Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you run in cycle lanes?

• 08-05-2016 9:17am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭

Hi I do so quite a bit. The road is less damaging to the bones than the path ? But how safe I feel varies quite a bit. Am I being foolish in doing it at all or is it established practice ? Thoughts appreciated ☺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 804 ✭✭✭JohnDozer

I don't have the opportunity often, but I'd only really do it if it was a cycle lane where cycle traffic is only supposed to travel in one direction, so I run against it so I can see what's coming. Wouldn't trust I'd have the full awareness of bikes approaching from behind while running. I'd see the benefits in terms of better surface alright.

In any case, everyone should have a bell on their bike!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Spirogyra wrote: »
    Hi I do so quite a bit. The road is less damaging to the bones than the path ? But how safe I feel varies quite a bit. Am I being foolish in doing it at all or is it established practice ? Thoughts appreciated ☺

Getting hit by a bike or a car is even more damaging to the bones.

(But is running a path more damaging than running on the road? The difference in surface is very marginal)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Change where you run.
    Cycle to a safer place then do your run.

Amount of people I see doing this and it's a very silly thing to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

How do you feel about cyclists on the footpath?

It's not clever and its not necessary.
    There was a fatal incident in the Phoenix Park (I assume this prompts your thread?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

I wouldn't recommend it, cycling lanes are supposed to be there for cyclist safety and to separate them from the road. If everyone starts running and walking on them, the cyclists end up back on the road and as a cyclist, that's the last place I want to be in a city alongside 10 tonne buses and cars if I have the option.

It's just a little consideration and good manners for people on foot to stay out of them. It's not that much to ask so I avoid it as a runner and stay on the footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭Paddy1234

I run in a cycle lane a lot. It's a one lane cycle lane and I run facing the bikes. If a bike is coming I just make my way onto the path and then back onto the cycle lane when they have passed. It's much better surface and I'm not impeding the cyclists in any way so I think it's fine. I get the odd look from the cyclists as they are passing but as I said there is no interference with them. The one thing to be careful of is cars coming out of houses or roads they are not expecting something coming in the opposite direction to the bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,148 ✭✭✭rom

Paddy1234 wrote: »
    I run in a cycle lane a lot. It's a one lane cycle lane and I run facing the bikes. If a bike is coming I just make my way onto the path and then back onto the cycle lane when they have passed. It's much better surface and I'm not impeding the cyclists in any way so I think it's fine. I get the odd look from the cyclists as they are passing but as I said there is no interference with them. The one thing to be careful of is cars coming out of houses or roads they are not expecting something coming in the opposite direction to the bikes.

All works well and good but I see a lot of cyclists that think its ok to go the wrong way on a cycle lane. The mind boggles. Was even talking to a guy at work who was surprised that he got hit by a car at a t-juntion for doing so. I had to walk away before I got any more annoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,079 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

Hi I do so quite a bit.

Please don't as a courtesy to other lane users.
    The road is less damaging to the bones than the path ?

You're not entirely sure? Is this a rhetorical question, or are you asking people if it's less damaging to the bones? Since the surfaces are practically identical in most cases (the only difference being a painted white line saying "Bike Lane", or "No pedestrians" as in the case of the Phoenix Park), I'm going to assume the answer is "No it's not less damaging to the bones".

Is it more damaging if you get hit by a cyclist? Then yes. For both parties.

As a cyclist and a runner, I have respect for both parties and make sure that I stay off the cycle lanes as I know how terrifying it can be to turn a corner and narrowly scrape by a runner coming in the opposite direction. On a cycle lane, cyclists correctly assume that the only traffic they will encounter are other bikes in front of them going in the same direction so I can only see it as entirely selfish for someone to be running on these lanes when there is a perfectly good pedestrian path a few metres away.

It's mutual respect so that we can all enjoy the lanes.

On another note, please stay left when running/walking, especially where you have pedestrian lanes adjoining cycle lanes, since it means you will see cyclists coming towards you, rather than suddenly appearing to your right (if you are running on the rhs).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

rom wrote: »
    All works well and good but I see a lot of cyclists that think its ok to go the wrong way on a cycle lane. The mind boggles. Was even talking to a guy at work who was surprised that he got hit by a car at a t-juntion for doing so. I had to walk away before I got any more annoyed.

The OP asked if it was OK to run in cycling lanes. This isn't an opportunity to bash cyclists because there's a few Muppets out there. I see a ton of runners on the wrong side of the road for running too BTW. All runners must be a pack of Muppets as well.:rolleyes:

You might meet CycleDub...it's his space you know...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 ThrillCosby

There's no choice on some routes unfortunately

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭uvox

Run in cycle lanes? People don't even cycle in them. #thankyouMichaelOLeary

But seriously, yes. If it's safe to do so. I presume you mean the dedicated type like along the Grand Canal in Dublin rather than those painted onto the roadway (the latter, no I don't run in).

