Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golden Years- best moments/memories from the Athletics/Running Forum

• 06-04-2016 7:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭

I've a load of fond memories of times spent and friendships made on this forum. Whats your favourite thing/thread/moment/race/person over the years? What makes you happy to log on and check new posts first thing every day?

My favourite time is the Wicklow Way Relay from 2010, Boards entered two teams, one of which won. 87.5% of the team pictured below, 100% of whom are all vets now ;) Great fun, wouldn't have happened but for the friendships made and met here :D

28tyn0i.png

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

The WW Relay team is exactly what I was going to say when I read the title of your thread.

We also have a couple of great weekends in Cork with the Cork marathon relay.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

We also have a couple of great weekends in Cork with the Cork marathon relay.

I quite enjoy looking back on the Cork marathon relay too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Kurt_Godel wrote: »
    I've a load of fond memories of times spent and friendships made on this forum. Whats your favourite thing/thread/moment/race/person over the years? What makes you happy to log on and check new posts first thing every day?

My favourite time is the Wicklow Way Relay from 2010, Boards entered two teams, one of which won. 87.5% of the team pictured below, 100% of whom are all vets now ;) Great fun, wouldn't have happened but for the friendships made and met here :D

28tyn0i.png

What is KC trying to do to joe?!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭UM1

New years eve run up to kellys lough s few years ago was a good day out

robinph wrote: »
    I quite enjoy looking back on the Cork marathon relay too. :)

I still think the best part of the Cork marathon relay ever was when Vaggabond pushed Claralara to the ground.

Or, poor RachelJev's fear of me and my insistence that the B team would finish sub 3:30 (and we did :cool: ) and she ran faster than she believed she could, still never thanked me :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Beers in Ryans after Phoenix Park races, and the people you'd meet at them :pac:

I believe you actually met in Cork? ;) So it's my fault. I apologise to you. Brian however, you are welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

Not that I ever took part in one but the beer mile meets always seemed to another set of threads that supplied golden moments, sometimes literally ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

I saw at the Athlone half last year a guy wearing a Boards AC top. Was it a regular thing meeting up training and racing like other clubs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭Kurt_Godel

I saw at the Athlone half last year a guy wearing a Boards AC top. Was it a regular thing meeting up training and racing like other clubs?

Woddle, Peckham, and Shels4ever started up Boards AC, as a registered club in the Dublin area (had to pick one geographic point). We fielded a few teams in various XC races, but group training etc was always a stretch, so the official Boards AC disbanded. The lads organised printed blue singlets.

We still fielded Boards AC teams in road relays, and mountain running, and people to this day still put Boards AC down under "club" when entering races. I organised printing blue tech tops- did a few hundred in various batches but it was always a lot of work and effort and the last order was let down by the printing company. They are still spotted at various races and are a good ice breaker to meet the real faces behind names here.

We did have a meet and train thread running for a few years though that people mostly used to organise meet ups for long weekend runs. Often had 20 or more turn up to the papal cross for a weekend long run. Particularly in the lead up to DCM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

Have made a couple of good friends through this forum. Besides Rotterdam Marathon 2010, and when I was home for the London Olympics, it’s only been relatively recently (last 2 years, since moving home) that I’ve been able to put faces to the names. The all day piss-ups in McGrattan’s for DCM and the beer miles have been super social occasions and a lot of craic. Here’s to more of them.

On the forum itself, there used to be some real cracking discussions/debates/full blown arguments around 2009-2011 time, centering on elite athletics. One of my personal favourites was a fella by the name of Fish n Chips. He’d never contribute anything to the forum, but as soon as an opportunity to bash the AAI arose, he was in faster than a cheetah on steroids! I know at that time a fair few elite Irish athletes used to lurk around here, some even posted. I’d love to know who the great Fish n Chips was.

