Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nik Nak

• 30-04-2016 11:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭

my 13 year old old was doing nik naks the other night and apparently kicked one of the doors. house owner was understandably upset and contacted Gardai. He was more upset as my child's mate had been doing it for ages and annoying him but it was a once off from my son. police car with one Garda and annoyed house owner drove around until they found the kids. my child cooperated straight at with name and address and was driven home. Garda gave me name and said it was a favour to house owner and took our details and said that my child could be prosecuted. Husband and son went around to apologise and house owner was fine but should we b worried and should a Garda b on his own coming into people houses. no damage to door and child is grounded for a month

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

what are nik naks? odd jobs?

Stheno wrote: »
    what are nik naks? odd jobs?

Run away knock

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Run away knock

Oh sorry, excuse my ignorance.

That would piss me right off, serves the kid right imo, especially if they kicked a door.

Hopefully they learn a lesson.

@ OP if they behave in future they should be fine, if not then it can build up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Dublinmuppet

he is two weeks into grounding so he is learning lesson. just concerned about future trouble and is it normal for one Garda to come knocking. Think the Garda lives in area as have seen him driving around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭billy few mates

he is two weeks into grounding so he is learning lesson. just concerned about future trouble and is it normal for one Garda to come knocking. Think the Garda lives in area as have seen him driving around

Find out where exactly And make sure your son and his mates don't go anywhere near it when they're next playing Nik Nak..... :D

Joking aside you'll be grand, sometimes a fright like that is enough to make kids think twice before they get up to some of the things kids will always do, don't beat yourself up about it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

firstly your neighbour is a dickhead for getting the gardai involved over something so trival.

secondly I wouldn't worry about the legal side, your kid is 13 and the gardai would be laughed out of court for bringing a nik nak to court.
    If there is no damage to the door , what is the crime? He upset your neighbour while regrettable is hardly anti-social crime of the year,

thirdly , I'll admit this is beyond the scope of the forum. but grounding your kid for a month for something that is essentially a rite of passage with young lads is bizarre. He was acting the fool which is pretty much all 13 year old lads and no harm was done. A lecture would be sufficient imo but maybe I'm a bad parent and grounding your kid for everything is the correct way.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

arayess wrote: »
    firstly your neighbour is a dickhead for getting the gardai involved over something so trival.

secondly I wouldn't worry about the legal side, your kid is 13 and the gardai would be laughed out of court for bringing a nik nak to court.
    If there is no damage to the door , what is the crime? He upset your neighbour while regrettable is hardly anti-social crime of the year,

thirdly , I'll admit this is beyond the scope of the forum. but grounding your kid for a month for something that is essentially a rite of passage with young lads is bizarre. He was acting the fool which is pretty much all 13 year old lads and no harm was done. A lecture would be sufficient imo but maybe I'm a bad parent and grounding your kid for everything is the correct way.:rolleyes:

A month is a long time but maybe it is a good lesson for the child. Bringing a Garda to the front door should be met with severity. Sometimes when kids do nicknacks, they can focus on certain people. Maybe the neighbour just reached the end of his tether. Nowadays, if he threw a wobbler at the kids the parents sre more likely to call the Gardaí. When I was a kid, I remember my brother getting brought home by the Gardaí for kicking a ball against a neighbours wall!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,449 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Persistent anti-social behaviour isn't trivial, it's a pain in the hole.

There are a number of ways a Garda could have dealt with the situation, and it could very easily have ended up in court:

http://www.justice.ie/en/JELR/ASBOleaflet.pdf/Files/ASBOleaflet.pdf

There doesn't have to be damage done to property for it to be classed as anti-social behaviour. Hardly anti-social crime of the year, but anti-social nonetheless.

