Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Period pearls! Perils even!

• 22-04-2016 07:04PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭

Go on spill the beans! What have you done at that time of the month that's totally un-called for, out of the ordinary, random, crazy. Everything and anything welcome! Give us a giggle!

Have to say don't think am ever affected all that much by PMS. But this evening when driving home, I passed one of those lil square box cars parked outside a Graveyard, and I just randomly took it upon myself to assume said car belonged to a young struggling male enthusiastic hardworking struggling Car-lover fixer-upper type and assumed he was at the Graveyard to visit a deceased parent or someone close to them or similar type friend who died by suicide and proceeded to start bawling crying for the poor invisible guy! :o Was in crawling traffic too coming into a town, oncoming people must have been curious looking at me lol! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

1) I lose the ability to parallel park
    2) I found a rotten avocado in the fridge. I cried because the avocado missed out on being a part of guacamole and having a purpose in life
    3) I cannot even begin to think about widows/widowers/old people living alone and cooking for one without welling up
    4) I cried when I saw a babies sock on the ground outside my office because some poor baby had one cold foot

There are plenty more. The PMS days are hilarious for everyone else in my life because I turn into an emotional wreck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert

I drop things, constantly. It happened to me while pregnant too, so instead of a few days being a clutz it was 9 months :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,510 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

I haven't had a hormonal period since I was 16 thanks to the Pill.

So nothing, thankfully.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

I never got PMS before I went on the pill. I'd just feel a bit "off" a few days before it was due. Once I went on the pill, nothing at all.
    My sister is on the pill though, and she is MENTAL the couple of days beforehand. She'd eat you without salt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

In Tesco buying tampons and got suddenly furious that my then boyfriend didn't have to spend money on sanitary supplies. I was on my way home to roar an invoice for the previous two years' worth at him, thankfully reassessed the situation before I got there.

I always synch up with my sister when we're around each other any length of time. Screaming and crying fight over a bread roll (during a dinner to celebrate our brother's leaving cert results), roaring and shoving fight over who got their period first and was therefore the alpha female :o

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I'd sync up with my flatmates, and then when I worked with a bunch of women, them too. It was kinda nice, we'd all be in similar moods at the same time. I never got full on bonkers, but would have days where I'd get more frustrated or tearful easier.

Apart from skin sensitivity I also have a water aversion the week before my period, I think I get off lightly with PMS and period symptoms. Normally I love to hop into a scaldy shower but a few days of the month it becomes a chore.

The pill minimised a lot of the body stuff that goes on and I only realised how much when I stopped it in 2009.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I get more argumentative but I think that might be more to do with headaches. I would be an absolute wagon with chronic pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭Humour Me

I turn into an absolute klutz, bumping into things and dropping stuff. I usually end up with a bruise on at least one hip from walking into the corner of the kitchen worktop. I've considered putting padding on it for my own safety!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭ShazGV

I genuinely thought I was never affected by PMS, until I realised that the severe crying jag that hit me Thursday night at 1am maaaay have been down to the fact that my period started then Friday.

I just get very angry at everything a few days before I get my period. Shouting at my boyfriend for the house not being clean enough, extreme road rage, picking fights with people at work..etc.. I also get awful cramps the day before I get my period.

The day I get my period I go back to normal! Some months are worse than others. I've been on the pill for years, can't even really remember what it was like before I went on the pill, except my period lasted about double the length of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,662 ✭✭✭Milly33

haha love it!!! So funny and yet so mean....Fecking things are a curse..

Came off the pill recently for the first time in maybe 7 - 8 years and I am dreading next month... Think I will have to hide out in a shed or something like some kinda of wild animal!!

Lets see, I never knew it for years or noticed it until I moved in with himself he pointed out that he knew exactly when they were about to arrive from what I did.

I would start cleaning the house (nesting he calls it) and after asking my mother this she done exactly the same thing. I would scrub the house and anything that was out of place would get thrown out.. If you dare enter and leave something out of place then well it will either be burned or fecked into your room, doesn't matter how breakable it is... Poor animals get scared...

Then we have quiet time, where like the best approach is to maybe bring wine and I will come around after the second glass, mite crack a smile of sorts...

The tears oh the tears. My moto is that I have to cry for no reason every now and again as I am so happy for most of the time..

I remember being in Aldi and was awfully fumblie... After paying the lady at the till who like had no sympathy for me. I was trying to gather the stuff to bring it to the packing counter place, and well I dropped the bleach..

I swear I was sweating so much and was all shakey.. Bleach dropped right in the middle of the floor bursting open everywhere.. Said twat (I say that at the time she is loverly now I am sure) just scrowls at me.. If she only knew what I was going through. The tears started then I was like nooooooo not the bleach , then I looked at my new runners phew they were ok, but my fav trackers now had pink blotches all over them... It was one of those "You Blew It UP" moments... A kind man came to my rescue, cleaned up and got me new bleach and I went to the car and cried.. Then went home and twas grand like..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

I don't get PMS. My husband never knows when I have my period, even though I'm on the pill so it's perfectly regular! I don't remember having problems with it before I was on the pill, but then half of that time I was a horrible teenager so it's hard to separate. :pac:

I'm very emotionally stable anyway, though. I don't tend to get anxious or upset or worried unless something drastic has happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

In Tesco buying tampons and got suddenly furious that my then boyfriend didn't have to spend money on sanitary supplies. I was on my way home to roar an invoice for the previous two years' worth at him, thankfully reassessed the situation before I got there.
    Hahaha!! That thought would have never occurred to me. But now that you mention it.... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭liquoriceall

Hhmm between being weepy, depressed, awful cramps and spotty during my period and getting terrible ovulation pains there are a lot of days when you might want to avoid me!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,154 ✭✭✭Dolbert