Here’s a list of his fine fine work:

http://www.boards.ie/search/submit/?user=195744&sort=newest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Vaggabond pushed Claralara
    I was thinking of that the other day, and the fact that we missed 3.30 as a team as she was not able to keep up 8 min/miles for the first leg of 3 or 4 miles [which is funny, as a year later or so later she was doing a sub 3 marathon and winning the 50k etc :D]

I was think of the craic we had on the boards training runs, as I was doing a deathly dull LSR on my own recently, I think I remember those runs far more fondly than any posts tbh

I've often considered trying to kick that thread off again but I wouldn't be able to commit myself half the time.
    Long time since it was posted in - would be interesting to see if it could kick off again for shorter weekday sessions even. I think long runs are often organised in the DCM novices threads these days?
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055449727&page=181

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭williestroker1

All the closed/inactive accounts on that thread:eek: wonder did they quit running?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,468 ✭✭✭sconhome

All the closed/inactive accounts on that thread:eek: wonder did they quit running?

Can be sure they're still running, bound to have a ton more time available now ;)

sconhome wrote: »
    Can be sure they're still running, bound to have a ton more time available now ;)
    Just started running so I was wondering if the appeal wears off eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,693 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

All the closed/inactive accounts on that thread wonder did they quit running?
    The whole "Im closing my account cos I dont like what that person said.." thing.. is funny but what ever, each to their own! Dont actually care enough to waste time on it..oh wait...I am..****.

That being said, there are a lot of very knowledge folks about, who joined over the last year and have low post counts :D

The whole "Im closing my account cos I dont like what that person said.." thing.. is funny but what ever, each to their own! Dont actually care enough to waste time on it..oh wait...I am..****.

That being said, there are a lot of very knowledge folks about, who joined over the last year and have low post counts :D
    cool. A few months ago I needed to start some exercise. Picked running as its inexpensive, a pair of old runners, tee-shirt and treckie bottoms and I was off. Just finished the c25k. Enjoying it so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

I've often considered trying to kick that thread off again but I wouldn't be able to commit myself half the time.
    Long time since it was posted in - would be interesting to see if it could kick off again for shorter weekday sessions even. I think long runs are often organised in the DCM novices threads these days?
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055449727&page=181

There aren't that many long runs organised in the novices threads TBH, maybe open up a thread like this to coincide with that so that they, and the rest of us could partake together, obviously there will be lots of speedies but also lots of non speedies!

All the stuff you guys refer to is before my time - the novices thread is great though, that and the Bohermeen steaks thread last year are the two best for me, apart, of course from this years Rotterdam crew :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

cool. A few months ago I needed to start some exercise. Picked running as its inexpensive, a pair of old runners, tee-shirt and treckie bottoms and I was off. Just finished the c25k. Enjoying it so far.

Sounds perfect to me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

And they still question that decision every day :D Bit like flies attracted to sh!te :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

Firedance wrote: »

All the stuff you guys refer to is before my time

The past is always better than the present. The golden age of <whatever> is always <x> years ago. It's an ageless pattern. Just like "kids these days have no respect", "In my day we had real music, not this crap they play on the radio", and "grammar is dying", etc etc.

Or more relevantly, in mid race you might wonder why your going through all this pain, why bother. Finish saying never again. The following year you're back in the start line beacuse it was such a great event last year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Funnily enough the poster formerly known as menoscemo features in both of mine.

The first was him spewing a bottle of Merlot over both the foyer of the strand palace hotel and the good samaritan that was Claralara in London 14.

The second is crossing the line at 3.39.28 in dcm smug in the knowledge that tweedle dumb and tweedle dee had crumbled under the pressure of pacing the marathon :D

The build up and immediate aftermath of that pacing gig was great fun.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

The Strand Palace had a nice new carpet in their foyer last year. It was due an update really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭morceli

Most still run to some degree at least , some are back here with new names and others have vanished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Just started running so I was wondering if the appeal wears off eventually.

I started 6 years ago and I think I've enjoyed it a little bit more on each successive year. Probably down to the friends I run with. Most of whom I hadn't even met 6 years ago. Just my 2c worth.

Enduro wrote: »
    The past is always better than the present. The golden age of <whatever> is always <x> years ago. It's an ageless pattern. Just like "kids these days have no respect", "In my day we had real music, not this crap they play on the radio", and "grammar is dying", etc etc.

