Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking for 10.1 inch tablet

• 21-04-2016 7:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭

I know this has been done to death and I'm sorry to put it up again but I am looking for the above.
    I will be using it for kodi and a bit of surfing.
    It needs to have an sd slot and good battery time.
    I will take a 9.7 if needs be.
    Budget €250.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,624 ✭✭✭smilerf

Lenovo yoga 2 10.1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Redriddick

Where would ya buy that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,051 ✭✭✭masterboy123

Redriddick wrote: »
    Where would ya buy that

Just got one from amazon

What sort of money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,831 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

How is lenovo Yoga Tab 3 10.1?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,766 ✭✭✭RossieMan

The yoga 3 is newer but all the specs are worse. The yoga 2 is brilliant I'm fairness, it was awful there for a couple of months due to an update sent out which ruined battery life, they sorted that In the last couple of days and so far so good.

I am struggling between yoga 2 vs 3 10.1.

yoga 3 definitely looks better and few bobs cheaper but yoga 2 got better 2 gb RAM and powerful battery.

I just need to use it for reading and email checks.
    Which one should I go for?

and please recommend where to buy? I need to get it this weekend pls
    RossieMan wrote: »
    The yoga 3 is newer but all the specs are worse. The yoga 2 is brilliant I'm fairness, it was awful there for a couple of months due to an update sent out which ruined battery life, they sorted that In the last couple of days and so far so good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,623 ✭✭✭✭elperello

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭arrianalexander

I am struggling between yoga 2 vs 3 10.1.

yoga 3 definitely looks better and few bobs cheaper but yoga 2 got better 2 gb RAM and powerful battery.

I just need to use it for reading and email checks.
    Which one should I go for?

and please recommend where to buy? I need to get it this weekend pls

Have the first yoga, after rocky start , am happy have nearly 18 months now , it's great for kodi and watching video ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭ratoath25

I have the yoga 2 and it's a great device. You can get it in Argos for 223 Euro. It is actually 32 gig's and not 16

Any feedback on Yoga 3 10.1?

Got many hits now for Yoga 2, none for Yoga 3
    ratoath25 wrote: »
    I have the yoga 2 and it's a great device. You can get it in Argos for 223 Euro. It is actually 32 gig's and not 16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭ratoath25

Any feedback on Yoga 3 10.1?

Got many hits now for Yoga 2, none for Yoga 3

Sorry no feedback on yoga 3. I picked yoga2 as it had better specs

I have the original yoga it does the job well

Thanks lads.Im gonna have a look at the a2 as there is feck all difference with the yoga 2.

Got my Yoga 3 today. I hope it's a good purchase. Was hard decision between Yoga 2 and 3.
    check out pictures on my post here

http://touch.boards.ie/thread/2057588777/1/#post99483569

The yoga 3 is a massive step down in spec from the yoga 2. I'm sure it's a nice device, but the yoga 2 beats it hands down.

Ordered the tab 2 a10 earlier,seems to be a no brainer for the money.

Hmm..shall I get yoga 2?
    Do you think Argos can change it and I pay the difference in price?
    The yoga 3 is a massive step down in spec from the yoga 2. I'm sure it's a nice device, but the yoga 2 beats it hands down.

Hmm..shall I get yoga 2?
    Do you think Argos can change it and I pay the difference in price?
    I would change it ye

Battery life is amazing in it. I think I would just keep yoga 3 & I am happy to recommend it.
    smilerf wrote: »
    I would change it ye

Bigger battery in the yoga 2.

The yoga 3 is all around worse in every department.

It's probably a fine tablet, but it's not as good as the yoga 2. Which is what has been told to you a few times now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭toby2111

Ordered the tab 2 a10 earlier,seems to be a no brainer for the money.
    Is this the best bang for your buck?Wife has €200 of One4All vouchers and asked me to source a decent tablet. So is this the best 10.1 inch tablet out there for €150 to €200 in a bricks and mortar store?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭breeno

toby2111 wrote: »
    Is this the best bang for your buck?Wife has €200 of One4All vouchers and asked me to source a decent tablet. So is this the best 10.1 inch tablet out there for €150 to €200 in a bricks and mortar store?

Just beware that there are two Tab 2 A10 models. There is a basic 1gb ram version with low screen resolution -
    http://checkargos.com/product/4995403

There's a better version with 2gb ram and 1920 screen resolution - http://checkargos.com/product/4123691

I had a yoga tab 3 for a month or so and found it very slow switching between apps etc and the screen resolution was poor. I've replaced it with the Tab 2 A10 2GB model and the difference in speed and screen is like night and day.

Well spotted, I didn't notice that. Is there any decent 2gb RAM tablets in stores around €200?

2GB model is around €208 on Amazon with free delivery. I think it's great value myself. Argos are the only store I saw selling it unfortunately.

breeno wrote: »
    2GB model is around €208 on Amazon with free delivery. I think it's great value myself. Argos are the only store I saw selling it unfortunately.
    Need somewere that takes the One4all vouchers so I'll keep looking around.

I should have mine on Wednesday so will let ye know how I get on.Btw I got the 2gb model alright!!!

Were did you get it from?Price?

Amazon.166 pound I think.

Yep 166 sterling.

Well my Yoga 3 is running pretty well at the moment. But given your feedback that after 3 months it was sluggish I might just change it as well. They don't have Yoga2 in Argos atm. They do have lenovo a10 2GB RAM model though.