Rite of passage my arse, 13 years of age thinking it's ok to go around kicking people's doors? Who's grounding children for everything? The OP grounded their child for a month for their behaviour. I would too if my child ever thought it was acceptable behaviour to go around kicking neighbours doors. My neighbours are entitled to peace and quiet. My son isn't entitled to kick anyone's door to amuse himself. There are far better ways to amuse himself without causing the neighbours any trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭iano.p

arayess wrote:

A load of crap he has every right to phone the garda. If it was just a knock on the door once fine but he kicked it. And his mates before him the man could of been at his wits ends. Hope he listens to the warning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

I wouldn't be too worried about nik-naks, and for what it's worth, it's the reaction that usually encourages the kids to do it again, so I'd imagine that neighbour is after bringing a decade worth of dares to his door, and then some.
    The one thing I would wonder about though, would be why he kicked the door. That's different again, maybe he got carried away.
    Did he admit to kicking the door?
    If that Garda had time to drive around all night, then I guess you live in a pretty quiet area. But tbh, sounds like a grown up version of the kids. Nothing better to do.

It may not be a 'right of passage', but it is definitely pretty normal behaviour for kids between 9-14 living in built up areas. It beats having them sitting in on an xbox and isn't quite the same as beating up other kids or thieving from the local shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 471 ✭✭jennyhayes123

None of my business either but I think a month is too long also. If you are too strict on the small things what do you do if he actually does something bad.
    Yes it's a pain in the bum when kids do it and a good fright is no harm but if that's the worst he is doing your not doing to bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

I'm not sure if the offence has been removed but knocking at any door without lawful excuse with intent to harass was considered to be a breach of the peace.

OP maybe your neighbour just had enough. Unfortunately in these days, people won't go to the parents because they fear the "my child wouldn't do such a thing, you crazy person" or "get the fupp off my doorstep". And the nik-naks intensifies...

I'm not saying you'd react like that but in some areas we've become isolated from our neighbours :(

Allyall wrote: »
    I wouldn't be too worried about nik-naks, and for what it's worth, it's the reaction that usually encourages the kids to do it again, so I'd imagine that neighbour is after bringing a decade worth of dares to his door, and then some.
    The one thing I would wonder about though, would be why he kicked the door. That's different again, maybe he got carried away.
    Did he admit to kicking the door?
    If that Garda had time to drive around all night, then I guess you live in a pretty quiet area. But tbh, sounds like a grown up version of the kids. Nothing better to do.

I've seen children of 7 and 8 doing it - when a knock, or ringing the doorbell doesn't appear to be getting the attention of the occupier, the child turns with their back to the door and back-kicks like a horse, hoping it's alarming enough to bring the occupier running.

It may not be a 'right of passage', but it is definitely pretty normal behaviour for kids between 9-14 living in built up areas. It beats having them sitting in on an xbox and isn't quite the same as beating up other kids or thieving from the local shop.

It really isn't, and the neighbours shouldn't have to put up with it just because someone else's child isn't doing something worse. There's another thread ongoing in this forum where the OP is wondering is there any legal action can be taken against their neighbour who they claim verbally assaulted their child. That begs the obvious question in this case:

Could someone find themselves charged with harassment if they had to keep telling the neighbours children to stay away from their property?

Anything's possible really, but one would hope that the residents would be able to sort it out among themselves without involving the Gardaí.

the neighbours shouldn't have to put up with it just because someone else's child isn't doing something worse.

I'm not condoning it, I just mean that it's not a very serious offence. It's also not a good idea to go after them.
    The first night that they started doing it, I bet they tried 5 or 6 doors, maybe more.
    That neighbour was probably the only one that dealt with it the way he did. Which is probably why they went back.
    If he had realised that the 2nd time, and ignored them, it may not have escalated to this. I doubt it's the end of it either (It may be for OPs Son, but probably just the start for others). He won't be able to keep getting the Garda either.

For a 2 second knock/bell ring, I'd ignore it if I figured it was them, and they may come back once more.
    When they realise I'm not biting, they'll move on.

