Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snack food addictions.

• 08-05-2016 5:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭

What's your current snack food addictions?

I'm currently obsessed with nougat bars and those vanilla milkshake flavoured yazoo drinks. Fook but they are delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Danish pastries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭caille

Madeira cake, I have discovered lately that Rafferty's brand is the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

Monster Munch
    BBQ Beef Hula Hoops
    Walkers Baked Cheese and Onion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Anything bad for me. Usually chocolate related

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Rosie Rant

Boost bars, yum!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭George Michael

m and m's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 X200

Meanies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 HairyGrowler

Pringles, the heroin of snacks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Danish pastries
    Hard to beat with a big mug of tae.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

They really are. You feel like ****e and a glutten after you finish one of the big tubes too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Coopaloop

Ice cream in a pint glass with fizzy orange and broken up flake...yummy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Star Bar.

The only chocolate bar that tastes better the warmer it gets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Mugatuu

Those maple and pecan slices with a cup of strong coffee yummm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,618 ✭✭✭Heroditas

Dry roasted peanuts, particularly the Tesco brand ones. Can't stop shovelling them into me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,806 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    They really are. You feel like ****e and a glutten after you finish one of the big tubes too.
    And you even start to feel a bit guilty as you get rid of the second empty tube, and open the third...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

Buffalo wings. Curse the day I learned to make them... and the blue cheese dip. Well, no, I take that back. :D

how do you make the wings, every time I try they're ****e. did spare ribs today they were nice and falling off the bone and everything but my bbq sauce wasn't great

Roll them in flour then deep fry them for 10mins. Toss in a mix of Franks hot wing sauce and melted unsalted butter.
    Job done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Crisps.
    Been buying Pringles every weekend and eating the entire tube so I'm putting a stop to that because the initial enjoyment is replaced by a very dry tongue and feeling sick.

Tesco Dry Roasted Peanuts are another one; can't buy them 'cos I'll eat the lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Yester

Eridanous Peanut bites from lidl.
    The ingredients are:68% peanuts, glucose syrup, Sugar, Honey.

Very nice (a bit sweet)

fussyonion wrote: »

Tesco Dry Roasted Peanuts are another one; can't buy them 'cos I'll eat the lot.

They sell a 400g bag which costs waaaay less than smaller bags made by order brands. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭pl4ichjgy17zwd

Those walkers spicy mix ups.

Pringles too, love the salt and vinegar ones. Sometimes you get ones so vinegary they burn your lips and tongue. Love that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Chocolate. All of it.

Tesco Finest cookies are my main weakness nowadays. I'll eat all 4 in about a minute or two.

Also jaffa cakes. I'd eat a whole packet in no time.

Giant buttons, the big bags. They won't last long around me.

Cinnamon swirls. Yeah they're just to easy to squeeze into my mouth...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

Chilli Doritos. I'm a danger to myself around a bag of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,680 ✭✭✭✭TheDriver

Bistro crisps - salt and vinegar. Cant beat them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭groucho marx

Chilli doritos, filthy yokes I love them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Apple pie
    Battenberg cake
    Tayto cheese and onion
    Apple Danish
    Muffins with Apple inside
    Jam donuts
    Jellybeans
    Dr Pepper
    Monster munch
    White kinder Bueno

Flour on buffalo wings? No. Here's the recipe I've developed and tested and the one I go by every time:

WINGS:
    24 wing pieces (12 wings cut in 3 bits, discard the tips)
    1/2 cup (125 ml) Frank's Red Hot sauce (not the kind for wings)
    1/3 cup (80 ml) Huy Fong Sriracha sauce
    1/3 cup (80 ml) melted butter
    1/2 tsp (5 ml) garlic powder

Pat wing pieces dry with paper towels. Bake at 275 (135) degrees for 30 minutes, until the meat is mostly cooked and the skin is still fairly pale. Heat the fryer oil to 375 (190) degrees and fry the wings in two batches, flat pieces and drumstick pieces separately, until the skin is nicely browned and crispy, about 10-13 minutes per batch. While the wings are cooking, mix the sauces, butter, and garlic in a large mixing bowl and set aside. As soon as the first batch is done, drain the excess oil and dump the wings into the sauce bowl. Toss to coat. With tongs, remove the wings from the sauce to an ovenproof dish and set the dish in the oven to keep warm while you fry and coat the second batch. Toss the batches together and serve while hot with cold blue cheese dip.

(Alternatively, you can pre-fry the wings until half-cooked, leave for 5-10 minutes, then re-fry in the reheated oil.)

BLUE CHEESE DIP:
    4 ounces (125 g) Roquefort or creamy blue cheese, at room temperature
    1/2 cup (125 ml) heavy mayonnaise
    1 tsp (5 ml) fresh coarse-ground black pepper
    1 tsp (5 ml) garlic powder
    1 tsp (5 ml) balsamic vinegar (white if you have it)
    A few spoonfuls heavy cream (whipping cream)

Mash the Roquefort in a small mixing bowl until well crumbled. Mix in the mayo, pepper, garlic, and vinegar. Loosen to dip consistency with a little cream. Refrigerate until needed.

https://scontent-ams3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/1514154_243585739134135_331952601_n.jpg?oh=7f13b81ea63346cac038b326881a0542&oe=57A01A59

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Tortilla Pringles. Once you pop and all that.

