland serve up totally rubbish food and we just keep coming back for more. I really hope the place the OP got his food from will be shut down....permanently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Good morning OP. How is your arse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭sunny2004

LATEST UPDATE !!!
    http://imgur.com/hEVPeWr

sunny2004 wrote: »
    LATEST UPDATE !!!
    http://imgur.com/hEVPeWr

The exclamation marks really add believability and class to that headstone.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Name and shame, OP.

After reading the other thread I was all set on getting a Chinese tonight. Not so keen after this thread :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

if i eat anything dodgy i usually have an instant clear out and that's usually the end of it