I've run a lot in cycle lanes in the Netherlands. It's the done thing for runners (yes, it is). Mind you if you walk, you'll be run down. However, decorum and civil understanding like that doesn't work in Dublin.

Regardless of where you run in an urban setting, be careful. Running defensively (on the watch for unexpected appearances and actions of trucks, cars, dogs, techie hipsters on solo wheels, potholes, joggers...) works for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

As both a cyclist and a runner please stop running in cycle lanes. We ha a fatal accident this week where a pedestrian was in the cycle lane and the cyclist died.

Please please please don't let it happen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

I read the question as the OP saying " I know full well I shouldn't run in cycle lanes and am just an accident waiting to happen. Please tell me you also do it so I can justify it in some small way"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Hannibelle Smeeeth

My friend in work's cousin's husband died last Thurs. He was a cyclist in the phoenix park who crashed into a pedestrian. Not sure yet as to whether it was a pedestrian in the cycle lane, but it has made me so conscious of it. I noticed the last few days so many do it. I think I did it myself for a while. I also saw in the PP today so many runners in the cycle lane and the cyclists have no where to go but onto the road. My husband was cycling the other night and came across a girl, in the cycle lane with earphones on. So the warning he shouted to her fell on deaf ears. Sometimes its tempting because the cycle lanes are so smooth, but I think its very unfair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

I cycle and even I don't cycle in the cycle lanes. Road for me, too many pedestrians or mothers with prams. I do run along side them when they are the pointless ones like the phoneix Park or d15

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Amount of people I see doing this and it's a very silly thing to do.

It's location and context depending. My daily route is around new roads which were built with those wide adjoining paths and cycle lanes, and you'd be lucky to see cyclists on it from one part of the day to another, so I generally plod on the tarmac closest to the concrete path. You can see what's coming a couple of K ahead so it's pretty safe with plenty of time to move out, although alot of the time the cyclists meander between the lanes also.The cyclists you do see out training are always on the always road.

I wouldn't run on busy lanes or ones separated from the footpath.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,999 ✭✭✭68 lost souls

I have cycled along Clontarf to town a few times in the past few months,every time using the cycle lanes, last time I nearly had a bad accident along fairview park with a pedestrian who walked across the cycle lane without looking. I was doing about 25kph so it would have been a heavy enough impact with traffic on one side and the iron fence on the other it could have been very bad. There is generally a gap between design intent and use on our infrastructure

1*i2ZUHVY7pBYr6gsNqmkfkA.jpeg

And here is the exact spot it happened,poor layout.

https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.3642558,-6.2292072,3a,55.5y,247.91h,80.67t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1soxykWZXHI1SkeTfcy72bHg!2e0!7i13312!8i6656?hl=en

Another spot were a shared lane is a bad idea but I use it due to the new regulations is below in the next link. Downhill on that spot a cyclist would hitting 30-50kph and then theres a bus stop that you have to go behind blind and possibly come face to face with people

https://www.google.ie/maps/@53.4041726,-6.2401029,3a,60y,165.62h,70.58t/data=!3m6!1e1!3m4!1sFHrnNOSL-8FsL5R5mBikCg!2e0!7i13312!8i6656?hl=en

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,079 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

I used to cycle along that stretch and, in fairness, it is pretty badly marked. Even when I used to walk across there to get the bus I might momentarily forget there is a lane there, so people can be forgiven at that point.

What gets my goat is people running along the Clontarf - Raheny cycle path, where there is a perfectly lovely coastal path just 10m away (which would be far more rewarding one would think), and a perfectly fine pedestrian path just to the left of the bike lane.

Simply doesn't make sense.

And if the problem is that the path is not maintained enough, get onto your local councillor and ask them to fix it asap.

I got the guys in Dublin CC to start work on the new bike path opposite St Annes simply because I kept hounding them with emails/letters and had Sean Haughey bring it up in the Dail etc (sound bloke, he got my vote anyway)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Chartsengrafs

No, never. Ignorant at best, dangerous at worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Well maybe then cyclists should keep off the roads when cycling lanes are available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

Well maybe then cyclists should keep off the roads when cycling lanes are available

The amended road traffic regulations have removed the requirement for cyclists to use off road cycle tracks.

If the infrastructure is unsuitable or dangerous why would cyclists use it, when they are legally entitled to use the road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

It's for people like this that we need rules and regulations and laws in society!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭shane1981

I dont run on them, I have enough problems avoiding bikes when Im on the footpath.

