Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ALDI - would you report it if you thought a crime had been committed?

• 03-04-2016 8:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭

So I went to Aldi this evening and just after walking in the entrance doors I spot this guy carrying what I thought at the time was a hoover walking straight out the entrance doors obviously without paying. I'm standing there for a couple of seconds wondering what I should do. I look around for a security guard but cant see any so I go up to one of the tills and explain to the cashier what I just saw. His only response to me is to ask if this happened just now. I respond yes, he says 'ok' and just continues checking the lady out so I walk away and do my shop.

As I'm walking around the store I notice that what the man left with was not in fact a hoover but a €130 steamer.

Then when I'm checking out I spot the security guard and I mention to him what i'd seen. His reaction suggests he wasn't informed of the incident but also he didn't seem that bothered and coming away from the store I could only think to myself why I did bother. The staff at Aldi didn't seem to care less that someone had stolen a significant item from their store and I certainly didn't even receive as much as a 'thank you' for bringing it to their attention.

The whole episode has left such a sour taste with me that I am questioning if I saw the same thing happening again should I just turn a blind eye?

What would you have done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Sarah3 wrote: »

Walked out with a steamer,obviously they don't mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭Arsemageddon

Might have been this fella...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,469 ✭✭✭LeeJM

Followed the guy out and ask him to go back in and get me one. Or offer him €30 for the one in his hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭tracey turnblad

There was nothing that could be done at that stage. How did you know for definite it was stolen? A security man cannot stop someone unless he sees the whole thing go down with his own eyes... And usually on camera so they have evidence for police. If a customer is stopped in the wrong they can claim compensation of over €10000. That is why they always err on the side of caution and will never stop someone unless 110% certain and have Sen it all go down with their own eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,908 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

If they were on a hoverboard, then yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

Are they Karcher or the ALDI Acme make?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Jan Laco

Are you sure he hadn't paid for it at the till without carrying it and waiting at a queue with it and gone back to get it on the way out?

I've seen this happen before.

And perhaps the guy at the till didn't want to explain it and continue with the customer at hand? Just an alternative jump to conclusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

Could have been a simple exchange as well, or something similarly innocent. ( happened to me before, with a bag of frozen veg - noticed after checkout it was broken, mentioned it to cashier, he said just to pick up a new bag - so to someone who didnt know what was happening it looked like i stole it as i just walked in again, grabbed a bag of frozen veg and left...)

Just sayin'.

Shoplifting in Aldi is a cry for help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I've seen people in shops pay for something then go back into the shop to look for something and go out the entrance door because they didn't want to be pushing past people at the till again or it was just more convenient when they saw the door open!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭MacauDragon

I've seen people in shops pay for something then go back into the shop to look for something and go out the entrance door because they didn't want to be pushing past people at the till again or it was just more convenient when they saw the door open!

I haaaate that. Let me out you generic yellowpack bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

What? ALDI has security staff???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Don't be a rat, OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭BlimpyBoy

vicwatson wrote: »
    What? ALDI has security staff???

You've seen him.

Its that fat guy in a suit messing on his phone in the packing area.

A security man cannot stop someone unless he sees the whole thing go down with his own eyes...
    sugarman wrote: »
    They cant do anything unless they physically see the guy pick up the steam cleaner and leave without paying themselves.

Hadn't heard this before. Obviously they can't wade in with cries of stop thief, but would have thought they are entitled to say "do you mind if I ask to see a receipt" type stuff.

But it's probably an exchange, have done it myself with Lidl stuff. Just said it to staff and they said change away and head off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Aldi have no security guards because there's no one mental enough to shoplift the crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

*puts on cynicism hat*

1. How did you know he wasn't replacing it with another box and checked that with a member of staff?
    2. Maybe the security guard was just humouring you as per point 1.
    3. You weren't physically of financially hurt from this incident, why dwell?

"What would I have done?"

Thought, "that's odd"... and continued to go about my business. I've too much of my own bullsh*t to worry about.

me_irl wrote: »
    *puts on cynicism hat*

1. How did you know he wasn't replacing it with another box and checked that with a member of staff?
    2. Maybe the security guard was just humouring you as per point 1.
    3. You weren't physically of financially hurt from this incident, why dwell?

"What would I have done?"

Thought, "that's odd"... and continued to go about my business. I've too much of my own bullsh*t to worry about.