Remember, you're dealing with 13 year olds. Mischievous at best.
    To start threatening them with court and the Police for something so trivial is ridiculous.
    It would have been suffficient to have got their name and address with the Garda, and leave the kid sh*t himself for a month.
    Going straight to the parent, the child has nothing left to worry about, and has a month to think about how he may trick someone else into doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Kicking neighbours doors is better than having kids playing their Xbox???

Only on boards.

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Kicking neighbours doors is better than having kids playing their Xbox???

Only on boards.

It sounded a bit strange alright, but I don't think that's the way Allyall meant it to sound :D

No, it's not the way I meant it at all :D

I meant that getting them out and about. Playing football, hide and seek etc.. Climbing trees (frowned upon in many places).

I wouldn't agree with kicking a door at all.
    I'm just not a fan of kids on computer games.
    I love them (Computer games) and I guess I see too many kids now, hooked on them from an early age, and having mood swings when playing them.
    That's a different issue altogether and wildly debated across the internet.

I just think that this kid maybe got a bit of a raw deal in the punishment stakes.
    Doubt he'll do it again though :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭_Tombstone_

Whats the child doing out at night with who knows who doing who knows what? He's already being led down the scumbag path here with his scumbag buddies.

How do you know door seals won't leak when rain comes at it now?

I hope the neighbour pushes it.

You seem more interested in 1 guard coming knocking than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I see nobody mention that these days a 13 can actually be quite big in some cases.
    Trespass onto ones property is another avenue of law.

Whats wrong with them going off cycling or football or anything other then tormenting others.

Parents need to be more hands on with their kids and know what they are doing.

My line of work I see it all.

2weeks grounding sounds good and hopefully the ride in back of cop car will end the issue.

For elderly people these things can be quite frightening and bring distress.

Also op bit lost as to why your worried about a single cop calling do we need swat or something??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Dublinmuppet

Whats the child doing out at night with who knows who doing who knows what? He's already being led down the scumbag path here with his scumbag buddies.

How do you know door seals won't leak when rain comes at it now?

I hope the neighbour pushes it.

You seem more interested in 1 guard coming knocking than anything else.

my child is not a scumbag thank you very much. I was wondering about the 1 guard knocking because I thought they came in pairs. He was saying that there could be criminal prosecution and I am curious to see if that's true or was he doing a favour for a neighbor and just putting the frighteners into us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,234 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Jesus, the OP can't win. Half the responses are telling him he's being far too harsh by grounding the kid and the other half are telling him he's raising a scumbag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

my child is not a scumbag thank you very much. I was wondering about the 1 guard knocking because I thought they came in pairs. He was saying that there could be criminal prosecution and I am curious to see if that's true or was he doing a favour for a neighbor and just putting the frighteners into us

I doubt there'll be any criminal prosecution for this. However no one here has any real idea of whether the person concerned plays golf with the superintendent of the local station or not. I'd err on the side of caution. For what it's worth IMO it was pretty good parenting to make the kid go round and apologise; not many parents would have.

To the absolute morons who think this is normal behaviour or in someway is better than behaviour X you're the reason kids think it's okay to beat the sh!te out of people, frankly. I live in an area of Dublin that is considered by some to be a bad area. The kids wouldn't dare do this is the area. The reason is simple, they respect their parents and know they'll be in trouble for it. They take advantage of the local area and play football etc. rather than making a nuisance of themselves.

I'm not suggesting for one second the OP or OP's kids are scumbags, but ask any real scumbag parent or parent of a scumbag and the answer is always something along the lines of 'they're only kids' or 'you can't watch them 24/7'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

I doubt there'll be any criminal prosecution for this. However no one here has any real idea of whether the person concerned plays golf with the superintendent of the local station or not. I'd err on the side of caution. For what it's worth IMO it was pretty good parenting to make the kid go round and apologise; not many parents would have.

