Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why does everybody hate Ray D' Arcy all of a sudden?

12346»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,756 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Ray is good at frivolous items such as the price of a cup of tea, or why are chocolate bars getting smaller, but put him in front of a live audience and a celebrity guest, and he is hopeless

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

omerin wrote: »
    All of a sudden?

You took the words right out of my mouth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭mulbot

hardCopy wrote: »
    He started taking an opinion on absolutely everything about ten years ago and ruined his today fm show, telling people how to vote and throwing in his daily allocated swear word.

He was better when he stuck to inane jibber jabber and reading people's banter filled texts about their weekend.

Strangely, In and around the time he started going out with Jenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,692 ✭✭✭appledrop

Once he hooked up with Jenny it all seemed to go down hill. Gradually he got more + more cranky overtime + all he did was preach about healthy lifestyle, his kids blah blah blah. Also while I wouldn't have hated him on the radio his tv show is shocking. Only watched two shows+ he was so bad I swore I'd never watch it again. Still annoyed over the crap interview he did with the lawyer from Making a Murder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,756 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

mulbot wrote: »
    Strangely, In and around the time he started going out with Jenny

Jenny gives my @rse a headache. He should have stuck with Geri Maye. Would have had a quieter life. Better looking too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭mulbot

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Jenny gives my @rse a headache. He should have stuck with Geri Maye. Would have had a quieter life. Better looking too.

Totally agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Sadly enough, his radio show has continued to climb in the JNLRs, and Anton Savage has fallen again.

I can't explain it, unless everybody is hate-listening. Or the JNLRs only poll masochists, porridge-loving masochists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Ally Dick wrote: »

I make off Geri Maye dodged a bullet there. Landed herself a down to earth guy after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,776 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I might be wrong but back in 2011 I thought I read/heard somewhere that Ray said he would emigrate if Enda Kenny became Taoiseach.
    Did anything ever come of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,961 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

He did say that.
    Of course he didnt go anywhere and it was never brought up by him again

I might be wrong but back in 2011 I thought I read/heard somewhere that Ray said he would emigrate if Enda Kenny became Taoiseach.
    Did anything ever come of this?

Hot air came out of his arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭edwood

He is an extremely small minded guy. Back in 2003 me and my metaller friends were walking down the street in Cork. Ray was at the traffic lights in his car with Geri Maye. He was laughing at us about our metal goth phase style more or less. He thought metallers were hilarious it seemed. Laughing away at us with his smug head. Showed off how narrow minded he is and we have thought he is a massive douche ever since. And this was long before his return to RTE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

edwood wrote: »
    He is an extremely small minded guy. Back in 2003 me and my metaller friends were walking down the street in Cork. Ray was at the traffic lights in his car with Geri Maye. He was laughing at us about our metal goth phase style more or less. He thought metallers were hilarious it seemed. Laughing away at us with his smug head. Showed off how narrow minded he is and we have thought he is a massive douche ever since. And this was long before his return to RTE.

In fairness... He had a point.. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 903 ✭✭✭paulieeye

For me it was he interviewed cathal pendred after his first win in the ufc. This guy had devoted his life to this sport, years and years of blood and sweat, gruelling scehdules, no pay and had finally broken through and earned some money to pay the bills..to only have to constantly defend the sport and explain to this gimp that these highly trained super fit athletes were not engaging in rule less "human cockfights".
    Like the sport or not, at least do some fcking research and dont push your own biased agenda.

Also he doesnt listen to peoples answers in interviews and just asks the next question regardless of the answer, theres no flow to his interviews

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

At best he is charmless...but I personally think he has a nasty streak.

Add to that the fact that he has terrible sense of humour and no real curiousity about most of the people he interviews. He is an absolute disaster and i'd rather force a broken bottle into my arse than listen or watch him.

In the afternoon for it is a choice between Sean Moncriffe or Ray D'Arcy and Sean Moncriffe wins hands down because of his ability to laugh at himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Well for ye all with time to listen to the radio :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 861 ✭✭✭MeatTwoVeg

Well for ye all with time to listen to the radio

Said without irony by the person with 15,000 Boards posts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

MeatTwoVeg wrote: »
    Said without irony by the person with 15,000 Boards posts