He was being a good citizen.Commendable he made an effort,even if he was ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Paramite Pie

Sarah3 wrote: »
    The whole episode has left such a sour taste with me that I am questioning if I saw the same thing happening again should I just turn a blind eye?

What should the cashier have done? Run off and rugby tackle the customer who's by now getting into their car?

By the time you saw the security guard the customer had likely driven off. Perhaps he could chase after him and jump on the roof of the car in a high speed chase??

Or he could check the camera. Once they've left the building - that's all they can really do unless they've witnessed it. The checkout staff may not be allowed leave the till - they'd tell security when they see them.

How do you know he didn't pay for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

RWCNT wrote: »
    Don't be a rat, OP.

Don't so anything to stop those shoplifting scumbags who don't give two sh*ts about acting like civilized, moral people?

Great attitude.

OP, I would have probably asked for the manager and mentioned it to him. In fairness, security isn't a cashiers responsibility so not surprised he doesn't care.
    How do you know he didn't pay for it
    Who cares? If he did pay, I'm sure a look at the cameras would prove it.
    If he didn't, then some action should be taken, or are those "Shoplifters will be prosecuted" signs just for show?

eeguy wrote: »
    Who cares? If he did pay, I'm sure a look at the cameras would prove it.
    If he didn't, then some action should be taken, or are those "Shoplifters will be prosecuted" signs just for show?

It was a genuine question. Should I accuse everyone walking out of Aldi of shoplifting? You know, just to be on the safe side

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

How did you know he didn't have the receipt in his pocket? I mean, what were they going to do, put it in a bag for him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

I'm distraught you didn't get your pat on the back! The nerve.

Speedwell wrote: »
    How did you know he didn't have the receipt in his pocket? I mean, what were they going to do, put it in a bag for him?

Why was he going out the in door I believe raised the suspicion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭westcoast66

Its probably cheaper for ALDI to let people steal **** then employ a security guard!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭Speedwell

kneemos wrote: »
    Why was he going out the in door I believe raised the suspicion.

Oh, was that it? I always wondered why Wal-Mart posted receipt checkers at the exit, but not at the entrance. Obviously carrying merchandise out of the entrance doors is fine with the entire retail industry ;)

OK, I was in Lidl myself yesterday. IIRC it is possible to go out the exit doors if you first wait in the long line (since there is no room to go past) or else open one of those gates that swing to block a closed checkout line. If I need to leave and I don't have anything to pay for (no, I am not a shoplifter, wise guys), I usually open one of those line-blocking gates. The looks of murder I get when I am doing this would have chased the Christians back out of the island of Ireland. I have obviously committed a grave felony against propriety by challenging the God-given authority of six or seven feet of bent steel piping on a hinge.

If I had gone in to exchange something and the option of simply opening a gate was anathema to me, I suppose I would have carried it through the entrance door.

Oh, well, evil-minded people will see wickedness in everything, I suppose. Curtain-twitching must get boring after a while. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Do they still offer kilo's of cocaine with their bananas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

smash wrote: »

Nope, only with the buns.

(Topical reference there)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod-One more LGBT 'joke' and it's a permanent ban for that person.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

smash wrote: »
    Only if you buy a 900 litre vat of engine oil for a lawnmower and a snowplough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭billie1b

Hadn't heard this before. Obviously they can't wade in with cries of stop thief, but would have thought they are entitled to say "do you mind if I ask to see a receipt" type stuff.

But it's probably an exchange, have done it myself with Lidl stuff. Just said it to staff and they said change away and head off.

A security guard can't ask you for your receipt, that in itself will get you a minimum of €10,000 in court, by just asking they are basically saying that they believe you stole something. They are also not allowed stop you once you leave the premises, not even if you are in the car park, they are only allowed to watch you drive off and note the registration of your vehicle for the Gardaí to follow it up.
    If you're in the shop the security personnel aren't even allowed to follow you around, if security thinks you are robbing they have to watch you on camera and try get you to stay in the shop by ant means but they are not allowed to detain you or accuse you of stealing, again it would be a big court case for them if in the wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,961 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I saw a woman get caught in Aldi Galway. She was restrained, bought back in the store - lots of choice language & before I had finished shopping, the guards turned up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

billie1b wrote: »
    A security guard can't ask you for your receipt, that in itself will get you a minimum of €10,000 in court, by just asking they are basically saying that they believe you stole something. They are also not allowed stop you once you leave the premises, not even if you are in the car park, they are only allowed to watch you drive off and note the registration of your vehicle for the Gardaí to follow it up.
    If you're in the shop the security personnel aren't even allowed to follow you around, if security thinks you are robbing they have to watch you on camera and try get you to stay in the shop by ant means but they are not allowed to detain you or accuse you of stealing, again it would be a big court case for them if in the wrong.