To the absolute morons who think this is normal behaviour or in someway is better than behaviour X you're the reason kids think it's okay to beat the sh!te out of people, frankly. I live in an area of Dublin that is considered by some to be a bad area. The kids wouldn't dare do this is the area. The reason is simple, they respect their parents and know they'll be in trouble for it. They take advantage of the local area and play football etc. rather than making a nuisance of themselves.

I'm not suggesting for one second the OP or OP's kids are scumbags, but ask any real scumbag parent or parent of a scumbag and the answer is always something along the lines of 'they're only kids' or 'you can't watch them 24/7'.

And this post has restored my faith in the denizens of this subforum after reading much of what has come before. The OP is laudable by having the child apologise. Those who have described it as a harmless rite of passge are both self centred and selfish. Not everyone reacts to door knock in the same way. There are many vulnerable people who through no fault of their own, past experience, psychological condition etc, react very badly to repeated door knocking. Door knocking seeks a reaction and strong reactions attract further incidents. The strong reaction might be caused by vulnerability, not something a child can easily discern.

As regards the Garda, any decent community garda would act in this manner on becoming aware of persistent behaviour of this type - the OP's child may have barely become involved and I hope he wasn't singled out.

For the OP's benefit, there is no need for a Garda to be accompanied, they are are not the FBI which require an accompanying agent to provide evidence! Two gardai would have been overkill. Hopefully some of the other parents take the same approach as you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Bit of the frighteners and lesson learned. You won't hear any more of it in my opinion.

Some people should hole up and live in a cave. If they can't handle kids knocking on their door, They'd be useless in any other scenario, too much strain on humanity looking for help assistance all the time, and a constant drain of resources.

If people want to exaggerate things to the worst extent, than probably better that it's done on both ends of the scale. With a bot of luck, none of those people work in any area of the Legal Profession.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mikeymouse

Run away knock

That's Nak Nik shirly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Some people should hole up and live in a cave. If they can't handle kids knocking on their door, They'd be useless in any other scenario, too much strain on humanity looking for help assistance all the time, and a constant drain of resources.

If people want to exaggerate things to the worst extent, than probably better that it's done on both ends of the scale. With a bot of luck, none of those people work in any area of the Legal Profession.

I'll guess that you don't know many elderly people who feel unsafe in their homes or any people trying to cope with autism or other mental health issues. For some people in these circumstances, you'd likely be surprised at the effect that regular door knocking induces. It's not so much that they can't cope living alone but they can't cope with harassment like the his. Knocking on the door of your friend's family where there might be 5 or more residents would generally be avoided as the father or mother will rat you out to your parents. Knocking the door of Oul Mrs Magee or "grumpy" Mr Murphy who lives alone might seem more safe. The impact on their life few can be much greater.

It's up to adults to try and understand the impact on others (empathy) and convey it to kids. The little pleasure they get from this game is not worth the impact on others.

It's not that I can't handle kids knocking on my door, or drunken louts coming back after a lock in and making a load of noise and waking people up it's why should I? Why should someone else on another forum posting recently put up with a neighbour allowing needles to litter a right on way down the side of their house? Why should anyone have to put up with low level vandalism, petty theft and loitering around the local convenience shop?

It's the same parents, people like yourself I suspect, that can't understand why a few years later little Johnny has done a bit too much cocaine, drank a bit too much vodka and ran over a toddler in the Phoenix park. It's not bad luck, it's simply good luck it doesn't happen more often.

Now did I play Nick Knock when I was a kid, of course a bloody did - I got a swift clip round the ear if I was caught, probably from the person I was doing it too if not my parents if they ever found out. You can also rest assured not only would I have been wound apologising but probably mowing the lawn and digging the garden all summer too. That's the difference today - if I catch someone doing it and even grab them and march them home I'd be met with a barrage of abuse from the parent, probably a summons and worse and escalating behavior.

