Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Just spent the weekend in london....

• 09-05-2016 2:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭

And do you know what the best thing about the city was?

It wasn't the beautiful sunny weather, it wasn't the amazing transport system, nor was it the very polite people I met everywhere I went.

It was the fact the whole beard/man bun thing has already gone over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,199 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Tilikum wrote: »

It wasn't the beautiful sunny weather, it wasn't the amazing transport system, nor was it the very polite people I met everywhere I went.

I must have went to a different London to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Surely the best thing about London is making the commute back to the airport so that you can stop getting bled dry by the vastly overpriced EVERYTHING over there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

In London, man beards are now dyed to match skin tones and man buns are translucent...

Hipsterism hasn't gone away you know...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

NIMAN wrote: »
    I must have went to a different London to you.

I was actually shocked at how polite people were.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I'm a man. I love my beard. I love eating buns. Looks like I wouldn't be welcome in London. Thank you, sage wanderer, for your observations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭s15r330

smash wrote: »
    Surely the best thing about London is making the commute back to the airport so that you can stop getting bled dry by the vastly overpriced EVERYTHING over there.

This.
    I was there last week, when you go on a european city break you expect to fork out but London totally took the piss. Cool city but the sheer expense of it would turn me off returning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭The Randy Riverbeast

I thought London was a EU branch of ISIS, wouldn't everyone have beards then?

The internet lied to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,763 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I with you OP, the success of most things in my life depends on the prevailing hairstyles of the people around me

s15r330 wrote: »
    This.
    I was there last week, when you go on a european city break you expect to fork out but London totally took the piss. Cool city but the sheer expense of it would turn me off returning.
    I was there recently and needed to take the tube to somewhere just 30 mins away. £12 return. Holy shít!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

"Yes, honey...Just squeeze your rage up into a bitter little ball and release it at an appropriate time, like that day I hit the referee with the whiskey bottle.”

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

What have they replaced it with OP? There's always something, to quote that drug dealer fella "If you think we were bad, just wait till you see what's coming after us."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

That's my experience too. I lived there for the guts of a year and found the people lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Yet they still have men marching around outside massive gaffs with brooms and hairy bin bags on their heads.

Go figure.

I was there recently and needed to take the tube to somewhere just 30 mins away. £12 return. Holy shít!!!!

Was thinking of going to Salisbury (Stonehenge) by train, 2 hour trip, 166 pounds return for 2!! Needless to say we gave it a miss.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,248 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

What have they replaced it with OP? There's always something, to quote that drug dealer fella "If you think we were bad, just wait till you see what's coming after us."

I'm hoping for hats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭eezipc

This.
    Jaysus, where were you going? I think you might have got the wrong ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Went to London expecting everything to be like the Carry On films where everyone spoke in innuendos and responded with "Oooooh, matron!"

Complimenting a woman on her fine melons didn't go down to well :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

The bus from Heathrow transferring to Gatwick is something like £25!!!,which should be in the flight price,just a tip for anyone that's has to get a connecting flight,make sure you have the funds..

It cost me twice as much to get from Stansted to London city centre than it cost me to get from Dublin to London!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Was thinking of going to Salisbury (Stonehenge) by train, 2 hour trip, 166 pounds return for 2!! Needless to say we gave it a miss.

How was it that much?

eezipc wrote: »

Should have got an Oyster card :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

It cost me twice as much to get from Stansted to London city centre than it cost me to get from Dublin to London!

My flight was delayed getting in,would never have made the connecting flight after busing it down,went to the BA counter and they got me on one of their flights 10 mins later than my original from the terminal I was standing in and the plane was half empty,transit wise it made no sense!but I would have been fcuked if I I had to get to Gatwick and didn't have the funds!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

eezipc wrote: »

Be interested to see as well. We were there last year about this time last year (I'd lived there for 5 years, as well as visiting regularly, so familiar with the city). A peak fare from where I used to live (Bounds Green) to Heathrow - almost the entire length of the Piccadilly line - is £6 single cash (cheaper with an oyster card) and the journey takes about an hour. Half price - £3.10 - off peak. Unbelievable value for getting from one side of London to the other.

yes, the sterling exchange is not great at the moment, but if you know where to eat and drink in London, and avoid the main tourist traps, it can be a good value destination - yes, the main attractions like Madam Tussaud, London eye etc are expensive but there's lots there that's free. Much more cheaper eating options in China Town / East End / Brick Lane than Dublin. A pint can be had for less than Dublin in central parts of London. Children also free on the Tube - a major bonus if you've got kids in tow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Asian women with that polished plummy English accent.

The HORN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Twould be grand only for the ridiculous numbers of singing chimney sweeps and beggar children you encounter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,354 ✭✭✭nocoverart

You must be incredibly hot or something...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Qiaonasen

Was also in London this weekend with herself.

First time in London aged 28. Did not expect it to be so nice. The weather was amazing all weekend. Lots to do.

Between 2 people for the whole weekend we spend 260 GBR.
    Ok the hotel was free. We just walked everywhere instead of taking the tube.

Only thing was. 30 pounds to go up the London Eye. I will in me bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

That's the price for the unlimited off-peak one day travel card. So if you take one tube trip or ten it's all the same but £12 for just one journey is madness.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Rent a car? Stonehenge is very underwhelming though. Long and expensive journey just to say you were there. And you can't get up close and forget trying to get your dream photo of you with the stones in the background under a brooding druidic sky. There are other tourists all over the place to spoil your shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭The flying mouse

I going next week, I have been there many a time, great history, most people polite and helpful when asked, very busy rush rush everyone, loads of things to do and loads of things not to do ,just like most cities really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Next time fly into Bristol.

bigpink wrote: »
    How was it that much?