And that is load of Bull you wrote,if person takes something and heads out without paying any staff can in fact stop the person-what happens next is the way its handled either asking nicely if person forgot to pay,or if avoidance and drama then surely person is robbing and they can complain as much as they want guards would only need video tape to convict person- thats in small retail shops.

Big chains usually will use video and workers to look out for the person per say if suspected of robbing thus security guard within notice of sign can take person in once he/she is going out the doors.

So your crap of security not being able to do anything and just watch person walk out is totally stupid since its no brainer just to use fake plates and be on your way,into every store.

Since only evidence needed is cctv showing person shoplifting,thus any harassment or not guilty wont even stand a chance - there are only those who might by mistake take something and forget to pay and wont have issue to explain if asked why they are leaving,and those who purely come in to stock up and leave and usually they are already with records of such actions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

Wow thats one gigantic ball of completely wrong

in fact all the comments about security have been wrong.

Any person can askl any other person a reasonable question. Asking someone in a shop to see a reciept is an acceptable question and no, a judge wont award based purely on that.

They do not have to watch you leave, where did you even get that one? Shop security perform a 'citizens arrest' aka section 4 arrest daily or they are **** at their jobs. The majority of shoplifters are detained at the time the crime occurs.

That's not the law in the area, in fact the Courts have determined that asking reasonable questions to prevent theft is qualified privilege. But of course that privilege can be lost if reasonable answers are ignored, if there is excessive publication etc.

http://www.bailii.org/ie/cases/IEHC/2004/431.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Well if it's the same type of steamer I returned to Aldi it's a pile of crap and they won't care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

It's a sad day when anyone has to steal from aldi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭OttoPilot

I was offered a laptop for sale from someone in a car parked on the street. Thought it was strange so I just said no and walked away. Only copped a few minutes later it was most likely stolen. I regret not saying yes and then getting the guards involved now because I've been robbed before 😡

If anything like that happens to you, I'd encourage people to report it, because it may be the only chance the victim has to get their stuff back, not to mention you can cause some trouble for some lazy scumbag hehe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

OttoPilot wrote: »
    I was offered a laptop for sale from someone in a car parked on the street. Thought it was strange so I just said no and walked away. Only copped a few minutes later it was most likely stolen. I regret not saying yes and then getting the guards involved now because I've been robbed before 😡

If anything like that happens to you, I'd encourage people to report it, because it may be the only chance the victim has to get their stuff back, not to mention you can cause some trouble for some lazy scumbag hehe

But if it was stolen wouldn't you get in trouble for handling stolen goods?

Shannon757 wrote: »
    But if it was stolen wouldn't you get in trouble for handling stolen goods?

I don't mean buy it, I meant arrange to pay for it later and have a guard show up instead. Nobody tries to sell a laptop legitimately by soliciting buyers from their car on the street, but if they are it can be cleared up fairly quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

OttoPilot wrote: »

Please tell me this is not a new scam to you? They swap the fancy laptop for a bg full of argos catalogues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

BlimpyBoy wrote: »
    You've seen him.

Its that fat guy in a suit messing on his phone in the packing area.

Feck you!!!! I'd just been to court and was waiting for Mrs to bring me some cheap grogg through tills ....and for your information I was on boards on my phone answering a thread in the EV motor section

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Not my circus, not my monkeys.

esforum wrote: »
    Please tell me this is not a new scam to you? They swap the fancy laptop for a bg full of argos catalogues

Hadn't heard of it, either way I wouldn't be buying it.

I suppose the guards can't do anything if the scam hasn't taken place but maybe give them hassle anyway :D

Then the criminal would know it was you who set him up... that run in with the guards won't ruin his career. He'll know it was you!! Is that really worth it?

But he doesn't know me? A phone number can easily be changed and faces aren't remembered easily if the person isn't trying to remember.

Personally, I would take the risk. I was wrong, maybe not everyone should but I hate the idea that thugs and criminals can intimidate people to take what they want with no fear of repercussions.