Or more relevantly, in mid race you might wonder why your going through all this pain, why bother. Finish saying never again. The following year you're back in the start line beacuse it was such a great event last year :)

Indeed, the golden years of those who were around from maybe 2008 - say 2012 are different to the golden years of those from 2012 - 2016. In 2020 the 2012 - 2016 stalwarts will have their own similar thread. (I'm not splitting into groups here I'm just picking random years, blocks of four years suits)

Boards AR(T) has made me many incredible friends, many great nights out, many great weekends away, a loser boyfriend or two :D, the push to do things I'd probably never have done otherwise - ultras, meeting strange men from the internet in the mountains for a run early on a Sunday morning, triathlons, Ironman - the list is longer. Most importantly, back to great friends from a wide range of ages and backgrounds who make you feel like you belong, that you can do better, that you can try something different and a couple of extra special boardsies who don't really post here anymore who have played enormous roles in my life.

That's not all from the 'golden years', this forum is still jam packed full of great posters and we've all made more great friends and met more great people in more recent years - I think the 'golden years' Kurt is looking back on, was the start of the running boom and we relied on each other a lot for camaraderie, advice, running partners etc - now all the people who did all those things will almost immediately recommend to people to join a club when they come here looking for advice, which has probably changed the dynamics a bit. Boards AC kinda disbanded once all / most of its members joined bricks and mortar clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

Enduro wrote: »
    in mid race you might wonder why your going through all this pain, why bother. Finish saying never again. The following year you're back in the start line beacuse it was such a great event last year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

Post DCM Nutrition Quality Street :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,433 ✭✭✭sideswipe

I remember during 2009/10(?) when we had a couple of really icy winters and running outdoors became a real challenge. People were going stir crazy in here- cutting up cheese graters and screwing them to their runners to get out for a run, fun times!!

In terms of best moments I think some of the race reports over the years have been truly excellent- nothing like reading the thoughts of somebody who has put so much into training and then running a goal race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Perhaps a strange one, but for me one of the best moments was following myflipflops progress from 240lbs, to a 2:48 marathon, following a training regime that defied conventional wisdom. While he had some pedigree, I didn't think he could do it, so I learned a few valuable lessons when he succeeded so impressively. Anyone know if he ever ran that 2:30?

Didn't continue with marathons unfortunately however has managed to keep a good bit of that weight off

He had a lot of talent to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

I shouldn't really be posting in this thread, being relatively new to boards, but in a few years time I'll be posting about the DCM Novices thread being my 'golden memory of the golden years'. DCM 2015 Novices will always have a special place in my heart.

I shouldn't really be posting in this thread, being relatively new to boards

While I commend KG for setting up the thread and like the idea behind it I am not fully comfortable with the thread given the current state of the forum (I know it might have come as a reaction to the utter tripe that has continually popped up here over the last year or two to remind many of us of why we posted in the first place).

The fact is that alot of the memories are from closed accounts, people closed them for a reason (natural lifespan of a poster, other issues on or off the forum etc) fact is that many great posters left, many great posters don't really post anymore, some stayed, many poor posters (in context of what they offer to the forum) left, many poor posters stayed.

While its nice to look back on the past it shouldn't also be forgotten that to get back to them heights its the new posters that will fill these shoes of these posters and rather than dwell on the past probably need to look to be creative about threads and posts for the future.

Another fond moment from the "Golden Era" of boards was retrospectively realising I defeated Krusty in the 2009 Wexford Half Marathon* to give myself a 1-0 lead in career head-to-head over the Half Marathon. I have since retired from this distance and will be holding onto this winning record. :cool:

*He did hobble the second half of the race dreadfully injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Chivito550 wrote: »
    Another fond moment from the "Golden Era" of boards was retrospectively realising I defeated Krusty in the 2009 Wexford Half Marathon* to give myself a 1-0 lead in career head-to-head over the Half Marathon. I have since retired from this distance and will be holding onto this winning record. :cool:
    382643.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

personally I really, really enjoyed the boards organised Wicklow Way run from Marley to Roundwood in the summer of 2013. That's when the internet became of value to me in the "real" world!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭uvox

Brush Shiels running on the Late Late Show tonight will take some time to leave my mind. A golden moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭Kurt_Godel

While I commend KG for setting up the thread and like the idea behind it I am not fully comfortable with the thread given the current state of the forum (I know it might have come as a reaction to the utter tripe that has continually popped up here over the last year or two to remind many of us of why we posted in the first place).

