Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New minister Michael creed

• 06-05-2016 5:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭

Anyone know what he is like and if he might be good for farmers.
    At least he is a rural TD from cork Northwest.
    Was thinking Michael fitzmarice might have gotten it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭tractorporn

djmc wrote:
    Anyone know what he is like and if he might be good for farmers. At least he is a rural TD from cork Northwest. Was thinking Michael fitzmarice might have gotten it.

Fitzmaurice ruled himself out when he abstained from voting over the turf cutting issue. I reckon Fitzmaurice would have been good for farmers but would have struggled at EU level dealing with the bureaucracy.

Tbh I had to Google who our new minister was I'd never heard of him before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

djmc wrote: »
    Anyone know what he is like and if he might be good for farmers.
    At least he is a rural TD from cork Northwest.
    Was thinking Michael fitzmarice might have gotten it.

he was opposition spokesman for agriculture about seven years ago, he's unlikely to be as agreeable now......:D
    Always helpful though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Heather humperys is new minister for rural affairs .
    It remains to be seen if it will make any difference to employment or investment in rural areas.
    Hopefully the delays in agricultural payments and appeals will get sorted out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

He's good to farmers in his constituency ,I hear so is that a good omen?
    Knowing farmers is a step in the right direction

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Was he on the opposite side when there was a vote against enda and git pushed back then. Our constituency here have had no dealings with him, proof will be in the pudding. Could be a long term play to get another fg seat back in next time round as two ff got in here

According to the farmers journal he used to be a dairy farmer and a member of macra so should at least understand some issues on the ground at the moment. A lot of small farmers in cork northwest and not all great ground either
    He has also a bit of history in politics hopefully will hit the ground running but will have his work cut out for him to turn things around.
    I dont know if farming was ever as bad and a lot of issues coming down the track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What job did Simon get?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

whelan2 wrote: »
    What job did Simon get?

He's min for housing,so does this mean our kitchens will have to be bord bia approved now and how much will that cost :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭BannerBarry

I'm sure Coveney will add daily inspections of Septic tanks at our costs or some other administrative burden on us.
    Thumbs up to Creed. Welcome.... IFA sorted and Agriculture now sorted... all that's left is the Boards of our Co Ops to "streamline" to New Zealand levels!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭alps

Pity to see Coveney move to "housing"..I know many will disagree but I had a lot of time for him. This housing issue is going to really challenge him...definitely a scud missile by the boss, gonna give any challenger to him a sh###y ride. Combustible sort of portfolio...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

alps wrote: »
    Pity to see Coveney move to "housing"..I know many will disagree but I had a lot of time for him. This housing issue is going to really challenge him...definitely a scud missile by the boss, gonna give any challenger to him a sh###y ride. Combustible sort of portfolio...

Nearly worse than health by now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Timmaay wrote: »
    Nearly worse than health by now!

Fact....there isn't the manpower in the country to get any work done at the moment. Good lads are like Hans teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,718 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Housing could be easily alleviated at the next budget by rearranging the taxing of rental income to allow landlords make a profit.
    More would come into the market increasing supply and with increased supply rents would ease off.

Didn't think much of Coveney's term in Ag, he seemed much more interested in defence. No idea of the new man but he can't be worse anyway.

Too many compromises made to get current government into power for them to be of any real use. They will get small day to day stuff done but I fear it will be a stalemate and a period of non governance for larger issues.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Best of luck to the new minister, can't be any worse than simple simon anyway. What did he achieve in office, how much beef actually went to USA?
    Glas is like a poor man's REPS,
    ICBF's star gazing efforts has half of us reasonably happy and the other half really worried about trying to hit a moving target.
    Can't blame the minister for poor prices, but harvest 2020 is unsustainable when the primary producer is being rode all the time.
    CAP reform suited the big (FG supporters) producers.

