Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christy Ring/Nicky Rackard/Lory Meagher Cups 2016

• 23-04-2016 2:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭

First round of these championships kicked off today

Christy Ring Cup round 1

Antrim 3-20 Kildare 0-17, Parnell Park - FT
    Down 2-12 v 2-17 London, Ballycran, 2pm
    Meath 3-18 v 2-12 Wicklow, Trim, 3.30pm
    Roscommon 2-20 v 0-15 Derry, Athleague, 3.30pm

Nicky Rackard Cup round 1

Fermanagh 1-12 v 5-12 Monaghan, Brewster Park, 3.30pm
    Armagh 2-19 v 3-13 Donegal, Athletic Grounds 3.30pm
    Tyrone 0-17 v 4-19 Mayo, Carrickmore, 3.30pm
    Fingal 3-21 v 3-15 Longford, Naomh Barrog, 3.30pm

Lory Meagher Cup round 1

Leitrim 1-15 v 3-19 Warwickshire, Ballinamore, 2pm
    Louth 0-22 v 1-15 Sligo, Darver, 2.30pm

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Some win for Roscommon. Are Derry really that bad this year?
    No other big shocks apart from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Some win for Roscommon. Are Derry really that bad this year?
    No other big shocks apart from that.

One thing I found about the Christy Ring is that there isnt much between the teams last year Down and especially Meath gave our lads two good games of it in Tralee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Down and Derry must be in bad shape. Not too long ago they were in the old division two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,481 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

What are the structures for each competition ???

PTH2009 wrote: »
    What are the structures for each competition ???
    For the CR and NR Cups, it's an open draw for round 1. The winners of those games play each other in round 2A while the losers play each other in round 2B. Winners of 2A go straight to the semi finals, losers of 2A play winners of 2B. Losers of 2B play relegation playoff between each other.

As far as I know, the Lory Meagher cup is a round robin with the top two playing in the final.

Just as well the Ards team was withdrawn from the Rackard a few years ago as it might have come to pass they would have played Down in the next year or two!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

The draws for the second round of the Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard, and Lory Meagher Cups were made on Saturday evening.

Christy Ring Cup
    Round 2A

Antrim v Roscommon
    London v Meath

Round 2B
    Wicklow v Kildare
    Derry v Down

Nicky Rackard Cup
    Round 2A

Mayo v Armagh
    Monaghan v Fingal

Round 2B
    Longford v Tyrone
    Donegal v Fermanagh

Games to be played on the 30th April, CCCC will confirmed venues and times on Monday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Oh look, Antrim being helped back up to the top tier.
    I hope Roscommon beat them.
    Who did these draws and were they supervised?

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    Oh look, Antrim being helped back up to the top tier.
    I hope Roscommon beat them.
    Who did these draws and were they supervised?
    How do you make that? They got probably the toughest draw in round 1 in Kildare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

How do you make that? They got probably the toughest draw in round 1 in Kildare.

They were a level above us on Saturday. I'd be amazed if they don't go on to win this comfortably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Aside from maybe London, every team in the CR would be an "easy" draw for Antrim. They easily disposed of Derry in the league, as well as Kildare in the league and CR. On top of that, the rest of the teams were all operating a division or 2 below them.

It's ridiculous to suggest that because the 1 in 3 chance of drawing Roscommon happened, there must be some conspiracy in the GAA to get Antrim up to Liam MacCarthy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭HanaleiJ5N

Even given how terrible their form has been in the last 15 months, Antrim are still very much punching below their weight in this competition. They would have been widely expected to win the competition this year but London's recent form can't be ignored.

Roscommon ahead 0-8 to 0-7 at half time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭HanaleiJ5N

Roscommon ahead 0-8 to 0-7 at half time

That would be one hell of an upset. No offence to Antrim but I'll be keeping my fingers crossed!!

Roscommon 1-9
    Antrim 0-9

Results from today

Christy Ring Cup round 2A
    Antrim 2-14 Roscommon 1-12, Dunloy - FT

Christy Ring Cup round 2B
    Derry 1-15 Down 1-18, Owenbeg - FT
    Wicklow 0-9 Kildare 0-17, Arklow - FT

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=254385

Nicky Rackard Cup round 2A
    Mayo 0-22 Armagh 1-11, Ballina - FT
    Monaghan 3-14 Fingal 2-19, Castleblayney - FT

Nicky Rackard Cup round 2B
    Donegal 3-15 Fermanagh 3-11, Letterkenny - FT
    Longford 4-18 Tyrone 3-17, Pearse Park - FT

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=254380

Lory Meagher Cup round 2
    Warwickshire 2-10 Louth 3-12, Pairc na hEireann - FT
    Lancashire 2-10 Leitrim 2-18, Pairc na hEireann - FT

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=254384

One game tomorrow

Christy Ring Cup round 2A

London v Meath, Ruislip, 12.30pm

HanaleiJ5N wrote: »
    That would be one hell of an upset. No offence to Antrim but I'll be keeping my fingers crossed!!

Would be great result. Antrim have run out of excuses and bye balls.

no doubt they will deploy their "traditional" means to attempt to turn this one ;)

Wonderful result for us in London. This will be (as far as I remember) our fourth semi final in five years and we haven't made a single final so hopefully fourth time lucky.