The fact is that alot of the memories are from closed accounts, people closed them for a reason (natural lifespan of a poster, other issues on or off the forum etc) fact is that many great posters left, many great posters don't really post anymore, some stayed, many poor posters (in context of what they offer to the forum) left, many poor posters stayed.

While its nice to look back on the past it shouldn't also be forgotten that to get back to them heights its the new posters that will fill these shoes of these posters and rather than dwell on the past probably need to look to be creative about threads and posts for the future.

I'm going to turn that back at you Myles ;) and say the posters aren't any different than they were few years ago. There was, is, and always will be, good/great/bad/indifferent/useless/elite/beginner/poseur posters. Good ideas are eternal, and theres always room for good ideas. Its not my place to comment on recent squabbles/tripe. Back in my day we just made stuff happen, and it was a lot of fun to be doing so and meeting other like-minded souls who also ran for fun, and were interested in helping others achieve the same goal. I guess it was more fun than it appears now, guess thats why I started the thread. But genuinely there's a load of good memories from this forum, if it does go belly-up no harm in remembering some of them.

"Back in the day..." Could be I'm getting old(er). Maybe all that chlorine softening my brain ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Iif it does go belly-up no harm in remembering some of them.

"Back in the day..." Could be I'm getting old(er). Maybe all that chlorine softening my brain ;)

Belly up? Were not there surely! There's a lot more good in this forum than bad, let's keep it that way :)

I'm going to turn that back at you Myles ;) and say the posters aren't any different than they were few years ago. There was, is, and always will be, good/great/bad/indifferent/useless/elite/beginner/poseur posters. Good ideas are eternal, and theres always room for good ideas. Its not my place to comment on recent squabbles/tripe. Back in my day we just made stuff happen, and it was a lot of fun to be doing so and meeting other like-minded souls who also ran for fun, and were interested in helping others achieve the same goal. I guess it was more fun than it appears now, guess thats why I started the thread. But genuinely there's a load of good memories from this forum, if it does go belly-up no harm in remembering some of them.

Maybe I am just entering my cantakerous Tunney/Donothoponpop stage of life :D Will leave my opinions at the door though as don't want to de-rail the thread, the initial point was more about not alienating the next generation of posters who will create more golden moments.

Have a few fond memories of a certain pacing gig in Dingle that included cans by the Ultra finish line (IIRC you had to watch your cans carefully as it was misconstrued as a hydration station by certain boardsie mods ;) )

Also the now infamous "mens changing room" following the inaugural beer mile.

The Group Training thread also brought me from a middle distance low mileage whipper snapper to a distance runner with my first ever 18 miler (previously never ran over 80 min) with woddle and figs up around Mt Venus road left me in a world of hurt the last 20 min

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭El Caballo

Maybe we should open a nursing home subforum for you old biddies to reminisce in:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭racheljev

I still think the best part of the Cork marathon relay ever was when Vaggabond pushed Claralara to the ground.

Or, poor RachelJev's fear of me and my insistence that the B team would finish sub 3:30 (and we did :cool: ) and she ran faster than she believed she could, still never thanked me :p
    I did so thank you, you spoofer. I still remember the absolute terror of waiting for you to come through the relay point and hand over the band - I was dying to use the loo but I was terrified of what would happen if I missed you. THAT was why I ran fast (for me) ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Or in my case just struggled with the balancing act when kids came along and work became busier.

Now struggling my way through occasional parkruns, with fast marathon attempts a long and distant memory.

I'll be back to track progress of my resurgence in a few years!