Thankfully not living in amongst a bunch of scumbags, people who for whatever reason don't raise their children with respect of other people, I don't have to deal with it - other than the drunken louts who confronted with a 6'2" tall 200lb hairy arsed person who does work in the legal profession, albeit on a PT basis, for your information they generally are happy enough to quiet down a bit.

Having the exposure to that field I can assure you the drain on resources isn't some timid old dear who doesn't like answering the door or the slightly odd loaner or mental handicapped person who life is made a misery in certain areas of Dublin it's the kids and later petty criminals so many are quick to give out about in AH with 150 previous convictions whose finally done something worth reporting on. It's not the guards fault, it's not the courts fault it's ultimately parents and partly the community in which these people live.

Edit: I noticed the above comment on empathy, that's the root of it and I'd never really thought of it like that before. It's probably a little less about respect and more about empathy and thought for others. I truly believe some people are so down right thick these days that it never occurs to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

I would find it a bit odd that a thirteen year old still does this we would have grown out of it by ten. I would also be suspicious that there might be more to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Nah. Niknaks are annoying. Any kid that shows a proclivity should be grounded till adulthood. They're not a rite of passage for all kids that age at all. They're a thing some really dumb kids do, because some other dumb kids do. Most if us didn't do them at that age, and thought the few who did were knob ends. Respect for others has no lower age limit.

Also one last bloody thing while I'm on a rant - a rite of passage? What the...

Rites of passage for me was climbing the tallest tree, kissing that girl, beating my mates at X sport and finally getting my dick wet. I fall back on the premise that people must be pretty thick if their imagination at 10-13 stretches to knocking on someone's door and running away.

It's not that I can't handle kids knocking on my door, or drunken louts coming back after a lock in and making a load of noise and waking people up it's why should I? Why should someone else on another forum posting recently put up with a neighbour allowing needles to litter a right on way down the side of their house? Why should anyone have to put up with low level vandalism, petty theft and loitering around the local convenience shop?

It's the same parents, people like yourself I suspect, that can't understand why a few years later little Johnny has done a bit too much cocaine, drank a bit too much vodka and ran over a toddler in the Phoenix park. It's not bad luck, it's simply good luck it doesn't happen more often.

Now did I play Nick Knock when I was a kid, of course a bloody did - I got a swift clip round the ear if I was caught, probably from the person I was doing it too if not my parents if they ever found out. You can also rest assured not only would I have been wound apologising but probably mowing the lawn and digging the garden all summer too. That's the difference today - if I catch someone doing it and even grab them and march them home I'd be met with a barrage of abuse from the parent, probably a summons and worse and escalating behavior.

Thankfully not living in amongst a bunch of scumbags, people who for whatever reason don't raise their children with respect of other people, I don't have to deal with it - other than the drunken louts who confronted with a 6'2" tall 200lb hairy arsed person who does work in the legal profession, albeit on a PT basis, for your information they generally are happy enough to quiet down a bit.

Having the exposure to that field I can assure you the drain on resources isn't some timid old dear who doesn't like answering the door or the slightly odd loaner or mental handicapped person who life is made a misery in certain areas of Dublin it's the kids and later petty criminals so many are quick to give out about in AH with 150 previous convictions whose finally done something worth reporting on. It's not the guards fault, it's not the courts fault it's ultimately parents and partly the community in which these people live.

Edit: I noticed the above comment on empathy, that's the root of it and I'd never really thought of it like that before. It's probably a little less about respect and more about empathy and thought for others. I truly believe some people are so down right thick these days that it never occurs to them.

You shouldn't suspect. It's a bad trait, and incorrect in this instance. No idea what the nonsense about the drunken lock-in is about unless you're merging a few threads, which tends to dilute your point.
    I also am at a loss how you jumped from doing Nik-Naks or Nick Nocks or knock and run etc. to doing Cocaine, Drinking Vodka and running over toddlers, along with being a scumbag or living in a scumbag area.
    There are far too much random OT points in that post to address.
    But I never got the impression that the 'victim' was a timid old lady or mentally handicapped or an old loner etc..
    I would expect any normal person to judge each case on its own merits.
    Balmed Out wrote: »
    I would find it a bit odd that a thirteen year old still does this we would have grown out of it by ten. I would also be suspicious that there might be more to it.
    It is a bit odd. Maybe an immature and bored 13 year old.
    I asked why or even if they did kick the door. That might be something to look into.
    So many quick to shout scumbags etc. :( (Especially for a kids game that so many seem to know exactly what it is).