No idea, they were standard tickets too, you'd understand if it was 1st class. Only paid €73 return flights for 2!

HensVassal wrote: »
    Rent a car? Stonehenge is very underwhelming though. Long and expensive journey just to say you were there. And you can't get up close and forget trying to get your dream photo of you with the stones in the background under a brooding druidic sky. There are other tourists all over the place to spoil your shot.

Looked up car rental, was still around the hundred pound mark for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

For those commenting on the cost of travel! Get an Oyster Card and plan in advance. Made several journeys on Commuter Rail in London couple weeks ago, including Gatwick to the Surrey/London boundary and back, due to connections had to pass though Zone 2. A few bus journeys as well, and only deducted £20-30.

For long distance Intercity Rail travel, check out thetrainline.com. Tickets can be bought 3 months in advance. I have done London to just outside Birmingham, to Liverpool, and the SW of England, paid between £40-70 rtn for all of them, day or two before and your talking at least double.

Going from Heathrow into London, use the Picadilly Line instead of the Express. Gatwick into London, or to Brighton, use Southern Rail instead of the Express.

As for facial hair, its still in.

Looked up car rental, was still around the hundred pound mark for the day.

Where were you looking from? I hired from Gatwick, 3 days including Insurance, removing all excess, for about €70. No mileage limit, for a VW Polo or equivalent, A Golf was an extra tenner.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,960 ✭✭✭Dr Crayfish

Shint0 wrote: »
    That's the price for the unlimited off-peak one day travel card. So if you take one tube trip or ten it's all the same but £12 for just one journey is madness.

If he had an Oyster it would have been half that price or less.
    It's a great city. It's cheaper than Dublin in a lot of ways too - eating out for e.g. Way more competition there and cheap eats. Brick Lane for e.g., some good Indian food there and you can get a couple of courses with free booze for 11 quid if you pay your cards right.
    You can also visit the best museums in the world for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

If he had an Oyster it would have been half that price or less.
    It's a great city. It's cheaper than Dublin in a lot of ways too - eating out for e.g. Way more competition there and cheap eats. Brick Lane for e.g., some good Indian food there and you can get a couple of courses with free booze for 11 quid if you pay your cards right.

I had an Oyster card too. Bus/tube & trains excellent value.

Yea but 'Ripples believe it or not' is like £30 a ticket!

• Site Banned Posts: 6,498 ✭✭✭XR3i

haven't been to london in years

anytime i was there if i'd money i'd spend the day drinking in that pub across the road from victoria coach station

can't remember the name of it was something like "the duck and dog"

XR3i wrote: »
    haven't been to london in years

anytime i was there if i'd money i'd spend the day drinking in that pub across the road from victoria coach station

can't remember the name of it was something like "the duck and dog"

The area around Victoria station is pretty grim tbh. Some of the hotels there are total dives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

They charge way more for paper tickets on purpose.
    If you gor a contactless oystercard it probably would have been £6

They said the best museums.

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

They charge way more for paper tickets on purpose.
    If you gor a contactless oystercard it probably would have been £6

I think the £12 ticket is the cheapest if you are just there for one day and need to make two journeys, for example. Otherwise I think it's £5 for the card and minmimum top up of £10 although I may be open to correction on this but Oyster is obviously better if there for more than one day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Depends on what you're doing in London.
    I live here are there is great value to be had with the exceptions of:

1. Hotels and accommodation is general is very expensive.
    2. Transport is pricy but it is very good.
    3. Certain tourist attractions are massively expensive, however most museums and art galleries are free. Better value if you book in advance and get special offers.

Prices of food/drink:

If you know where to go and what to do then you can get very good value.

1. Want a curry then you can go to Brick Lane. If you have a group of people 4+ then you can haggle starters, main and wine for about £10-12 a head.

2. A normal price of beer ranges from £4 -£5 (5-6.30 euro). Same as Dublin if not cheaper. £5+ would be rare, 4.60 would be normal.

3. Plenty of pubs offer great deals for food and drink. Pub beside my house is buy one mean get one free. Means about 4.50 per great dinner. Or Pint and meal for 8.50

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Where were you looking from? I hired from Gatwick, 3 days including Insurance, removing all excess, for about €70. No mileage limit, for a VW Polo or equivalent, A Golf was an extra tenner.

I was already in London when I thought of it and it was the May bank holiday. That on top of I wanted it the next day probably didn't help.
    €70 for the 3days?

I was already in London when I thought of it and it was the May bank holiday. That on top of I wanted it the next day probably didn't help.
    €70 for the 3days?

Just double checked my CC to be sure. €67, and £50 for a tank of petrol whilst I was there. Booked it about a week before from Gatwick, checked London Collections and Drop Off which were over €100 for the same period.

The Hunterian Musem is free. And creepy as fúck!

https://evareynolds.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/l1030605.jpg

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_qoxy3re4aN4/TUgS8EH0wGI/AAAAAAAAADk/iP4odwoBFNs/s1600/PICT0025.JPG

That's a real 'Believe it or Not' place.

maudgonner wrote: »
    The Hunterian Musem is free. And creepy as fúck!

That's a real 'Believe it or Not' place.

Damn, turns out I used to work right beside that and never knew about it. I wont sleep tonight after seeing that slice of face in the jar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Men's fashion trends started in Ireland anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Next visit will definately involve going to the Globe to see a production, any production. The London Eye will also feature, as well as a trip up the Shard, and hopefully (just hopefully) a proper curry in brick lane if the wife allows (she hates curry) so it might be a solo run :))

I also love travelling on the Tube, and more recently the Borismasters!