Results from yesterdays games

Christy Ring Cup quarter-finals

Kildare 1-17 London 0-15, Newbridge - FT
    Down 1-14 Roscommon 1-7, Ballycran - FT

http://hoganstand.com/Hurling/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=254739

Nicky Rackard Cup quarter-finals

Monaghan 3-14 Donegal 4-14, Inniskeen - FT
    Longford 2-11 Armagh 3-19, Glennon Bros Pearse Park - FT

http://hoganstand.com/Hurling/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=254742

Lory Meagher Cup round 3

Louth 3-15 Lancashire 0-10, Dunleer - FT
    Sligo 3-18 Warwickshire 3-11, Scarden - F

http://hoganstand.com/Hurling/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=254743

Semi final draw for the Christy Ring and Nicky Rackard Cups,games to be played on May 21st

CHRISTY RING CUP

Semi-finals

Antrim v Down

Meath v Kildare

Relegation PlayoOff

Derry v Wicklow

NICKY RACKARD CUP

Semi-finals

Mayo v Donegal

Fingal v Armagh

Relegation Play-off

Fermanagh v Tyrone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭wazzer1

Any dates/times for N Rackard semis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Are the winners of the Christy Ring Cup guaranteed a place in the Leinster Championship next year?

And Carlow are the team that will be back down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Carlow are definitely down anyway, and they'd need a team to replace them in the group so someone has to be promoted. Though the format for next year is a bit up in the air thanks to Antrim's motion at congress.

wazzer1 wrote: »
    Any dates/times for N Rackard semis?

Date and venues decided today

Saturday 21 May

Christy Ring Cup semi-final

Antrim v Down, Loughgiel, 3.30pm

Christy Ring Cup relegation play-off
    Derry v Wicklow, TBC, TBC

Nicky Rackard Cup semi-finals

Donegal v Mayo, Letterkenny, 3.30pm
    Fingal v Armagh, Naomh Barrog, 3.30pm

Nicky Rackard Cup relegation play-off
    Fermanagh v Tyrone, TBC, TBC

Sunday 22 May

Kildare v Meath, Newbridge, 3.30pm

Saturday 4 June

Christy Ring Cup final
    Antrim/Down v Kildare/Meath, Croke Park, 5.30pm

Nicky Rackard Cup final
    Donegal/Mayo v Fingal/Armagh, Croke Park, 3.30pm

Lory Meagher Cup final
    1st placed team v 2nd placed team, Croke Park, 1.30pm

Results from today

Antrim 1-24 v 0-23 Down,

Christy Ring Cup relegation play-off

Derry 1-15 v 2-22 Wicklow.

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=255472

Nicky Rackard Cup semi-finals

Donegal 2-11 v 1-18 Mayo,

Fingal 1-11 v 3-19 Armagh,

http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=255473

Some fall for Derry. From runners up last season to relegation playoff this season. You wouldn't bet against the Rackard winners in that game. Don't think Derry have won a game this season.

They've been in free fall last while now. Were Division Two 7/8 years ago, and won ulster 21s.

Ulster hurling is in bad shape.

One more result from yesterday

Nicky Rackard Cup relegation play-off

Tyrone 3-22 Fermanagh 1-14,

Meath into our first ever Christy Ring Cup Final finally winning a semi final at the fifth attempt.

There's a lot of hurling clubs in Meath, even more than Westmeath or Laois

I can never understand why they are so poor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

There's a lot of hurling clubs in Meath, even more than Westmeath or Laois

I can never understand why they are so poor

Well you better watch out we're quitting that football lark

Fair play to Meath,I was very impressed with them last year when we played them in Tralee,hopefully now ye go on to win the final this year

And of course not a mention of Meath's win on the RTE website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,208 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

fantastic finish to the meagher final i am sure sligo taught they had it at half time 10 points up , great comeback by louth , why there is there such minium coverage for this level of the games i cant figure out , i expect another close game between armagh and mayo up next , the heart goes out to sligo though great second half

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 652 ✭✭✭DanielODonnell

I had 150 on a Louth win so you can imagine how pleased i am

The TG4 presenter is quite something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Why these are wrapped up by the first weekend in June is a joke. I remember this first few years the finals where played before the semi finals of the Liam. Much better coverage and atmosphere

i have no idea why they changed it , its a good idea but in fairness it was better the old way maybe it was to accommodate duel players , i noticed sligo had one or two playing today , but no competition should be over on the june bank holiday weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,593 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Close finish to this one. Mayo maybe just have a slightly better head of steam.

they would need another score though , cant seem to shake armagh off

I thought they had it but 4 minutes of injury time yet to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Great win. Well done, Mayo.

couple of great scores there near the end , you could see they had played at a higher level , i cant imagine they would be out of place at christy ring level

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Are Antrim big favourites for this one?

The traditional hurling counties Cork, Tipp, Kilkenny, Galway etc. didn't want their minors relegated to a third game on semi final weekend.
    Their minors are more important than the seniors in the Christy Ring, Nicky Rackard counties etc

Plus, counties where football is number one like to have the hurling over early as it cuts down on county team costs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Antrim starting to pull away here.

Edit: Spoke too soon! Poor keeping there. Meath deserve this for sticking at it.

Antrim starting to pull away here.

They were getting slowly pegged back the entire game from the 15-20min mark. Shocking if they lose this after leading by 9 or 10.... And they fall behind as I type that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭slegs

Well Done Meath. Great comeback

Well done Meath. Antrim for the ambitions they had, well, what can you say?