Massive overreaction on this thread to what was literally, a childs prank.

You shouldn't suspect. It's a bad trait, and incorrect in this instance. No idea what the nonsense about the drunken lock-in is about, unless you're merging a few threads, which tends to dilute your point.
    I also am at a loss how you jumped from doing Nik-Naks or Nick Nocks or knock and run etc. to doing Cocaine and Drinking Vodka, along with being a scumbag or living in a scumbag area.

As I indicated, I completely understand why you were not able to join the dots.
    I would expect any normal person to judge each case on its own merits.

I'll take your point there, however:
    So many quick to shout scumbags etc. :( (Especially for a kids game that so many seem to know exactly what it is).

Massive overreaction on this thread to what was literally, a childs prank.

Your defence of it as harmless in all situations is what is attracting my vitriol. As is your assertion that people who don't like it are somehow to blame and should move.

As I indicated, I completely understand why you were not able to join the dots.

The edit came as I quoted.

Irrelevant anyway.

my child cooperated straight at with name and address and was driven home. Garda gave me name and said it was a favour to house owner and took our details and said that my child could be prosecuted. Husband and son went around to apologise and house owner was fine but should we b worried and should a Garda b on his own coming into people houses. no damage to door and child is grounded for a month
    Seems to be similar today as it was when you were young. You shouldn't be so quick to assume otherwise. Children haven't changed much, society has, and some areas have become rougher. But that's another topic for another time.
    Your defence of it as harmless in all situations is what is attracting my vitriol. As is your assertion that people who don't like it are somehow to blame and should move.

I don't defend it in all situations, and my suggestion that the helpless are a drain on humanity was to mirror other comments on this thread back at them.
    It should be taken as an annoying childrens prank. If the man who owned the house wanted to take it to court and summons the Garda as a witness take up court time and resources. so be it.

Of course I understand there are people that genuinely need assistance, and others that rely on it. I also understand that a ruddy great thump out of nowhere on my front door would give me a massive fright, and I may go after the kids responsible. But there is a huge leap from Nik-Nak to everything else.
    I asked if the kid kicked the door, or was accused of it.
    Fwiw, your vitriol seems to be coming from reading too many threads on these forums and merging them and the people into one.

Seems to be similar today as it was when you were young. You shouldn't be so quick to assume otherwise. Children haven't changed much, society has, and some areas have become rougher. But that's another topic for another time.

On the whole areas are much less rough than they were (in Dublin at least) 20 - 30 years ago. The issue is the abdication or parental responsibility onto the state.
    But there is a huge leap from Nik-Nak to everything else.

It is where the parent isn't a cretin. Thankfully the OP is not. Others have suggested it's kids being kids those people need a shake and kick up the arse to cop on to themselves.
    Fwiw, your vitriol seems to be coming from reading too many threads on these forums and merging them and the people into one.

I've pointed out to you from where my experience on this stems from. I'm yet to meet a truly bad person, simply a lot of indifferent ones. That's all it takes, it happens in maybe 1 in 1000 cases. That's 1 in 1000 to many. Along the way there's smaller amounts of inconvenience imposed on people, all for that want of a parent or parents that can be arsed.

I've never understood why people who can't be bothered to raise kids have them frankly. This is borne out by that stats that show over and over that at a certain age people grow out of petty crime - once they're able to make the decision for themselves, the problem is the hurt that's inflicted along the way and the potential for it to start all over again.