Enough said.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

blue5000 wrote: »
    Best of luck to the new minister, can't be any worse than simple simon anyway. What did he achieve in office, how much beef actually went to USA?
    ICBF's star gazing efforts has half of us reasonably happy and the other half really worried about trying to hit a moving target.
    Can't blame the minister for poor prices, but harvest 2020 is unsustainable when the primary producer is being rode all the time.

Enough said.

Would've always imagined that you'd be one of the ones with high value entitlements,
    Can't make out whether your last line is a statement or criticism, lot's of small producers out there with high value entitlements.
    We'll still be beholden to the same people in Ag house, ministers are but puppets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

_Brian wrote: »
    Housing could be easily alleviated at the next budget by rearranging the taxing of rental income to allow landlords make a profit.
    More would come into the market increasing supply and with increased supply rents would ease off.

Part of the problem definitely, but huge problem is the silly building standards (thanks big Phil), red tape etc all not helping, when a builder can't make a profit at selling a bog standard 3bed house for 350k+ there is something seriously wrong. Our love affair with owning a house and garden doesn't help either, great value in the likes of 2bed apartments out there to buy.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Mine wouldn't be huge, was in dairying in the base years, had ground in maize that got nothing because it was a soft target as only something stupid like 200 acres was grown in the country in 1990.

Small producers have probably played the system, dropped the rented ground, maybe did well out of slaughter premium etc. What I was really talking about was people in the west getting a sfp of 2-3k vs others getting >100k, all in the past now rangler.

Agree with you though, the minister is a puppet with civil servants pulling the strings, with an occasional ear pulling from big business.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

Part of the problem definitely, but huge problem is the silly building standards (thanks big Phil), red tape etc all not helping, when a builder can't make a profit at selling a bog standard 3bed house for 350k+ there is something seriously wrong. Our love affair with owning a house and garden doesn't help either, great value in the likes of 2bed apartments out there to buy.

Peoples expectations are high, when we got married the typical house was 13 -1500 sq ft, about double that now, and the kitchen didn't cost three mths salary, add in two cars, childcare, couple phones......why wouldn't it be hard to pay for on an average salary

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,617 ✭✭✭Farmer Ed

blue5000 wrote: »

Enough said.

Some novel ideas in the program for government that apparently are concessions to the independents. Interesting how the new minister will be tasked with pushing a policy of a cap of €100k on bfp. I have heard prior to this that he was a staunch defender of the old system and is quoted as saying that people with big bfp needed them to keep their businesses viable.
    Apart from that his history would be that his father held a FG seat in Cork north west for years and also had a farm manager looking after a herd of cows for him. Micheal is a qualified teacher and when his father retired Micheal took his Dail seat and the farm has been let ever since. Michael has a cousin by the same name who sits on cork co co. He also works for the department and does a bit of farming. The General consensus seems to be that he is well liked by the farmers he deals with in the course of his work. The minister would also have relatives and connections in Ifa and Dairygold. Flor O Riordan former reox chairman is married to his sister.

Jobs to be created in the Dail building new ramp. http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=GHWJPAC1EN8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭theaceofspies

Love him or not Simon Coveney is a smart boy with serious connections and going by his body language yesterday at the 'seal of office' this new government's days are numbered already. Simon is destined for greater things than this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Love him or not Simon Coveney is a smart boy with serious connections and going by his body language yesterday at the 'seal of office' this new government's days are numbered already. Simon is destined for greater things than this.

I agree He has connections. But smart?? He did nothing smart in his time as minister of ag anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

It's all about land price Tim. Building standards not that big a deal. A neighbour recently completed an up to date version of my house. Absolutely to New standards. Around 25% higher cost than mine but 15 yrs in the difference between completion dates. 25% doesn't strike me as massive in that time frame.

Willfarman wrote: »
    I agree He has connections. But smart?? He did nothing smart in his time as minister of ag anyway.

