Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Dates Ireland *read first post*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,994 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

I like the older single mum. She seems like a nice girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Unreg0909

So I was like, and she was like, and I was like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Bloody Like overload again, I cannot listen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

They both seem v nice

But definitely not a match imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

He's a Dulchie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

mfceiling wrote: »
    I like the older single mum. She seems like a nice girl.

I've no idea why she did that to her hair. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,995 ✭✭✭Odelay

Hmmmm, does he remind anyone of mr bean?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,994 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Fcuking black haired lad "are you going to pay, thanks" "I love guys who pay for me"

He never even made an attempt to even ask could he go half's....

Miserable git

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

mfceiling wrote: »
    Fcuking black haired lad "are you going to pay, thanks" "I love guys who pay for me"

He never even made an attempt to even ask could he go half's....

Miserable git

Yeah, he wasn't half as interesting as he thought he was, i thought he looked like a young Count Dracula from Sesame Street! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭foxatron

Bloody Cork wan has some monotone voice. Couldnt be listening to that all night.

Since the series started have any of the bills been split? Or have the fellas stumped up every time....who says chivalry is dead in ireland!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91,147 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

PandaX9 wrote: »
    that Martin dude is Ross Gellar from friends circa 1994. That hair.

So wrong but I kept thinking Sinead O' Connor :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

I think Cork girl was just really well on it.

On the subject of the bill, would ye girls not feel awful guilty if someone insisted on paying the bill if you knew you never wanted to see them again? I guess them not having "the talk" til after makes it more difficult, but surely they could give the guy a heads up or a "no really, I insist, I don't think we'll be seeing each other again" or something!

If Barry Manilow and Archer had a child....

"im a bit of an odd duck!!" well ya certainly got the beak for it pal! he could hang a kettlebell out of that shnoz, never mind an ear ring!

in fairness, I could take em just about, it was his mobile pantomime of a date, like havin dinner with a giraffe!! they say you need a neck to go on reality shows, well YUP, ya fit the BILL, ha ha get it, ODD duck, Bill? he fits em!!! !!! I am making very typical Gays joke ya!!

Something about that mother of 3, the cleaner, shlaughter her I would, something very sexy about her take me or leave me outlook, eh I'll take ya, not up the aisle but defo somewhere else!

I thought you're all too harsh on that cork girl, seriously yer mans opener was a stinker and she's good looking, without seeming to know it, which is always a blessing in my book. I think she's just unsure of herself and actually so was he, they'd be my couple of the night, I liked them.

the oul wan and oul lad in their 70's?? im not being age-ist but FFS, at 75 the last thing Id be doing is going on TV looking for love... straight down the Thai massage parlor once a month and then drive round sardinia in the summer reliving my real memories of the one true love I lost in my youth!!

ha ha ha, yid easily know id tomorrow off and im on the whiskey!!

to quote Sam elliot, jesshus christ kid you don't half run at the mouth"!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

rusty cole wrote: »
    "im a bit of an odd duck!!" well ya certainly got the beak for it pal! he could hang a kettlebell out of that shnoz, never mind an ear ring!

in fairness, I could take em just about, it was his mobile pantomime of a date, like havin dinner with a giraffe!! they say you need a neck to go on reality shows, well YUP, ya fit the BILL, ha ha get it, ODD duck, Bill? he fits em!!! !!! I am making very typical Gays joke ya!!

Something about that mother of 3, the cleaner, shlaughter her I would, something very sexy about her take me or leave me outlook, eh I'll take ya, not up the aisle but defo somewhere else!

I thought you're all too harsh on that cork girl, seriously yer mans opener was a stinker and she's good looking, without seeming to know it, which is always a blessing in my book. I think she's just unsure of herself and actually so was he, they'd be my couple of the night, I liked them.

the oul wan and oul lad in their 70's?? im not being age-ist but FFS, at 75 the last thing Id be doing is going on TV looking for love... straight down the Thai massage parlor once a month and then drive round sardinia in the summer reliving my real memories of the one true love I lost in my youth!!

ha ha ha, yid easily know id tomorrow off and im on the whiskey!!

to quote Sam elliot, jesshus christ kid you don't half run at the mouth"!!!

smash wrote: »
    Well Diya walked in dressed as a shuttlecock to meet a 30 odd year old mammys boy... So we'll see.

im only reading this now and am ****ing in stitches....... brilliant!!!

why was e calling his Ma his "MOM"... ****ing anthony perkins!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Canadel

smash wrote: »
    Only the eyes and eye makeup. She looks completely different in the segments before the date.
    Yes, because Roz doesn't wear make-up, mascara and the whole shebang.