White chocolate. Fecking lovely.

I'll have to try that I was doing all sorts of fuckery with flour when following other recipes, heart breaking stuff when they turn out ****e

I'm contemplating going to the shop to fulfil my snack desires. I'm supposed to be attempting to lose 7lbs. So torn right now.

Wispa bites
    Hunky Dorys
    Tayto cheese and onion
    Little bun things that the daddy buys
    Milka chocolate
    Ben and Jerry's ice-cream.
    Samitches
    Cheese strings

It's hard to be good in the face of such wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Granola with half an Aldi chocolate yoghurt and two tablespoons of whipped cream mixed up with it.

Oh, the sweet, sweet calorific content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

Mini Bramley apple pies
    French Fancies
    Skips
    Monster Munch
    Any kind of chocolate
    Jellybeans
    Jellytots
    Cookie dough ice cream

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

Athlone Sweets Wine gums

I'll have to try that I was doing all sorts of fuckery with flour when following other recipes, heart breaking stuff when they turn out ****e

The secret to the crispy skin and moist interior is the double cook. The "intermission" period brings moisture back to the surface that "pops" the skin when you put them back into the hot oil, like great crackling. This cannot happen if the wings are floured. Cooking them in two short goes instead of one long one also keeps the inside moister. Trust me on this. I am a fanatic. :)

Also, if you are game, feel free to add your own hot sauces. I am a particular fan of naga jolokia (the flavor, once you get past the heat, is fruity and complex and altogether delicious). Do not rub your eyes until after you've scrubbed your hands with washing up liquid. Trust me on this too.

(Edit: If you cannot find the Huy Fong Sriracha, the Tesco Sriracha is, believe it or not, a decent substitute. I don't like that Flying Goose stuff.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

Keoghs Salt & Vinegar Crisps

Doritos Lightly Salted with sour cream, salsa and jalepenos

Galaxy Caramel

M&S Madagascan Vanilla Custard (holy f I could eat the whole tub myself)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭The Young Wan

Haribo. Mainly the Tangtastics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,506 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

To name but a few:

Ben & Jerry's Chocolate Fudge Ice-Cream.
    KP Salt & Vinegar Peanuts.
    Glenilen Farm Lemon Cheesecake.
    Chocolate almond croissants.

Speedwell wrote: »
    The secret to the crispy skin and moist interior is the double cook. The "intermission" period brings moisture back to the surface that "pops" the skin when you put them back into the hot oil, like great crackling. This cannot happen if the wings are floured. Cooking them in two short goes instead of one long one also keeps the inside moister. Trust me on this. I am a fanatic. :)

Also, if you are game, feel free to add your own hot sauces. I am a particular fan of naga jolokia (the flavor, once you get past the heat, is fruity and complex and altogether delicious). Do not rub your eyes until after you've scrubbed your hands with washing up liquid. Trust me on this too.

I do a similar two step cook with chips and definitely have found it's the best way of getting the outside to be really crispy, so I'll definitely do that for the wings. I'll have to look up a few of the not-so-hot hot sauces, I'm grand up to the habaneros and scotch bonnet level of heat but any of the super hot chillis I can't handle yet.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

Crusti Croc Sour Cream and Onion crisp from Lidl. Holy fck that sht's addictive.

Pringles also. Feel so happy and content while eating the but like sht as soon as you stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Mugatuu

Mr. Kiplings French fancies! (F*ckin love them)
    Salt and Vinegar Pringles
    Toffifees
    Baileys cheesecake
    Sticky toffee pudding
    Hagen Daz - coffee ice cream
    Ben and Jerrys - baked Alaska

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Cans of Coke - Liquid Heroin

Anything Cadburys is usually a winner also..

And Hunky dory crisps these days have overtaken King and Tayto in my books....

Kinder Bon Bon things - yum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tails_naf

I'm very partial to fizzy cola bottles. Many brands are muck (I'm looking at yiu treco), but the dominion brand in aldi are lovely. They do the best pink and blue fizzy cola bottles too. Eating a bag of those has to be terrible for you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,358 ✭✭✭Aineoil

Digestive biscuits with strawberry yogurt - delicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

Salt and vinegar hunky Dorys. Any chocolate that I can dip in my tea such as kitkats or Yorkie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭gigantic09

Called into my dealer one night and all he had was those tayto toobz yokes. Mite as well have stuck them up me arse,for all the good they done me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

gigantic09 wrote: »
    Called into my dealer one night and all he had was those tayto toobz yokes. Mite as well have stuck them up me arse,for all the good they done me.

Oh no..Toobz Sour Cream and Onion are bloody gorgeous in their own right.
    Not like Pringles but equally as delicious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Lidl milk chocolate with hazelnuts. Once opened it will be devoured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Lidl milk chocolate with hazelnuts. Once opened it will be devoured.

The Fin Carré stuff by any chance? I've just demolished a full 100g bar of the milk chocolate and its highly possible I'll finish the last bar in the house yet tonight. Never left Lidl without 4 or 5 bars of it. I think i might have diabetes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

Keogh's crisps (any flavour but s&v are outstanding).

Kinder Country bars now called Kinder Cereal I think?

S&V peanuts.

Homemade Banoffee.

Peanut and Cookie M&Ms mixed up together.

Popcorn and Maltesers mixed up together.