Grand it's a prank, no one has suggested it's not, the issue - being pointed out to you yet again, wasn't that it happened, or even that you suggested the punishment was a little harsh, it's that you suggested it's some sort of rite of passage, others would consider the first car stolen the same, glad to hear you have very defined lines of what you consider acceptable. I'm a bit simple me, I just assume I shouldn't be annoying other people if I can help it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Nipped in the bud I hope now. You were right OP to ground him.

If you are concerned about future actions ring the Station. Did you get the name of the Garda on the night/day it happened? Nothing more will come of this. But you might put your mind at rest by contacting them anyway.

Sorry, but honestly, while I empathise with the person whose door was knocked, I really cannot help asking why the Gardai are slow to respond when you need them for bigger and more dangerous events.

I will leave it at that.

Grand it's a prank, no one has suggested it's not, the issue - being pointed out to you yet again, wasn't that it happened, or even that you suggested the punishment was a little harsh, it's that you suggested it's some sort of rite of passage, others would consider the first car stolen the same, glad to hear you have very defined lines of what you consider acceptable. I'm a bit simple me, I just assume I shouldn't be annoying other people if I can help it.

I never suggested anything about it being a rite of passage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

The little b@stards around here have taken to kicking doors, because no-one really cared if they rang the doorbell. The stupid idiots always run past the sitting room window so you know it's them. They kicked my door once and they haven't come back. I searched all the gardens on the road till I found them, asked another kid off the road where they lived, and then fcuked them out of it with the threat of going around to their mothers.

I have found that if they think you know where they live, they are not as inclined to come near you.

I never suggested anything about it being a rite of passage.

Quite right, my apologies that statement was not yours.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 256 ✭✭Bobthefireman

Was it like this?

youtube.com/watch?v=dtwExV6SI6I

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

I blame the parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I don't defend it in all situations, and my suggestion that the helpless are a drain on humanity was to mirror other comments on this thread back at them.
    It should be taken as an annoying childrens prank. If the man who owned the house wanted to take it to court and summons the Garda as a witness take up court time and resources. so be it.

Of course I understand there are people that genuinely need assistance, and others that rely on it. I also understand that a ruddy great thump out of nowhere on my front door would give me a massive fright, and I may go after the kids responsible. But there is a huge leap from Nik-Nak to everything else.
    I asked if the kid kicked the door, or was accused of it.

Jesus, if euthanasia is ever made legal in this country your elderly relatives will be in serious danger.

Why wait for Euthanasia to become legal? Why wait for them to become elderly?

mikeymouse wrote: »
    That's Nak Nik shirly
    Don't call me...
    Leslie-Nielsen_580.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭ShatterResistant

wow-that-escalated-quickly.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭constance tench

:( Classy.
    prison-tattoos-and-their-secret-meanings-likes.jpg

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 260 ✭✭Jimlh86

Damage doesn't have to be caused in a criminal damage case. The person only has to be reckless as to whether damage may have been caused. Sorry I can't add the link but look up the Criminal Damage Act on Irish Statute.

As for the guard calling on his own, why is this problem? How do you think guards in "one man" stations operate?

It's highly doubtful that it will go any further and even if it did it would, provided your son was eligible be dealt with under the juvenile diversion programme. Do you know how long they have been tormenting this person at home? I know when I was a young lad I I got caught doing something it was always "the only time I did it"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭constance tench

Jimlh86 wrote: »
    Damage doesn't have to be caused in a criminal damage case. The person only has to be reckless as to whether damage may have been caused. Sorry I can't add the link but look up the Criminal Damage Act on Irish Statute.

As for the guard calling on his own, why is this problem? How do you think guards in "one man" stations operate?

It's highly doubtful that it will go any further and even if it did it would, provided your son was eligible be dealt with under the juvenile diversion programme. Do you know how long they have been tormenting this person at home? I know when I was a young lad I I got caught doing something it was always "the only time I did it"

Why can you not add the link?