Is it better to get refund from argos and order from amazon? Not sure if I am eligible for full refund. I have all receipts and plastic covers etc alright
    Just beware that there are two Tab 2 A10 models. There is a basic 1gb ram version with low screen resolution -
    http://checkargos.com/product/4995403

There's a better version with 2gb ram and 1920 screen resolution - http://checkargos.com/product/4123691

I had a yoga tab 3 for a month or so and found it very slow switching between apps etc and the screen resolution was poor. I've replaced it with the Tab 2 A10 2GB model and the difference in speed and screen is like night and day.

You wouldn't qualify for a refund because you don't like it.

However, Argos are usually spot on and will give you a refund as a good will gesture.

Cool. I will ask for exchange with
    Lenovo Tab 2 A10 if that's possible.

my friend told me they won't even exchange it as it's opened now. 😢
    You wouldn't qualify for a refund because you don't like it.

However, Argos are usually spot on and will give you a refund as a good will gesture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

In Argos it says out of stock. So best bet left is A10.
    Patww79 wrote: »
    Can the Yoga Tab 2 even be got now anyway? The likes of Argos and Currys don't have it listed and even the Lenovo site says it's not available any more.

So I got Lenovo A10 tab.
    Just have 2 questions please.

1. There isn't any option in settings which would show Battery Percentage on top corner. How do I fix it?

2. Screen brightness is quite high even when set on least brightness. Any app to fix this?

Note: This tab is definitely faster than Yoga 3. Very simple looking but higher screen resolution. Yoga 3 got more cooler look and features. So both has its cons and pros.

Neither of those issues are problems for me personally but -

Gsam battery monitor can put a battery % in the top corner.

For brightness issue, try https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=pt.bbarao.nightmode

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Straight Edge Punk

How are you finding the a10? I am looking for a bigger tablet for work and am considering this one.

How is the WiFi connection as the hub I use is quite a distance away? My phone can pick it up fine but my nexus 7 barely gets a signal.

It's grand like. Happy with processor. Battery could be better. But you can't get everything in this price range. It's best tab under 300 euros.
    wifi signals are better on my s6 edge. But a10 gets 3 out of 4 bars of wifi.
    How are you finding the a10? I am looking for a bigger tablet for work and am considering this one.

How is the WiFi connection as the hub I use is quite a distance away? My phone can pick it up fine but my nexus 7 barely gets a signal.

Will download both today.
    Neither of those issues are problems for me personally but -

Gsam battery monitor can put a battery % in the top corner.

For brightness issue, try https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=pt.bbarao.nightmode

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭T-Bird

I was "forced" by myself a yoga 2 after reading this thread.....

Ordered it on Saturday and was in my regular parcel motel place on Monday night. Cost me 130 sterling plus the motel stay.

Such a beast of a thing. It upgraded to lollipop but haven't really played with it yet.

Link

http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/361422301969?_mwBanner=1

Box was resealed but tablet was immaculate.

That's a great tab yoga2. Battery is better in yoga 2 compared with A10 which I am using now.

Best thing would be to get Google Pixel C tab next :P
    T-Bird wrote: »
    I was "forced" by myself a yoga 2 after reading this thread.....

Ordered it on Saturday and was in my regular parcel motel place on Monday night. Cost me 130 sterling plus the motel stay.

Such a beast of a thing. It upgraded to lollipop but haven't really played with it yet.

Link

http://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/361422301969?_mwBanner=1

Box was resealed but tablet was immaculate.

Seems the yoga 2 is a top buy for the price. Anyone see it for sale in a store? Preferably one that takes one4all vouchers??!!

Redriddick-How you finding the A10? Tempted to get one in Argos this weekend. Whats your opinion on it?

It's a nice tablet. I am happy with it. It's fast and sharp display.
    toby2111 wrote: »
    Redriddick-How you finding the A10? Tempted to get one in Argos this weekend. Whats your opinion on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭unreg999

What about the 10 inch Zenpad...?? Would nobody rate that as a decent 10 inch tablet? Reviews seem very good!

Sorry lads only seen the replies now.i am well chuffed with it.I have kodi on it and all the usual apps and it doesn't miss a beat.
    Battery lasts a very long time.
    Screen is good.
    Sd card is a plus too for media storage when out and about.
    I can't fault it to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 692 ✭✭✭jinkybhoy

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lenovo-Inch-16GB-Tablet--Midnight/dp/B01ARYT2SY/ref=sr_1_1?s=computers&ie=UTF8&qid=1463572147&sr=1-1&keywords=Lenovo+Tab+2+A10+Full+HD+10+Inch

Is this the same one as in argos? 135 euro approx delivered using parcel motel (plus their fee) - so under 140.

jinkybhoy wrote: »
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Lenovo-Inch-16GB-Tablet--Midnight/dp/B01ARYT2SY/ref=sr_1_1?s=computers&ie=UTF8&qid=1463572147&sr=1-1&keywords=Lenovo+Tab+2+A10+Full+HD+10+Inch

Is this the same one as in argos? 135 euro approx delivered using parcel motel (plus their fee) - so under 140.

Its the 1GB RAM with no full HD screen one.Its in Argos for €149.99.

I got the 2GB,full HD one. Defo worth the extra money as screen is top quality and its very quick and snappy.
    Link- http://www.argos.ie/static/Product/partNumber/4123691/Trail/searchtext%3ELENOVO+TAB+2+A10.htm