Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mice under floorboards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

Play a Shania Twain CD at full volume for twelve hours straight.

That don't impress me much.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭Demonique

Get a ferret

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

RayM wrote: »
    I really want a mouse infestation now, just so I can try that.
    Go ahead and make it. You may have mice and just not know it...

• Registered Users Posts: 32,379 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

thesultan wrote: »
    Can't sleep with them.
    Ear plugs
    biko wrote: »
    Some animal welfare places consider those more inhumane than regular snap traps. This is since many instruct you to release the mouse in the wild, and house mice are not suited to the wild and slowly die in the new environment.

Dealz do excellent snap traps, 3 for 1.50. They are copies of an american brand with a large yellow bait tray.

If you use poison they may die under the floorboards and stink as they rot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭honreal

Flamethrower... your only solution

• Registered Users Posts: 22,109 ✭✭✭✭Esel

thesultan wrote: »
    Can't sleep with them. How would I go about killing them?

Would you sleep if they turned out to be rats?

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Do not use cheese. It gives you nightmares.
    Use chocolate in the mousetraps (melt it to the trap).
    One square will do for the mice. Eat the rest yourself.
    Every time you catch a mouse eat a bar of chocolate.
    You will feel a lot better.

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭TOEJOE

Ist locate where they get in, the smallest hole allows them to get into the house. You can purchase a humane trap like the one above but much smaller bate it and get a friend to empty it.Using poison can be problematic if they die under the floor you will get a smell which can last for weeks.
    Borrow or get a cat.
    Good luck

^ Bate them to death.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

diomed wrote: »
    Do not use cheese. It gives you nightmares.
    Use chocolate in the mousetraps (melt it to the trap).
    One square will do for the mice. Eat the rest yourself.
    Every time you catch a mouse eat a bar of chocolate.
    You will feel a lot better.

I always found nutella or peanut butter was great, makes them stay close to the trap to lick/nibble and it normally catches their heads so a (hopefully) quick death.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Send down some rats.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I once caught about 55 mice at my parents house. The sister in law stayed there for a night and heard the mice running around in the attic. She told me. When I went to the house and told the parents they said there were no mice.

I was calling to the house in my spare time for more than a week. I put down four or five of the old style wooden traps, and was catching mice in the first five minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭Sheep Lover

Send down some rats.

Then send down a cat to get to rid of the rats.

Then a dog to get rid of the cat.

You'll have to deal with a dog infestation then

• Registered Users Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Then send down some sheep.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I had one last November. The second my cat heard the mouse, he'd walk over to the skirting board and just stare at it for minutes at a time. Mouse was too smart to show himself.

In the end a cheap mouse trap from the hardware store did the trick. Smoke a rasher and use it for the bait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

I had one last November. The second my cat heard the mouse, he'd walk over to the skirting board and just stare at it for minutes at a time. Mouse was too smart to show himself.

In the end a cheap mouse trap from the hardware store did the trick. Smoke a rasher and use it for the bait.

All well and good, but how do you stop yourself from going for the rasher?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

All well and good, but how do you stop yourself from going for the rasher?

You need to convert to Judaism or Islam before setting the trap.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭Stigura

OP; I don't know who you are. I have no idea what's under your floorboards .... But what I do have are a very particular set of skills. Skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for things under peoples floorboards. If it's bothering you? Call in someone like me. We will find them. And we will kill them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Gallon of petrol and a maguire and paterson. Sure they are all at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Gallon of petrol and a maguire and paterson. Sure they are all at it.
    That's cruel.

No self respecting man would suggest that, irrespective of what way he's headed.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

That's cruel.

No self respecting man would suggest that, irrespective of what way he's headed.

Id do it for Maryanne.

That's cruel.

Strike that

Those two lads are doing time
    For another crime

Not your ornery onager

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

fussyonion wrote: »
    Call Rentokil if you don't want to catch them yourself or you don't want to dispose of the mice yourself.

My parents had mice last year and Rentokil charged €200. They said they wouldn't leave until they were certain the mice were gone, no matter how long that was.

They put the poison boxes down all over the house and in two weeks they were satisfied the mice were gone.

No reports of any since.

Failing that, yeah burn the house down.

The guys camped in your parents' gaff for 2 fuckin weeks?
    How much did it cost your parents to feed the Rentokill guys?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

rubadub wrote: »
    Ear plugs

Some animal welfare places consider those more inhumane than regular snap traps. This is since many instruct you to release the mouse in the wild, and house mice are not suited to the wild and slowly die in the new environment.

Dealz do excellent snap traps, 3 for 1.50. They are copies of an american brand with a large yellow bait tray.

If you use poison they may die under the floorboards and stink as they rot.

Simple solution......insert captured mouse in neighbour's letterbox. New home for the fella.