Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Formula 1 2016: Round 4 - Russian Grand Prix

• 29-04-2016 11:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,715 ✭✭✭

Thread open....

Lack lustre driver's press conference yesterday. P1 pretty much business as usual in speeds for the relative teams - installing that Rosberg was a good 7-10ths ahead. Mercedes probably using two different setups to see which is the faster way around the track.. Let's see what P2 brings to the mix.

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,573 ✭✭✭Harika

In training, people are circling 41 laps already with a supersoft set, while the race has 53 laps, so expect a one stop snore festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,715 ✭✭✭Charlie-Bravo

Vettel suffering electrical problems today causing him to miss most of FP2. I'm hoping he doesn't have reliability issues as seen in Bahrain. We need both Ferraris chasing Merc's trails.

-. . ...- . .-. / --. --- -. -. .- / --. .. ...- . / -.-- --- ..- / ..- .--.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,084 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I just noticed that just before they cut to a commercial break, Setanta's coverage shows a CGI clip of two duelling cars which look a lot like Jordan 191s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,473 ✭✭✭✭Jordan 199

I just noticed that just before they cut to a commercial break, Setanta's coverage shows a CGI clip of two duelling cars which look a lot like Jordan 191s.

I like that clip because of the cars in it. Early 1990's cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,676 ✭✭✭✭Ghost Train

Williams leaving their laps late in Q2

McLaren not looking like making Q3

Hamilton with PU failure, turbo problem
    His bad start to season continues

I guess he'll start near back of grid unless they can fix it and he starts 10th...

edit:actually they think he wont take penalty for fix and might start 10th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,904 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

Jordan 191 wrote: »
    I like that clip because of the cars in it. Early 1990's cars.

Dude you like that clip because the cars remind you of username :)

Good stuff from Bottas, front row start is great.
    Shame Hamilton had the problem, was a bit of an anti-climax.

Mighty from perez in comparison to hulk, out qualified both toro rosso and a red bull! Hopefully doesn't go too far backwards in the race

Massa kicks Rosberg out and we will have a great race at hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,495 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Harika wrote: »
    Massa kicks Rosberg out and we will have a great race at hand.
    From 4th? Or do you mean Bottas? Valteri is in an interesting position for the start, he'll either be nudging Rosberg for the lead or lining up for Round 3 of his tussle with Raikkonen.

This too shall pass.

I like Bottas more than Felipe, so he was my choice. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Jaysus, Max's car didn't sound too healthy there!

Say what you want about the Russians, but they have a great national anthem!

Looking forward to this, hope mixed up grid gives good race. Mightnt be great if one stop for most... Would be nice if tyre performance isn't great

Same, there's not much that can be worse than 2014...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,114 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Talk from the team engineers there, suggests that 1-stop is not likely, because the Super Softs aren't going to last at these high track temperatures.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,077 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

Vettel hit from behind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,077 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

Vettel out after another hit from behind

Carbon fibre everywhere, safety car out.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Kyvat gonna be in trouble from Seb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Kxiii

Vettle and Ferrari are having a bad start to this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,006 ✭✭✭Shane732

Did Hamilton run wide and skip the corner?

Don't think he's in 5th by right.

Vettel driving the scooter himself :)

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Can someone explain why hamilton and verstappen hasnt been penalised for skipping the chicane and powering on, overtaking cars in the process?

Alonso up to 7th

Vettel hit by redbull... wont be happy

wow those bleeping machines are really awesome

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 17,150 Mod ✭✭✭✭cherryghost

Hamilton clearly passed 4 or 5 cars skipping the first corner

Can someone explain why hamilton and verstappen hasnt been penalised for skipping the chicane and powering on, overtaking cars in the process?
    IF they did that - which I can't say - and they got away with it among the chaos, good for them!

Are the replays not great or is just me ? Took ages to get the them and seemed like they didn't have a huge amount of camera angles

Hamilton clearly passed 4 or 5 cars skipping the first corner

He "skipped" the crashed cars, if you remove them he didn't gain any advantage.

More words between Seb and Kvyat after that one, I'd imagine.

It's a complete joke - not even picked up my Sky.

He skipped the corner and end up in 5th after not having a great start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

That second smash by Kyvat didn't look like an accident to me.

Shane732 wrote: »
    He skipped the corner and end up in 5th after not having a great start.

If he hadn't skipped it, he would have needed to crash into the RedBull Vettel Sandwich.

Good point, stewards will probably look at it but put it down to a necessary avoiding action.

Glad Kvyat got a penalty there he was reckless, he ruined his own race, his team mate's race, vettel's race and Perez's race. Stupid twonk

If he hadn't skipped it, he would have needed to crash into the RedBull Vettel Sandwich.

Or brake and take the corner like everyone else.

Is that not the point of having track limits?

bnt wrote: »
    Talk from the team engineers there, suggests that 1-stop is not likely, because the Super Softs aren't going to last at these high track temperatures.

The softs looked pretty bad on kvyat

Doing a short stint on them might be best
    Hamiltons super softs don't look great right now

Typical Russia, caught out by a Dash cam.

This too shall pass.

Or brake and take the corner like everyone else.

You see, that is a philosophical question, cause at the end the marshalls didn't even investigate him or Verstappen.

I know that it has been discussed at length, but that's the issue with all of these large concrete run-off areas: there is no real, direct consequence for exceeding track limits. Sure we saw it yesterday after qualifying too, in spite of the fact that it was something specifically brought up during the drivers' briefing. It isn't just Lewis either.

The undercut clearly didnt work for Bottas.

I'm certainly not a Hamilton fan so would be happy to see him get a penalty. Having said that from the limited footage we saw (because as I said before the replays are awful) I thought he had to avoid the accident in the middle of the track or else be a part of it. Better replays or some on board footage from Hamilton's car might prove otherwise.

That is harsh on Sainz. Didn't we see another incident like that earlier with no investigation?

This too shall pass.

That seems harsh on Sainz, given the way the track turns at that point but hard to know

Nasser came back on a bit soon there after missing corner

Did hamilton get a penalty for that investigation in qualy yesterday? Same one Nasr just got a 5 second penalty for

Nasser came back on a bit soon there after missing corner

Just got called on it there, 5 second penalty

skipper_G wrote: »
    Did hamilton get a penalty for that investigation in qualy yesterday? Same one Nasr just got a 5 second penalty for

Nope, started 10th

This too shall pass.

skipper_G wrote: »

Nope, he got his 2nd reprimand of the season, one more and he gets a 10 place grid penalty.