Maybe made more connections as minister for agribusiness and more jobs and profit for processors in milk and meat industry and bord bia while the average farmers got payments delayed and cut then penalised with extra inspections and red tape and basically rode sideways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Enda is a happy boy now. First FG leader to get the big job twice. Simon reckons he's a shoe in for leader when FF pull plug in a few months. Leo and himself will scrap it out in public for the gig and Fitzgearld will get the nod when the two lads have enough sh1t thrown at each other. FG are on a slippery slope anyway. As for new ag minister he won't have enough time to get comfortable in his new ministerial shoes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

I garantee you that in a year time everybody will be saying that the new guy is the worst minister ever. I think a lot of people are lookingvatvthe past with rose tinted glasses

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 452 ✭✭BannerBarry

At least the Coveney conflict of interest with Greencore is reduced if not eliminated. I believe Creed cannot possibly reside over more of a personal reduction in income to me than Coveney has, REPS etc.
    I appreciate that we are in better times but the Bureaucracy Coveney has allowed is shameful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Good loser

Didn't you want him to equalise Irish cattle prices with British prices?

It was not in his control. It has happened now without any political influence.

Maybe made more connections as minister for agribusiness and more jobs and profit for processors in milk and meat industry and bord bia while the average farmers got payments delayed and cut then penalised with extra inspections and red tape and basically rode sideways.

A lot of farmers got found out in the last EU audit, you can blame them for giving the department extra work, it meant there was no benefit of the doubt.
    Great britain penalised every farmer, coveney chose to penalise the offenders
    A neighbour looking for land to rent answered an ad, he was told that the owner was claiming BPS and looking for 200an acre for the land, when asked what about an inspection, he was told, ''we'll cross that bridge when it happens''......you can't beat paddy for fecking it up, can you

I have no problem with lads acting the maggot getting penalised but I know of farmers in spa's having payment taken for having rushes that the npws will not allow them to spray or drain to improve land.
    The appeals system is a joke taking years . I am due money from 2011 12 13 and 14 due to mistake made by them on processing an aeos application that is still not completed 5 years later.
    The largest amount of farmers I ever remember in my career as a farmer had payments delayed over the last 3 or 4 years all across the board
    Sfp das aeos tams etc.
    Either the department staff are in disarray or they are being instructed from the top to hold up payments either way the buck stops with the minister.
    Of all the minister's of agriculture over the last twenty years I might not be a fan of Ivan Yates or Joe Walsh if I had to nit pick but coveney tops them all with the amount of suffering he imposed on small family farmers.

I have no problem with lads acting the maggot getting penalised but I know of farmers in spa's having payment taken for having rushes that the npws will not allow them to spray or drain to improve land.
    The appeals system is a joke taking years . I am due money from 2011 12 13 and 14 due to mistake made by them on processing an aeos application that is still not completed 5 years later.
    The largest amount of farmers I ever remember in my career as a farmer had payments delayed over the last 3 or 4 years all across the board
    Sfp das aeos tams etc.
    Either the department staff are in disarray or they are being instructed from the top to hold up payments either way the buck stops with the minister.
    Of all the minister's of agriculture over the last twenty years I might not be a fan of Ivan Yates or Joe Walsh if I had to nit pick but coveney tops them all with the amount of suffering he imposed on small family farmers.

Always got non fraudulent payments sorted for farmers promptly here, but then we have a very diligent guy in our local IFA office.
    90% of payments are paid in a couple weeks after the due date which isn't bad compared to other countries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Good loser wrote: »
    Didn't you want him to equalise Irish cattle prices with British prices?

It was not in his control. It has happened now without any political influence.

It is within the ministers and the the governments power to ensure a competitive beef processing industry. Live export is an integral part of this. As has been posted above me supershineySimon was the minister for agri business. His priority was gross value exports.. Never farmers. Any way Water under the bridge now.

The new man probably won't get his feet under the table before the thing goes tits up as clough says. Interesting times ahead.

It is within the ministers and the the governments power to ensure a competitive beef processing industry. Live export is an integral part of this. As has been posted above me supershineySimon was the minister for agri business. His priority was gross value exports.. Never farmers. Any way Water under the bridge now.