The amended road traffic regulations have removed the requirement for cyclists to use off road cycle tracks.

If the infrastructure is unsuitable or dangerous why would cyclists use it, when they are legally entitled to use the road?

And is it against the law for walkers to use cycling lanes?

Especially if the paths are in a bad condition or flooded like they are in Phoenix park.

We can't have it both ways really, so if cyclists want walkers to keep out of cycling lanes, well maybe cyclists should keep off the roads when cycling lanes are present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭DubOnHoliday

I don't run in cycle lanes, its asking for trouble.
    Similarly the cyclist who cycled along the path of the east link bridge last week expecting me to give way during my lunch run, he was asking for trouble too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Djoucer

Especially if the paths are in a bad condition or flooded like they are in Phoenix park.

We can't have it both ways really, so if cyclists want walkers to keep out of cycling lanes, well maybe cyclists should keep off the roads when cycling lanes are present.

Strawman argument. Rules were amended as cycle paths were dangerous. Not because some cyclists might get their feet wet.

There is absolutely no reason for a runner to be on the cycle paths in Phoenix park. It's arguably the best place in Dublin for running.

I can understand why pedestrians wander on to them as the lanes are so badly designed outside the zoo.

Arguments can be made about running on other cycle paths given lack of footpaths etc

But if you're running on a cycle path in the Phoenix park, given the amazing trails, the perfect paths beside cycle lanes, not to mention the quiet roads, you have no excuse.

if those cycle lanes are on a road then yes I assume it would be considered a dangerous activity and so illegal. if the cycle lane is on a path then i dont see the benefit to using the separate cycle lane to the most likely equivalent surface of an adjacent path.
    I don't speak on behalf of all cyclists so I cannot tell you their mono opinion on cycle lane use.

Djoucer wrote: »
    Strawman argument. Rules were amended as cycle paths were dangerous. Not because some cyclists might get their feet wet.

There is absolutely no reason for a runner to be on the cycle paths in Phoenix park. It's arguably the best place in Dublin for running.

I can understand why pedestrians wander on to them as the lanes are so badly designed outside the zoo.

Arguments can be made about running on other cycle paths given lack of footpaths etc

But if you're running on a cycle path in the Phoenix park, given the amazing trails, the perfect paths beside cycle lanes, not to mention the quiet roads, you have no excuse.

Wasn't just including the phoenix park

if those cycle lanes are on a road then yes I assume it would be considered a dangerous activity and so illegal. if the cycle lane is on a path then i dont see the benefit to using the separate cycle lane to the most likely equivalent surface of an adjacent path.
    I don't speak on behalf of all cyclists so I cannot tell you their mono opinion on cycle lane use.

Its not actually illegal to walk on the side of a road unless its a motor way. Might be stupid some times, but there is alot of stupid people out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭honreal

This is exactly one of the reasons cyclists don't use cycle lanes! it's a bloody CYCLE LANE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

JohnDozer wrote: »
    In any case, everyone should have a bell on their bike!!
    I have one on my bike - not sure how big it would need to be to get the attention of someone wearing headphones/ earphones tbh! Even a loud shout doesn't work in many cases.

Most of my issues with cycle lanes as a cyclist are design and maintenance. Runners/ pedestrians/ dogs etc are probably more an irritant on top to be honest. However, as we've seen recently, it isn't without risks.

When running, I've never really felt any difference in the surfaces. In any case, if the path is concrete, and the cyclepath is tarmac, it's most likely such a thin layer of tarmac on top of concrete that I really can't see how it would make any significant difference.

Its not actually illegal to walk on the side of a road unless its a motor way. Might be stupid some times, but there is alot of stupid people out there.

So are you arguing that we should encourage stupid or reckless behaviour?

Edit: While it might not be an offence specifically, Im sure it could be prosecuted under the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act, 1994 should a garda witness you doing so and ask you to refrain from such act.

I don't think he is arguing to encourage it, but he doesn't appear to be arguing to discourage it.

There will always be a section of society who just don't like to conform. They are natutrally confrontational and disagreeable. With social media these days these people are all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭lgk

According to SI182
    (4) Subject to sub-article (5), save when crossing the roadway, a pedestrian shall use a footway if one is provided, and if one is not provided, shall keep as near as possible to the right edge of the roadway.

So it is illegal to walk on a roadway (which includes on road cycle lanes) if there is a path.

walshb wrote: »
    I don't think he is arguing to encourage it, but he doesn't appear to be arguing to discourage it.

There will always be a section of society who just don't like to conform. They are natutrally confrontational and disagreeable. With social media these days these people are all over the place.