Canadel wrote: »
    Yes, because Roz doesn't wear make-up, mascara and the whole shebang.
    Only the eyes and eye makeup. She looks completely different in the segments before the date.

Any better for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭frankz

On the subject of the bill, would ye girls not feel awful guilty if someone insisted on paying the bill if you knew you never wanted to see them again? I guess them not having "the talk" til after makes it more difficult, but surely they could give the guy a heads up or a "no really, I insist, I don't think we'll be seeing each other again" or something!

This.

If you are not interested just go halves!!* Both people are in the same boat!!!

*I may be biased after 10 months of nearly going broke from online dating.
    Oh thanks for dinner. -
    5 mins later - I think I see you just as a friend.
    My friends dont see me as a free dinner and bottle of wine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,291 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Where in Cork is the Cork girl from ? Because she clearly has a Wexford accent. The most uncork accent I've ever heard .

Dia was nice, but hard bleeding work. She's get bored fast taking photos of my porridge in the morning.

Martin or Cian , when you have a long neck and a long head don't wear your hair high. He looks like a giraffe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,022 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

If I was on a date and she started taking pictures of the food, I would have to just get up and leave, such a turn off, someone who does that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭funtime93

That waitress, alice is it? She's adorable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

frankz wrote: »
    This.

If you are not interested just go halves!!* Both people are in the same boat!!!

*I may be biased after 10 months of nearly going broke from online dating.
    Oh thanks for dinner. -
    5 mins later - I think I see you just as a friend.
    My friends dont see me as a free dinner and bottle of wine!

Haha if I were you I'd give dinner dates a miss til date 3 or 4. Stick to drinks. It's sad but I'm sure there are loads of girls out there who take your offer of a dinner date as a free meal(and drink) opportunity. I'm sure there are plenty of girls who find that appalling, but your 10 months and First Dates in general proves it's very common for them to accept their free meal even when not interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

That Canadian barmans philosophy nuggets are incredibly annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭nikkibikki

funtime93 wrote:

She looks about 15! Or more likely, I am getting very old and everyone under 25 looks 15 to me.

On the paying thing, should always go halves unless it's for a birthday or something. I would have never accepted a dinner from a boyfriend esp that early on. We women are supposed to be equals, our predecessors fought damn hard for a bit of equality. From memory, I think I bought my now husband a drink before he bought me one. I did spill it on him tho, the last few drops that were left!

Go halves. Then if she says yes to seeing you again, take her out for a drink!

funtime93 wrote: »

Alice Marr I believe is the lady's name. She's really quite lovely both in appearance and personality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭jadie

girl from Cork- very annoying, seriousssssssssss.On about the people's republic crap:rolleyes: Seemed a bit dumb too. Loved the bluntness of the Belfast lady

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

Tom and Lexie were good, they were both funny but I think Tom was slightly creeping her out at the end.

Gay Barry Manilow look alike was a total head wrecker, very full of himself, nightmare to go out or be in a relationship with I'd say. And the way he kept picking at his nose ring was seriously off putting.

Michelle is a stunner, pity she cut her hair though. I was big into her until she gave her "Michelle **** off Lyons" story. I hate women who treat men with that kind of contempt, it's no wonder most men in Ireland need to be tanked up trying to chat up people like that, it's all too common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭Morgans

I understand the "no spark" thing obviously but seems like there is a disproportionate amount of failed first dates in the Irish series. Even for people who seemed to get on well. Not sure exactly what it says about the people involved, or the Irish, more generally, maybe that people need to be bowled head over heels before giving people a chance. People seem so certain that they would be wasting their time giving people a second go.

Seemed like the follow up stories at the end were even more bland than normal last night - guess the furore over the embellished catch up stories of the first and second weeks have forced a rethink in what is disclosed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,022 ✭✭✭✭pgj2015

I think the women consistently not paying their share of the meal is s a really poor refection of the women concerned, whats worse is the half arsed attempts they make to pay half, its usually very insincere. Like the man can't stop you taking out your purse and putting your money on the table, you have just met this man and allow him to pay for your meal, even if you want to see him again, you should pay your share.