Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rugby Challenge 3

• 06-05-2016 2:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,950 ✭✭✭✭

The game has been out for a while has any body on here bought a copy and whats there opinions on it ??

Its been slated online

The last rugby game i bought for the ps4 was the Rugby World cup 2015 game by Bigben Studios and i played it about 3 times, its ****e and almost as bad as the GAA games For PS2 lol

the best game was Rugby 08. I wish Ea Sports would do a new rugby game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Until a big company releases a game, I'm not going near these. They had some neck charging full price for Rugby 15. Arseholes. Don't waste your money.

Edit: Sorry, I'm mixing up companies. The Rugby Challenge series is seperate to Rugby 15. Maybe I'll grab RC3 when it comes down in price.

World Rugby et al are missing a big commercial opportunity by not partnering up with a leading producer/publisher. Look how big the FIFA series is for soccer or the Madden series for NFL. Do a deal where one company has all the licences for the top international and club competitions and go from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

I got the original RC game on the PS3 and it was good. Was worth getting, but did have many flaws. Certainly better than the likes of Rugby 15 etc.

From what I have seen online RC3 doesn't seem to have developed all that much from RC1, which is now about 5 years old (and bearing in mind that we are now onto the Next Gen in terms of consoles). It is probably a reasonably enjoyable game, especially when there isn't much else choice in rugby gaming terms, but I wouldn't even consider paying the €70 PS store price. It's probably worth about half that.

Also - it isn't licenced for the Pro 12 (and I think the T14?) so you will need to do heavy editing - there is a fanhub that is supposed to help in this regard but I haven't heard much about how good this is, or how active the community is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭NU8

I have RC3 and it's decent. It's essentially Rugby Challenge 2 on the new consoles with slightly updated graphics and gameplay. The sevens mode is surprisingly good and the game itself has a bit more depth to it than previous games with Be a pro and career mode. It far from perfect and still doesn't surpass the gameplay benchmark set by Rugby 08.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Nice if EA got their hands on it again, used Madden's physics engine (obviously tweeked abit) and got an online Rugby Style "Ultimate Team" going
    *dreams*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

NU8 wrote: »
    I have RC3 and it's decent. It's essentially Rugby Challenge 2 on the new consoles with slightly updated graphics and gameplay. The sevens mode is surprisingly good and the game itself has a bit more depth to it than previous games with Be a pro and career mode. It far from perfect and still doesn't surpass the gameplay benchmark set by Rugby 08.
    Have you used the fan hub to update Pro 12?any use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭NU8

Uriel. wrote: »
    Have you used the fan hub to update Pro 12?any use?

Haven't tried it yet. I've heard it's not too straightforward and there are issues with players duplicating and things like that. Will try it this weekend and can let you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Picked the game up yesterday. It's hard to get to grips with, my Munster team are underperforming so at least it's realistic.

Major complaints so far is that there seems to be no structure to the backline in attack or defence, can never get the ball to my OH when needed and the opposition seem to turnover everything.
    The blatant forward passes in their offloads is headwrecking too, I've now just turned off forward passes as the 1 in 10 time the ref pings for it, its the one time I've forced an offloand. Sliders right down for offload success and chances too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I didn't even realise they'd released it. Other than the 7s mode is there really anything different compared to RC2?

• Administrators Posts: 54,827 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

razorblunt wrote: »
    Picked the game up yesterday. It's hard to get to grips with, my Munster team are underperforming so at least it's realistic.

Major complaints so far is that there seems to be no structure to the backline in attack or defence, can never get the ball to my OH when needed and the opposition seem to turnover everything.
    The blatant forward passes in their offloads is headwrecking too, I've now just turned off forward passes as the 1 in 10 time the ref pings for it, its the one time I've forced an offloand. Sliders right down for offload success and chances too.

Sounds similar to RC2 then.

Slow and clunky as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

It's definitely an improvement on the last game. The passing is a bit stiffer and feels more realistic. One major issue I had with the previous game was the inability to retain the ball for a few phases, but it's more realistic in this regard too. I agree with someone above about back line structure, but it you press both pass buttons simultaneously you'll pass to the outhalf. It's obviously miles better than the abomination that was rugby 15. I wouldn't pay full price though unless you're desperate for a rugby game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

Haven't seen this game in any retail stores. Is it cheaper anywhere than the €70 PS Store price?

awec wrote: »
    Sounds similar to RC2 then.

Slow and clunky as well?

Not too bad in that regard.
    Some weird "glitches / unrequested features" too, last one I saw, I was playing against Parma in the Pro12, took a penalty (given my issues winning) from the touchline), the game failed to load my kicking button actions so I had no idea where the power/accuracy lines were, damn near kicked it across the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

I've seen Rugby 15 on sale for a tenner recently. Is it that bad?

Waste of a tenner.

I've turned off the injuries now too, repeatedly got to the end of games a few points down, or looking for the BP and a player goes down injured, game tries to restart with a scrum. No thanks.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,096 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

Waste of a tenner.

Would you believe I spent 40 on that game for the pc. Absolute disaster of a game. I still get great craic out of RC2 when I play with a friend. Hopefully 3 is out soon for the pc. Even though it looks to just be a glorified patch.

Rugby Challenge 3 released for the PC today. Can you guess how much they are asking? €50 fecking quid!!! Absolute disgrace. I was looking forward to this glorified patch as its good craic with mates. Not for 50 though. Most comments on their facebook page seem to be giving out about the price.

Hopefully they will listen to people or hopefully a cd key site gets their hands on some keys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

RC3 is just a rehash of RC1. No way am I investing that level of laziness.

• Administrators Posts: 54,827 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

It's still 60 quid on xbox, won't be buying it til it's cheap.

Managed to get it for 20 on G2A last night. Haven't played it yet though(Well I have played the last two so I suppose I have haha)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Picked up a copy of Rugby World Cup 2015 on PS4 for £5 today. It's not even worth that. How do they keep making each version worse? RWC2011 was actually ok if you accepted its limitations, although worse than Rugby 08 on PS2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭FACECUTTR

clsmooth wrote: »
    Picked up a copy of Rugby World Cup 2015 on PS4 for £5 today. It's not even worth that. How do they keep making each version worse? RWC2011 was actually ok if you accepted its limitations, although worse than Rugby 08 on PS2.

It is terrible that nobody seems able or interested in creating a good rugby game. Hopefully with the next World Cup in Japan they will start to develop something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

FACECUTTR wrote: »
    It is terrible that nobody seems able or interested in creating a good rugby game. Hopefully with the next World Cup in Japan they will start to develop something.

Mario and Sonic at the RWC 2019 with a few anime schoolgirls running about most likely.:D

Don't forget a few pokemon

FACECUTTR wrote: »

I think it was embarrassing that World Rugby sold their RWC 2015 license for that joke of a game. They need to realise a successful video game can do a lot for a brand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,625 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I wonder is rugby reaching a critical mass of popularity that might start making it economical for them to have a proper look at it again. Konami apparently haven't given a **** about licensing PES for years, because it is so popular in Japan (where people care less about the rights).

I wonder if the Japanese market got in on Rugby would they consider a rugby game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 888 ✭✭✭Cathalthesmart

This game a total piece of tripe, quite an embarrassing effort really. They need to sort there shizzle out.

errlloyd wrote: »
    I wonder is rugby reaching a critical mass of popularity that might start making it economical for them to have a proper look at it again. Konami apparently haven't given a **** about licensing PES for years, because it is so popular in Japan (where people care less about the rights).

I wonder if the Japanese market got in on Rugby would they consider a rugby game.

feck ya, now you have me imagining how brilliant a "Pro Evolution Rugby" Master League would be :(:(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

This game is on sale now for 30 euros on ps store.
    Ive been playing it for a few days and I really like it. Its actually the first rugby game Ive enjoyed since Lomus

irishman86 wrote: »
    This game is on sale now for 30 euros on ps store.
    Ive been playing it for a few days and I really like it. Its actually the first rugby game Ive enjoyed since Lomus

Thanks. Might get it tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,690 ✭✭✭✭MJohnston

I've never enjoyed sports sim games, i.e. the ones where you're playing. Only really soccer or golf are simplistic enough to accommodate it.

Now a Rugby Management game? I want that. Who didn't waste years of their life on Championship Manager back in the day? And who wouldn't want to do that for rugby too?

MJohnston wrote: »
    I've never enjoyed sports sim games, i.e. the ones where you're playing. Only really soccer or golf are simplistic enough to accommodate it.

Now a Rugby Management game? I want that. Who didn't waste years of their life on Championship Manager back in the day? And who wouldn't want to do that for rugby too?

There is a rugby manager game
    http://store.steampowered.com/app/528640/
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Rugby-Union-Team-Manager-2017-x/dp/B01N3LNRUH

Haven't played it yet as I'm worried it'll be either too sh¡te or too addictive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,950 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

wp_rathead wrote: »
    There is a rugby manager game
    http://store.steampowered.com/app/528640/
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Rugby-Union-Team-Manager-2017-x/dp/B01N3LNRUH

Haven't played it yet as I'm worried it'll be either too sh¡te or too addictive

played previous versions and there ok but no football manager

Its hard to sign overseas players to your club, you cant start out managing a national team. You start out managing your club and then in the middle of the season you can choose to manage a national team and you manage both club/national team. The tactics and all that stuff is bang on

It would be difficult to make a manager game realistic when it comes to European Rugby. Each country's clubs operate differently: union vs private membership, national contracts, salary caps, foreign player quotas etc.

Ya, having a Nucifora in the game would be a nightmare ha

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

Editing the teams is a chore :( so far have only correctly edited the Irish teams.
    Although with the fan hub you can have reasonably edited teams theres just a chance of the same player being in the game twice and that would annoy the hell out of me.
    Regarding the manager game, anyone know if it has real players

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Bought this for pc, 7s mode is definitely a lot better gameplay.

gave in and bought it

first game i bought for ps4 since the dreadful Rugby world cup 2015 game

anywhere too get a full mod of all teams for ps4 ????

downloading a few teams off the fanhub but its taking too long to do them all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

wp_rathead wrote: »
    Ya, having a Nucifora in the game would be a nightmare ha

dennis_nedry_magic_word_header.gif