Actually from where I see things, it is like this:

Cyclist give out to people when they are in cycling the lane, yet these same people go on footpaths, go thru red lights, go the wrong way on cycling lanes when its clearly marked, cycle on the road when there is perfect "good" cycle lane there and worst of all they never bloody signal when making a turn and give out to people in cycle lanes when they are clearly marked for walkers and cycling, ie the N4 one.

Yes there is idiot walkers and runners and drivers out there.

Rant over.

Edit: While it might not be an offence specifically, Im sure it could be prosecuted under the Criminal Justice (Public Order) Act, 1994 should a garda witness you doing so and ask you to refrain from such act.

Would the same apply to a cyclist if a cycle lane beside you in perfect condition?

Cyclist give out to people when they are in cycling the lane, yet these same people go on footpaths, go thru red lights, go the wrong way on cycling lanes when its clearly marked, cycle on the road when there is perfect "good" cycle lane there and worst of all they never bloody signal when making a turn and give out to people in cycle lanes when they are clearly marked for walkers and cycling, ie the N4 one.

Rant over.

Ranting at cyclists is irrelevant. Simple: A cyle lane is provided by society for cyclists. People chooisng to hijack the lane to walk or run are a danger to themselves and others, as well as extremely ignorant.

Well then use them

Again you are deflecting. The issue is that cycle lanes are being hijacked by walkers/runners. This is what is ignorant and reckless. You could open up a thread about cyclists not using cycle lanes that are provided? It would fit in well here with a lot of the other odd and banal threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Rant over.

Some cyclists. Cyclists are not the borg, and many are runners, cyclists, walkers and motorist, sometimes even all on the same day.

There's so much generalising in this thread.

As I previously said, there's some cycles lanes I run on, and I do so neither ignorantly nor dangerously. And I certainly don't do so dressed like a highway man so there's very little hijacking going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

Rant over.
    Great generalisation of the behaviour of all cyclists. :rolleyes:

To generalise myself, most of the cycle lanes are far from good, and are not fit for purpose. They are in poor condition, cede cyclist priority (compared to if they were on the road) at every given opportunity, and normally end by dumping a cyclist into a poor road position. That's before you even get onto the point of this thread, and how other road users actually respect them.

They're actually just another stick to beat cyclists with by motorists/ non-cyclists - they seem to look great (or "perfectly good") out a car window, but obviously not good enough for the motorist to bother his backside to get out of the car and onto a bloody bike!

Macy0161 wrote: »
    Great generalisation of the behaviour of all cyclists. :rolleyes:

To generalise myself, most of the cycle lanes are far from good, and are not fit for purpose. They are in poor condition, cede cyclist priority (compared to if they were on the road) at every given opportunity, and normally end by dumping a cyclist into a poor road position. That's before you even get onto the point of this thread, and how other road users actually respect them.

They're actually just another stick to beat cyclists with by motorists/ non-cyclists - they seem to look great (or "perfectly good") out a car window, but obviously not good enough for the motorist to bother his backside to get out of the car and onto a bloody bike!

I said good cycling lanes, maybe read it again and I am a cyclists also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Utdfan20titles

Where? Are there any posting on this thread?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

There's no choice on some routes unfortunately

What about an alternative route? I'm finding it difficult to recall an area in Dublin without a footpath but has a cycle lane. There's some closer to the mountains that I know of.

That's a terrible argument. Some cyclists do it so punish all cyclists? Makes no sense.

Where? Are there any posting on this thread?

No. AR seems to be immune from this sort!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Utdfan20titles

No. AR seems to be immune from this sort!

It was for about three months until the ban was up

I said good cycling lanes, maybe read it again and I am a cyclists also.

Good cycling lanes do not exist for usable distances (IMO) in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,226 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

El Caballo wrote: »
    I wouldn't recommend it, cycling lanes are supposed to be there for cyclist safety and to separate them from the road. If everyone starts running and walking on them, the cyclists end up back on the road and as a cyclist, that's the last place I want to be in a city alongside 10 tonne buses and cars if I have the option.

It's just a little consideration and good manners for people on foot to stay out of them. It's not that much to ask so I avoid it as a runner and stay on the footpath.

Too simplistic. The N7 near me has cycle lanes where the hard shoulder used to be. There is no footpath. Mothers pushing prams, people walking, jogging, use the 'cycle lane' and rightly so, as the alternative is to use the road, which would be really stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭thomas anderson.

I always run in the cycle lane on my route. Saves from going up and down the slopes of peoples drives and is also kinder to the knees. I run counter to the flow so I can see any bikes coming.

One evening though I was in the bike lane and a car came round the bend completely in the lane. Had to jump out of the way on to the footpath. If I was a cyclist I would have been killed. Luckily though there was an undercover patrol car behind the driver and they got pulled.

Should feel guilty about that I suppose :rolleyes: