Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PAYBACK May 1st 2016 Pre-Show & Live Thread *Spoilers!! (Obviously)

• 09-04-2016 11:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭

One match confirmed so far

WWE World Heavyweight Championship
    Roman Reigns vs. AJ Styles..

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,796 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

"Payback: The PPV Vince uses to punish those who booed Reigns, by having him go over the current Internet Darling."

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Fair play to Vince in the end. If he bailed on Reigns this time then Reigns was finished.

AJ in a WWE PPV main event already is great, even if it is to give Reigns a strong start to his title run I would much prefer it than Reigns v Kane or Big Show. Styles in there with Vince's guy and in main events should get him into people's mind as big deal.

If Reigns was battling people like Styles the past year instead of people that the fans were tired of like Kane, Big Show, Sheamus and Triple H he would have a lot more momentum. Even Bray Wyatt who is relatively new was a bad opponent as people were sick of his long winded promo's.

All four guys from the fatal four way would be very good opponents for him over the next few months.

Going by Raw and Smackdown this past week I'd say some other matches to be added could be KO vs Sami, Y2J vs Ambrose and Charlotte vs Nattie. Maybe Dudleys vs Enzo and Cass as well.

Nattie is like a female Dolph Ziggler, around as the exact same performer for far too long. Not particularly interesting, innovative or exciting. Just always there.

Her involvement with the Womens title kills my interest in it straight away :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Lord TSC wrote: »
    "Payback: The PPV Vince uses to punish those who booed Reigns, by having him go over the current Internet Darling."

Bet all the moaners who childishly "cancelled" their network subscriptions will be back tho.
    Actually looking forward to Reigns Vs. Styles. Big step up for AJ from the let down of a run with Jericho. The feud built around chants that weren't there anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,672 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

So is AJ going to be the heel in this match? Or is he going to be yet another guy coming out to say how great Reigns is and how he respects him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

CastorTroy wrote: »
    So is AJ going to be the heel in this match? Or is he going to be yet another guy coming out to say how great Reigns is and how he respects him?

I hope not, plus the PPV is in Chicago, so you'd think - A.J face, Reigns heel.. But can see JBL spouting some bull**** line or Cole saying "the crowd is raucous" when the smarky Chicago crowd rain down with the boos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,469 ✭✭✭LeeJM

Think y'all missed the memo. Reigns isnt a bad guy, he isnt a good guy hes THE GUY. Seriously though its been reported that they are running with Reigns in a tweener dont give a f*ck role and he will have PPV matches with Styles, Orton, Ryback and Owens leading to SummerFest where it will probably be Reigns v Ambrose.

And yes in Chicago it will be a 90% pro Styles crowd. Also probably get Punk chants too, EUGH!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,796 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

DM_7 wrote: »
    Fair play to Vince in the end. If he bailed on Reigns this time then Reigns was finished.

Think that sums up the problem though.
    When Vince bailed on Bryan, the crowd refused to let it happen. Every time they make Ambrose looks bad and then start pushing him again, the crowd get behind it. For all Ziggler has been stuck in midcard hell, everytime they do something bigger with him, the crowd are willing to get behind him.

If they bailed on Reigns, you're right, it would be over for him. But that wouldn't be possible if he was half the star they are trying to make him out to be.

They'll start booking him now to go over "internet darlings", and the matches will be a higher quality as a result, but the crowd who don't like him will only have that dislike reaffirmed. Pushing Reigns as the top guy when its obvious no one wants him there is going to hurt the reactions.
    Bet all the moaners who childishly "cancelled" their network subscriptions will be back tho.

Hey, I'm not one to speak there. I get the value from my subscription.

What they miss though... they **** on the hardcore fans because they know those fans will never leave. Grand. Take them for granted. The issue is that those hardcore fans influence the casual audience. When someone asks the hardcore fan if they should check out the product, the hardcore fan might have his subscription but if he tells others not to bother, then thats an issue for them.

Check out NXT as the alternative, especially the show in Dublin. The hardcore fans have created a big buzz, and thats drawn in a tonne of people who typically don't go to said shows. IMO, you should be catering to the people who are there each and every week, putting out a product that they want to see and will tell everyone else about, and then the pay off is they spread the word and attract more people.

Intercontinental title
    The Miz (Champion) vs. Cesaro

RAW SPOILERS, Read at your own risk.
    Sami Zayn vs. Kevin Owens

Dean Ambrose vs. Chris Jericho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,640 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

If the plan is to have Reigns go over AJ clean - and I'm sensing it is - then I hope the finish of the match is AJ going for the phenomenal forearm right into a mid-air spear from Reigns.

(Also Randy Orton MUST at some point hit AJ with an RKO in mid-air as it would be awesome)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Straight Edge Punk

This is Vinces dream. Have HIS guy completely destroy a TNA hero. AJ is going to be beaten and made to look like a chump. Vinces ego won't allow anything else.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,402 CMod ✭✭✭✭Nody

This is Vinces dream. Have HIS guy completely destroy a TNA hero. AJ is going to be beaten and made to look like a chump. Vinces ego won't allow anything else.
    And at the next match AJ will come back with a stable of ex TNA people for Roman to plow through to show his Superman punch is superior while Vince claiming the booing will change given enough time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭Kankan14

Is their any title change likely at this?

Miz dropping to Cesaro?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Straight Edge Punk

Kankan14 wrote: »
    Is their any title change likely at this?

Miz dropping to Cesaro?

Womens title will change hands I think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,166 ✭✭✭Stereomaniac

I really hope Natalya wins the Women's Championship. She deserves it after all this time I think.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Yeah, I'd be disappointed if the Women's title didn't change hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

She deserved it after that awful farting gimmick!

and the less said about dancing with Khali/Hornswaggle the better!

She has paid more than her fair share of dues!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

tbh I think Charlotte will retain and that if they were going to have her drop the belt it'd have been at Mania. I'd say she will hold it until Summerslam when Sasha Banks wins it.

Natalya is someone they feel comfortable will be able to have a very good match with Charlotte maybe even 2 with a rematch at Extreme rules (probably a submission match) only 3 weeks later and in doing so keep the positive focus on how the women are doing in the WWE at the moment but imo she isn't in their plans for the title atm. I would expect a long dominant (well WWE heel dominant so actually her to be a big cheater but in promos & video packages she will be portrayed as dominant) reign from Charlotte until they try to make their next star (the before mentioned Sasha) by having her take the belt off her.

I like Charlotte as the champion and I think if she's to lose it then losing it to Sasha Banks is the best option. I suppose you could have Nattie win and then have Charlotte win it back, but I feel it would be more impactful to have Sasha win it at Summerslam after a long reign by Charlotte.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

I think Charlotte herself is fine as an arrogant champ, I just wish Ric would sod off interfering in every title match she has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,079 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Charlotte is an excellent heel. Won't be losing it. Cesaro is the one I'd expect to be winning a title.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Is there any hope in seeing the last of Ric Flair (at least on telly)? He has no business being there (aside from the obvious), not needed.

Ruu wrote: »
    Is there any hope in seeing the last of Ric Flair (at least on telly)? He has no business being there (aside from the obvious), not needed.

I think he's helped get Charlotte over as a heel. I don't think he has anything to offer in terms of his own character, he will never be anything again. But he's helped her out in a big way.

Wrestling needs more managers and Ric has done a good job as a manager for Charlotte.

I just wish she was feuding with a more interesting foe.

The only shame about Ric being by Charlottes side is that they cant give him a live mic. He isnt trusted to speak unless its in a pre tape, and understandably so! And Im no fan of Charlotte although her character has improved recently, in no way should she be losing to Natalya. Nattie is a place holder feud IMO to get through Payback and Extreme Rules while Sasha and Bayley are built and Nattie is lucky to have that spot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭Mick Murdock

Didn't realise Natalya had never won the title? Considering some of the names who have that is pretty appauling. She definitely deserves it. That said, Charlotte and Flair are one of the best things on the show and the first time a woman has been interesting in forever. Much better than anything in the divas era. Cesaro to beat Miz. AJ to beat Roman (ha)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Blue_Dabadee

She did have short run as Divas champion.

The involvement of Anderson and Gallows in the main event makes this show and the next few weeks very interesting.

Lots of different things could be done, they could side with Reigns, they could side with Reigns to set him up for a bigger fall down the road when Finn debuts or Triple H returns, they could side with AJ, we could get the ultimate troll and see Reigns as one beat all, we could see a dq finish with Uso's getting involved.

Undercard is obviously very good with Sami v KO and Ambrose v Jericho. Hoping Cesaro gets the IC title.

I really hope Dean wins, needs to get a bit of momentum back on his side.

I have a feeling Reigns vs Jericho will be the next feud so I expect Jericho to get the win. If that's the case, I wonder would it be a clean win as with AJ at Mania.

I'm hoping Balor debuts in the main event and I have a feeling he will, but then again I thought that about the post-Mania Raw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,102 ✭✭✭johnnyryan89

Would be nice to see Styles get a title run before the BC turn on him even if it's only until MITB in June but couldn't see them taking the belt off Reigns so soon but with so many different scenarios and a possible brand spilt I think the title changing hands once or twice between Styles and Reigns over the summer would be fun before leading into the BC vs. The Shield.

Would like to see The Miz keep the belt even if it's only until Extreme Rules. He done well with the Styles and Jericho storyline and has been good so far as the IC champion. Think the Vaudevillians will pick up the win over Enzo and Cass after interference from The Dudley's. Enzo and Cass are already over with the fans and Vaudevillians could do with the win to help them get over, plus I think they could put on a good storyline with the New Day for a short while .

It feels like they're building Reigns towards a heel turn. Anderson and Gallows seems an obvious way to do that. Given how bad the booking has been, they may still think they're booking Reigns as a face though.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 15,618 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

No way is Reigns is going heel sadly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Reigns to turn and become leader of The WWE Bullet Club!

Oh the nightmare of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,287 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

DQ finish in Styles/Reigns seems pretty obvious right now. But the rest of the card looks like it will be entertaining.

I really hope Zayn & Owens are given at least 15 minutes to live the dream and tear the place up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

13f8ki.jpgvia Imgflip Meme Maker

Should be a good crowd on here tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,616 ✭✭✭The White Feather

What time does it start Irish time? I presume 1 am but just making sure

Aye, it's a 1am start.

So while waiting I started watching E&C episodes on the network.....wasn't a fan in the beginning but the last few episode are very funny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,182 ✭✭✭ShagNastii

If the Bulletclub fires (arrvial of Finn) it'll be tomorrow as opposed to tonight given all the "coming to RAW" promo we have had for Balor?

Im in work at 7 in the morning so cant watch till tomorrow afternoon. But Payback followed by Game of Thrones sounds like a fun 4 hrs on a Monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,287 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

€5 on Natalya to win the Women's belt. Charlotte has gotta lose it sometime.

Will Charlotte be punished for Ric being in the media this week I wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,672 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Charlotte/Natalya may be a repeat of when they fought each other with Ric and Bret in their corners at NXT.

Who's on the preshow?

CastorTroy wrote: »
    Charlotte/Natalya may be a repeat of when they fought each other with Ric and Bret in their corners at NXT.

Who's on the preshow?
    Last time neither Ric or Bret got involved. Logically in this case the story should be Ric trying to get involved but Bret stopping him, although I don't think it will lead to a title change. But would love to see Natalya win it, even if Charlotte wins it back down the road.

Poor Jim Neidhart gets ignored in all of this. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Will Charlotte be punished for Ric being in the media this week I wonder.
    The incident in the airport ? Or the fact that the he is supposed to have told nattie to "kill herself" at the smackdown tapings. I mean for Christ sake what a dopey thing to say if true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,732 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

They always say that. It's so everyone doesn't log on at the same time and crash things.