The new man probably won't get his feet under the table before the thing goes tits up as clough says. Interesting times ahead.

I'm not so sure. I'm not expecting miracles but the one thing we may have in our favour is that the new man will have some of the independents biting at his heels. If it works it could be a great thing. We all need to be accountable. Inspite of a lot of reservations. It could well prove to be more positive than negative if they can keep it together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭Fuxake

I reckon Creed is a solid kind of guy who will be more in tune with farmers than Coveney was.

All the same, it amuses me how Coveney gets blamed for everything, and I mean absolutely everything. Like REPS for example, when fact is that it was the previous government and Brendan Smith that closed it. They closed it because they made a mess of letting derogation farmers into REPS 4 without costing it properly and because of the general fook up of the national finances. None of this was Coveney's doing to be fair.

Having said all of that, Coveney was totally aloof and uninterested in sucklers, sheep and the general hardships of family farms overall. He was too obsessed with talking up the positives and now its gonna be hard to explain to the general public that actually no, things are really bad.

I suspect this government will actually last longer than most think. It could be very useful to have a Minister for Ag who will have no choice but to pay serious attention to the Ag Committee and opposition spokesmen. FF could collapse the arrangement at any time but they will have to work out how they will manage when their turn comes to lead a minority government because this is the shape of things to come. Either that or get into bed with the shinners.

Who is the money on to be the new minister for agriculture? Would seem no matter who wins the leadership race, others have put their neck out for both candidates and will be more likely to be rewarded with a ministry or even offered an olive branch in the interest of not being seen to be vindictive. Unlike his Korean name sake it would appear that this Creed does not come with a seven year warranty.

Farmer Ed wrote: »
    Who is the money on to be the new minister for agriculture? Would seem no matter who wins the leadership race, others have put their neck out for both candidates and will be more likely to be rewarded with a ministry or even offered an olive branch in the interest of not being seen to be vindictive. Unlike his Korean name sake it would appear that this Creed does not come with a seven year warranty.

You can never be blamed for backing your own man...reckon Creed can openly back Coveney and not risk sanction...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

You can never be blamed for backing your own man...reckon Creed can openly back Coveney and not risk sanction...

Yeah but does Coveney want his backing. It could be like the kiss of death.
    Apparently creed has famously backed the wrong man in every leadership contest.

But he hasn't? Very hard to see him keep his job after his silence.

""Which must be massive, because almost everyone toes the line."

Taken from the article.....that journalist can't spell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

This IT piece indicates many smaller farmers around the country, have in their memory how Coveney divied up the EU payments in favour of his own class, the big farmer.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/fine-gael-leadership-inevitable-varadkar-victory-riles-base-1.3095085

The same brigade that were P****d off with the IFA have Coveney in their sights also.

Don't make fun of him dyslexia is a recognised disability. Doesn't mean the opinion is not valid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Don't make fun of him dyslexia is a recognised disability. Doesn't mean the opinion is not valid.

If you have a job that involves publishing written articles and you've dyslexia, double check and get someone else to check it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Miriam Lord is always handy with the 'colour pieces', with some nice barbs thrown in.

ganmo wrote: »
    If you have a job that involves publishing written articles and you've dyslexia, double check and get someone else to check it[/quote

Fair enough but it doesn't change the theme of the article. Didn't hear it myself but apparently callers to Cork 103 FM were expressing similar points of view so possibly the articles reading of the situation is not that far of the mark. While poor spelling may be seen as sloppy and unprofessional it can hardly be used to dismiss the story as fake news. I would have though the editor would have a role in correcting spelling mistakes.

Are you claiming that there's a spelling mistake in your quote.
    Don't think there is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

rangler1 wrote: »
    Are you claiming that there's a spelling mistake in your quote.
    Don't think there is

I think alps thinks the term is "tows" the line which it's not. Toes is correct

Well every day is a learning day...where does toe come from?

Got it...comes from the starting line in track and field events....
    Must go back and edit some previous things I said....😂